(2011/03) Mar 2011

sinmey: hope shay gets better...

from what i know singulair is more for broncritis le,

that one i see my sis feed like quite cham lor..

not cheap rite??

XFZ: i ordered a cake for the teachers already...

i no give present...

but for didi ifc i bought them a foldable bag that cost $5

i got give them mooncakes also la

SURVEYEES NEEDED URGENTLY!

Looking for:

1) Pregnant women from age 18 to 40, stage of pregnancy is 13 to 36 weeks,Singaporean or PRs, Chinese, Malays and Indians.

2) Mothers who is feeding their infants from 0 to 12 months old using infant formula brands currently.

Incentive reward: $30 NTUC Voucher Interested, pls reply:-

Group : 1 or 2

Name :

Hp no :

Mother Age:

Brand consume :

Baby age :

Pregnancy stage in weeks :

Email to [email protected] by 25/8/11.

Any mummy noe if we can apply xue hua gao (雪花膏) for our bb? My mum say she's going to buy it n apply for my boy. He has a small patch of rash on his cheek that just wun go away..about a month already.

Enrichment classes: So early need to go for classes meh. It's like so poor thing, so young have to start going for classes.

wow! Airmezyou ask ur fren what 'extra' advantage did her kids gain leh? I really want to know ley? I was telling my hb, let's see how my niece behave before i think abt sending my bb. Till now, I only see my niece getting naughtier & throwing more tantrums (aka independent by her parents) lor

I also think it's kinda OTT ley, shouldn;t the kids be enjoying their childhood, so early subject them to such lessons for XX period, siong on them & parents' time & pocket too!

babyhappie: not everyone can take xuehua gao leh..

this is the cream that i apply when i have pimple..works for me..LOL

tres: u know i ever think, why our kids must go thru all these stress..

the school expect the kids to know their abc and talk well at 2 yrs old u know...

but i am taking my own pace lor..why stress the kids...

Tres: I asked before, dun quite remember her reply though. Something like the bb who went at 3rd month is more "active, smarter, memory better" etc. But at the end, she said both her kids are superb, cos she made them go to shichida from young. Then win liao loh, this type of answer 问也是白问. I cannot tell whether the difference is due to the children's own character or Shichida. And more imptly, my fren doesn't have another kid (who doesnt attend Shichida) to compare with.

Ohh.... she always move house to Bt Timah to be near Nanyang Primary School. And she switched her career to become a teacher so that her kids have more ballot votes.

POWER ROAR!!!

2Ks - I see... I still thinking what to get for them for teacher's day... was thinking to order cupcakes... today got 2 hotels come to my office sell mooncake but I haven buy cos think like abit too early =)

huh 2Ks? Shouldn't the school be teaching them instead?

They are expected to know???? Geesh... be teacher ma very easy lor, coz parents will teach if not send for enrichment classes liao. hmm.....

Poor kids! & even more cham poor parents!!!

wow AIRMEZ- your friend is the typical kiasu kind bah in sing...poor tin kiddos...so early have to go for lessons..and still have to switch roles...LOL

Starfruit: Dunno lah, she said she doesnt want her kids to go to primary schools named after a road name... Jialat, I went to JURONG primary school last time one.. Lucky still turned out alright [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya lor, i think your fren is kinda kiasu! But I heard from my cousins who has primary school going kids, she says most parents are like dat, if you dun do it, you & your kid will be at the losing end! So so so ????

But my cousin mentioned, if possible dun force ur kids to those SAP . independent school if possible, they will be totally stressed out! Unless your kid appears to be super bright and you are super rich!!!! She shared w me a few examples, with that I think I also won't send my bb to those super good school lah!

tres: tats why la! when i went for Parent talk session when he was 30 months old...they said he dont know his letters, dont know the colours....And advice me to spend more time with him...

PUI...only 2.5 yrs old and they expect him to know the alphabets ok...

his classmate parent send to what class u know..

shichida, violin, swimming etc...

during weekends leh...

dont u think its too much?

i am NOT stressing kyler although i am teaching him more now..or i should say, i am PLAYING with him more...

but during baby time, i dont stress him la..he is too young to understand anyway i find la

Tres: Yah, I also thought about that... Me dun have $$ to buy BM or Mercs to wait outside the school to pick him up after school wor..

Cannot imagine when they start comparing who goes the furthest trip for their school holidays.... Sweat sia... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

XFZ: then u better order now lor...

think the teachers should eat lunch on 1 sep..cos sure alot of food for them to eat de..

airmez: one word for your that friend...KIASU

Airmez, ur fren-WAH !!!

2ks,

Singulair cost me' $20+ ba... For 1 wk.

Shay ok with it leh. Jz mix in his cereal n he eat it as normal leh. Not even a weird/frown look. Only when I gave him tcm he'll give me' the 放过我吧 look

Airmez> yah ur fren ultimate kiasu... I think enrichment is for those who can afford... Much as I want to... I dun think I can afford long term...:/

Just look for alternatives for my Rs to interact n socialize w frens enough so that won't be too quiet or 内项...

Haha though I think they won't be... Lol...

Teresa> Now that RY coming 2.. Can see she's more appreciative of the activities she's involved or DVDs she sees...Think too early dunno really got diff or not..:

Think media n advertising more powerful..

ya i also think some media and advertising powerful...

like this glenn doman right..

the whole thing can cost more than 1k..

but then i got friends selling it away lor...

all these need time and effort..

l3x: Izzit??!?!?! U know something abt my 年代, so are u from my 年代 too? kekeke...

I dunno leh, my mum said she choose it cos she want it to be near house, and she can't queue too long, cos need to go back cook lunch/dinner (cant remember).. -_-"

ya..heard oso kiddos nowadys oso compare who got the best birthday parties tat kind of tingy- like got magicians perform at their party or not..besides the furthest trip tingy..

btw, i heard before from my il got say er hem ..no use one..if the kiddo dont have it in him/her..go henry park or nan qiao or nanyang oso no use..." geng bu shang" lata..lol //then end up in the worst class etc..

yayaya... starfruit. I heard from my colleagues that the book the entire ballroom n create a carnival atmosphere for there primary school going kids. Gettimg more & more out of hand sia!

last time, we will be happy with a "Once in a lifetime" McDonald's bday party lor! *faints*

Airmez, does this means that I have to 'sacrifice' some of my shopping for my kids? GOsh!!! Looks like I can't stop working liao!

Eh.. I'm year 84, am I close? I know something abt the Sch la. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

imagine the routine when our kids go pri sch: pang kang > dinner > start revision and do homework > put them to bed > then do our things. I saw my cousin's pri sch syllabus, I catch no ball! Last time we use algebra, now they use modeling. I'm q stressed when he asks me to help on his homework @_@

Oh oh and my cousin was picked out by the teacher just because he's the only one without tuition teacher in class ! Teacher said tuition is a must, not a supplement cos they don't have Time to teach finish everything in class. Sigh...I cannot imagine how competitive it will be for our little march babies next time 

Airmez

I totally know what you mean about the BM and Merc. I went passed ACS pri just now, there was a long Q of Audi, BM, Merc, Jag waiting outside to pick up their kids. My ah Lao got Honda is considered good enough for me Liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ai yooooo...

seeee not that i want to be kiasu but sad to say that's our world now leh!!! sian half. but go choice meh?

my manager was like saying if pri1 to pri 3 ah.. ALL subjects never get 90 and above is not considered average! it's NOT good at all lor... i hear liao i FAINT lah...

hmm.. how come these parents dun realise that there are so much more in our children's lives than scoring for exams?

many of them has made their children lost their childhood.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Posted on Wednesday, August 24, 2011 - 6:16 pm:       

Long time no login already as I resumed work on July.. Miss u all and the monthly gatherings.

I'm also stressed abt sending my kids to which pri school.. Haiz.. Who don want the best for their child..

I think the most impt for kids now is to do something with them everyday.. Be it flash cards, read books, learn alphabet and numbers.. To incorporate into a routine..

pinkybubbles,

how old r ur kids? err.. u're not referring to the youngest one right? hehe.. i thought i'm the one whoz supposed to be stressed: i hv a 5 yr old kiddo, hahahaha... ;p

Tres/Airmez- lokk like kiddos in sing are losing out their childhood vs the developing ctries..lol..those happily run ard days gone..sigh..

MIMimo- tin BM,Audi, Jaguar common in those SCGS/ACS etc schools..and some got drivers inside waiting for them i saw befor..lol

SCGS is jus opposite my place. Those cars always jam up the roads ard 1pm ! Blardy hell! Wat's wrong with those people?? Let the kids take bus home will die meh?

Airmez, Miu Miu is also cheap in UK. I think your friend really ding dong liao leh.... cry until like that just cos never send bb for enrichment before 9 months? aiyoooo hahaha....

recently my sister was really stressed about her girl's primary school enrollment..... but thank God she got a place eventually via ballot. Asked her if even a choice, would she have done voluntary work, she still said NO. waste time. haha

I hope when the time comes for my son to go primary school, they still honor the old boys scheme.... otherwise i will also be another stressful mommy.

SN: I can't imagine myself wearing the neon singlet, take the pole, suck the whistle and blow pee pee at the zebra crossing sia...

If need to do voluntary work, I'll definitely push ah lau to do man... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST, don't waste your $. Shicida only works for 2 year old and older. If you kiasu, can try after 1 year old. But seriously, Shicida is more for older kids.

If you are really anxious, try glenn doman programme or do flash cards/read stories/sing nursery rhymes/play games at home. That's good enough to stimulate their right brain development for now.

Or if you really wanna send him for classes, my 2 cents is to go for art/music/sport/interest-related enrichment classes.

Eh Primary School enrolment is a BIG BIG thing hor...erm...no choice...our society makes parents so competitive and kiasu...every year I see parents begging to enrol their child into the school...some even scold and quarrel...very used to such drama already...

Match gal: my elder is 3 years old.. Need to think whether to do parent volunteering, move within 1 km of desired school already.. Wow, yrs 5 years old.. U hv a plan already?

Shicida: my elder just started this year.. Before that do Glenn doman flash cards.. Actually, u can just buy those right brain training materials and teach on yr own.. IMO.. I enrolled him cos wanted to see what they teach.. This program is gd for kids who r not so active I feel.. ESP gd for gals cos they can focus better..

pinkybubbles,

wow, u've planned already, hehe... me ah, plan to enrol her in a nearby neighbourhood school.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. actually for me, i do also my research of neighbouring schools which are around my area.. i think a kid's character is partly formed by the school (although a large part of it is how he/she is brought up by parents),so choose a more suitable one out of the surrounding ones... i think i won't purposely move house to enrol in a school, but ah, i will move so that she will not be tired out by the everyday travelling (eg move near parents), then choose a school out of ones in the vicinity..

i do agree with pauline and jaster... the system has made most parents in sg into kiasu ones.. hehe... if you ask me, i think certain enrichment classes are good for kids, they build up social and mental skills in them... as long as they are not stressed up and learning and happy... personally i would enrol them in classes that are funbased and encourage creativity before the age of 2.5 yrs (but after 18mths)... think waterplay, art, gym, etc are things that most kids enjoy doing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually if you think abt it, the whole idea of education is to mould our children into better persons when they start working in society.. duno why the system has made it until we have all become so desperate... maybe we shd all migrate like what starfruit suggested... hahahahhahah....

I'm still deciding leh.. Go to alumni school which is nt near my place or try nearby better schools but require PV or 1km residence..

Totally agree on funbased activities for below 2.5.. I also believe in activities that train their motor and fine motor skills.. Lots of waterplay, playground and gym for my elder.. Playing toys is also working on their right brain for creativity..

I'm looking for music school for my elder now.. Any recommendation anyone? When my hubby plays the guitar, my elder will run to the piano and try to play along with my hubby.. He will look back and look at daddy and run the keys.. He anyhow plays, but can see the interest ion music.. He also likes to play drum and and want us to dance and clap with him..