(2011/03) Mar 2011

myjewel: Hi! i bought the biggest size avail for babysafe mattress. They have 4 sizes available, so i dont think u have to worry abt buying a cot that can fit it. Just go ahead and buy a cot that u like.

Mattress (All mattresses come with removable 100% sateen cotton cover)

Sizes Available:

Baby cot mattress

28in X 56in X 3in (70cm X 142cm X 7.5cm)

28in X 52in X 3in (70cm X 133cm X 7.5cm)

28in X 48in X 3in (70cm X 122cm X 7.5cm)

24in X 48in X 3in (60cm X 122cm X 7.5cm)

sinmey: i had chocolates before being push to observation ward..

i only remember i feel very hot and warm...and uncomfortable cos of the leaking waterbag...

i definitely cant sleep leh

2ks, I don't know how is my pain threshold leh. I feel pain with a small cut but I heard ppl commented b4 that she also that kind who cry over a small cut but then when it comes to labour, they can endured through it w/o epi leh. *weird*

Maybe it also depends on how lucky and fast your labour can be?

the epi now really cost about $800 is confirmed coz my friends just gave birth all say is this price.

Rach, what is the difference between pethidine and laughing gas? So which should I use? pethidine is free?

Sinmey> I was induced at 40+3 also...

Admitted at 8am.. 3cm.. Gynae burst my water bag.. But no contractions till 1pm then put on drip...

u brought chocolate ? i think i should pack 1-2 bar in my hospital bag this time .. they dun give me food, i bring my own .. haaa

Rach: i am 31wks now...

On epi, I will be those who will take.. haha..... because for my #1, I wanted to be epi free.. but it was really too painful to bear(I was crying, tugging real hard at the bedsheets and biting on pillows, hitting bed rails).. for me after i took epi, the dilation was faster..

i was admitted at 2cm dilated.. before epi was still 2cm.. after epi, the dilation become v fast.. i read before some say with epi, as we are more relax so dilation comes faster.

btw, i was induced...

sinmey: yup...i asked hubby to buy chocolates...dark chocolate

cos i tot chocolate gives energy?

i even had chix essence before i check in hospital at 12am...

but i think drink too early le...LOL

c sect, epi, no epi, also great woman. Not woman, how to give birth. Hee. We're making use of tech and medical advancement. Everything's invented for a reason. Think ah ma days might not even have those scanning machines, or won't know gender even till birth. So we're really blessed to have improved lives everyday.

2k> yah I was asking HuBbY in half dying mode why more pain... He asked the midwife they said.. Oh takes 15-20min to take effect... Finally when it took effect, I was in half conscious mode, with laughing gas permanent on my face and I only squeeze HuBbY hand when contraction come and fall back to semi sleep when it's peace time...

Until full dilate then the laughing gas was taken off...

Zenia> yah... Jab for anaesthetic is small case.. I dun even feel it... It's like u use knife stab me then give me a jab...

Which more painful?? Hahaha...

rach: hope your 2nd one will be much easier and dont have to wait till 40 weeks lor..

i just hope my labour will take shorter than the 1st one..kekeke

starting i really dunno how to use the laughing gas leh...i didnt breathe correctly...this time round, i make sure i breath properly..

can sleep with laughing gas bor??

jaime: u really shopaholic!

Lailai - Poor you... Anyway the desitin cream have arrived at Rach's place... I will collect it from her when more of my other items withs her arrive okay,,.. then i pass to you at SK...

opps...i think i am like the shopaholic lady in the sophie kinsella series..just that i dont buy the branded..i buy lots of small value items..

i also dun know how to use the laughing gas..like no effect on me..

i remember my epi was 400 plus..or mayb the attendance of the anaesthetist only...maybe the medication was in another line..

i rememebr telling my hubby during labour for 1 nite of pleasure...in exchange for such pain not worth it..but when the baby come out...all is worth it lor

Am back~ from my MOS lunch. Heh heh...

Hopefully this sat my gynae wun nag at my weight gain =P

I will also try for natural lah, but if cannot stand the pain, I wun hesitate to take epi.

I've heard of friends viomiting before or after taking epi. But like I say, no point thinking about it now. Heh..

Wah, so epi really cost $800 ah! And I supposed that's only one tube right. No wonder some mummies talking about the cost.

I still tot it's below $500. Hahaa..

About the pain our Ahma/ Mum went thru. Act not just giving birth lah, even lifestyle also so different liao. The previous generation really went thru hardship leh.

Like after delivery rest awhile still need to do laundry and cook for the entire family lah.

Last time laundry handwash de leh, where got washing machine?

Physically and mentally, they are much stronger than us lah.

Last time poor family where got confinement eat tonic de. Rest awhile can go back to work to make $ liao loh.

Tonic?

Got meat to eat happy liao loh.

How to compare sia.. lolx.

Last time our grandmother/even some mothers generation also don't have epidural and all women also can give birth naturally w/o one. So I think every woman should have the natural ability to overcome the pain? Just that now that we know we have epi to help us, we will give way when we are in great pain. I think it should be like that. Last time ppl also cannot choose they want c-sect. C-sect is only for emergency cases. All have to go natural if there is no complication.

Morning Mummies!!

Busy busy busy at work with my closing... very sianz... I also geting more backache, aching feeling at groin and bud...

Dr Ang told me laughing gas and pethidine is already included in the package want to use then use, Epi is $700 (how many tubes I dunno)...

Lailai - I think my colleague under KKH also prick 7 times a day during her last pregnancy... some more I sit bside her lor, almost everyday see her prick lor... see liao also feel sad for her poor fingers... I think she eat green apple, brown rice, wholemeal bread to help reduce the sugar level...

Annie,

Sure can lar .. if u dun have choice ... u will have to do it ..

Now have option then different liao lar ..

my gynae always tell me .. NO ONE die of pain in the labour lor ..

sinmey, you know I really went around asking all the experience mummies whether the pain will make you faint, passed out and die? They say no, won't faint one. Coz I very scare I will pain until passed out. Hahahaha.. I am a joker man! So your gynae is right - no one will die of pain in the labour de. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's our mindset and our determination whether we will eventualy give in to epi. I also cannot assure I can endure but will try my best and test my own pain threshold. I also like rach, abit bian tai (sorry rach, not saying you, but i really feel this is the only word to describe myself, not say cannot afford the $800 but just ti ki want to challenge myself) wanna challenge ourselves! hahahaha...

sinmey: did dr ang tell u that??

sometimes he very cute hor...

during my last check, he said, ok next visit will talk about labour...

then i think i can hear him machine gun talking again

2Ks, yea .. some more he said .. the moment u feel like u r going to die in pain .. that's the moment the bb is going to come out .. 'faint'

Phew! Thanks for all the advice gals... *fingers crossed* for me... hehe

In fact, all the ppl ard me; my friends n colleagues all take epi so I got no advice fr them.

oh ya...herbs...

if u guys buying herbs in big quantity...

can consider buying early...cos my MIL told me herbs price increase alot alot...

cos china limited stock coming in due to the weather there...

zenia, heh.. most of the ppl ard me epi or c-sec.

One of my BFF before gg to the hospital told me:

If Jessica Alba can do it, so can I !!

After delivery she told me, at 3cm, she tot she is going to die liao, in the end she took epi. Heh..

I also hope can natural lah, but if really pain just take lah. Pulling my lips to the back of my head.. I really cannot imagine that kindle pain man.

My usual menses cramp I am taking synflex. A pain killer also.

Usual days do b wax like kana rape.

So I think my pain tolerance not high.

And unlike Annie and Rach, I don't have the "wana challenge myself" thinking. Hahaa..

milktea, i better than you abit. I never take pills when I have menses cramp every month. I just endure. Then b wax is pain to me also but also endure! hahaha... So dunno this labour pain I can endure anot. My leg cramp also I endure and save myself on every attack. I never bother to wake up my hub to massage or save me de. Lol....

Annie> laughing gas is the first form of "pain relief"... But really, it's pretty useless... Hahaha... Unless u put it on permanently.. Very very groggy feeling I dun like....

Pethidine is another pain relief which is more effective than laughing gas la.... Mount A delivery package is inclusive ofnm pethidine.. Not sure abt other hospital....

Wow..

Back to labour pain... I cant imagine myself to refresh my 1st born 10 yrs ago.

But this round will still be pro-natural so die die will have to bear the pain badly.

The pain is unbearable, we all have to bear in mind that giving birth to a baby is never easy like Poo poo ( as claimed by the old mothers tales)

Pain will come once water bag brust and contraction will increase as baby feel more pressure inside and trying to get out.

The pain is not like menses..

I have very bad menses pains that most periods last for 10-13 days.

When I gave birth to my boy in MT A, I already diluated and open at 8cm, but cos the water bag did not burst, gyane has to induce the water bag for prevent my boy from being stress also.

No laughing gas, no injection, no epi since in my mind and before delivery, my mum kept saying: if you choose to give birth, then bear all the pain you can.. cos we last time also like tat....

so onli things that fussed me is contraction and looking at the stupid machine for the reading increase and I feel more pain.. like want to come out, dun want to come out. in and out..

is frustrating and at the same time, very hot cos our body tempertaure increase

Onli after Baby is out, you feel like a HOT Flush of water flowing out from your vaginal.....that is the feeling...

+ the stitch - if you can see the gyane happily sewing for you and pulling up the thread, you may feel the pain like ant bite,

after all the washing, transfering you back to the bed ward, the nitemare is over.

then come the pain when walking and passing out your 1st urine!

Hope I didnt scare u all

Annie

I heard from my ex colleague to tell me not to use laughing gas too much cos is useless and some time cos temp loss of memory..

So I made up my mind - not to use any of this to relieve...

Annie- U wont pass out cos I am sure your midwives and the gynae there will keep calling you after birth and talk to you to see if you are responsive...

The most, they will just give you a slap ....like my hubby cos I nearly want to SLEEP!

not Pass out after my 14 hours delivery.

Milktea20, haha... this my first time ma, so i wanna FEEL the pain so tt next time i can tell my gal how much her mummy went thru for her...lolz :p

cos my mum always say i come out foot breech de and she got no pain killer during her time and doc insists she go natural. say she pull down the curtain somemore... and now my gal in transverse lie... dunno if she'll turn anot. gyne say if she nv turn then need go c-section liao, so i'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Ahbui> same... Induced...

I was 3-5cm after 4 hrs... And after pethidine... I was 5-10cm in 1hr... U Nv take pethidine huh???

For me... Whatever cheapest and mildest first.. And slowly move up... Hahaa....

Hope this time can be natural natural... Not induced = less painful Lo....

Induction supposed to be more painful than natural natural...

Wow, Linda, you are the god liao... hahaha.. coz you totally never use any form of pain relives at all! wahahahaha... You are our idol!!! I don't know how you manage to do it man, but really take my hat off you!

Ahbui> yes after pethidine I was more relaxed.. In the sense semi conscious with the laughing gas at the same time....

Dilation took place Lo....

Zenia

How many weeks are you now?

I will be asking my gyane for my girl position this sat since I am 8 mths liao[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Annie- Tat time hor

I bo piang also cos married young, honeymoon period got my boy... no enjoyment of couple life , so everything come and also have to save $ cos I worried tat time not euff how????

I set aside onli 8K tat time..but in the end hor, we end up paying onli $700++ ....YES>.. is very little at the time 10 yrs back.

hee[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2K> I slept with laughing gas permanently on me..

HuBbY used one hand to force the gas on me.. The other hand for me to squeeze...

imagine 22 yrs old married after we all graduated from U, then 24 yrs old gave birth....then now my boy 10 yrs old liao and I quit my job for 2nd one....

now 34..I shld be the lao cha bo ba?

linda: ok la..but 10 years is a really big gap..

dont say 34 yrs old lao cha bo la..

i am thinking if u want #3, i be 34 also leh...cos now i already 32

Linda,

me 31wks now... gyne chk me when i was 30wks and say my gal still in transverse lie lor... if the bb don turn by 31wks then got not reali a lot of rm for her to turn anymore. so my next appt will be 33wks, gyne will chk if she turns anot :/

RAch- Pei Fu your hub!

My hub saw me so pain and the midwives and him kept pushing the mask to me, but i kicked realli hard at them and accidentally slapped my hub back in his face like he was trying to murder me

haaaa

2ks- U made me feel young again! haaaa

but true euff 10 yrs gap is big - but i dun have to worry abt their coping time on studies, cca, tutions etc.... which can be a big headache later on [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]