(2011/03) Mar 2011

pixie: hmm...tot u are supposed to give me yr salt pan when u come collect the wipes...LOL

but actually i also forgotten about it la..

january forum alot went c-section leh...

not much natural stories...

chen: yup...sometimes i go back my old thread and read my old birth story too...

imagining going thru again...

2Ks, can start keeping a blog, then can jot every experiences down. I did that for my gal, nice reading them over and over again. hee.

Annie, now my throphy becoming my terror, turning 2, all nonsense coming. haha.

allets>

Posted on Sunday, January 02, 2011 - 10:08 am:

There's a limit to how much can be claimed from medisave depending on which procedure u opt for...

Medisave Withdrawal Limits

Chen,

same here too.. i cried also when i carries my girls in my hand.. kekeke.. so sweet to see them on my hand!! pain.. but really worth it!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually i also dun know how to take care 3 of them.. walk one step and see one step! haha.. luckily my parents help up a lot.

2ks

i did offer to u last time but u never say u wanted leh. since the offer still stands, yes, i will pass to you. u onz bor? or u still want to stick to your swimming float?

if you dont want, then it goes to rach :p

Annie> you prob decide first what u want...

I decided from the start that I'm NOT going to take epidural... UNLESS UNLESS UNLESS i'm really gonna die...and cannot stand it...

So i just dong and dong and lun and lun and lun....

then the pethidine saved me.....

though it was nothing compared to the relief that epidural can bring.. it was good enough for me... when i took it.....

and i survived.. hahahhha....

MONEY was the motivation... save the money.. spend it on 1bedded... dun make much sense....

but if can lun..then lun lo.....

after that... u'll feel like a proud mummy.. wahahahah...

but... doesnt mean those who take epidural not proud okie...

we are all proud and weida mummies...

just ur own preference and philosophy...

for me..i just wanna be a epidural-free mummy..and it makes me proud of it myself... so i dong loh... heheheh....

I"M done in office...so i may slowly make my way to PS...... wah lao..so early...........

i'll nua ard...and if anyone is early... call me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

please note that i'm no longer using my 8118xxxx number...

those who dun have my new number.... PM me... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i never cry when i hold my girl leh... did i???

cant rem..... but sometimes the more wanna cry the more cant cry.....

hahaha.. i think it was a ..... Phew... finally out kindda feeling... hahaha.. :p

Rach - thanks.. the table abit confusing leh.. any idea if we should be looking at Medisave Limit for delivery or Medisave limit under medisave maternity package? wat is the different ar? we cant claim from both side right?

rach, i have the same thoughts at you loh! I really very determined to try n endure w/o epidural leh but I cannot guarantee I will manage to suceed. But yes, I will sure try after hearing your encouraging words! I also don't wanna spend the $700-800 and have side effect! And if at the end of the day I really can go w/o it, I really will feel very proud of myself and have great sense of satisfaction too! So it should be worth to try enduring w/o it first. Even if I failed at the end of the day I know that at least I try my best right? hehe...

But rach, w/o epi, the pain really can be endured? When the doc wanna sew your below, they will inject you right? If not sure very pain ma.

rach, ya lor, epidural is ex. That was my factor for resisting it initially, but pain overwhelmed cost savings. Then my hb kept psycho-ing me to go for it, say i very xin ku. wahaha. Does pethidine help? It's cheaper or free ah? Adminstered at the thigh right? Can't rem. If it helps relieve some pain, I don't mind lei, save $. hee.

Wah.. finally finished reading yesterday's and today's posting.

Just when I tot am done, clicked on the refresh button, another half a page to read. Heehee..

Rach, I din noe you are still taking Medela Freestyle order. Thats why order from Tan Leng Leng. You getting from the same source with her?

I was alittle worried about her sharing on some US webby selling refurbished sets leh.

Kodomo detergent - I bought a bottle last week and omg! then read the post then realised very foamy.

So mummies don't recommend for front load machine?

Will it be weird to wash bb's clothing using one brand and use another brand when MIL wash at her place? Coz she is not using front load machine.

Reagrding natural, epi or c-sec, thou I am a first time mummy, I would think we no need to worry or read too much about it.

On D day, if pain is too much just go ahead with epi loh, seriously even without epi, you think all the late nites taking care of bb, carrying them etc wun give you backache?

My colleagues told me some people chose to c-sec because it can be planned properly. Date and time lah. Lesser chance of sudden complication lah.

I think all the methods got pros and cons de. I am more concerned about the tear, hopefully not so jialat esp after hearing Rach #1 birth story. Hahaa..

pixie: joking la...

i dunno whether i will use or not...

u can give to rach...at least if she will use it wont be wasted...

rach: pethidine speed up my contractions leh...its nt relief for me...hmmm...funny

this time round, i am just going to take laughing gas...

Rach - it's ok, got it solved! the difference in the table is the $450 that we claim for pre-delivery consultation..

annie: is your tolerance for pain high?

if no take epi, when stitching, dr will inject anesthesia before stitching u up...

i remember i saw my gynae doing the sewing, up and down up and down...

LOL

chen: do u remember how much is the epidural??

Annie, with epi is an additional of $700-$800 mah? I don't rem so much more leh..

A friend of Hubby who companied his wife thru her delivery told us, giving birth, it's like pulling your lips over to the back of you head.

Haha..

Hubby said we could save on many other things, but epi is not something he wants me to save on.

Plus, it's not like we are planning to have 6-10kids. Hahaa..

For mummies who went all natual, I would think it's so much power that enable you to endure the labour pain, but for those who opt for epi or c-sec, the pride of being a mother is one who bring up the child giving their best. Nothing to do with labour method, or that's how I felt.

Wah.. sibei emotional today after reading some of the delivery stories. Heehee..

I felt excited esp when I see a new baby's photo uploaded in FB. Heehee..

Won_mummy, thks for your q on buying the PJ from Clementi central!

Hope to find time there to take a look over the weekend.

Oh Rach, Could you pass my Desitin creams to Audrey? I've spoken to her already. Thks!

Regarding breastpump, I thinking of keeping it in Hubby's car incase need to use then no need to go all way back to get it.

Coz I staying in Jurong, and delivery is planned at Mount A. Heh..

milktea: true la...what u said...

its actually depends on individual...epi or non epi, c sec or not...its still so wei da...

cos we carry them for so long leh...

but then seriously, i have friends who took epi complain of back pains after that... and the vomitting after the epi died off in hospital...

and i did not have any back aches taking care of baby from the bending all that though..

Butter8, I also leh... If um v hungry I'll tk biscuits n water but nt filling leh but I still went ahead n slp.. =( so somtimes I'll wake abt 5-6 am feeling hungry n gastric pain..

2Ks: I see... Hee... Seriously, until nw I dono did I tear or gr cut. Wahahaha! I think I too concentrated on pushing like u.. But I also push only when told leh.. If nt I don push.. N funny part was when aft v long jav still haven come out, I told my gynae I gif up dowan gif birth alrdy.. Haha! Hope this round I can do it much better!

Rach: I'm like u, wanna b epi free.. I had contractions at 7am n when gynae came at 5 plus pm.. Said I can only gif birth the next day.. I gave up n ask for epi... I tot I wldnt b able to tahan so long for sure... Sooo, really kudos to u!

I'm still preparing at hm..

2Ks, my epi in 2009 was abt 600, if rem correctly. Includes fees to the anesthetician.

My stitching part was painful lor, gynae told me epidural wearing off. I was like, hurry hurry. haha.

Milktea is right, most decisions on D day. And yes, whatever mode of delievry, we all went through/going through that near 40weeks of preg! Counting down...

2Ks, not just the pregnancy part loh, I see so many of my mummies friends giving up so many things for their kids.

Figure for one.

Spend on kid's clothing, so much lesser on themselves.

Can't bear to leave them in SG and go for a vacation break.

Career advancement.

Sex! (Coz can't bear tp let bb sleep another room). Keekee..

Regarding backache due to epi, my boss's wife who is 45 now no prob thou she took epi for both delivery leh. So or maybe she took really good care of herself bah..

hmm.. i think i confirm will take epidural de.. pain treshold not v high.. menses cramp already need to take panadol liao.. moreover, hb after attending the classes, he feels that since it will make me less painful and not so xin ku, why not just take it..

chen: $600...now should be more??

ok i shall key in save $800 in my brain from now onwards...LOL...

mode of motivation to try again without epi...

milktea: true la...i can spend $70 to buy a pair of shoes for kyler but cant spend $35 to buy a pair for myself...

depends on individual on the back ache la..there is no true/false on this point, but several of my friends have backache...

sometimes i think might be posture too la

I just went to see my gynae yesterday... faint!!!! I gain 2.2kg within 3 wks and my baby gain 1kg!!! bb is now 2.292kg..... gynae say that explains the back pain that I have been having recently....

he say my weight gain is too fast and ask me to cut down on my carbo intake... haha... CNY no new year goodies for me....

Annie> yeah let's jiayou!!!

Ya by right they will give anaesthetic before sewing la...

By then can't feel difference Liao.. Lol....

Hmmmm, Today topic , Epidural...

Read thru some post and seem like quite a number of us, wanna go without epidural.. Well, as for me, i wanna try without epidural too !! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ks/pixie and those #2 mummy : ask you arr, as for epidural inject right, i heard from my friends that, will have timing to see when to inject de right ? so is it , if we can tahan over the period than should be fine le ?

Epidural ah? =P for now my decision is not to use it lah.. but but... ai yo... who knows when the real contraction comes and i'm really in pain!? hahaha...

Chen> I dong till abit pain then I asked for laughing gas... Them dong some more until wanna die then finally relented n took pethidine n that calmed down a mad, screaming woman... So it helped in my case..

I guess the tip is to find ur threshold then take.. Take too early no effect cuz when really more pain, nothing else to help already...

Pethidine is included in Mount A package... Take or dun take also paid already...

One of the midwife who persuaded me to take said..." why u dun want to take?? It's free u know...??"

I took only when the 4th one persuaded me to.. Haha...

Once took I dilated frm 6-10cm in 1 hr..

Previously I was 3-5cm frm 1-5pm...

That's why I gave in to pethidine cuz dong 4 hrs only 2 cm!!!

If it dilated faster I won't even opt for pethidine...

I uploaded my birth story link a few times here liaoz...

If anyone still keen then I post again.. Lol...

Milktea> yup every few days mummies will still ask if can order so order Lo.. Anyway supplier was oos for a while last few weeks... New stocks just in..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

U Nv ask me ma.. Yup I'm ordering frm mybreastpump.com

2k> I dun think pethidine sped up ur contractions but rather ur contractions were going up another level when u had ur pethidine...

Contractions goes up faster n faster n more n more furious...

For me I was asking why after injection more pain only to realize it takes 15min to take effect n my contractions had went up another level...

Milktea> I like challenges.. Haha... I feel more woman only if I dun take epi... But that's ME!! if I succumb to epi I would feel so disappointed with myself... But that's ME!!

my own challenge and preferenc to myself...

And really the injecting of epi scares me off more.. I hate jabs and will avoid at all costs!!!!

Heard of the vomiting n backaches etc too side effects..

Dun wanna give my body a chance to experience that Lo...

Sorry I'm a pro natural w/o epi advocate.. Haha...

But of cuz if epidural is better for anyone, go ahead..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach : aiseh ! i super love your way of saying ! "if I succumb to epi I would feel so disappointed with myself... But that's ME!! " I must use this to motivate myself for believing that i can go without Epi ! ^^V

angelia

see how far u can lun lor? i lun for ard 6hours before saying OK to epidural, then got epidural for the next 6hours....

i used up 2 tubes of epidural leh!!

2ks

ok then i pass to rach

rach

i can pass to you at ur place. but mostly is sunday morning before 9am as usual lor

Angelia> it's just me la... I like to feel proud that I did it.. Hahaha... I know if I really took it, I'll feel less woman... Haha..

Then I'll nag n nag n nag n nag and my ah Lao will just say..

" ok.. It's over... U are still wonderful and did a great job..."

Which will prob make me so unsatisfied still...

Hahahaa... So these are my motivation..

30yrs ago also no such thing as epidural....

Our grandmothers made it too... So why we more pampered.. Lol....

But but but... No offense to anyone okie...

This is just Rach trying to convince herself that she won't take it... Haha...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm thinking of epi free for my bb too... but my tolerant level dam low lor... scared scared... but i think i'll try.

Anyway my colleague told me if i nv take epi then dilate until 4cm liao cannot take epi anymore hur? and hor, i also heard if nv take epi then when the doc need to do stitching and he gives u anestatic tt time dam pain... izit? :S

Rach : True also... Last time , also don't have such things call "Epidural" de lo.. and Yess, if our ahma can do it why can't us right, and and worst things is, they can still give birth like 5 or more kids leh.. Really "peifu" them. 1time pain is good enough, but they can 5-10 times give birth without epidural sia.. okayy ! Set ! Angelia is going to fight thru the birth session without epidural. Must tahan arr !!!!! Also cannot let my hubby "kan sway" me.. Cause he say "aiyah, you soooo afraid of pain de.. sure will take epidural de lah" . KNS !!! I wanna make it for him to see too !!!!

Fel, yes leh. 7 times a day. 2 days in a week. Stated clearly on my diabetic monitoring chart. Yah, before and after meal, and before sleep. *sob* Maybe only Raffles Hospital kiasu! I was asking around and realised nobody did 7 times a day except me...

Tried my 1st day pricking today! Got hubby and nice colleague to prick for me. Not too bad but hubby was so scared to prick me that there wasn't enough blood flow. Hence, he had to do it thrice! -_-

Angelia,

think if u r >7cm dilated, then they wont put u on epi liao .. coz the epi might not be take effect on time before the bb is out .. so no point.

i induced my #1, coz due at wk40 liao still no sign of pop(maybe just 1cm dilated). after the contraction pain through out the night(from 7pm, no food, no sleep..) Dr ang burst my water bag & put me on drip in the morning 8am, 2 hours later, dilated 2cm,, i super hungry & sleepy lor (i can sleep for the 2 mins between the contraction interval) When the contraction came, i was like .. aarrggghhhh(hold the bed rail n bite my lips, but no scream.. haa) & woke up, then sleep again when contraction over !! it continue till about 11+, nurse checked and found only 3cm dilated. Walao, i need my sleep lor, even i dun get my food.. then i asked for epi .. can't feel any pain when they put epi, maybe it's nothing compare to contraction pain. was in epi-land by 12pm, ask my hb go had lunch coz i need my sleep. i felt like i was sleep for hours when the nurse woke me up, ask me whr is my hb.. i ask her, wat's the time now ? it's only 12.45pm.. maybe he still having lunch . then the nurse told me, she can see the bb head liao and she's calling my hb now .. then push me into labour ward & bb was out with just 2-3 push at 1.15pm ...

right after deliver, i only remember to ask the nurse, can i have my lunch ? haha .. so tam jiak ..

frankly, i do not really feel the side effect of epi lar .. maybe just mild shivering after deliver .

i hope i dun have to induce this time .. see if i can lun till the end or not .. else, i'll still opt for epi lar .. last time our mums dun have choice so have to 'dong' lor, now i have choice and opt for reduced-pain labour .. my mum keep saying now so nice, no need to go thru the pain ... last time she pain till scare ..

angelia: depends on individual la...from what i know if u dilate to certain cm, prob 7-8cm, they wont put u on epi already...cos by then its labor time!

during #1 time, i saw a mummy, changed into gown poo already, immediate ask for epidural...then i heard asking her to curl up or something...

rach: no wonder la...after pethidine...my contractions was like fast and furious lor...and its definitely not pain relief! LOL

zenia: after give birth, anesthesia to numb when stitching is SMALL CASE!

i dont feel anything at all seriously...

and still talking to my gynae thats why i can see him sewing up down up down...

sinmey : hahaha ! Well.. 7cm jiu can take epi liao arr.. Than i better "LUNNNNNNNN" till that.. *pray hard* Lol... and yea, i believe the pain overtake the epi bah. hahaha ! but than i from young till now. my mum herself dont take epi. so i must use her as my motivation of not taking epi too.. :p she keep saying that epi really not good, blah blah.. as me to ren ren rennnnn !! lol.. and i believe my mum will come with me to the ward and ask me not to take epi.. Lol...

aiyoh, reading all the birth related info...heart starts thumping already!!

Sorry to divert the topic, anyone here using Babysafe latex mattress? Can share which brand of cot fits the mattress?? have not been feeling well to go out and look around....thks for help!!

2K, yalor .. i think i can remember the sleepy & hungry part more ..

ask for food since the nite b4, they only give me few biscuits & a small cup of milk nia ... no dinner no bfast no lunch no sleep .. how to push ... contraction pain till i 'neng' ...