(2011/03) Mar 2011

Zenia-

I also scared mine is transverse since I been feeling both side of my stomach kicking lei...

dun no if is left and right .....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Linda, me feeling the kicks fr left n right... and it's transverse lie... hope if bb turned alr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fel, sure. No problem! Or you can leave it with Rach? I've ordered a lot of stuffs from her and will get courier to pack everything in a shot.

Xiaofeizhu83, yah. Just now I tried to do it on my own. So far so good 'cause been eating healthy food. Just have to be guai guai for these 3 months.

Zenia

Tat is why i also worried cos mine start initally at the left side and now i start to feel her kick at right side [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Annie> yeah i know... I wanted to say some people may call me mad or bian tai... But ya Lo... Like u... We have same mindset..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

linda, don worry la... tell ur bb she must guai guai turn to head-down lor... i try to tel my gal leh... hope it works [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda,

dont worry, bb will still move around de .. also, even he/she is head down position, u will still feel the kick on both side de .. like mine, head already down liao, but her hand & leg like to stretch side way leh .. i always got the 'poke' out every where around the stomach ..

speed read the posts...wow!..mummies going into Jan thread to see their birth stories liao...kekek...

LAILAI- what britax model you buy for car seat and how much?

RACH- can PM mi your new hp..?

CHEN- I like what you say too...

Chen- thks for the info..but this few days no legcramps..lol..or beta dont say so early..

SInMEY- your birth story sweet and nice!

anyway, be it epidural or not, or c-section, do wat one deems is most appropriate at the point in time, no pt if cant tahan oso "diedie" mus go through total natural with no epdiural..nt every lady can tahan ..the doct told mi ladies in old days nt like us now in modern times, they can"dong" till very very long de, cos they take mroe hardships than us...now we dont take as much hardship as them like in older days..so different ..if need to jus take, $$ is totally nt a consideration when the pain is overwhelming..but for mummies w slip disc cant take epidural..one of my friend din tell the doct, then "ma sui shi" go in and ask then she say the condition, pain till super jiat liat..if not she do c-section liao...

Annie, hahaa..

PrestoRabb, that time you talking about getting the Munchkin diaper organiser. I never see the actual thing in departmental store yet.

Wana ask you, if we tear away the packaging, can we fold afew pieces into a small box and send it to Spore?

Yo mummies

I wanna ask hor, if Mt A provides a receiving blanket aka swaddle cloth upon discharge? If not then I have to bring my own liao...

Maid - thanks for your concern etc. Only just managed to get online to do other things than check work emails!

We found out about the bullying when there were rumours and then we asked my MIL's maid who helps us out sometimes if she's seen anything and she broke down and cried and told us everything.

I glad she didn't go that far but she really disappointed. Treated her with so much respect, got a replacement coming at the end of the month and we're going to install a camera in the kids room and living room. Hate the idea but no choice.

chumz that means must bring swaddle blanket or linen nappy. N I tot can skip that so that bag got more space for rubbish :)

Wow today's topic on epidural and birth stories! Thanks mummies for sharing your experiences and thoughts, some are sweet and touching, others exciting and *ouch* haha- but all very inspiring! My take is like Rach, Annie and Linda - really hope I can endure through natural without epi. But mine more of no choice cos I got slipped disc, shun bian (or should I say bo bian) take the opportunity to "challenge" myself haha! At first Gynae says my placenta a bit low, so was worried I have to do c-sect under GA since no epi for me. Really dun wish to miss the moment bb is out leh. So really thank God my placenta moved up, but means now can only pray bb come out fast and smooth naturally without epi hehe!

Btw do we get to choose induce or not, or is Gynae's call? Which is better?? I hear induce is much faster so less pain time, but some says induce more pain? Now I'm confused!

audrey> who in the world told u induce = faster and LESS PAIN????????????????????????

Induction is normally conducted if baby cannot wait anymore... means....gynae feels that baby's life will be threatened if kept inside the womb any longer.... so have to induce and get the baby out asap...

in my case, 40weeks + 3 days.. (overdue baby)..

the longer inside..the higher rish cuz placenta may be too old (u know mouldy liaoz.. lol) so may not be able to support baby for too long...

(there are cases where baby stays inside for too long and died....imagine carrying to full term and then baby died cuz too little amiotic fluid or placenta not able to pass nutrients to baby anymore..)

Other cases include:

mummy has hypertension, diabetes etc... cannot wait till 40weeks.. baby will get too big or mummy's life in danger

MMm.... trying to rem some more............

(brain empty at the moment...)

induction can be conducted by:

inserting some pill below to soften the cervix and/or puttin on oxytocin drip....

(i wasnt given the pill, only the drip)

the drip will induce the contractions to come... and they induce the contractions by increasing the intensity of the drip.. means from certain ml to certain ml...

like... 1ml for 15min, then 2ml for another 15min.. then increase and increase until u feel more and more contractions....

So the contractions didnt happen naturally but were induced to come... cuz of the drip given...

so because they didnt take place naturally... it was so called more painful...coz they just come fast and furious without our body havin the time to adjust......

its like... we always need time to adjust and if things happen naturally, we will slowly get used to it....

but during induction, it just happen and happen and happen.... our body no time to react or adjust loh.... so......

it feels more painful....................

Usually is gynae's call to induce.....

but i know some mummies got sick of being pregnant...and tell doc.. i wanna be induced and get the baby out asap....

( i personally think such mummies are siao and selfish la.... MY PERSONAL OPINION... i know of a fren's fren...she just cannot tahan being preggy with a tummy anymore and asked to be induced at 38weeks so she can get it over and done with...there was no medical complications or any reason why she needed to be induced otherwise..)

And have u heard of failed induction...?

And then it led to emergency c-section....

I was VERY HESITANT when i was told by gynae...

"if nothing happens tonite, you can admit tmr at 8am to be induced..."

Exact words..that kept me worried the WHOLE afternoon till nite...

I even called clinic back at 9pm and waited for gynae to call back and asked if i can dun be induced tomorrow....then gynae assured me that if he had told me 80% success of induction, it should be pretty okie...

"which doctor will tell u 100%?" - says my gynae...

the next day he explained that when he checked my cervix, it was already soft abt 1-2cm dilation.. he didnt want me to be induced that day itself cuz no point to lie in hospital and wait for things to happen.... he rather i go home..relax and let the cervix dilate naturally....

which when i was admitted on 8am the next day, cervix was already 3cm.....

JUST THAT IT TOOK DAMN LONG TO dilate!!!

from 8am - 1pm, there were no dilation...and from 1-3pm: 4cm

from 3-5pm: 5cm....

thats why i almost died and finally succumb to pethidine....

this time round, i would want to use just laughing gas if i can..and skip even pethidine... hehehe.. :p

but see how la... cervix gotta 争气 and dilate..else really nothing i can do..

and pray Raylynn dun get too big..else stuck in birth canal... = emerg c section also....

pray pray pray.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah..long post. hehehe.. :p

Anyone got bad rashes ? Both my thighs n tummy Got rashes n they itch super badly! ESP wear clothes than it bua e rashes! Omg! They are tiny tiny red dots like milia but e itch today was v bad! Should I see a doc or wait until sat ask gynae to prescribe some anti- itch lotion ? Any lotion to recommend go stop e itch?

Allets - ME same like you.. Since monday i got rashes on left and right side of my belly button there... Don't know caused by what also...

same like yours... tiny tiny red red dots... mine is not exactly itchy la... tomorrow is my appointment with gynae.. shall ask him also...

Btw, any idea where got sell those washable pads for nursing bra? Outgrown my bra again n decided to wear e nursing bra bought.. But without padding leh! So thinking of getting e padding tmr at Robinson than fri can wear my nursing bra ! They have ?

Rach, wah I din know induce got so many risks de. Cos my colleague was induced on drip then she dilate super fast and not very pain, her labour only lasted one hour and she did it without epi, that's how I got the idea. Anyway thanks for the detailed explanations!

Allets, I had very bad rashes on my feet throughout my second trim, a whole bunch of small red dots (sometimes watery bubbles like chicken pox when I scratched them too much) and they were super itchy! Gynae says mine was preggers eczema, and prescribed me an anti-itch cream called Dermasone which helps with the itch alot. So think it's good u show your Gynae on sat and get some cream ba. :) as for the washable pads, most departmental stores will sell. Robinsons def got, I bought my Avent ones there.

I'm Soooo tired.. I jus reached hm n fin bathing n settling.. Phew. Went suntec aft the meet up n waited my hb dere to haf dinner.. Jav finally slpt while I strolled at suntec.. =.=

Today lotsa posts.. All abt painkillers. Hehehe. No matter gt epi or nt, laughing gas or pethindine... We r all 伟大的妈妈们!!! Hehe.. All the pain we gonna go thru, e weight we put on for 10 mths.. The big tummy we carry for so long... All dese, nobody can replace us.. Hehe.. We r the best!!!

I was telling rach they all if this round I haf shorter labour, I'll try going w/o anything.. But of cos if it's nt possible for me to tahan I will still take pethidine or others.. Hee.. Pray hard I haf shorter labour this round!!! =P

Audrey> why ur fren induced??

Not all are high risks... But actually pregnancy itself is one huge risk until baby is safely born...

My ML told me... Malays believe that when u are pregnant, u are one leg in coffin... Only when ur baby is safely out, u step out of the coffin...

Allets: I dono if u can get this off pharmacy shelf, it's called physiogel AI(anti-itch) cream... No steroids or wad involved.. I use it for Jav when he has rashes or eczema.. It's works pretty well .. N if I haf itchiness or rashes I use it too.. Stops itchiness immd .. =D

Rach, not sure leh. Dunno is she want to be induced or her Gynae wants de, I shall ask her tmr. But she's my only friend whose labour was so short and she still tell me not very pain haha. Super power!

seems like nobody commented abt wat KKH gives after discharge... or is there anything KKH gives [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif] anyone noes?

thanks for your recommendation on anti-itch solutions! shall go over to pharmacy during lunch and see if i go get those that you all mentioned..

Gd mrn ladies, wow the thread move so fast the last 2 days, mainly on child birth. I saluate to all mummies, be it natural or c'sec, with or w/o EPI, we are the superwoman.

Yest nearly got admitted to KKH, was in the delivery suite for observation for 3hrs, 'cos sign of contraction and bb not moving much. Phew, false alarm, not a nice feeling to be there when i am onli wk 31. Dun wann a pre-mature bb. Now all i can tell my bb is pls pls pls, wait another 6 more wks.

bb rabit - must take care of yourself k.. rest more.. me too, have been telling bb that can only come and see mummy and daddy in 8-9 more weeks time..

for those FTWM, when you all intend to start your maternity leave? i intend to start 1 week before EDD.. that is from 7 Mar to 26 June! heehee..

bb rabit: i can understand how u feel..

cos when admitted to tmc during 32nd week was pretty scary too...

i even had those injections to mature bb lungs...

that stupid injection very painful leh...

then dr ang still tell me, if my bb cant wait, he will transfer me to KKH cos more subsidy...LOL

allets: i intend to work till the day i be admitted...LOL...

i wanna maximize my ML, dont wanna waste even 1 day to be with my baby...

if i need rest, i just take mc or what lor

allets

ML is very precious (in 2 sense - maternity leave & make love kakakakaka)....so i will work till the day before i go for my c-sect

i did the same for my #1....worked till tuesday, tue after midnight slowly make my way to check-in @ tmc so that gynae can induce me at 6am

Pixie, end April 2009 got a receiving blanket together with the other stuff in the goodie bag, sponsored by Enfa. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

allets, hope yr rash is getting better. Me intend to work till the day I pop, if possible la. Wana maximise maternity leave when bb arrives.

bb rabit, glad everything's well.

Audrey, can i be like yr friend, 1 hr of labour! I want! hee.

pixie / 2ks - work till the day you pop ar? but where got mood to work sia? haha.. cos my boss will need me to tentatively finalise the period i will be away for ML..

Allets

u just count count n agar lor to ur boss. I also finalize a date to my ex company boss. Tue go checkup, come back to work n tell them I go pop the next day. My boss ok with it. I oso like 2ks wanna maximize my ML.

If I wanna rest before pop I will use up my mc first

Chen - rashes still there.. trying hard not to scratch but sayang instead.. when seated now, no movement and clothes wun bua the rashes not so bad.. the moment bua only the itch is horrible.. will get some anti-itch lotion during lunch..

haha.. already told my colleague, if i in labour while at work, she will be in-charge of drving me to TMC.. but that is provided i still work at City hall.. if i move over to bishan office, there super super inaccessible (no public transport except taxi/office shuttle), i dunno how to get to TMC on time sia..

allets: why not?? by then hor, about to pop, at work also not much things to do leh...

now my colleagues all super nice to me too

i still thinking to take a week or 2 of mc to rest before i pop...

allets: erm...if waterbag burst/leak, there should be sufficient time to go hospital la..

i have a friend still bath already then check in hospital...

after my water bag burst, my baby only come out 5 hours later...

milktea, really? what's your name in fb? I can't remember and lazy to check from our group. haha...

allet/fel, I also have tiny red dots of rashes on my tummy, both left and right side and they are itchy too. I thought is tummy stretching and developing stretch marks tat y itchy. Rach saw it that day when I went to her house to collect my pump, she said looks like dry skin. I try my best not to scratch it too hard. If I really need to scratch, I scratch on my blouse loh, coz don't want to scratch on my tummy skin to prevent irritating my skin directly.

BBrabit, please take care ah! No wonder you so quiet here recently. Talk to your bb, ask ur bb to be good n stay in your tummy for 7-8 more weeks more.

Speaking of maternity leave, I already planned to take my ML starting from 28 Feb (Monday) coz my EDD is 6 March (Sunday of the same week). So hopefully my bb will be obedient and comes out during that first week of my maternity leave. I take 28 Feb coz I wanna start on a monday, easier to keep track and count my ML.

What about the rest?