(2011/03) Mar 2011

Annie: so fast two weeks already meh? Today wednesday only.. But I still happy cos tomorrow I can bath can wash hair!!!

Milktea: by 2nd month go back to work, don't think bb intake stabilized yet means u still got to wake up maybe once in the night to feed...

So now.. Can sleep try to sleep more!!

Butter8: dilate 2cm still can hold de unless waterbag broke or what...

But waterbag broke doesn't mean give birth anytime too..

Walk less if u wanna hold on..

Cynthia: never mind I already browse thru the archives to produce the table.. Think later part easier..

Update so that mummies can know whosebb same dob with who mah..

I had pinkish n brownish mild spotting last nite. Then after pee today I had brown discharge. But so far not water bag burst nor pain contractions.

Will continue to monitor.

Thanks all for your help. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm so blur wasted 24 hrs charging my freestyle w the batt inserted wrongly.

2ks- thanks for updating e table.. Reading 10 pages of archive not easy Loh.. I read 4-5 pages at 1 go already eyes tired ..

Now going for my gynae check..

Mummies- can I check, if breat soft after pumping does it means that e milk clear Liao? Cos e breast might feel soft after 15 mins of pumping, but after resting for a 10 mins, still can pump out milk leh.. Should I be extending my duration per pump to 20-25 mins instead? Also, how to increase supply ar, cos my supply lime stagnant at 100-120ml per

Pump session..

Thanks mummies!!

Allets, I am same as u. Pump out 100-120ml per session max. But I pump 12 mins each side only.

Ask u all, can we switch on fan? I been in the air con room n I am thinking of switching on the fan n alt the use of air con

Shirley,

when you switch on the fan, try not to blow directly at yourself...

by the way.. how u manage to have 100ml to 120ml of milk per session ah? u pump regularly for how many days to reach that output? hehee...

mommies,

has anyone of you try cutting bb's fingernails? my boy's nails quite long already leh!!! hahaa.. dunno want to cut or not.. or to wait until full mth?

Jeraldine, my right also got much much more than my left, it's like 7-8oz vs 4oz lor. The breast size is slightly different n supply can double. Now trying to massage the left side more n supply is increase to 5 oz. Hope to increase somemore.

Zenia, 'dun' think supply will reduce by time unless u never have enough hot fluid, rest n pump enough... But notice the supply sometime may reduce a little due to the emotional, timing.... Just preserve n I'm sure ur supply will back/increase soon.

jaster,

my bb's cord also dropped on day 10th and it seems to be bleeding a tiny bit ( u see some dried blood at the belly button area). it's probably due to the way u carry the bb, make sure tat the clothing ur bb wears is not brushing against the belly button (or as less often as possible). also ensure that the belly button area is cleaned with a cotton bud during bath times or dry cleaning. my gal's belly button 'bleeding' stopped within two days.

Lilprecious> hee my own name got 婷!! Hehee

On the way to gynae now for 2 weeks post partum follow up... Think will do papsmear also...

Allets, the breasts will feel soft after pumping for 10-15 minutes, but milk flow can start & stop a few times during a pumping session. I used to pump 30 minutes with my #1 to increase supply.

zenia,

thanks!!! sigh.. was so worried just now that i almost wanted to call Mrs Wong lor... but i dropped her a sms also lah... my mom lah! said ur bb's cord there bleeding u know a not? then i was like!? bleeding? but it's dried blood...

Sinmey, hmmm... will continue to observe today also... i dunno if it's becos i'm lazy in the night and i nv pump till 5-6hrs later tat has made my milk decrease... quite sad to see the difference in the amt of milk i express... haha hope it gets better today. "hot longan tea here i come!"

Shirley,

I'm not so discipline lar.. I on the fan through the confinement but not direct to me lar... Blow it higher to the wall n turn turn.

Allets,

I pump 15-20 mins. Stop for few mins n pump for another 5-10mins while squeezing the breast.. Now my breast is season /stabile Liao. I have soft breast even after i pump 6 hrly. So soft breast doesn't mean no milk.. It'll have the milk that we need. U can try to pump longer n see if u can get more milk Aka sending signal to ur brain that u need more milk. After sometime u might get more...

Jaster, i had the same reaction when i see the dried blood on my gal's belly button. i panic a bit and told my mum abt it... she too dunno wat s going on, y it'll bleed. but my CL assured me it's because of the way we carry them, cos the area still quite fragile aft the cord drop off, so must not 'buah' the clothing on the belly button lo. but i still will observe if there's any redness anot lar... just to be sure. the dry blood was gone after thorough cleaning up during each bathing session and less 'buah-ing' :p

Jeraldin> my left also lesser than my right... Rayanne time also like that.. Somehow the breast just less productive... It's ok one la.. Just pump Lo...

Just now I did a full pump before I left home after latching right side...

Left side only 45ml... Right side after latching still got 30ml...

Left pathetic rite?? Think I need to up left side by pumping after every left latch... Heeh...

Milktea, Annie> once ur milk supply stabilize and ur baby can sleep longer at nite.. U can drag ur pumping sessions..

Meaning instead of 3 hrly, u pump 4hrly, then 5hrly at nite..

Drag longer and longer and then u can skip nite pump totally.. U can have a last pump at 12am... Then sleep till 6-7am... Then wake up and pump...

The idea is to slowly drag and let ur breast get accustomed... Then the breast won't produce so much at nite..

And u get ur rest!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Annie.. Since u have more than enough now, u can cut down ur pumping or dun pump everything...

Just clear a bit of the breast so that u are not engorged or leaking... Then go to sleep... If baby wake up next round feed the half pumped breast.. Cuz by then full again le...

Slowly ur milk will be able to match ur baby's demand and then u no need to pump so frequently..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But of cuz u wana store and store a lot, then u continue what u are doing but very tiring la... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, my baby's cord until now still havent drop. its the 10th day alrdy. shld i be worried? And she has alittle rashes on her body. look like got a small bubble like thing in the centre of it. is that normal?

2Ks, not yet exactly 2 weeks, but this week is my 2nd week loh (sat is 2 weeks!) few more days nia... Very fast hor?

My CL treats Bb ok n cook my meal well, but i dislike the part she always try to make comment on Bb well being. Like we already brought Bb to kk hospital ytd to see PD for his cough, phlegm n jaundice then PD already said no need give medication first then my CL this morning when hubby went to work Liao started her act-smart comment keep saying Bb cough until very bad, cannot let him keep coughing like that, must do something (trying to hint her Chinese medicine way again). Then I simply ignore her, just continue eating my breakfast. Can't she understand we hate the idea of Chinese medicine n just shut up n stop commenting abt that? We also know Bb is xin ku but we have to trust PD right? Then keep blaming is his cough that result Bb puking out milk after every feed! I shoot her say Bb didn't puke after I latch her directly! She said is it? She also dunno y. I think maybe the way she bottle feed got problem loh! But one thing got improve isvtgat she now will ask me to latch Bb or feed ebm. She knows we hate the idea of fm.

Just done with gynae visiting. Going to see him next mon 21st then decide to induce or what. Hope no more false alarm as I mention to him having irregular contraction lately again. 5-10mins depending. Hai only tell mi to hang on cos according to his machine my EDD is beginning APRIL!!! That means not according to my LMP lo. Next week then official cross over 38weeks so [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So now wait & see if these few days bb gg burst my bag or gimme regular contractions or what. If not shall chose to induce next week better & can arrange my gals while I go popping..

Rach, last night I can't wake up at 3am to pump after my last session at 12 midnight. I woke up by CL with Bb at 5.30am then I faster latch Bb one side n got up to pump the other side coz too full le... Now I pump every 3-4 hrs interval to release my fullness. Yes, trying to store as much milk as I can to prepare myself handling the Bb alone after CL leaves. Coz later if I can't cope with latch n pump, I might give ebm then plan my time for other chores & pumping. Now I have time I faster pump n store whatever excess.

One qns, if I store the milk now means I must finish these ebm b4 June b4 it expires right? Then we thawing the ebm, we always take the oldest milk right? I going to fill up half of the top shelving of my freezer le leh.. How?? I use bottles. My friend's gave me many more avent storage cups but very occupy space hor?

Congrats to all mummies who had popped n neck long long mummies, wish ur turn coming soon n have a smooth delivery.

Good to know that all mummies are doing well with the bb. Saw some mummies asking when can sleep thru... How I wish...

It's 10 days since my cl left. My life is horrible. Bb Shay drink every 2hr, warm up ebm/feeding/burp/change diaper/wash bottle take me 30min to 1 hr. So I left 1 hr 'free' time for each 'session' b4 his next feed... During day time, I use the 1 hr to breakfast, laundry, prepare/eat lunch, pump, shower, prepare dinner for my girl ...means I barely have time to nap in noon. Night even worst, means I only have 1 hr sleep nia then have to wake up Liao. Almost forgot, he easily vomit so I gotta burp longer n if he vomit, means I gotta wipe/change him, then clean up the mess. So sometimes I 'dun' get to sleep for that 1 hr also.

For the last 1 wk, I think I only sleep < 5hr a day n I'm very sure I only sleep 3 hr for the last 2 days. Now I can see my panda eye Liao. I drink kopi every morning now to keep myself awake n chicken essence too. Still boiling the herbal soup to keep myself nutricient enough. Notice the supply drop a little maybe due to lack of sleep so I start drinking the raw fenugreek with hot water to boost supply n pump longer(means lesser freetime somemore).

The only good thing is: I lost 1kg last week.

Lil,

I can't imagine if I have to take care 2... My #1 was at home for 1day last week. I almost go crazy coz she wan my attention so much... When both of them cry together I almost break down. Told hb I finally know wat the depression mean. But my girl is those hyper type n need lots of attention one. Very demanding. Lucky she's at full day cc now n I only need to prepare her dinner nia. Hb will be at home after she's back n basically hb will take care f her while I in charge of bb.

Allets: I pump 25 mins each time leh and I can get several let downs... Will continue pumping 25min till 2nd month when my milk stable down.. 10 mins is definitely not enough

Shirley: I on fan but didnt blow directly.. I made it blow higher and make it oscillating

Mummies, I hav qns again. Now that I giv ebm in e day n fm in e night, will Bb hav confusion? Ie Bb sleeps better in e day n was v cranky at night. Yday I had a sleepless night again. Feed her fm, drink a bit then sleep, refuse to open her mouth anymore. 1+Hr later, wake up again n cry for milk. Aft 3rd attempt, she vomitted. Not sure if her stomach got wind or wat. But earlier, 9am I giv ebm, she can drink 120ml n sleeping v well.

Could it b fm not suitable for her? Or? So tired n confuse now. Jester, do u hav e same prob? Cos I know u give fm at night too.

Annie: for those normal two door freezer, the milk can only keep for 3 months and remember frozen bm taste slightly diff from fresh ones, some babies will reject.

For those deep freezer, ebm can store for 6 months, that's why I bought one

Rach, I dunno how to wear the cinch tummy wrap! Too complicated for me to understand - dunno how to measure my waist to start! Hiyo how??

2ks don't kill me .. My charmaine is charmaine not chermaine,

Butter 8 , dr lee told me 2cm can be soon or can be as long as 2 weeks also .. Diff to tell but 3-4 cm confirm admit

I was 2.5 cm on my last visit .. She ask me go back n wait unless I wanna induce n choose date also can

I deliver 4 days after my last gynae visit

So long no pain .. Continue with life [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kepo wat's ur older boy name ?

Hazel .. Western believe in lots of fluid ie water

Chinese say drink water cause water retention

Drink red date

For me after I finish my red date drink I will drink water if not no enuf to quench thrist

Anycase my ML say I got no water retention so I drink some water when my red date drink finish for the day

I only follow rach style latch on demand coz i damn lazy sterialize pump etc coz CL is mum not the hire kind. So I try to lessen her burden as well

But really my girl every 2 hrs or so also want .. Sometimes I feed ebm I tot quite a lot .. She also ask quite soon

Maybe addicted to neh neh liao

Must slowly drag to 3 hrs esp nite

Jaster, i latch the bb every 2-3 hours and if bb drink 1 side and fall asleep, i will pup out hte other side and normally will get like 50-60ml n also empty the other breast. I drink alot of fluid - longan drink and milo. then at nite i wake up every 3 hrs to pump also to get the 100-120ml of milk lo. Coz at nite the CL give ebm ma so i must pump out dilligently but sometime i tired and lazy i dont pump.unless breast pain then i pump. When i pump i massage the breast first and if got engorgement i use a hot towel to press on my breast n massage lo. So far every day my milk got increase 10ml every day since i started eating fenugreek.

Thanks 2ks, Jaster n Sinmey on answering abt the fan thing.

at least u all can EBM alot den more easy. My MIL tell me I cannot Express too much to store, cox fresh better. So only limit me to 4-5 bottles in the fridge, cannot store freezer.

btw mummies, my left boob (which usually is bigger than the right) is now significantly BIGGER than my right breast. Is there anything i can do to equal them out? I dowan 1 big 1 small! OMG

Yesterday nite too tired to do pumpin Liao. Baby woke up almost every hr to latch on. Til I gave up giv fm turn he slept for 2 hrs. Today mornin so full breasts v happy tot can pump out alot. In e end I latch baby for awhile (30mins) then rest half hr do pump. but not alot leh stil maintaing at my currect level of 20-25ml only.. I start takin e fenugreek today hopefully got good results soon..

2ks- how u get several let down in 25mins pump? Isit pump Liao, stop, restart freestyle to stimulation mode again? Now what I did was just have 1 stimulation than express - total 15 mins.. Than if I wan, I pause for 5 mins, get a hot drink than restart breastpump to stimulation mode follow by expressing for another 10 mins.. But like that total time taken per pump session abt 45 mins.. Nite time super tiring like that Loh.. So now nite time I only have 1 letdown..

Annie- for e wrap, not sure if I do it correctly not.. But how I wear is that e one with e inch one should be in front if ur tummy ( e inches should be at e top,) Than for e 2 pieces of Velcro ( e one with R at e bottom) paste it on ur desired waistline.. I tried diff inches but all cannot zip up until I tried 33.. Than when u zip up, adjust zip to ur right side.. For

remaining flap on both side, pull n stretch them tome back..

Jaime: ok I do the update..

If latch on demand then when u alone at home, it's hard to plan your stuff but it's easy la when go out

Annie: it's a small chest freezer.. Like 7-11 put ice type but smaller one. I bought at $270. But u hv to make sure got space.. Mine I managed to fit in my service balcony

Cae: yeah tats wad my MIL say, so they limit me. Nowadays I bf her if possible, try not to bottle feed. Cox bottle feed higher chances of contamination. I trying my best to trust the maid to wash etc. eeek, cant do everything myself. My joints in my hand aching alrdy.

Storing EBM & Expiry

Storing BM in freezer can last 3 months (not inside the door side).

Fridge can last 48hrs..

But do note that our BM nutrients change it's constituents along the way to suit baby's growth...

Means the milk we are expressing now are suitable for his current growth needs... When he turns 3 mos and is still drinking the milk u are expressing now, means he's a 3 mos baby drinking the nutrients for a 1mos baby...

That's one thing myself personally I dun like abt storing and keeping milk too long... Maybe when they are 9-12mos the difference not that big...

But for 1st few months, I think it's important to give them what they need and deserve...

So it's good to store but dun over store...

Ensure u feed what u pump.. Else waste time, effort & sleep also.. And waste water and electricity to wash & sterilize...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My personal preference la... Other mummies may have differing opinions...

But our body do produce milk according to baby's age..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Annie> cups and bottles take up alot space.. That's why we use milk bags..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can lay flat and stack up...

Pixie & 2k> maybe u can take a pic of ur freezer storage and post up here...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cinch> start with any measurement and wear see too loose or too tight...

Then u adjust frm there...

To wear, u put the part with the measurement at the front of ur tummy and wrap the cinch ard and zip...

Once u zip it up, then pull the sides and Velcro to the back...

Adjust for left and right side... Then done...

Maybe can pull up or down a bit to see where u want to cinch..

Either waist or pull lower to cover tummy & waist...

Belinda> I'm like u.. Or rather ur mil...

Haha I also feel fresh better...

My hubby also dun like me to pump and store too much..

He prefers I latch... No storing and warming milk problem...

So I only keep 1-2 bottles in the fridge...

If I know I need to go out I pump a bit more..

Like now at gynae... Just now after latching at 8am, I pump empty... So my fridge now have 3 bOttles..

90ml

60ml

70ml

Should be enough for 2 feeds.. Till I'm home...

Reached at 10.10am... Now still waiting... Hur hur...

Pixie> u better call early to book the morning slot...

Then no need wait so long man...

My appt 10.45am but cone too early they dun issue my number until 10.45am...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jaime

Older boy is Ryan tan ruihao. No. 2 will b Jordan tan ruijei unless Chinese name need to change this is quite firm.

Cynthia, 2ks, Jaime

I guess I hope to keep him in tummy for few more days. If can't then it's fated [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will try to rest more

Caecilia> ya u are right.. Our milk keep changing in nutrients...

Ahha u still pump twice a day.. I only once a day or once in two days. Lol....

Allets> yes u are cinching like me... I think is correct way la..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach: yeah lor, yest my maid, wah lao I saw her shaking the bottle of breast milk she took out from the fridge, den i was like, !!!! NO don't shake, SWIRL!!!! den she swirl. -.-

Cae: I also pump 2x a day, I use EBM to feed at night, easier. Den BF in the day.

Lailai: which ward are u in?

Im waiting for induce pill to take effect. Full of anxiety and uncertainty. Gosh. Today is my d-day!