(2011/03) Mar 2011

2Ks, but cold drinks really very difficult leh, esp if I go coffeeshop for lunch/ dinner.

I try to take orange juice less ices but my colleague told me baby will cough cough if I take too much orange juice.

2Ks,

cannot drink cold drinks during last trim ah? alamak... i only guai during 1st n 2nd trim... but now i buay tahan the heat... must have icy cold drinks to cool me down...

reagrding names, how about chinese names?

you guys going for any fortune teller or fengshui master?

me thinking of You long zi, he is charging $100.

Anyone been there b4?

My HB and I still call our baby Mr Baby.....He gimme so many names to choose but he cannot put his feet down on one.

milktea: orange juice ya...alot of ppl said will cause phlegm...

i usually take ribena when i am outside...

my #1 name is by you long zi lor...

alot of other shifu said his name well given...

quite true leh, like he asked me to avoid water i.e swimming...

jaster: no no...u can take if u want...

i just reduce taking when i reach 3rd trimester...

Confinement Beverages You Can Enjoy

If you are going through the traditional Chinese confinement period, you will not be allowed to drink plain water as it is a traditional belief that it will promote “wind” due to bloating from water retention. Most mothers end up having to drink Dried Longan and Red Date Tea but there are other alternatives to spice up your beverage menu during this period which lasts from 1-2 months.

Here are the recipes for some drinks you might want to consider, as well as the recipe for the common Dried Longan and Red Date Tea.

Fried Rice Tea

Toast 500g to 1kg of rice grains (uncooked) in a dry wok over low heat until it is dark brown. Store the fried grains in a container that is airtight. As and when you want to brew the tea, scoop out a handful of this rice into a mug and steep it in boiling hot water for a while before you drink it. It is a fragrant brew that is not only easy to prepare but also very nutritious.

Ginger Juice

Ginger is the best remedy for “wind” in the body and very warming. It helps to improve one’s appetite as well. If you feel that there is a lot of “wind” present in your body, you should drink this once every 2 or 3 days. If not, you just need to consume this at least once or twice during the confinement period.

What you will need is 120g of ginger. Peel them and slice them up. Put them in a juice extractor and warm this juice over a small fire. Drink this warm and you can alternate between this and the other teas.

Milo Halia

Dried Ginger Juice can be overpowering in taste for some people. One way to help make it easier to consume is to mix it to hot cup of Milo. This can be drunk once or twice a day.

Red and Black Date Tea

You will need red dates and black dates for this brew- 30 each and pitted. Add this and 100g of rock sugar into 2 litres of water. Simmer over low heat for between 1 to 2 hours. As with all the drinks, it is best consumed warm and is a substitute for water. You dont’t have to consume the dates within the drink.

Dried Longan and Red Date Tea

This is the most common of all confinement drinks. Dried longan is “warm” and very beneficial for the heart and kidneys. You can also consume this if you are anaemic. You will need 50 pitted dried red dates, 2 litres of water, 100g of rock sugar and 100g of dried longan that has been washed and drained. Just like the Red and Black Date Tea, you will need to simmer this brew for about 1-2 hours over a small fire and consume it whilst it is warm.

2Ks - I don't think I can train myself to be like you lol... I still drink teh-o, bubble tea, lemon tea, sprite, orange juice thou not everyday and has been cuting down... when the kick for bubble tea comes I pyscho myself to drink soya bean like milktea haha.... I also agree eating well is very impt during confinement cos I can see my mum aching here and there cos she did not have good confinement for both pregnancy... cos my mum allergy to alcohol and dun dare to eat innards like liver and kidney... then I see my SIL who just gave birth in Sep.. she has been falling sick every now and then since her confinement... I think cos she nv take enuf ginger and wine... sick until BF stop even before confinement ends...

milktea: my previous CL used to make the fried rice tea for me to alternate between longan tea leh...

cos she scared i sian...

its really nice to drink...smell nice too...

xiaofeizhu: confinement i find really need to drink herbs...

like dom with chix etc...its very good...

i used to hate that...but this time round, i make sure i drink more...

i regret for being so stubborn during 1st confinement...

its not trained la...its just a matter of want or dont want...just ren for another 2 months plus...

u dont want a sickly baby right...

although there is no true or facts that mummies drinking all these will affect the baby...

but prevention can, why not...just another 2 months to go...

ANNIE n SHIRLEY--hehehe..got so many..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I jus list here......mb some mummies will be keen too..the usual ones I order are this few..and they got sales items on and off de as cheap as 10 bucks niah..you can join their mailing list..

if cheap, i order, at least 5 to 8 pcs per mth..LOL

simplifiquez

swivelle

fashionpod

dopestreet

pieces of summer

runway diva

and most importantly www.sixpegs.com

(this gal will update online adverts every monday different blogshops..)

MILKTEA- you can jus ask your confinement lady for the list..but pr seem to be going up le as CHy coming and shortage of stuff due to rain heard ffrom news..

2K> I dun touch newspapers one.. Hahaha... I read like 10times a year maybe ?????

Ya she born big but growth slowed down... She only 9.2kg now at 16mos... Super small la...

Now ppl see her all says... Wah.. Very small and cute hor??

Totally opposite la... I think she slowed down after she was sick at dunno 3-4mos... Reject milk totally and dun wanna drink... Then after that she stopped being big liaoz.. Haha...

But HuBbY is S size man... So she prob hav daddy's genes which is good la.. Mummy is XL genes.. No good la... King kong.. Was also worried she'll take after me when she came out so big Lo.. Haha.. Now she's still wearing 6-12mos OLD NAVY clothes...

Hmmm the fried rice tea. I know got Roasted Rice Jap Tea (玄米茶). Can I drink that during confinement?

Pixie> mmmm sama sama hor?? Just saw what u posted earlier.. Dr Koh knows me by Rachel... Ahhaha...

2kg at 30weeks.. I 2.3kg at 31weeks... Think really sama la.. But u csec no prob at all...

U opting epi or GA???

Lol... My helper must be thinking I'm 仙.. Had breakfast at 12pm... 5pm she asked.."mum u want to eat something??"

I didn't even notice timing Lo...

Nowadays I tell her to eat when she's hungry... Cuz my eating times are sooo irregular de Lo....

Had 2 slices Sara lee with orange juice and now wondering what's for dinner.. So nua today.....

the birth story by the Jan thread so nice de...like quite fast can see bb head instead of the usual pushing and screaming/wailing in the ward..NICE!...if can like tat, gd leh

wow... 2Ks pei fu.. I find that now I'm in third trimster, i kinda heck care my diet... i was more cautious during 1st & 2nd trimster.... coz i tot once bb stablised, she/he should be fine liao mah! hahaaha, i'm such a bo chup mum!

Rach

I epi c sect. Never liked GA; I wanna witness my bb's first cries n want her on my chest etc etc

dr koh gave me dates to select liao. End feb to 7th mar. Still deciding. Wanna drag as late as possible

LILPRECIOUS-sure..heheh..

recently I jus order some sales stuff from the links too....be in the mailing list, when they got new collection or sales item to let go, they will notify..kekek

Mummies.

Just collected my baby shield car seat red colour! Love it to e max sia! Bought for $70 n e condition is really brand new! Used only 2-3 times! Yesh! 1 thing down my to-get list!

2ks- thanks for e variety of drinks thAt we can consume during confinement.. Will as my mum to prep a variety during confinement ..

2Ks, fried rice tea nice ah? Dun noe my CL noe who to make or not leh.

I getting mine from agency, do u think I can ask so early?

Sure kana deemed as KS mummy. Keekee..

Starfruit, I haven see ur beansprout pillow pic leh..

Dun noe if I shld choose same pattern with the cot bedding.

Rach - No la... i just thought that if my baby all the way didn't get to turn up like a little sad ma,,, like kena short changed? haha...

Update about check up : bb is healthy and fine. Weight is 1.45kg at 28week... As for me, i lost 2kg !!! =\ dont know why.. But as long as bb is alright, i'm happy le... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sighh.. Wanna ask u ladies.. U all will get v temperamental anot ar? I am leh.. Recently .. Sigh. N if Jav does sth wrong I will scold him... Sigh. I'm thinking if I'm too harsh on him anot.. A lil boy who is only going to turn 18mths in this mth... Wads yr opinions.. #2 mummies? Mmm, we were taught.. Lesser freedom to more freedom as the child grows.. So by right shud b more firm in younger age den older.. But jus wanna hear u mummies' opinions.. Since I see alot of close age gap w Jav... He's been a lil difficult recently, keep throwing tantrums.. Even each time I wanna change his diapers or bathe him, or when he doesn't get sth n he loves throwing things. Anyone help help? ... TIA. I was so angry w him jus nw tt I told him I dowan him but wan didi alrdy.. N he actually looked at my tummy n cried. Sighh. Am I v evil?? I feel so so so guilty n can't help but cry when jav cried while

I call my hb.. Am I too emooo? =(((

lilprecious: Spare the rod and spoil the child. I dont think u are being too harsh, but prolly try not to say things u dont mean or things like loving the didi more even though u are very angry. Becox children too young to understand what are words of anger, they will misunderstand and then end up get more upset and throw more tantrums. Try what I always do, whenever I get upset, I will close my eyes, den count 1-10 with my fingers, calms u down. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilprecious

now jav is moving towards the assertive period, of coz alot of things dont want this, dont want that

its very normal leh. coz its their newfound independence.

it depends on what your boy buys.

fierce?

caning?

reasoning?

let him throw his temper?

my boy at 18mths couldnt take reasoning so i let him throw his tantrum then after he finish liao i will tell him firmly xxx, yyy, zzz

then he will do...coz he knows he cannot bargain with me. coz i will not budge n give in

alot of ways to go around his "no!s".

can use the count 1-10

or the 5-3-1mins in advance notification to jav

or use "you must do xxx, then we can do yyy" (meaning telling him to do what you want him to do, then he gets a fun activity afterwards)

or jus pure distraction

many more, i forgot liao. i refer to my notebook later and perhaps explain in a longer post yah

Belinda: yup, und wad u mean.. Actually I know tt too.. Tts y I'm so frustrated w myself.. Y did I even say tt!! It's like sth I wldnt haf done in the past.. Sigh! So terrible of me. I really haf to repent.. =((

Pixie: yea... I und wad u mean.. I actually know of the methods u mentioned..mmm, hw to say.. Actually I do try distracting him n it works n yes, normally I will reason or distract him n explain to him... I jus can't figure y Im like tt today lo. Totally outta my mind type..I dono If it's really the hormones or wad.. But I can't seem to forgive myself today.. I feel so guilty as I watch Jav slp.. N I can't help but hug n kiss him jus nw.. Hope history doesn't repeat itself anymore! If nt I'm so disappointed in myself! Fail as mummy n pre sch educator.. =(( boohooo

lilprecious

nevermind lah, at some point in your life of being a parent, inevitable that you said something that will hurt your child...

now jav is still young, he will quickly forget those hurtful words one bah....

my son oredi 3yo, i bu zhi dao say how many times hurtful stuff liao.....muahahahha

perhaps facing his many tantrums in a day really wear u down. my boy is a very mild boy (in terms of temper), i end of the day oso started to raise my voice liao

console yourself: its a good time to let you #2 "hear" how fierce you can be....muahahahah

Pixie: haha.. Thanks for yr comforting words... =) feel better nw aft ranting.. Sigh.. I really hope he forgets them when he wakie... Talking abt #2 hearing... Jayien keeps kicking when he hears korkor being scolded or crying.. He's like wanna stand up for Jav type.. Protesting in my tummy.. =.= mayb he feel I too bad to jav jus nw.. =( nvm, I shall learn frm my mistakes n b a better mummy to 2 boys.. =S

Milktea: my Previous Cl also from agency... I remember she fried the rice with Ginger then she store in container... Then pour hot water... I alternate with red dates tea... That one drink 28 days is quite sian lor

Limlim: the jap roasted tea nice leh! But I m not sure can drink or not... Contains tea right?

Lilprecious: I dunno u believe or not... They say when u Pregnant with #2, #1 will know and jealous so be one very naughty...

I also got times I got so pissed off with him and shouted at him...cos he like jav refused to do all things lor...

But then I feel so guilty after that cos he is only 2 years old..

So now when he throw tantrums I just take a deep breathe and let him be... After awhile then I pacify him and talk to him... Don't think he understands but it make me feel better.

There was a period I used naughty corner but he cried even harder so I guess it's not the time now...

Now jav approaching terrible twos, so all patterns will come out... Bear with it, be patient and things will turn out better...

2ks

i ask my boy to go notti corner, he sulks there and angry at me only

so, ^5 notti corner also not effective. must give him my eyeball look w stern face then he will shrink smaller n know he did something wrong

ah boy very scared of me

i must be a tyrant hurhur

lilprecious, I was in a similar situation a while ago. My hub's on reservist, i'm home only with my gal for the past few days. She's been really sticky, I could hardly go to the toilet or even have some snacks to munch. I showered with her in the toilet and she was pressing her face against the shower screen. Kept calling 'mummy'. Once I was out, yet to even dry myself, she went 'bao bao'. I was like, give me a break, and then I shouted at her. Scolded her for always wanting to be carried. Yes, kinda guilty too...

I was tempted to use 'didi' as a threat too, but reminded myself not to compare. In case it becomes a habit. I dun think they will like to be compared. Perhaps they're really approaching terrible 2? I read it could be earlier. Jav is turning 2 this year right? My gal too. Her tanturms has been quite bad.

My only salvage was when my hub came back, he took over while I took a break. I tried being really patient with her becos she's been through a bad week, entered a new class with new environment, she's been crying badly every morning i send her to school. Heart sinks whenever I leave the school...

long post, but i wana rant too... haha.

Oh yes, I punish her with 'time out' too, i.e naughty corner facing the wall. Only if she really got out of hand like tanturms by throwing food or toys on the floor. But for being so sticky to me, I won't send her there la. Not a mischevious act ma...

hmm ya, i must agree, taking deep breaths and counting helps, after all they don't mean to make us angry la...

2Ks: Ya.. I believe.. Haha.. But jus I don believe y I did all these unreasonable things today.. Hee. Ya, I agree la.. Sometimes I look at him, feel he's still so young.. Only coming 18mths.. Y I expect so much frm him.. =\ ehh, notti corner I gt use also.. But nt too often if nt he's nt afraid of it anymore... When I ask him go stand he'll cry n aft awhile he'll come back to me.. I'll explain n den hug him .. N tell him nt to do it again.. But of cos, it does repeat.. But notti corner I only use when I'm v upset... So u see, when I'm extremely upset, most most, notti corner or will piak on palm or thighs but only 2 times most. Tts y I say today I like crazy.. Haha. Scolding n scolding... Ya, agree mus calm myself dwn so things will look n feel better fr both me n him.. Hee..

Pixie: Haha, yr eyeball n stern look sounds funny.. I'll do tt too but Jav feels I look funny I think n he'll burst out laughing.. =.=

mummies, sorry to disturb. i have 1 unopened and brand new NeuroGain Vegicaps Fishoil (Purple colour) supplement to let go only at 35 bucks (outside selling at 45 or more).Expiry April 2012. Available for self-collection at AMK. thanks!

Lilprecious: I think I m so fierce to him now he stick to daddy more...

So now I change my style lor cos I think shouting or scolding do not help at all... Make myself blood boil only...

They can cry and cry then stop Liao seems to forget the whole saga... Waste my energy nia

So now what I do is I let him throw his tantrums... I dun believe he won't stop... Meanwhile I take a deep breathe and think how to pacify him back... Cool myself down too...

lilprecious: Dont worry la! You will get better at this. Sometimes becox we get SO frustrated/angry, den quick tongue say things we dont mean. Then say liao also cannot take back, make us feel worse. Thats why I try to take some time to force myself and calm down before opening my mouth, wait I say smth I don't mean! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilprecious

sometimes feel like laffing at his antics but must keep straight face or strict face w/ eyeball look

just now putting him to sleep, my hb farted...

then he said "mama, papa sai sai"

my hb am chio...

i wanted to laff but i cannot. so i told him firmly, no, papa did not sai sai. papa put put. ok go to sleep...

then i kept wanting to laff but cannot. he sure think its playtime...

then after awhile, he called me again "mama....chou chou (coz hb farted)"

omg....really wanna burst out laffing. but all i could say was "no chou chou. go to sleep"

haiz

being parent very tough hor

Lilprecious, don't be too hard on yourself! As educators, even though we know strategies n theories, that doesn't mean we can be perfect. There will definitely be times where u lose your cool n stuffs. As a parent, you tend to be more emo coz it's your own child. We are all humans. Just be aware and move on. I'm sure Jav won't remember it. =)

Chen: yea... I und hw u feel.. Being alone to cope w a sticky n terrible 2s child ain't a joke man. I'm w him at hm whole day every 2 days.. Sometimes I feel I'll go mad. Cos it's at hm whole day w his same old toys for him.. N w a lazy mummy who tends to use lappie thou I still play puzzles n such w him. But nt lasting cos he actually gets bored too. Tts y I mus bring him out when my hb's at hm.. At least he goes out w things to see, I get to shop arnd too. Nt so pek chek.. I dono y, but I see it as a better move for him to b in sch.. At least, he learns things n get to play n socialize.. Won't b tt boring to stay hm only half a day.. =P my hb will play w him while I'm hm too.. But u Noe men, sometimes do things here half dere half.. So I'm always dere to clear up or help. Guess mayb it's time fr me to relax 1 day w/o Jav!! Haha..

2Ks: yup, I think cos we spend more time w them, thus will discipline more n tts y they feel we're more fierce den daddies. Imagine he don get to see my hb like 3 times a wk.. So he will actually stick to him when he's at hm, knowing tt my hb will play w him more den me. I tend to b more relaxed when I'm w my hb.. Cos at least I get to haf my meal properly, bathe n do things. W him, I can't even haf proper meal or go toilet like chen! =\ so I always wait till he slps lo. I find it true la.. No point getting myself so upset when I know he don't really und tt much n forgets all the episodes on awhile! =P

Belinda: ya lo. Guess I still gotta improve.. More n more.. Learn n pick up at same time.. =P yeap, sometimes b4 I say sth I make sure I think thru but well, guess there's really times whereby the anger gets over u n there u go shooting out things u don mean.. =(

Pixie: hahahaha!! I was laughing at yr post lo! Yr boy so cute.. Same here, when Jav does or says sth funny we will jus am chio if nt he'll think we're playing w him.. Sometimes even when I'm being firm w him he will jus try sth funny n I can't help but hide my laughter too. Kidss.. Really make tr blood boil n make yr heart melt at the same time! Hee.. Spice up our lives w them too..!

Lailai: ya lo.. U Noe sometimes aft I do sth, I'll start 'arguing' in my head w myself like: y did I do this when we r taught nt to m blablabla.. Think nt a gd idea to haf too much strategiesn theories in our heads too.. =( I agree leh, sometimes I think back, I will tell my hb, I don ever do tt to my cc children but yet, I'm doing it to Jav.. Guess I'm jus using my point of parents views to Jav while work is really diff..

Hehe.. Ladies I thank all of u for hearing me rant.. esp Rach, I jus wadsapp her n start shooting off wadever was on my mind.. Thank u for yr patience n guidance.. Hee, guess I jus gotta Learn n pick up all in the way.. Getting better each time! =D anw, Jav woke last night at 10pm n I jus felt so sorry tt I kept hugging n kissing him.. Haha. Guess he forgt all abt it aft a short slp frm 8.30pm.. N he started playing n talking to me.. N I felt gd in awhile like I've asked for forgiveness.. Haha. Anw, guess really it's the hormones tts got into

me in the day.. cos he started climbing n jumping on my bed again but tis time round I don feel angry.. Jus like any other days, I jus tell him cannot, will knock his head n blablabla n dere he goes laughing away..... Mmm, tts the joy n pain of a child I guess. 谢谢 ladies 们.. Love u girls! Hahaha.

Lilprecious- dun worry, just rant off here ba.. Sometimes looking at my niece so naughty I also buay tahan.. Must agreed, being at home with a child 24/7 really test e xaregiver's patience sia.. That's why I respect my mum cos she takes care of 2 below 3yos de 24/7 mon- fri.. Understand why sometimes she can b so hot-tempered with them..

Think quite true that somehow #1 when sense that #2 coming, they will be a lil more possessive n even naughty.. Cos all they want is ur undivided attention ma.. My niece took quite sometimes to adapt that now didi needs ah ma n mummy more than her cos didi only 8 mths.. She used to be a terror where mummy n ah ma carry didi, she will like jealous.. Now better, will still Help ah ma take care of didi..

Dun worry, since jav gg cc, it gives u a lil breather n also him an opp to socialise w others.. Things wil def be better de!