(2011/03) Mar 2011

rach, u r so lucky loh.. RL on tbf still her jaundice level can be under control... Many bf mummies have problem with jaundice bb loh.. I think RL really suck well n take in alot of your bm tat y she has enough fluid to flush out her jaundice.. I also on fully bm my boy but his jaundice still there... Maybe he drinks not alot coz he now still drinking 2 oz, the most 2.5 oz and not more. Then I didn't give water but he still urine n poo regularly leh. That's why I not concern as I also notice his yellow skin getting better each day. But PD if see he has jaundice will just ask him for blood test until his level is down below the safe level. But we don't want to put him with so much blood test stress... The PD also says I can continue to bf, no need sub or replace with fm leh...

Babybride,

My own case to share. To increase supply, I did these in this order:

Drink hot water e.g. milo, red date logan first.

1. Use donut relief pack (bought from rach)

2. Massage breasts (learnt from antenatal class)

3. Latch 15 min each breast

4. Massage breasts (learnt from antenatal class)

5. Express 10 min

Was very tiring in the initial days but the yield slowly increased each day.

2Ks is right too, need to build up supply slowly first. My boy had a growth spurt and he wanted more after latching. The EBM came in handy...

I don't have enough bottles too - 2 nuk teat bottles and additionally bought 4 nuk storage bottles. I had to rely on milkbags eventually.

2ks, I tried but she say pump next time or juz drink FM caz she stil believed FM got more nutrients since she always say my body weak ..sigh. Can I increase supply after 1-2 mths? Caz by then mum shld hav go back to her hse Liaothen I hav more freedom to pump n store liao

And just to share my research on the photo-light rental.

SBCC Clinic @ Mt A

Tel: 6354 1922

Rental Company (was re-directed to call this no.)

Tel: 6305 2583

$360 for 3D2N

$45 delivery + GST

Delivery to your home within 1-2 hrs

I have asked my PD if I could opt for this, but as his jaundice level was too high, he has to be admitted. Else could have taken this option.

Babybride: for bb first 6 months, there is some nutrients that bm have but not fm..

After 2 months u wanna up yr supply, to be frank, it's very hard.. More or less stable le. The first 6 weeks is the most crucial period

phew, finally im free to log in nw..

Jaster: thnks.. i will jia you.. try to juggle here n dere..

hmm, uess u jus tahan first while yr MIL n mum is dere.. its normal to feel jealous la.. Javier see my MIL first thing go find her, n stick to her... if we carry him away frm her, he will cry like mad.. dats when we get v upset with him.. esp my hb, he'll say " we're his parents but y he wanna stick to my mum?!" so i explained to him cos his mum forever giving in to Javier, n don scold him even thou he does wrong things.. she spoils him completely la, so he knows whos nice n whos strict, so he stick to her lo... n we also feel jealous also.. *hugsss*

i complain abt my MIL to my hb always.. hahahaha.. he will agree with me! muahahaha n sometimes he laugh or scold tog w me.. =S so evilllll...

Alice: i tink the wheezing sound is like he cant atch his breath like tt isit? cos Jayien does it sometimes.. we jus stop feeding, n prop him up..

2Ks: i don dare think abt #3 nw..thou i really wanna try for a girl..=S ya, think i might get the freezer too.. like u said, at least can go for another 6 more mths once i stop Bfeeding..

ya, better slp more when got help... =( i don dare think abt it myself too.. ergh!

ya lo think i really gotta send him go CC.. for his sake n mine.. sigh..

Annie: my PD charges only 40 for consultation leh.. n sometimes with medicine also 40 plus, i tink ive never exceeded 50 for normal consultaion n medications.. y KK PD so expensive?...

n my PD doesnt take so many blood tests, cos no point ma, like wad u said.. he took once when in hospital, 2nd time when we went back for chkup 3 days aft discharge.. n he will tell us, its up to us if we wanna him to tk the blood test again, we said ok cos we wanna make sure hes alright.. n when i brought him to PD on wed, PD says he is havin BM jaundice, but its not necessary for blood test unless his jaundice doesnt go off in 6 weeks.. den do another blood test..

chinese med if u trust u can give.. jus try lo like wad u said.. but if u willing to try chi med, why nt let him go tuina? thou don see results IMMD,but at least no medicine needed.. Jayien went 4 times tuina n hes nt going alrdy.. his phlegm in lungs went off on the 3rd day of tuina.. n hes alot better now..=) don feel upset, cos it isnt yr BM fault ya.. i feed BM too, but Jayien also like tt.. no worries ya, he'll get well soon! =D

for BM jaundice, PD did suggest can stop BM for awhile n go on FM, den once the insides flush out, it'll be okay.. ( i was asking pinky the other day n she too said the same thing! ) ehhee.. but it'll slowly go off as long as hydrated..=D

Andrea, mimimo n blue roti: yes, my PD told me tt when mummy is O+ n bb is A+.. is much higher risk of jaundice.. tt happens to both Jav n Jayien..

Another thing to share..For those mummies waiting to pop, rem to ask the hospital to give you FM bottles. to store your EBM.

TMC did not ask if I wanted any cos I was on TBF. My friend reminded me to ask for them, I asked for similac.

They come in cartons (20 btls) and accompanied sterilised disposable teats (1 time use only). You can choose to either use the FM or pour it away..depend on yourself.

You can then use the bottles to store your EMB. Take note that:

- wash away the labels on the bottles

- glass bottles can be sterilised

- the metal caps on the glass bottles cannot be sterilised

lilprecious,

thanks for sharing on BM jaundice. i feel more confident now that he's on his road to recovery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Annie- my ger also got jandice but on 100%bm, also no problem

Babybride- I just try latch 1 side pump 1 side, can get 70ml. Got improvement, u can try. Avent pump got good promo at taka, 99 buck wif a good bundle. But me nv buy cos cousin pass me her pump.

2K- does it mean that if after 6wk, me onli pump 100ml, when bb need more, my body can't produce more? But when we latch, our body produce how muc our bb needm

poky n 2Ks, ok noted. so 16/3 n 17/3 mixed, I shld put the eariler date.

Act I also dun like EBM in freezer, but bobian.. need to go back to work n thk God supply is kicking in, bb cant finish output within 48hrs liao.

Annie, my bb also high on jaundice. Need to admit if it's 15, he was 14.8 on tue, 13.7 today.

What I do is feed ebm when he cry for food so that I know how much he drink. And sunbath him whenever the sun show.

babybride, my mil also dun like bm. She thinks bb wun be full. S I need to pump and show her I hv enough.

She still do not know abt bm in freezer yet, I am thinking of the easier method for her to follow when she care of bb after I go back to work.

As wat Lilprecious shared, my no 1 had jaundice but quite mild, until 6 weeks n he was TBF.. The PD told me that I could either send him for a liver function test or switch to FM for 24 hrs n see if it goes away (in which case it would b bm jaundice). I switched to FM for a day nnpumped n stored my bm.. Jaundice cleared up!

FM is harder to digest than bm so liver has to work harder so the bilirubin gets cleared faster therefore jaundice decreases.

Personal choice fr those who wanna try [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Came home w baby today.. All clear fr jaundice so far..

Very tired!! No 1 is very sweet to meimei but also clingy to me n I cannot carry him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] makes me emo to know I can't carry him.. Sigh

My blood type is the same .. So also dun know wat's the contributor .. Haven start the fm yet .. Maybe tomorrow coz haven buy fm .. How to start

Poor bear, tks for sharing de full mth bb gift info. It looks not bad.

My CL taught me an useful method to stimulate milk n clear de breast clogs. Fill a bottle w hot water (just boiled) n wrap it w towel n rub it ard yr boobs. I did it for 5-10 mins n de milk started to dip dramatically. It's more efficient than hot towel

as de towel will cool down quite fast. my bm couldn't b pump out efficiently today n each time only 10-20ml, my boobs were

engorged though. With the CL's method, it has soften my boobs n bm flow out smoothly.

Pinky

Lie down w him n hold hands? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] once u r better then u can hug n carry him. Dun b sad.

Mimimo24

If caps can't b sterilized then how to use glass bottles to store ebm?

Anybody tried the milkmaid tea yet?how is the taste?

Mimomo: the caps for the glass bottles can be bought at tmc pharmacy.. Think $2 for 3 or something.. I hv quite alot but this time I didn't ask for it.. Cos can only store 80ml..

I packed most away and use my avent bottles instead

Bb rabit: yes if u by 2nd month pump only 100ml most likely can't increase..

As for latching, i can't answer u cos I latch only first 2 months

I am very puzzled over my BM supply. Last year after i gave birth to my 1st gal,she simply refused to latch(very impatient to suck out the milk). But i wanted to give her at least some BM,hence i expressed the milk by pumping and i could get about 80 - 90ml each time i pumped(from both breasts). I didn't pump at regular intervals; only about 2 - 3 times a day. Didn't have baby's sucking to stimulate too. But i could still pump some out.

However,now my 2nd gal latches willingly and frequently and when i am free,i tried to express my milk out but realise that i could only get a few drops to at most 10ml from one breast. I find it puzzling lor. I should have some supply mah,if not my gal would have cried all the time. I am wondering why i cannot pump out as much as last year? And the ironic thing is,this time there's latching involved.

SIgh....really envy those of u who have lots of BM. I dun think i can ever retrieve any EBM.

mummies, I need advice! My baby keep sneezing when i switch the aircon on at 27degrees and 1 fan speed. I alrdy wrap her up in flannel cotton cloth which is quite thick alrdy. When I switch it off, no aircon/fan, den she perspire alot and her neck start having the newborn rashes. What shld I do? My MIL says I shld let her slowly get used to the aircon as next time she will need to sleep in aircon as we do. Shld I jus leave her, let her sneeze until she get used to it?

lilprecious, my hb doesn't seem to be keen on tuina leh.. My MIL bought a chinese medicine for infant/toddler cough/reduce phlegm/cold/fever, so we try that first.. I have other friends who recommended this too. So see how loh.. I can't bear to don't do anything and see his cough worsen and affect his lungs loh.. Then the elders n CL keep saying like we never do anything n just let him cough n cough not good.. hiya, sometimes really not beyond our control on certain handling way. Scare if we too stubborn later bb get worse we will be blamed for doing nothing.

Recently keep raining in the morning, so no sun to sun bathe my boy... Hope tmr will have sun can sun bathe him...

lilprecious,

actually so long as mommy is O, bb is either A or B, will have high chance of serious jaundice. something to do with O blood particles being too big to b process by A or B blood.. thus bb not able to process fully. if mommy is A or B, bb is O, wont hv this issue liao...

although my gal drink alot, poo n urine alot... stil her jaundice rocket up... after latchin her, i stil hv to pump up abt 300-400ml per day during the 1st 2wks... so abt sufficient feeds,, dosent work for my gals... sigh....

during the 1st 14days is crucial that their level dun go overboard to the level that need blood tranfusion. but after the 14days, after testin n is confirmed that it only breastfeedin/milk jaundice, then, even if stil yellowish, can stil TBM. after 6wks, their livers will b b mature enuf to flush out. then the juandice will gradually lowered then.

hope tis info help the mommies....

Butters, 2Ks

a mommy told me TMC pharmacy got sell the caps at 70cts each. i plannin to buy also.. but hv to wait til i go back for gynea review, which is anther 5wks... quite long... but cant expect to go back there so far juz for the caps rite?? so now use the metal caps first lor... =p

Talking about Jaundice... My girl has it too... When she was discharge, she is perfectly fine.. But than the next day, she got it... Actually i dont know which jaundice level she is at now... Cause i will be back to PD later than will find out

More... I found out her jaundice thru her white eyeball lo... Abit yellowish yellowish de... Hopefully later check up that time the result is good... Dare not to think lo... =\

I take bb to east shore hospital for blood test, as i stay nearby...no need to wait 1 hr, 5 mins all done and only pay $10.70....think its cheaper than polyclinic...

mimimo: stay in hospital is a better option than to rent the entire thing to ur home, i had a bad experience. i rented....then it was a nightmare to me. maybe no experience doing, when bb cry, i took him out...wrap him up, feed him, change him etc. all done, put him back...remove clothes. look out for his eyes shades...keep moving, as they were too big for new borns, use tape to tape up etc. but every time he cries i take him out, wrap him etc...gosh i do it for 3D/2N and after that go back blood test think only move down by 1 point, fainted......then onwards, i always opt to go back hospital....let the nurses do. they cry, u never hear or see....and i think they do a better job......

belinda: think bb sneeze just that atmosphere change for them, but it stops after sometime....and should be fine...my boys sneezes too, and stops after a while.

lilprecious,

hahaa.. =) okie lah.. think i was over jealous this afternoon.. also dunno what overcome me lah... maybe it's the song that my MIL sang to my boi lor... the song that i'll always sing to him when he was still in my tum... =)

Belinda: i tink sneezing may not mean shes cold, it cld be dust or sth in her nose.. n maybe shes getting used to the environment.. think u can continue trying..as long as she's covered up well enuf nt to catch a cold, it shudnt b a prob to slp in aircon.. or maybe u can on 25-26, don on fan at all.. n see if shes ok w it..

poky: ya, sth like tt.. i dono abt B cos mine both A.. hahahahaha.. thnks anw! =D

Jaster: muahahaa.. nvm la huh, still got a lil preggy hormones in us.. =Pp

Poky,

Thanks for sharing the info. Relief to hear thst that this ois common for diff blood groups. As for the metal caps, my cl shared that can use kitchen wrap, those transparent one, and tie with rubber band. Have notvtried before though. Ik going tmc later at 9am, if you need the caps and can collect from sengkang, I can buy for you first. Just pm me.

Gal,

What an exp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Agree should let the Professionals handle this if we are not familar with the process, esp when the condition is not minor. I'm less stressed now, knowing the nurse is taking care of him. It is also a good break for hubby and I to catch our breath after a hectic week since discharge.

Just discharged today with bb jaundice level of 10.5. PD said it is high so gonna go back for check-up on Sat. My blood type is B & bb blood type is O so not totally true about blood types I think but can't deny that risk is higher for the common cases.

Having bad engorgement due to my lumps! Sigh...Despite latching & pumping, breasts are still very full. Any solutions?

Lailai,

Consider massaging your breasts before latch/express. Get your hubby to use his strength to disperse the lumps in circular motion (press down on lump while moving in circles). Will be v v painful but it's the best way to clear them. You will find the output increasing thereafter [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Belinda : Olivia sneeze may not be due to aircon bah... Cause Cherelle is like 20hrs in aircon and she sneeze too... Agree with what lilprecious say... As long as you cover bb well, that's shouldn be a problem... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] bb is still adapting to our enviroment, no worries....

Lailai, hire a massage lady to help massage your breasts n clear the lumps coz ur husband may have strength but not the skill to do a good job. Massage lady can really help clear the lumps efficiently, it's painful but u will feel relieve after she clears for u. Then after she massage u, u must pump immediately n regularly if not first few days the lumps will grow again (come back) as ur milk is starting to kick in, so lumps will form. Just massage n continue to pump/latch diligently.

Zzzzz... RL slept from 10pm - 4am again....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And Im having exposing breast now.. Gotta pull myself up to pump later...

Sleep first.. And rayanne didn't wake up for milk at all!! Woohoo!!!

For jaundice check at polyclinic , how is it done ?

Blood test ?

Pinky pink my pd ask me to switch to fm for 3 days .. Po many days for my comfort .. Sigh n ask me to

Go back on Monday to check to see whether the level has drop after switching to fm

I am very reluctant to do tt ... Coz I have to introduce the bottle if I feed fm for sure coz I cant be spoon feeding every feed of fm for 3 days ESP at nite .. Where got energy to feed spoon for spoon .. Sigh

Jaime, I also feed bb formula for almost 1 wk as I was on antibiotics and give formula to my bb. bottle fed. after that I latch her, still ok. she can latch and bottle feed now.

but I think it depends on bb also. I find it impossible to spoon feed. may be can try syringe?

Winnie .. My #1 had nipple confusion .. Took me very Long to total latch him .. I don't wana take the risk

But I was planning to introduce the bottle at week 4 but now only week 3 .. I guess leave me very little choice

I am ok with spoon n syringe feeding but not every feed

I do tt for my ebm .. I only feed the most once a day

But if fm for 3 days how to spoon feed for 3 days .. Very time consuming lor

Poky: actually I can use the medela caps for the glass bottles too.. But seriously I find the glass bottles storage too little la.. Max can store 90ml if freeze u hv to give allowance

Butter: my son too young to wanna sit down la.. Wants to run n climb! Lol oh well...

BUT he's super affectionate w his meimei! Kissing her n playing gently w her hair n telling everyone tt this is meimei [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

When she cries he beings me my nursing cape n tells me it's time for baby's milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On the other hand, I think he's also insecure cuz doesn't wanna leave us n ESP wants to b in same room as me all the rime... He's afraid I'll disappear to hospital again I think.

Acting up a bit also, tantrums n constant need to be cuddled..

Jaime: u facing these too??

Thank you for your support

My pd just called. Lucas' jaundice dropped from 20 1 to 13.9. He's pooing and urining well Am thankful to god for watching over him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hv checked with pd. Yes diff blood group is a contributing

factor. The fm has helped to bring down the level. He can discharged when it goes lower than 11. Can cont to bf him after that

Pinkypink ... The first few days he is abit not himself etc .. Now oredi week 3 he is used to mei mei presence

It is fine now .. He even ask mei mei to sit in his toddler rocker when he was squealing the frst time mei mei sat on it coz it is his per say .. Now no longer

But if I let mei mei use his things for the first time he will start makin noise if he remember the thing is his

But after a couple of times he resigned to fate ha ha

Only when his dad hold the baby he gets a bit jealous n wanna carry

But for me it's ok he doesn't ask for my attention when I am with mei mei

Caps fr milk bottles: Mt a retail pharmacy sells like 10 fr a dollar, plastic ones.

By the way, yest when I left Mt a, I asked the nurse fr a bottle of fm to stand by but she said as of 16/3 the hospital policy is not to give out fm anymore to encourage bfeeding. Just FYI everyone!

I think my girl taking too much foremilk n not enuf hindmilk. She latches ard 10-15 mins n is hungry within an hour or so.. So I wld switch breast each time she feeds. But now I think I'll offer the same boob if she gets hungry so fast so she gets more fatty milk.

Otherwise must pump I guess cuz can't sleep like this!!

Tried side lying feeding lady night but feel it puts pressure on my csect wound...any other csect mummies not comfortable lying on their side in first week?

Pumped once after latching yest n got 90ml... Was soo engorged! Much better now!!

Pinky> not sure if anyone answered ur question already... I read thru email....

U need to use hook B included in the package with the yellow and grey straps... Attach hook B to the straps then u hook it to the BSA bra..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hook A & B given for different kind of bra u have...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can't find or figure out then whatsapp me okie!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinky> what u did is right.. Offer the same breast if it wasn't empty.. Else she's drinking all the core I'll is is high in water conc and only quench thirst....

Hind milk like u mentioned contains the fats which baby needs...

So #1 mummies can take note...

I latch 20min one side initially then switch... But now that she only takes one side per feed... I ensure Tat side is empty...

If it's 1-2hrs since last feed I'll still offer same breast...

If it's 2-3hrs then I'll change breast...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]