(2011/03) Mar 2011

I have one qns to ask. Do we need to bring pacifier to hospital? When to start give Bb pacifier? Then if need to bring to hospital can sterilize first??

Annie> up to u to see if u wanna give pacifier..

Some mummies dun give it at all...

And I doubt u need it in hospital... First few days u only want babies to suck ur breast and nothing else!!

I didn't introduce pacifier till after full month cuz Rayanne will latch for very long and was crying & crying...

We had a little bit more peace after we introdue the pacifier...

But some mummies believed pacifiers have it's cons and side effects like crooked teeth and etc if the babies fail to wean off..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

think coming march got baby expo sale leh, Rita Tan from bumwear say want, when I ask her when bumwear having their next sale.

Rita Tan :

Hi Belinda, our next expo is Baby Care Festival in March :)

Thursday at 4:32am

But expo event calender never reflect. Anyway by March we all POP liao, also cant go for the sale. -.-

Bwax> after my Bwax yest, been having alot of chalky discharge last nite n today... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dunno issit infection... Not itchy.. But can feel wet wet down there... :S

Rach, thanks for your advice. Okay, that means wun need to bring to hospital. So after going back home if I need then I sterilize, now don't open it first. I know it will only affect bb's teeth if Bb continues to use it after age of 1. I'll just target to use less than age of 1. Last time when I was young my mum also stopped me from taking pacifier at 1 yr old. She puts chilli on the pacifier infront of me then said cannot eat already. I did cry for awhile but my mum let me be n soon I also given up. Hehe.... I'll give my Bb pacifier coz I don't want to take away their babyhood memory. To me Bb loves sarong, pacifier, milk bottles, Chou chou... I don't want to restrict them so much, then don't look like a baby le.

Annie> haha.. up to u.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rayanne self wean from pacifier at 8mos..when i was preggy....dunno she sense it or what....but she just pull out the pacifier whenever i give to her..and i just stopped offering to her after some time.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i've never used sarong too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

she has many beansprout pillows (cuz i'm selling it) and now taking bottles though.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have an unopened box of Drypers S size to let go at only $45.

The good thing is the diapers come individually wrapped in packs of 2 so great for going out. PM me. Collection in Punggol.

OLD NAVY/GAP Orders

Just some advice...for those ordering....

if u want ur NB to wear right away, i would suggest getting 3-6mos (or 0-3mos if u think u are very small and baby will be very small)..

the most is 6-12mos....

Cuz otherwise, you'll end up like me, with boxes of clothes kept, waiting for baby to grow bigger to fit into it.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but ultimately, u decide the size la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Annie: it's after age of 2 still using then will affect....

I didn't pacifier to hospital though...

For me I try not to give Chou Chou outside... I dun want him to depends on it... No Chou Chou no zzz... Then if forget to bring jialat...

I wean my boy at 14 months after our trip to jaPan...need it onboard the flight lor...

Heng he managed to wean it off easily

Some accomplishments today.. Finally done with washing e 0-3 months clothes n all e mittens n booties.. Used up 54 kids hangers, 3 round clothes pegs(those containing 24 clothes pegs each de) n done sorting out all e hand-me- down clothes.. Agar agar just sort them into around 3-6, 6-9, >1yrs old.. Cos I think v much depends on Bb size n how fast she outgrown e clothes..

Next up will be packing e things to bring over to mum's place during confinement .. Like alot to bring over leh..

allets: hey! i also wash finish the 0-3mths clothing liao. Today I packed the baby cot, changing table etc also. Feel quite happy! Anyway how come u go back ur mum's place for confinement? den the baby how? bring along?

Annie: it's quite up to personal on when u wanna gif pacifier n wean off.. If bb can auto wean off.. Like Rach's Rayanne.. It'll really b good. But fr Jav, he's still on pacifier currently nw tt he's 18 mths. But he only asks fr it when he slps or when he's outside n he starts making noise I'll pass it to him. Fr his case, he started when he's in confinement, doc asked us to gif it to him.. Reason being he was always crying n wanting milk, which was too much fr his intake n caused wind n bloatedness, so no choice, we gave it to him in order fr him to feel secure n sth to suck on so won't keep crying fr milk. U def won't need it in hospital cos bb's gonna discharge n will go hm straight le. N my CL believes, if children who doesn't know hw to suckle well, it's gd to start child on pacifier n train the suckling skills. My mentality is if can don gif, don gif.. But if needed, jus gif.. I'm trying to wean Jav off, but he kinda still needs it fr slp n comfort at times, so I'll let him b for nw but he'll spit out each time he falls aslp. Soo, guess I'll slowly remove it frm him.. =)

^5 i also washed the smallest pcs of clothing i can find...i realised i have lots of rompers but no seperates i.e tops and bottoms suitable for newborn. i think my old ones....errr all turned yellowish and i junked them away liao. must buy new ones

plus 2 sets of bedsheets

now left linen cloths to wash then im all done for the washing dept!! yay!

2Ks: Jav need chouchou to slp! Haha.. But he has tried slping without also.. But I still bring for him la if I rem.. If nt I feel he like no security.. Esp if I wan him slp in stroller, no carrying. Think he needs it as comfort. Haha!!

Allets: y nt ask yr mummy come over? Isit easier? =D

Wow some mummies wash bb clothes le. I was thinking of doing it after cny.

Allets: yea how come u chose to go over ur mummy place? Alot of things for u to move.

What if the mummy got her own Chou Chou? Ehehehe =x

Haha, I'mone mummy that still have my chou Chou still....so I think I won't stop my bb from having 1, so coz can't be too reliant on it lah....

For my confinement, no choice got to go my mum place n do .. Meaning to say upon discharge, Bb n I will stay at mum's place.. My mum is looking after my niece n nephew so also inconvenient n impossible for her to cone over..

I also dunno, maybe I overly sensitive or wat, cos my mil who is e most appropriate person to help w e confinement, sun seems to wan take up e job n do confinement for me..

Asked her again last week.. N her reply can be ' ur mum better, will cook more suitable food for u.. If there's anything u

need me to do, just let me know!'.. Biang, e moment I hear it, I tell myself forget it lah, if someone got xin, they will not reply like de.

Frankly speaking, r/s w mil always b quite good.. But ever

since preg, I find she v Bo chup.. Wan go her place hv dinner (she is e only person i can rely on to get to eat healthy food Cos my mum dun cook de) Also so diff..luckily still got own mum where I will buy tonic n she help me brew them into soup n I go take once a week..

Haiz.. Sorry for ranting.. Qu bie ren by ru Qu own mum..

That's why confinement, no matter how diff/ inconvenient n

noisy at my mum's place( my Sis 2 young kids 24/7 there de)

just need to be mentally prep n bite on for e 1 mth..

Allets, dun worry too much lah...I'm sure you will have a good confinement there. After all, it will be easier for you to tell your mum how you want things to be done! As for your sis 2 kids, constantly remind them there is a bb around.. Hopefully they will zi dong and behave.

Use this chance to bf your bb lor, after all, to increase milk supply (learn from anenatal class today) must latch bb every 2-3 hours to get the full milk supply, so all not lost!

allets: Why dont ask hubby to go and talk to her? Maybe got some misunderstanding then she think u prefer to stay with ur mum or smth? But if she really is like that nvm lor! Anyway still got ur mum to help u! For my confinement my mother coming over to stay to help out, initially i tell her say no need her to help cox i scared she tired mah, den she got upset. LOL, say her own granddaughter also dowan her to take care. HAHA. And I thought my mother was very modern in her thinking, actually still abit traditional cheena kind! hehe

Haha.. Anyway i think it's not a bad idea for my mum to do for me.. At least if I see things i dun liken, I dare to tell my mum.. For mil, I think probably she might think that daughter is alwYs closer to own mum.. Tat's why she feel ifs more appropriate for my mum to do it.. Just dun like e way she reply lah..

Might not b tat bad afterall, at least doing confinement at my mum place, if my relatives wan to come visit me, still wun feel so awakard .. Imagine if mil do at my place, e whole day face her , if my relatives come, also not sure if she like not..

Nvm lah, things will always work out de.. N might not b tat bad lah.. Cos e 2 terrors at my mum place, 1'attend full day cc n e other one by than only 10 mths old.. Than when e one from cc returns, it'sevening time Liao ma..that leave me with most of e day getting sufficient rest n bonding w Bb.. N my mum taking care of 2 instead of 3..

Allets: I m opposite from u leh... My own mum simply Bo chup and Its my mil who brew herbs for me..

During #1 time, my mum supposed to do confinement for me one end up she back out after 2 days... And I cried everyday since I discharged..

Then my mil decided to engage a last minute Cl for me...

So now I learnt my lesson, depends on others may as well depends on myself... I prepare buy all things myself.. If I know I do, dunno I skip...

So don't worry la... Things will turn better de... Don't think too much ya!

I'm still in hospital... Doc came in e morning said I better stay admitted probably still deliver... Sobsob...

sunesis - Wow... till delivery? when is your EDD? like that your hospital bill is super chor la..

which class did u opt for in KK??

2ks- totally agree with u.. Kao ren bu ru kao ji.. Tat's why those things I need for Bb arrival n confinement, I get them myself.. My mum is good but her hands are currently tied with e 2 terrors.. So I will buy all e things/herbs, tell her when I wan how I wan it to be done n she will donit for me/brew e soup for me.. Even packing of my Confinement /hosp bag, Sortjng out of b stuff, I do it myself cos scared hb gives me

half past 6 standard..Heehee..

Sunesis- huh? Probably need to stay until deliver? Why leh..u stil having contraction or cos ur cervix dilate a little than they dun let u discharge? Take good care of urself k..

allets, I agree with you. Initially I thought my MIL is an expert in pregnancy and confinement. Who knows she made Ba Zhen chicken soup for me last night! *faint* She said the medical hall person told her it is good for nourishment during pregnancy! I was like.......speechless coz I remember we shouldn't drink ba zhen right? So now, I think I better do my own research and buying on confinement too.

2Ks, my situation is like you too. Mum bochup + ignorant...don't know about such things and don't bother to know too..but can't blame her lah..she's still my best mum..muhahaha...my MIL is nice to brew herbal soup for me once a week..but sometimes her info a bit sala one leh...there was once she cooked chicken with wine for me coz it is my favourite dish but I told her I can't eat now coz I'm pregnant leh..hmmphz..

sunesis, take good care! Must be expensive but at least you are 24 hours in good hands?

Wow, sunesis that's gonna be a really long stay, any chances of staying @ home instead? Taking home bed rest instead?

Trying taking to the doc again ba but do what best for yourself okie, dun think / dwell too much!!

Fel> are u using medela bottles to feed??

If not u dun need so many bottles...

And if there's sufficient orders for spare parts, I can also order together with the pumps and mummies can all collect together at the same location instead of collecting pump frm me n spare parts from her..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach- not planning to using medela bottles to feed..

Alamak... I ordered from her liao.. Haha..

Allets: I see.. I'm like u, mil dowan(which I also dowan) cos she v v naggy n will keep asking bb isit nt full cos I bf. Mus gif fm n all.. Confinement alrdy trying my best to raise my milk supply n still haf to hear stressful things hor.. V xin ku. Tts y I prefer CL.. Cos sometimes my own mum will ask lotsa things, but she'll ask CL.. N my CL will explain to her n she'll accept. But my mil will listen n kinda 'argue' n keep asking the CL. Until I see my CL abit pek chek w her also.. So confinement best do w someone who is more encouraging n supportive.. ESP if u wanna bf.. Imagine my mil only come over on days to see bb n CL alrdy going a lil nutty w her.. I cannot imagine if i did confinement w her. Haha! My poor CL... N u r right, anything u don like can tell yr mum, easier to open mouth den w mil.. Cos still our own mum. =D

Lailai n 2Ks: I'm opp, my mum do all the herbal n buy all confinement stuff but my mil dono all dese things one.

But ok la, at least we still gt someone help us here n dere.. =)

Sunesis: take care ya.. Mayb like wad Tres suggested ask doc if can go hm bed rest anot.. If nt bill sure ex? ... Hmmm

Fel> 4 bottles more than enough to pump..

Since using milkbags to store... If u wanna just store can always buy other brands for just storage.. Any cheaper ones...

Unless u are using medela to feed, u intend to have so many bottles for?

Good afternoon lady's

Do anyone of you have the list of thing to pack for hospital stay? Kind of blur what need to bring =p

Mummies , aak you all arr... Which brand de pad will you all get for yourself after the delivery arr? I saw this laurier de.. At 34cm de, for night flow... That one okayy mah?

Oohhh.. Really pinky? Haha. I still had like 6 packsof wet wipes w me! Buttt.. I think I will b getting them .. Wahahaha! Stock up many many many!!! Wahh, I think den by den bb come still can use? Hahaha. =P

Angelia- I Bought sofy too.. 5x 41cm n 5x35cm.. Got it from Swanson which is cheaper than supermarket..

Mummies- is mummy poko wipes good ? 1 Hand can draw 1 pc type like pigeon?

I saw the mamy poko wipes fm ntuc too but dunno gd or not so dont dare to buy.

I Bgt 2 packs of mamy poko nb diapers liao. Not sure enof or not. But I rem my CL used 1 pack within 3 days as 3 hr change once.

Btw, any recommended brand of sterilizing tablets to get? For sterilizing those breast pump parts when back to work..

LIP_thks for your info on Mum's kitchen, will chck it out.... saw tat mummies recommend purple sage,fostre, elsie kitchen etc..will jot down and chck out too..

As for itchiness at V, I oso want to cehck w the male doct..sometimes oso find like a bti itchy leh..LOL