audrey> who in the world told u induce = faster and LESS PAIN????????????????????????
Induction is normally conducted if baby cannot wait anymore... means....gynae feels that baby's life will be threatened if kept inside the womb any longer.... so have to induce and get the baby out asap...
in my case, 40weeks + 3 days.. (overdue baby)..
the longer inside..the higher rish cuz placenta may be too old (u know mouldy liaoz.. lol) so may not be able to support baby for too long...
(there are cases where baby stays inside for too long and died....imagine carrying to full term and then baby died cuz too little amiotic fluid or placenta not able to pass nutrients to baby anymore..)
Other cases include:
mummy has hypertension, diabetes etc... cannot wait till 40weeks.. baby will get too big or mummy's life in danger
MMm.... trying to rem some more............
(brain empty at the moment...)
induction can be conducted by:
inserting some pill below to soften the cervix and/or puttin on oxytocin drip....
(i wasnt given the pill, only the drip)
the drip will induce the contractions to come... and they induce the contractions by increasing the intensity of the drip.. means from certain ml to certain ml...
like... 1ml for 15min, then 2ml for another 15min.. then increase and increase until u feel more and more contractions....
So the contractions didnt happen naturally but were induced to come... cuz of the drip given...
so because they didnt take place naturally... it was so called more painful...coz they just come fast and furious without our body havin the time to adjust......
its like... we always need time to adjust and if things happen naturally, we will slowly get used to it....
but during induction, it just happen and happen and happen.... our body no time to react or adjust loh.... so......
it feels more painful....................
Usually is gynae's call to induce.....
but i know some mummies got sick of being pregnant...and tell doc.. i wanna be induced and get the baby out asap....
( i personally think such mummies are siao and selfish la.... MY PERSONAL OPINION... i know of a fren's fren...she just cannot tahan being preggy with a tummy anymore and asked to be induced at 38weeks so she can get it over and done with...there was no medical complications or any reason why she needed to be induced otherwise..)
And have u heard of failed induction...?
And then it led to emergency c-section....
I was VERY HESITANT when i was told by gynae...
"if nothing happens tonite, you can admit tmr at 8am to be induced..."
Exact words..that kept me worried the WHOLE afternoon till nite...
I even called clinic back at 9pm and waited for gynae to call back and asked if i can dun be induced tomorrow....then gynae assured me that if he had told me 80% success of induction, it should be pretty okie...
"which doctor will tell u 100%?" - says my gynae...
the next day he explained that when he checked my cervix, it was already soft abt 1-2cm dilation.. he didnt want me to be induced that day itself cuz no point to lie in hospital and wait for things to happen.... he rather i go home..relax and let the cervix dilate naturally....
which when i was admitted on 8am the next day, cervix was already 3cm.....
JUST THAT IT TOOK DAMN LONG TO dilate!!!
from 8am - 1pm, there were no dilation...and from 1-3pm: 4cm
from 3-5pm: 5cm....
thats why i almost died and finally succumb to pethidine....
this time round, i would want to use just laughing gas if i can..and skip even pethidine... hehehe..
but see how la... cervix gotta 争气 and dilate..else really nothing i can do..
and pray Raylynn dun get too big..else stuck in birth canal... = emerg c section also....
pray pray pray.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]
wah..long post. hehehe..