(2011/03) Mar 2011

yup, even at work.. my stomach feels very uncomfortable after meals.. nite time, most of the time is too hungry till cant sleep... the pain sometimes feels alittle like mense cramp.. kinda worried... coz i had brown discharge earlier.. & still in v early stage...

2Ks

Yeah, it's Gou li shen that you have mentioned. But it's best to go see chinese physician before taking, cos some individual can't take.

Very expensive. I took only once a week for 3 times enuf liao. Cannot take to much also.

I dun take Dang Dui during preggie but Dang Seng yes, Mum always much Dang Seng, Seedless Red Dates and Wolfberry Chicken Thigh for my meal after I nearly had miscarriage bcos of diarrahea . Really bu back my body lor.

Fish Hu

I know what they meant by can't eat, for them, they eat one whole piece one leh. For me, only 2 small slices. My SIL every pregnancy also took, babies all come out rosy rosy leh. But seriously, all these is based on individual clan's believe leh. What ever our older generation say is good, we also can't say they are wrong right? My mum also took it was she was preggie with me.

And the only way of eating is steaming is in small amount of water to extract juice. CANNOT double boil or boil.

Budderball

It supposed to be for the mother. But you must find out first before you take leh. Gou li Seng is no joke hor. Not everybody can take one.

Joc

My gynae told me to take red meat to increase in iron. My girlfriend was also told for the same reason, cos she's always feeling cold. For me was becos I'm expecting 2, so need more iron.

I took durian after I passed my sugar test. 3 or 4 seeds twice a week. Wah! my baby gain weight lor. But one of my friend the opposite, she took and the baby din like it. She gain weight instead of the baby. It is best to only eat after you have passed the Sugar test leh, cos if you have pregnancy diabetes, you are not supposed to take durian.

mrs teng: me take exactly what you are taking...during pregnancy, i seldom fall sick lor. it was an easy pregnancy for me, beside putting on weight, i dont have much other side effects.

just to share dang shen with you, dang sheng have many grades ok, those when u cook, the dang shen become nua nua kind, is lousy dang shen. after cook, you should see it in original condition, just bloated nia..

2nd grade dang shen is good enough, dont buy those skinny small type.

nope im not bored by herbal talk..

im jus sad n envious that some of u have MILs to make soup or drink for u..

for my 1st bb n even now, the person who always cook for me is my own mum n not MIL..she hardly cares...sigh.

2ks

Haha, I very kia su one, Dang sheng always buy big fat ones and den diagonally cut it before cooking, that way, dun have to cook too long also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I took alot of durian during my 3rd trimester... turn out baby almost 4 kg and head also too big...during the last scan 1 week before delivery, doctor say baby not more than 3.2 kg... but become 3.95kg baby in 1 wwek time ?!! baby can't come out after 18hr pushing so go for emergency c-section..... =P

Piggpatty, Have faith and Be strong!

gnuly15, do rest well and wish u a speedy recovery! so sweet n touching to be able to c ur baby swimming inside n waving to u...

val: never mind...u can learn to make yrself then in future make for yr DIL...

very easy de...everything all dump into slow cooker or thermos cooker..

mrs teng: ya..those big fat one are the right dang shen..after brewing, still original shape just bloated rite??

treestar: dont eat too much during the last trimester ma..i dunno why hor..durian will make baby big leh..

I used to don't take beef... my 1st child got bad ezema ..then i heard that taking beef during pregnancy can prevent incident of ezema, as our family have history of ezema so i decide to try taking beef for my 2nd pregnancy, it turn out that my 2nd child no ezema.. so it may really works... =)

Hi 2Ks,

Yes I regretted taking so much durian...im shock baby can put on 700g within 2 weeks time... as the head also big I have a difficult labour ... somemore never take any form of anestatic... I feel so demoralised as the labour drags on... doc ask me at 12 hr wanna C-section but i wanted to try natural so i say no... 18hrs still no progress... so no choice... i really pain n exhausted until i feel like i can't make it alive already... so...big not means good, my other friend baby is 2.6kg although she rather big n tall, her delivery is smooth n easy... recovery also fast... at 1 year old her 2.6kg baby is bigger in size than my 4kg baby... =P

Val,

Dun be sad... my mil also never brew anything for me from my 1st pregnancy till now... when she visit us n stay over during my 2nd preg also never brew anything for me... n i have to serve her even when im at my 38th week.

treestar, i had ezcema and i hope my BB will not get that from me... hearing beef is good to prevent ezcema for BB, i will like to try too!!

My mum also c me as very independent..n so usually I just take care myself for all my pregnancy, I always c TV show in-law family very gan jiong over the preggie diln treat her v.well..but real life different, i still go to work as usual n nobody fuss over me, usually I jus tell hubby wat tonic is good n ask him to buy n brew for me...that's good enuf 4me.

But...when the baby is out...everybody will fuss over the babies... hahahah.. baby cuter than mummy...

treestar: i think best time to consume anything is during the 2nd trimester, if baby not good weight can eat to increase, but when 3rd trimester, must control intake so that baby wont be so big lor..

i cant imagine how to give birth to a 4kg naturally la...kudos to you for tolerating for 12 hours man!

mine 2.7kg i already wanna die man!

my sis one only 2.56kg but her delivery is so smooth, like lay eggs u know..she dont even need a episotomy leh..

and now her baby already double of birth weight after a month

hi Chen/Lai,

i always use Axe brand oil on the nose at times..cos some places too smelly need it..should be k de..

I wonder should be ok to put on stomache oso for soothing effect or cant? wondering..

wondering what about herbal black chicken soup in food court? those can eat rite..

ALOHAA,

my 2 siblings and myself all have ezcema... I thot is inheretiary but i read that ezcema condition sometimes it is due to lack of certain ezymnes which is present in beef. my mother never take beef due to religious reason... so mayb that's y all of us got some form of ezcemas...my elder boy also have it.. quite bad ...luckily my 2nd boy dun hav ezcema condition. dunno is it because i eat beef when i pregnant with my 2nd...

Ezcema is so xingku lor... i hope BB wont inherit from me. Any side effects with beef? As long its cook right? Cos i intend eating tat regularly if it really helps...

ya if i have a son this time round, will surely make soups for my future DIL... :>

u all oso remember to drink lots of milk, cow milk or goat milk..it will be best to drink fresh milk from the farm..bb will come out strong :>

I think beef or beef burger are fine, i just ate few days ago. but we should AVOID mayonnaise, cause some mayonnaise are made with RAW EGG.

So... ask for plain burger without mayonnaise =)

2Ks,

Ya... it is an v.v.v.painful experience. then the mid wives come every now n then to say to me...baby can't come out...too big!!

any mummies visiting gynea soon, can check abt the beef benefits for us...hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thx.

good then i ask my hb to get it tmr..hehe..

tired on meals..seems like nothing really interest me, due to nausea..haiz.

sorry gals..

feel so nausea now! totally have no mood to post anything here!!!

but have been keep reading all your posts!!

heehee!!!

Anyway... Long weekend is here!! ENJOY!!!!

hi Bee,

What i know is, some "big" fish may contain higher level of mercury, hence, is not recommended for pregnant women.

You might need to check the allowance for consume of these fish from internet before taking them. Just to be careful

Puan Sri

Thanks for the website, but they dun say much about tropical fishes like Threadfin and Batang leh. I know threadfin can take but Batang better not take.

My FIL is a Marine biologist, and he told me basically, those with grey skin shouldn't be consumed to much becos of the mercury level. But we have to take into account the regions where these fishes are caught. Countries where their waters has more level of mercury will tend to have fishes with high mercury level. Not necessary that the same breed of fish which are safe have low mercury level. Whatever it is, take in moderation.

if am not mistaken, batang and tuna is the same type of fish isnt? hehehe

my SIL said we take most of the food but always in moderation.

But she avoid seafood like crab, prawns and squids..

Earlier today my gynae told me cod, tuna and some kinds of salmon are the ones we should eat in moderation. She said max twice a week. and all fish and meat should b well cooked.

erm...i take everything leh...from raw salmon to crabs to half boiled eggs..LOL

but in moderation la...like once a month or so...

I'm still hospitalized. Today they suspect me of having H1N1 so took a swab test and still waiting for result to come out.

Still coughing like mad.

Got to go for another ultrasound scan again today. Hee hee, this time its done by a professional sonographer. Baby kena promoted again!! Haha. Yesterday done by a doc, shows 3.28cm, today one shows 3.38cm!!! Hee hee. So happy for baby. The sonographer says placenta has formed, showed me on screen but honestly I see nth lei. Hee hee.

Vomiting is still there. Just now vomited all my lunch out. Sian. Throat is killing me.

The nurse told me not to take half boiled eggs.. i suppose raw salmon, u just gotta be sure that it's well-handled..

Just to share a joke before the nice long weekend:

Q. I'm five months pregnant and I have been craving bleach. I have a really strong urge to drink it. I never experienced this in my other two pregnancies. Can this be harmful to my baby? Have you ever heard of this?

-Anonymous, Maryland

A. First, please do not drink the bleach! It can be very harmful to you and your baby. You should report your craving to your doctor ASAP. You are probably deficient in iron or some other vitamin. Your body is instinctually seeking out what you are lacking through your seemingly-odd craving.

It is more common than you think during pregnancy to crave such potentially poisonous items as permanent markers, spray paint, gasoline, dirt and bleach. It's almost always an indicator of a dietary deficiency.

Gnuly pls take care... must be terrible all the coughing... I just cough once or twice n my lower abdominal hurts...

I've a friend when she got pregnant she also got coughing... n she keep coughing till she give birth... weird.... =P anyway now her girl is alredi like 5yr old n v.intelligent n pretty... so the coughing doesn't affect the baby..just mummy will be v.uncomfortable

hi Bee,

when i feel so bloated n dizzy...just wanna sleep n so i can skip all the discomfort when im asleep...

sometimes it is tough especially during meetings at work.. trying to hide from my boss my pregnancy so can't show these signs....

pinkypink

There sure to be pain for a few days and sometimes even bruises lor. If your are talking about progesterone jabs, yes. it's very painful bcos of the peanut oil in it.

Tell yourself, this is nothing compared to childbirth. You're a mummy now, must endure. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Imagine me having it everyday and how painful it can be? Think at that point the well-being of the baby is more important den anything.