(2011/03) Mar 2011

val: i have a boy who is 19 months...its tough to handle 2 i think..i am a FTWM and then i have no helper at home.

#1 will go childcare and #2 will go ifc lor..

Morning all...hurray long weekend de!!

Audrey - i did not use any new creams loh. dont know what has happend too.

I'm gg for my 2nd check up tmrw too. good luck on your scan tmrw ya :)

Linda - is the almond oil oily? i usually dont apply cream on my leg and hands. but since preggie skin has become very dry loh. can apply on body mah? I can't see this item on the webbie.

Been follow this thread but didnt post any message..

I am currently in my 8 weeks pregnancy, just went to my 1st visit on monday for check up, but sad to said during the stomach scan gynae said cant detect BB heartbeat, then suggested to do viginal scan, but still cant detect heartbeat..

He said by 8 weeks suppose can listen BB heartbeat..

Gynae send me to do blood test, Wednesday did another blood test again. The result showed my hormon did increased, but then didnt increase double the amount suppose to be..

My gynae suggest to give BB a chance, schedule me to do a detail scan on 13th to check if BB growing and check on the heartbeat again..

Now we are playing waiting games...hiazzz..

Nico

Hang in there and stay positive. Dun let your mind run wild.

Bee

I drink longan with ginger tea. But din put red dates cos may cos constipation. (only do so when u are doing confinement) Boil in the morning and that will last me the whole day.

It helps with the nausea and at the same time nourish your blood loh.

mrs teng: seedless red dates will not be so heaty.

but i dont think its good to drink now at 1st trimester leh..

i usually make some longan with red dates, wolfberries and dangshen once a month after 2nd trimester

Hi Bee,

my gynae is very experience, he is professor in KKH, John Tee..

My 2 kids delivered by him as well..

So i trust him..

Anyway, we will just wait till 13th and see how as my hormon did increase during the blood test, didnt dropped...

Ladies- Anyone taking DYDROgesterone 10mg tablet? I got some to spare, given by KKH. But now seeing pte gynae, taking another type of med. Pls PM me. THKS

bingbing, thanks! Ooh all the best for yours tmr too. We can update each other hehe! Actually tmr you can ask your gynae about your skin condition, i intend to ask mine too. :)

Nico, all the best for your detailed scan on the 13th. I understand the wait is not gonna be easy, but u can count on us for support. :) Meanwhile, think positive and happy thoughts ya!

Val: Will be sending #1 to a daycare centre nearby and #2 my maid will take care when I go back to work, I'm aiming on taking 6 months off, 4 mths ML, 1 month no pay leave and I still have 22 days to clear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 6 months I think my maid will have no issues handling.

I see #1 getting spoilt already so this is a good thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lailai, i'm also using axe brand medicated oil when i'm at 'smelly' places. Smell has heightened and I cant tolerate lots of smell. Shld be ok, i guess.

Val, me me, my #1 in 2009 and #2 coming in 2011. Am seriously considering being a SAHM after having 2. In deep thoughts for that...

Audrey, do update on your scan!

Mummies, I had samsui chicken at the Soup restaurant last night, had it with generous amount of ginger, it seemed to help curb my nausea for the night. Feels good! Can try...

oh..good. have faith..dun worry, everything will be fine.gambatei nico!

mrs teng, chen...is it..oh then i must try liao..

prob i go for honey with the giner tea.

Why can't take during 1st trimester leh? there's no herbs in it leh.

i had that during my 1st trimester. Stop totally frm 2nd trimester on. AS far as I know, 1st trimester it basically nutrients for mummy, not baby leh. Baby only draw from our womb during first trimester, it's only during 2nd trimester on, that they starts drawing from the placenta. So by, then we should be more careful of what we take. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs teng: my MIL works in a herbal shop. she said 1st trimester best dont drink anything. anything should absorb during 2nd trimester, stop also during 3rd trimester. that is what she advice me.

anyway, up to individual preference ba...

as long u happy just go ahead!

thanks for the tips.

Sometimes, I really can't trust these ppl, they tell you different things. I was told by the herbal shop assistant to take it. See what I mean?

It's my family tradition to take Korean Red Ginseng during 1st trimester leh! All my cousin, nieces nephews all born liao very rosy rosy one, body warm warm type, not scare of cold want leh.

What we do is use 2 small slices and put a 3 tbsp water, and let it steam in the rice cooker when the rice is 3/4 cooked. Den before dinner, just drink the extract. Once a week during 1st trimester. Den 2nd trimester, all stop totally liao.

I only know that during entire pregnancy can't take 'Tang Gui" or "lemongrass". That one confirm sure miscarriage.

Chen, sure thing i will update! :) wow u r considering to be SAHM? i always take my hat off to those ladies who can do it. Pray abt it ya, am sure u will make a wise decision. Oh oh, samsui chicken with ginger is very very yummy!!

It's all based on individual lor, I usually will consult the chinese physician to see my condition before taking any herbs.

mrs teng: the ginseng is good! just a small little glass rite? my MIL also make it for me once in awhile...it really will warm yr body..but its very expensive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yes..dang gui cant...but dang shen can...

dang shen will bu qi..

especially good for us..cos we like run out of qi when pregnant...

i just drink whatever my MIL made for me lor...so its still up to individual. to me, everything in moderate is fine...

drink what everyday is also no good lor..tio bor..

hi M (blendedbaby) & Chen (patience),

i was SAHM with no1 then i got a job..but after i started the job i found out i having no. 2 !!!

so m i lucky or jus downright unlucky..

so i think to quit soon n jus be SAHM wif 2 kids..

Piggypatty (piggypatty) ,

my heart goes to you.

Do go for another checkup again.

Allow me to share mine, I had the similar experience previously. weak heartbeat, then no heartbeat.

went to do my D&C also. I was advise that if u drag too long, it will just collapse and deem as a "natural miscarriage" like menses.

Before i did my D&C , my gyane did another scan again. Take a few days to verify and not wait too long. really. It affected me emotionally and physically during that period.

I do pray for a miracle for u.

Audrey, just a thought la becos I don't have help from Mum or MIL on looking after the kids. If I were to send both to infant care, the fees are costly. The childcare in my area is ex, my location lor. Might as well stay home and spend time with them. Sigh, not doing justice to the many years I've spent behind books if I were to choose this path...

no wonder i always feel cold..i din take ginseng.

haha.haiz.

my MIL dun really know abt all these thus hv to learn frm here.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so dang shen can take..anytime, till 2nd trimester?

bee: not all kinds of ginseng...

its GAO LI SHEN..

that one is good...but ex..

i take dang shen during my 2nd trimester, 1st trimester i dont take anything. but mrs teng takes during 1st trimester, dont take during 2nd trimester..

so up to individual okie??

Tracy,

I found dr wong very smiley. can reassure me when i'm worried la. i tend to worry alot with my spotting. i took the prostegene jab on Wed. Cos i have phobia of injections and usually feel faint or blackout about 10 seconds aft the jab so she was quite worried when i turned white. but she still can smile. i saw her becos of good reviews of her in the forum. so far so good.

my spotting stopped completely since i've taken MC and stayed at home. guess i too "lao lei" at work already.

Lin

hi chen, no leh im not lucky im on contract not perm job..so i can consider to quit now..cause i wont get the maternity leave.

anyway i understd how u feel...put 2 kids in CC is very expensive..the benefits of taking care yrself is much greater..think of it as sacrifice if u realli becum SAHM.

i oso feel my degree is wasted if i becum SAHM..

Has u all booked your confinement lady & massage lady?

Any good massage lady to recommand?

As for the herbs, so far from what my mum did for both my SILs, after 1st trimester, she will make "tang shen" with red date and they drink everyday just like drinking water.

Val - I personally can't afford to be a SAHM now and I do enjoy working but your degree's not wasted you can teach your kids. I guess you should start saving [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Herbs and all that - I was told I can only take birds nest after the 3rd month, that's pretty much the only thing I took and I think it helped me 1. not get ill at all when I was pregnant with #1 2. perhaps helped with the stretchmarks :p BUT I went to see a doctor cos I sprained my wrist and he advised against it, said it's a waste of money and can cause allergies, so I just cut down.

But my favourite bak kut teh, the gyne said to limit, sigh. cos of the herbs.

And of course, coconut in my third month, loves it. But I drink once in a while now even, yum. I think it's true cos my #1 was born super clean, no funky smell (according to some dads).

Mrs Teng,

What is the purposes of taking of Korean Red Ginseng? For the baby or for expecting mother because of MS? My mum did mentioned that before but yet to take any action to make for me.

I'm in my 6th week and due 30march. Having spotting so went to see gynae. Dr lee is really nice!

She gave me a hormone jab plus anti nausea meds so I can eat properly..

Piggypatty: dont lose hope!

I was thinking abt mango a couple of days..heng now i saw wat budderball reply..have to drop the idea liao... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thx.

Oh no. I keep vomiting now. I just ate a banana to curb nausea but also vomit everything. Been vomiting since last night. Yucks.

No appetite at all but I must eat something with my folic acid & hormone pills...help...

Mrs. Teng, I also have been drinking American Ginseng (Pao Sheng) and red dates (seedless) water. My mum's friend who gave birth to 3 kids said drink red dates water can prevent baby from getting Jaundice (yellow skin) and her kids came out all rosy rosy complexion one.. I also confused at times when some ppl say cannot take tonic during first trimester but the chinese practioner also advised my mum to make the Americal Ginseng for me.

bee: cheeseburger why not? heard beef can beef up the size of baby leh...

annie:gao li sheng is better than pao sheng for pregnant ladies..my MIL told me so..

pao sheng usually when my baby (abv 6 mths) after jab, i will give a few teaspoon...

Nico, understand tat the wait is gonna b tough.. but try b positive & cheer up!

I'm always feeling hungry.. n when the hunger comes, its v painful... but if i eat too much at one go, will feel veri uncomfortable after tat.. anyone have the same experience?

isit..my hb scared.. but when i saw the junior whopper in BK/ cheese burger in MAC..i cant resist it.

joc, then take small portion in few more rounds..

found this answer online :

Beef or any red meat in moderation is perfectly fine when pregnant, although you need to ensure that all red meat is fully cooked so as not to get listeriosis (this can be found in raw meat).

Red meat will also help maintain and increase your iron levels, essential in supporting pregnancy and baby growth.

Joc, me me! No need take too much at one go, i eat one full meal only, after that feel very xingku. Few times i so bloat till can't sleep, cry...