Angelia,
think if u r >7cm dilated, then they wont put u on epi liao .. coz the epi might not be take effect on time before the bb is out .. so no point.
i induced my #1, coz due at wk40 liao still no sign of pop(maybe just 1cm dilated). after the contraction pain through out the night(from 7pm, no food, no sleep..) Dr ang burst my water bag & put me on drip in the morning 8am, 2 hours later, dilated 2cm,, i super hungry & sleepy lor (i can sleep for the 2 mins between the contraction interval) When the contraction came, i was like .. aarrggghhhh(hold the bed rail n bite my lips, but no scream.. haa) & woke up, then sleep again when contraction over !! it continue till about 11+, nurse checked and found only 3cm dilated. Walao, i need my sleep lor, even i dun get my food.. then i asked for epi .. can't feel any pain when they put epi, maybe it's nothing compare to contraction pain. was in epi-land by 12pm, ask my hb go had lunch coz i need my sleep. i felt like i was sleep for hours when the nurse woke me up, ask me whr is my hb.. i ask her, wat's the time now ? it's only 12.45pm.. maybe he still having lunch . then the nurse told me, she can see the bb head liao and she's calling my hb now .. then push me into labour ward & bb was out with just 2-3 push at 1.15pm ...
right after deliver, i only remember to ask the nurse, can i have my lunch ? haha .. so tam jiak ..
frankly, i do not really feel the side effect of epi lar .. maybe just mild shivering after deliver .
i hope i dun have to induce this time .. see if i can lun till the end or not .. else, i'll still opt for epi lar .. last time our mums dun have choice so have to 'dong' lor, now i have choice and opt for reduced-pain labour .. my mum keep saying now so nice, no need to go thru the pain ... last time she pain till scare ..