(2011/03) Mar 2011

I hate it when my boss keep asking when I'm going to stop breastfeeding. Cos I pump in office n he always couldn't find mi when there are urgent issues.

Told him as long as possible lo. He will say can dun pump so long? 10 min can or not? -_-'''

He only family oriented to himself. Cos he will always knock off on the dot to go fetch his children. N expect mi to work late to finish work so that he can review it the next day.

Babyhappie

Your boss is so selfish! Next time he asks you when you are going to stop pumping, tell him "until my baby tells me that I can stop giving him/her the best food that no money can buy".

Don't try to reduce pump time if you can. I know the stress cos I always feel like doing so when there's a big pile of work or urgent issues to handle. I could only pump 10 min when I was home alone with bb during ML, my supply dropped from 2litres to 1litre a day. Now reduced some more after going back to work, now just enough for him. So no matter how pressurized I felt, I will endure to pump 30 min in office. So now I tabao lunch to catch up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh oh forgot to add, I pump twice in office, 30 min each cos I don't want my supply to drop further. So for each session, I'm away about 50 min coz need to walk over, massage, pump, wash.

Sn

You can also ask LC to go to your place if you prefer. I though our nipples should be q seasoned by now. Got try bigger funnel? Btw got your posting? Will I see you in nov at ALH?

mimimo, yah our nipples are quite seasoned. but sometimes i try to remove the dried milk on my nipples and then ended up got some cracks.....:p

as for posting, dunno leh... they will only let me know nearer the date. I heard from some reliable sources that Jan12 might have better postings than november...hmm

St: pureen is like mama lemon type... Not watery like pigeon... And most important, its cheap! I love the mint whereas some love the orange flavor.. I usually buy both to alternate..

Limlim: try those old style provision shops.. My mum plc there have... I usually buy per kg and stock in fridge.. Use xin mi cook the porridge very nice.. I tell u another way to cook smooth porridge... Add in a pc of sparerib.. Of cos must parboil it before dumping it... The porridge will be smooth and smell nice...

Poky: y do u hv to wake up at 4am to cook porridge?? Try other way la otherwise get the thermal pot la... Or u hv the tiger porridge maker right?? Use that... If dunno u whatsapp me k... I tell u how to cut short the time to prepare your porridge good enough for bb to eat..

U really put in so much hardwork.. Such a nice mama... Give u a pat ok...

Babyhappie: your boss is so very bad lor!! Are u pumping during office hours or lunch time??

So not understanding!

I pump during office hours. I still go for my normal 1hr lunch. So cannot fully blame him la. I just hack care him lo..I'm not going to give up my bb benefit for company's sake.

Last time when I just go back to work, I pump 2 times in office. But too stress liao. Cos it is the peak hour before lunch and before knock off, so alot of other mummies also waiting for the room, must chop chop finish. N not to say my boss also waiting for me to be back.

So now reduce to pumping 1 time in office. But pumping time is longer, abt close to 1hr including washing. Can relax and slowly pump as there will be no other mummies waiting to use the room.

For me, I'm is also taking longer time to clear the breast.

no time to read posts, super bz, boss still not working, i trying my best to cope

my leave for thur n fri cancelled...wtfish...coz big big boss coming down to SG just to meet me about next week's biz trip....

winner lor. i told my boss die die fri i have to be on leave, my son cc closed thur n fri leh!

in my haste today, forgot to put water into sterilizer during office pump session. the plastic pump part WARPED

ah fux fux fux fux fux!

in the end function with single pump

im still working now ok!

ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!ah fux fux fux fux fux!

hahaaaa

Any mummies experience knee cap pain? If I get up from sitting too long, my knee will be super pain n cannot straighten. Have to wait a while den can walk. Haiz.. so fast all the 老人病 come n visit me.

Today brought bb for his injection. He is weighing only 6.9kg, 66cm now. Turning 6mths next week. Now at 25th percentile. Head is only 3 percentile. He's so small...How to beef him up?

babyhapie

im working...at home

oh, join the club, your kneecap weak liao

issit you lie down and get up too many times in a day whenever bb cries? coz i did that for my #1, kneecap very pain. went to see specialist, kneecap tilted (due to the way i walk) and plus the up and down of the knee, it degenerates liao...somemore it became worse n worse coz your bb growing up and when you hold your bb, the strain is on your back n knees lor...

i have mild arthritis in that knee too., nowadays after #2, the pain came back again. exact same time as after when i had #1...winner rite...must wear kneeguard daily

you can eat glucosamine but not scientifically safe for lactating mummies...

i went physio and got it correct but guess it came back again due to more wear n tear for my #2

eh babyhapie, i just went for injection, bb few more days to 6mths old, she also weighs 6.9 kg but is at 75th percentile for weight gain

and height is 90th percentile

how come yours same weight as mine but 25th percentile only?

Pixie and babyhapie, i'm also having pains and aches at my kneecaps. Especially bad when I stand up after sitting for some time. Aiyoh... Cartilage wearing out or because of the weight pain during preg causing strain?? Had this after #1 and went away after some time. Now pain worse than last time. I asked my GP last week and she said it is due to lack of exercise!!! Where got time... My exercise is to run after my toddler. More than enough rite?? Wahaha...

hmmm... now using laptop... saw my posts so many typo n spacing error... result of using hp as keypad lor...

2ks, 4plus la... 4am sharp, think i will cry even more liao... i estimate at 4.30m ba?? at present, i alrdy wake at 5plus to pump n prepare #2 feeds b4 work. If i hv to cook also, i suppose i need at least another hr to cook n wash up the stuffs. not only cookin porridge for bb. if tat alone, 15min will do. but need to cook for #1 also..... i only know recently that my gal dinner is standard... maggie mee (sometimes rice) with hotdog n crabmeat sticks.. DAILY!!!!!.. out of the 2mths i been feedin her dinner cooked by mil, only saw scrambled egg 1 or 2x. braised meat (less than 5x)... vege?? none, until i buay tahan n hint to mil tat i hop to c vege iside... but also only saw it at most twice..... pathetic rite?? last time, when i ask my gal wat her dinner is.. she always reply hotdog n crabmeat... nothin else.. i tot mayb her vocab not strong, or lazy to reply, etc... but it really the fact lor..... sigh.... but at present. "no reason" i suddenly bring dinner for #1... worried my mil get offended... so i using the excuse that i cook for my #1 while i preparin for #2.... so dun think my mil can fault me ba..... n since i cookin might as well cook for both hubby n me....

ya.. got the thermal cooker... but only for porridge... not for dishes for the #1 leh... =( so stil need to open stove to cook.... i b goin to find those braised dishes.... got buy the 4.5L thermal pot from rach previously... so sometimes cookin those 1pot dishes, will help to cut time... lazy mommy.... lol

Jolie,

possible for u to pump at ur office? i use a big nursin shawl to cover up.. then no need to queue or been chased to use the room liao.. =p

pixie,

huh.. so late liao, stil in office... jiayou!! =)

for me, it my waist tat is deterioated... after bendin to clean the highchair seat, cannot straighten upp... hv to slowly slowly adjust... =(

pixie,

aiyah... juz read properly tat u r at work.. but stil workin... hope u can clear faster n can rest sooner. =)

wah poky, ur MIL power, she can stomach crabstick n hotdog daily??!

why feed such rubbish to kids hor, cannot understand their minds

Poky, ask your hub to talk to your mil? Or can buy ingredients to leave at her place?? Kids need to eat healthy and nutritious food and it's so tough on you!! How much earlier can you wake up? You need to have enough rest to stay healthy!

My back also ache when I bend to change diapers. Like u described, must bend slowly up. ... Sound so old and brittle liao!

I'm up pumping. Sianz..eventhough holiday/weekend also cannot slp in late. N never ending tasks waiting for us to do later in the day. 

Pixel: hope u have finished your work. Today is holiday, try to rest more. For the different percentile, mine is a boy, so shd weigh more than your ger.

Porky: Nope, not able to pump at desk. Shy.. N think my collegues are also not that open minded. 

Eat hotdog n crabstick like not healthy leh. If hinting still dun work, mayb u can try buying the ingredients n ask her prepare. 

Body pain: I have all these back pain, knee pain since giving birth. Tot it will go away after sometime but till now still pain leh. For backpain, it is not so bad for mi, cos I try to minimize bending down. But for kneecap, hard to control leh. 

Guess it's the weight gain during preggy n always carrying bb that strains the knee. My friends tell mi that it's normal. We r great mummies n have pass our good bones to bb, so now left only empty shell. 

Poky: huh!!! Y is she feeding that to the grandchild?? It's so easy to cook for the child leh...just soup with rice better then hotdog and crabstick.. All processed food

U can use the pot to cook soup ah... Or if u wanna eat just steam a fish to add on also..

Even I so busy during weekdays I also try to cook 2/3 times after work, so that all of us can hv home cooked meals.. But I usually do steam dishes cos faster...

pixie, babyG, jojo

sigh.. but also cant blame her totally.. cos it typical grands syndrome.. they dun want to force my gal eat. dun want c her cry.. my gal ask for hotdog n crabmeat only.. so tat her menu lor... bside, my inlaws dun cook much. relative cook for fil special diet. sils eat little (cos dabao from outside, tat wat hubby told me)... mil wil juz fry simple fish n vege. but since my gal say no to fish n vege, so not added to her dinner lor.... mil specially cook hotdog n crabmeat for her de!!!! so not to say mil dun want to cook for her.. juz tat she cannot force her eat.....

eversince back to work, i been tryin to offwork on the dot so tat i can rush back to fetch her from cc, then bring her to mil place for dinner. then i feed her dinner...

so i ever tell mil to include vege n i will "force" my gal to eat since i will feed her.. but only c it the nxt night, after tat, back to the usual..... so no pt la.... tell hubby to say, also the same... she dun want to c us "force" feedin... so she dun cook, how to force?? buy outside vege, so much msg, i try to avoid... if i try to cook, but really cannot tahan the stress, then i pkt lor.. msg vege better than crabmeat n hotdog daily ba????

but hvin despite tis issue, inlaws r really helpful in willing to help us out in takin care of the gals while we work.. so i also dun want to make things must go my way. if she cant change, i do on my side lor.... =p

jojo, ya lor.. ke lian... we mommies left with brittle shells only niah..... sob sob...

but i v scared nxt detoriate til the granny who had to stoop n walk... look v tiring..... omg....

is tis ur first?? think i too bochap le.. first time, i also die die want to b in room... now 2nd time liao... gettin lazi, n bochap tat much.... lol....

or u use nursin shawl inside the room, so tat can share the room? at least is with ladies, will it b better??

2ks,

my #2 with inlaw.. so after work, stil hv to go there... #1 cc juz opp their place.. so i wait with the gals for hubby to fetch us at 7plus. so go home n cook, confirm not in time for #1 dinner.... so only can do it b4 work.. then heat up again in the evenin... yep... thinkin to use thermal pot to prepare the 1 pot braised/soup stuffs... easier, less washin also... but hvnt try b4.. so also duno how long it will take tis slow n clumsy mommy to gao ding!!! lol....

any mummies bought frm Crazy about Korea before? Want to buy a mirror sticker to replace the one on my preloved set but they charging me at $8 for non return customer when it can be bought at $4 for return customer. Need someone to buy for me and i pay a little extra for tt mummy for postage n her help. Anyone?

Poky

你辛苦了! Do try to get enough rest whenever you can. Ya ph also cannot sleep late, I woke up at 6.30am to pump, feed baby, cook breakfast, wash the clothes. Now nua-ing but can't doze off for a nap cos anytime baby will wakie to shower...zzzz

2ks

I wanna ask you how to use the tiger porridge cooker. Is it

1) the night before, throw grain into flask and put boiling water

2) next day, drain the porridge and put into pot

3) put frozen veg stock (contains cabbage, carrots, spinach) and fish like threadfish into pot and cook

I don't have the Cooker yet, thinking of buying soon. I was just thinking of the procedure and came up with the above.

Mimimo> I dunno abt putting raw grains n boiling water...

Wat I do is put grains and water and watever liao into pot..

Bring to boil and cook another 5min...

(pour boiling water into the tiger jar in the meantime to warm it up and pour away the water when porridge is boiled)

Pour in everything from the pot into tiger jar and then bring out... By the time RY wants to eat abt 3-4hrs later... It's gooey mashy porridge liaoz...

So I do the boil everything then put into Tiger Jar procedure...

For ur case I think u can boil the stock with grains and put into tiger jar..

Takes abt 2 hrs to be soft... Dun need overnite la...

Not so good keep so long...

Windy leh... And cabbage is a very windy vege also... Try not to cook for babies... Though it's sweet... But ESP if ur baby had colic or sensitive stOmach... Better not try cabbage...

Confinement also cannot eat cabbage de... Windy...

We supposed to rid wind during confinement....

My stock I use:

Silver fish

Wolfberries

Ribs

Dried scallops (orange color ones)

Then add diff liaoz daily... Like sweet potatoes, potatoes, cod fish, threadfin, pumpkin, spinach, minced pork... Etc etc....

Thermos flask, foogo, cooker

I'm ordering a 2nd batch in Oct when the blue Foogo will be restocked...

If anyone wants, let me know...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimimo: u thinking of using those cubes stock?? No no no... They contains msg... And for babies of our age they r not suppose to eat all those leh...

I usually boil my own stock and I pack into small bags and I freeze it...

But that is after 1 year old... Starting their porridge just cook with water, I throw in a pc of sparerib though..

Boring one la their porridge, usually threadfin or the pork (kidney meat cos softer), silverfish...

I dun give cod fish yet cos it's very oily and no salmon cos salmon smells and it's frozen too...

Chicken I usually give drumstick meat and I chopped finely but that is also after 1 year old

No cabbage like what rach said... I only give carrot, broccoli, yin cai, spinach...

Mimimo: the tiger flask for porridge the consistency might not be suitable for baby yet, I suggest u boil the ingredients in another pot until boiling then pour in your Tiger pot, close tightly, 1-2 hours should b ok. Then pour out and warm it again before feeding, blend awhile till the consistency u want, should be a min or so can le..

It's abit troublesome but it helps for ftwm, cos no need to keep standing at stove to look after the porridge...

Another way is slow cooker la, but from morning till night, waste electricity and the porridge might be too dry...

Wow... The art of making food for our babies is so complicated man...

2ks - so lets say u wanna make porridge for kiefer for dinner..

when do u cook the porridge? what time?

I went to ntuc extra jus now, they selling happy baby products alr... But the cereal is $9.90 per tin... So ex.

Any mummies using nuk feeding bottles? Do they hav glass ones in sg? Where to find?

And I saw my bb's front tooth alr... N she's drooling like fountain :S

Thanks Rach and 2ks! 谢谢师夫! These are v good tips [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ks

Uhmmm nope I didn't meant the instant veg stock, I wanted to cook and freeze them myself. That's for after 1 year old huh, ok. Actually is there any recommended age to start porridge or anytime after 6 months? I intend to start cereal daily first then porridge later, but no timeline yet. I'm following the first foods book closely to introduce a wider variety of food :p

Zenia> KP has glass NUK bottles..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimimo> my progress should be 6mos cereal, 8mos porridge... My meats into the porridge will start after 10mos...

But fish prob earlier... See how RL takes her food...

Though some may start porridge as early as 4-6mos...

No hard n fast rule... Up to individual preference n baby's milk intake Lo..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Also depends when they have teeth... Ready for chunkier food..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach, I went leh... But nv see... Anyways I bought the bpa free plastic one. Think my hb will kao beh cos he say cannot guage how hot is the milk... Hack care :p

I din know ntuc selling happy baby... All along nv see leh... This my first time seeing...

Zenia> mmm maybe next time u ask the staff... Most KP I went to i always used to see... Unless no more le...

NTUC keeps them at the organic area... They dun put happy baby together with the other baby items...

Melts: $7.90

Puffs: $8.90

Cereal: $9.90

Exp rite?? Spree cheaper by $3-4 each.... Haha...

Anyway I have ready stocks if anyone needs... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fel: I cook in the morning before I leave for work.

1. Parboil 1pc sparerib with hot water (optional, and just soak the meat with hot water)

2. Wash the grains

3. Add grains and water into pot and boil

4. Add in fish/meat, wait for pot to boil

5. Pour into thermal pot and cover

6. No open till at night reach Hm

7. Pour out and warm the porridge, add vege if required.

U might notice the porridge still warm warm one despite cooking in the morning.

Wah. We suppose to add fish/meat much later?? I see the Lin Lee on FB...she like add all sort of things in her porridge, machiam like chup png. Lolzz.

Limlim: no need to be so complicated la..

Don't "confused" the baby too.. Threadfin and pork is good enough... Silverfish is also good..

Later part u can add dried scallops...

Sometimes I cook crab meat with dried scallops porridge for kyler

Went compass point watsons yesterday. They got so many MP inside the shop.. But no more discount le.. Sad sad...

Mimimo: not necessary one year old la.. It's up to individual actually. But for me I prefer to give bb as plain as possible first... Even the spare rib I also add later...

Make it as plain as possible lor..

Talking about mamy poko, jb tesco was selling the jumbo pack at rm$41 which is about $17 sing... Damn cheap.. One person limit to 5 packs.. So we bought ...

zenia: robinsons also sell the glass bottles...if i am not wrong.

i also saw happy bellies at ntuc, they put under organic shelves...but i didnt notice the price though

thanks Rach and 2Ks, actually i remember seeing the glass bottles at KP de... but somehow din see it when i went to the jurong point brunch yesterday. maybe i should go to the other branches to see see.

2Ks, the thermal pot u using is how many liters de? u rem how much u bought?

i think i'll prob start bb on porridge when she's 9mths or when she can sit v stabily (which ever comes first) now will still stick to cereal once a day.