(2011/03) Mar 2011

mummies, any one tried to put mossie patch on bb? is it more efficient or is the johnson and johnson liquid insect repellent more efficient?

zenia: i used both before..

the johnsons one abit sticky to me...i prefer the patch..

but the patch not cheap lor...

some brands not sticky one...

2Ks, which brand good n sticky? Expensive a bit nvm la... But must b effective, we bringing bb to find great grandma in Malaysia's 乡下,got a lot of mossie n insects there de.

sinmey,

which 1 u hv tried n they r sticky ? the hello kitty?doggie? or the panda(made in japan)? I will go back to msia early next mth n think to get 1. Last time I bought 1 in msia guardian, but my bb still kena musquito kissed at her chin. It was a big n red 1, took weeks to recovered...heart pain...

Sinmey, the j&j one reali good.. I mean last time I go to the Malaysia grandma there and got a lot of mossie, all commando size de I apply din get bitten la... Like 2Ks say, its a bit sticky if apply a lot. If apply a thin layer then nt reali sticky I think... Thanks for the link...

Sinmey/yean,

I use j&j one coz' the smell is not too strong can most importantly I can apply on the head and ears. Coz' those heartless mosquito sometimes will sting there.

My girl still unwell. Still got diarrh. V easily irritated n cranky. Wat makes it worst is I Kenna her virus. Was having runs yest. So many till I lost count. Den down w fever, 38.4.

Wanna give her all bm but my supply not enuf. Plus I sick so supply dropped further. N she still keep wasting my bm. Threw so much yestd.

Does any mummy encounter e issue of leaking from

Defrosted Ebm ? I've used lasinoh n pigeon n keeps running into this issue . End up I always throw e whole pack away. Very wasted.

zenia: i cant remember the brands. there was one brand which is quite common but i find it not sticky..

i got a tiger brand sample, which i find it not bad...it stick to the clothes well and its strong..

and i like the smell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

smelley babee: yes..i use both brands also leaks, but its like out of many bags, 1-2 leaks, i think it due to my rough handling, it drop on the floor..

so what i usually do is, i put the packet milk in a bowl and defroze in the fridge...usually if leaks, its not the whole packet, so i still use it...

thanks 2ks, hmmm... will go find...

thanks sinmey too, i think i'll prob buy the hello kitty ones to try too... seems so cute [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

joc,

ooh no, hope u r feeling better now..drink more fluid ok..

yean,

i bought the hello kitty n thomas train.. i usually stick 1 near his back shoulder to cover his head, then another one near thigh to protect the lower body...

candy, stick some to yourself la .. wat i do is those unuse part (no cartoon one), i just stick it to myself or bear their cot/bed.

Freesiajen,

yalor, the advantage of the lotion is able to cover all aread lor .. like the ear...

I've got a qn regarding quitting BF. I latch once in late morning and once at night but at night if he never empty I still pump it out. How should I go about to quit totally?

Hi Zenia,

I also put it in a bowl in e fridge now because of the mess it creates when it leaks. I didn't drop the milk bag on the floor, but i normally pack in more than the max mark in e milk bag (but still able to zip). Could it be because of that ?

When it leaks, i just throw away the whole pack because i do not know if it will get contaminated.

smelly babee, not i say one... is 2Ks say de. i don use my febm in my chest freezer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually if reali leak is due to freezing, maybe u don put so much ebm in each packet, so when the ebm is expanded due to freezing then the milkbag is not so stretched so it wont leak ba. to throw anot is ur preference, but i'll throw if mine were to leak.

Limlim,

slowly reduce lor .. stop latching at nite 1st ... then stop latching in morning.. soon u'll reduce to pump only once in a day .. then no need to pump le ..

L is going to miss ur breast .. haha

limlim: if u really wanna stop bf, dont latch anymore...

but i know its hard la..wait till he reject your breast lor..

i try not to latch too long cos when they are bigger, they more aware and harder to quit and will lift up clothes la, point to breast la..

latch shouldnt be any prob still..

jaster,

the doggie one no good ar ?

i got the kitty & thomas de coz cuter .. then the side sticker i put for myself .. haha

thanks jaster, hmmm... think i better stick to the J&J lotion then... at least it's tested and proven on myself those commando mossie wont sting lo... i'll be super heartache if my gal were to kanna sting by those mossie cos it'll swell until super big and super itchy de.

btw mummies what variety of veg do u put in the porridge? my mum tried pumpkin, carrots, brocoli, french beans, yellow bell pepper with threadfin liao. wat else can i put in the porridge to add fiber?

L sometimes dun wan breast also. The thing good about latching is he will drink till he sleep. Sometimes I lazy to pump that's why I latch, but not enough for him de. He will fall asleep for a while then eh eh eh for some more milk , have to supplement with formula.

limlim: yah, I also did what 2ks and sinmey. I slowly reduce my pumps to twice a day, followed by one pump at night till my pump volume is 60ml/day, then I stop (which happened 2 days ago). But now my nehs felt heavy and hard, pain still bearable.. dunno whether these symptoms will go away by itself?

mimimo24, ya i missed out tomato... my mum also tried putting... haha, corn arh i taut corn will cause wind in the tummy? nv tried leh, if put corn become sweet porridge liao. my gal sure like lar... haha

limlim, i think rub the lump also wont go away de cos u nv clear the milk ducts ma. maybe pump 5mins to reduce the pain?i saw online some say jus pump enough to reduce the pain lor, u can try.

Moms & Babies Play Date - Your Weaning's Winning Recipe

Calling all moms & babies below 1 year old to join our get together on Friday 21st October 2011. We would like to take this opportunity to share our favourite recipe for our baby's first diet. Do bring along your home creation of the "sure clean sweep" puree or porridge and share with other mommies on how to make it.

It's fun to prepare the menu for the little ones. Do come if you are moms-to-be or mommies with newborn to get a head-start on how to plan for your baby's first food. For mommies with older baby, please share generously your secret recipe with other mommies. Let's get the sharing and support going!

Of course, JLC will provide some light refreshement to add up to the fun but any contribution to the table is appreciated.

So, mark it in your diary and RSVP on our facebook (joyluckclubparenting) or email us at [email protected] and hope to see you! lovely mommies and cute babies! and yes, do have a day out of the routine @ home and meet other mommies too.

Airmez

Actually I don't know leh cos I'm still bfing, my aim is to remove the lumps and clear the ducts for milk flow. Let me ask the lactation nurse for you huh.

Ok I asked le. She said don't massage or rub cos milk will leak. A good way to reduce lumps is to put cabbage leaf, all day (yes!!), then change every few hours. You will cease being a cow in a few days. If too painful, take painkillers.

preloved cinch tummy wrap wanted:

mummies who used to own one, anyone wanna sell?

Relatively good condition.. A new mummy needs one now after popping for 3 weeks already.

If anyone has, pls PM me condition and price.

Thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Airmez

MUST rub! Massage in the shower...dun be like me no rub ok...then in the end the tissue clump together. Now 2nd child then know the effects...

Wong boi boi told me personally must massage to loosen the breasts

Good luck

airmez

tissue clump together so must go for regular massage to loosen it up, in the end the ducts become narrow because squeezed by the tissue...then my milk flow is slower than when compare to my #1 time

Mmm... the advices given by lactation nurse and real-life experience by pixie very different. Guess i either

a) massage 1 neh, and leave the other neh alone; OR

b) do altogether!!! Put cabbage as well as massage!! Woohoo!!!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Omg! So the advice is so different. I called TMC parentcraft hotline to ask one leh. Erm airmez I think you follow pixel's advice, real life example is better, tested and proven! Then after that, you update us huh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Airmez,

I think I go for yr choice A. 1 neh use the lactation nurse advice and 1 neh the real-life experience advice, then see which ones better. After tested, please let us know. Thank u! hahaha!!!