(2011/02) Feb 2011

OFB- Am sure the wife will super appreciate the loving gesture, and that the birds nest will benefit her the way you hope it will ya? =)

Sighs, the neighbour is dragging furniture all over the room above us again. A lot of thumping and screeching noises. Gotta go knock on their door again if it doesn't stop.

Geri - My neighbour was doing it almost everyday last week also. At like unearthly hours after 11.30pm. I wonder why people would want to do it at such hours. Rather inconsiderate.

3sa-

My mum told me the neighbour's relative upstairs mentally unwell so always do such things lor. Itz already much better. From early Sept until last week when I went to bang door at 2am in the morning coz I buey tahan already, the person was dragging and dropping things etc from 10pm to 4am intermittently. I was very down with a flu then and couldn't sleep. Hubby wasn't around either. So I had to personally drag myself outta bed to try to get them to stop it. =p

Although no one opened the door when I knocked, the noise stopped and itz been reasonably quieter.

I understand if the person is unwell, but I think they should paste those furniture pads on the base of their furnitures if they know he/she needs to drag it about at night. My Dad feels they have a responsibility to restrain that relation. =p

val, my arms and face will grow fat 1st if i put on weight. And yes! arms are really v v hard to tone/slim down. If carry too heavy weight, will be muscular, too light no effect. Really big headache so i avoid sleeveless top/dress even when i pre-preg.

trinket, fiona, did you experience terrible backache since tummy is 2mths bigger? I rmb i only got serious backache when i'm 7mths for 1st pg and i'm getting the backache now at 21weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

geri, my tummy now is so high and big that i can rest my boobs on it hahaha

Mrs Ong, i never tried ebolin. I've stopped taking the gynae's med coz i've found a special concoction of prune+orange juice tat can make me poo everyday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charmaine-

When I put on weight it shows first on my face too... Then my stomach. ARGH. Lol. But yea like u I cover my arms up too. I miss my svelte arms haha. I regret ever looking at any aunty and thinking wah her arms so big. Lol.

I had backaches with Kae, but prayed and it eased off. Try getting a belly support underwear, adjusting pillow height and using bolster. Also get hubby to help use a heat pack over your back to soothe it?

Lol about your tummy's height and the boobies resting on it. Lol. Good mah. Extra support bra. (^.-)

Morning mummies...It's been so long since I logged in... when I logged in abt 2 weeks ago, was trying to catch up on the postings but truthfully till today, I am still trying to read abt 5 more pages of archive... :S

Hope to do so by this week so I can catch up will all of u...

I have my scan today...in abt 2 hrs time...I am so excited...have been telling baby, open leg big big k? Hahahaha...

Morning mummies~

@charmaine: I'm still wearing sleeveless leh. Hahahha! Last night I was out with my hubby then whenever I walked past mirror I'll keep looking at my side view. Lol~ Then when I reached home I asked my hubby "Tell me honestly ah, did I put on a lot of weight?" He said no. "My arm leh?". He also said no. Then I mumbled no meh.. I put on 8kg leh... Hmm... Maybe overall I don't look like I put on a lot of weight but if look individually at my body parts I think I look fat. Lol~

Wah your tummy so big ah?? My tummy quite low leh. Want to rest my arms on it also cannot. Lol~

@nashita: Issit the 20 weeks scan for you? Good luck and all the best!! =D

@charmaine: haha lol at your comment on boobs resting on ur tummy.. i can balance remote control on my bump. like u mine is pretty high up now. yesterday i took a cab, and i thought my tummy wasnt obvious as i was wearing quite big clothes. he suddenly ask me so when am i due, december?

lol.. he dont believe when i tell him i 5 and a 1/2 mths only.. sad.. haha.

Val, wah.. 8kg is quite abit!! I m worried abt my weight. Was 51kg, drop to 45kg in 1st tri. Now only 48kg. Everyone who sees me says I shrunk!

MS came back two days in row. Each meal came out right after. How to put on weight??? :S worried. Hope baby has enough nutrition from tablets and all.

@joodz: Haha! At least taxi uncle can tell lor. Though my hubby and I think my tummy is big but that night when we were taking cab the uncle drove so fast! Cos our house there is having road works so the roads are very bendy and bumpy. Then he still drive so fast that I can feel I'm going to fly up if my hubby never hold on to me. Then after that he so angry. He said my tummy still not big enough meh? Drive until so lousy. Then I said maybe at night he can't tell.

@mami B: Ya lor. I put on an average of 2kg every month. I also had very bad MS during my 1st tri but still I put on weight ever since I'm pregnant. I also don't know why. Gynae only said I'm absorbing very well. But my baby is of the normal weight, so ok lah. *sigh* Though I feel very sad lah. But if I think of my BMI I'm not overweight I'm not so sad liao. Lol~

bigflamingo

heh heh i taught k to say mama wo ai ni too. so now when i say mama wo.. she will complete the rest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] brainwashing heh.

I don't mind putting on weight. Wish I can pile on 2-3 kg per month. Body not cooperating [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] detailed scan next week. Not sure if my girl has enuf to eat. She surely will be a small baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I feel so sad thinking like this. I am trying to eat more. But the puking makes my efforts wasted [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anything with milk n cream still makes me puke quickly. Like cakes or milk. Really don't know how.

@mami B: Then I think you should stop taking lacto. I think you are lacto intolerant? Don't worry, as long as you are eating your baby will be able to absorb nutrients. But put on so much like me also no good leh.

geri, hate it when face starts to grow fat coz can't hide it like arms or thighs. My backache will ease if my hubby massage the aching part ard the spine at waist area. He's worried if massaging is alrite for me and dun dare to apply too much pressure. For backache, will putting on a maternity belt helps?

fiona, i will feel better if i lie straight on bed w/o pillows. Usually my backache gets really bad if i go out with my boy which will be standing/walking for >6hrs

nashita, good luck on your scan later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, i think your weight gain is similar to my 1st pg. Put on weight but tummy not v big and when look in the mirror dun look fat. It kinda like whole body "upsized" 1-2size so the weight gain is actually spread out the whole body like hands, legs, butt and back etc rite?

joodz, hahaha.. my boobs cup went from A/B to D and i'm only halfway thru the pregnancy! I can balance the tv remote too hahaha.. Best part now is i can "clamp" my long wallet btw my boobs and tummy hahaha.. My tummy now also looks 2mths bigger than it shd be. Duno if i can support it till birth w/o the terrible backaches.

mami B, hugz dun worry so much.. Baby will still grows inside you even though you never put on weight. Did your gynae mention anything about bb's development during your last visit?

Haha, trinket. OK I confess.

All I have to say is "do you love mama?" and he will say "I love mama". If I ask him "do you love carrots" he will also say "I love carrots" hahha.

Mami B, don't worry. You can always try soyabean milk based food and drinks instead.

charmaine: my gal always wan me to carry her..

maybe i try to carry her lesser see how..

mami B: dun worry.. baby still grow inside..

gynae never say anything den no need to worry..

just continue to eat all the vit can already..

@charmaine: But I find my tummy big leh. Hahaha! Maybe cos I've never seen a big tummy on me before so I find it big. Hee hee.. I'll take a photo 1 day and show you. Lol~ I only see more visible weight gain on my arms, face and back actually. Didn't notice much about my butt and thigh leh. They like look the same. Hmm...

bigflamingo: so sweet.. my gal still baby talk..

she is 21 months but only know how to say "pa"

n "yao" when she wan to eat..

others dun wan to say already..

mama also dun wan to say.. am so sad..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Charmaine:

U r funny abt the boobs joke ..

Val:

Now I have the tendency to rest my arms on my tummy whenever I am standing up ..

I look kind of comical as what my colleagues commented ..

Mami:

How about soya bean milk ?

Dont be so upset ..

Geri:

U are so brave ..

I dont think I will ever confront them in the middle of the night ..

I am still wearing sleeveless clothes ..

Dun really care abt flabby arms ..

Just want to be comfy ..

@bigflamingo – initially wan to grab one, after thinking twice, better stick with more pillows and bolster.

@Geri –My sis using tempur pillow and commented it good but the price really put me off.

@ourfirstbaby – ZTP stand for? Fyi, I heard one of the mummies who took bird nest daily dropped her bb when she 5mths preggy! Too bu le! Having it too many will cause phlegm in bb too. Moderation is the key! I think we not that rich to have it daily.

@charmaine – taking about wt gain, my hips, thighs and arms will grow fat lst. I also hate wearing sleeveless tops lol! In my younger days, arm lipo constantly on my mind! What type of prune u used and just mixed with orange juice will do? I do not want to rely on ebolin and trying to find my ways to poo daily. I find eating red dragon fruit and cherry aids too.

@nashita – good luck and update k!

@mamiB – ya dun worry, my yoga teacher suffered MS throughout (last till 9 mths) her 3 pregnancies! All her bb are fine!

Just a quick check, did all of you stop taking folic acid? I stopped mine after 4mths and only take multivitamin.

@unicorn: Haha.. So good! I want to rest my arm also cannot. My arm will slide down. My tummy is so low! Then when I standing up I also don't know where to put my arms. Cos if I fold my arms it's not comfortable and yet I can't rest them on my tummy. Haiz..

Mrs Ong,

Actually the body pillows look really comfy! But all over $100. So I want to try to find a wedge pillow hopefully for just $20 plus.

Fiona,

you're not alone. I know of quite a few kids around that age who don't talk much. Just keep talking and talking to her and one day she will surprise you!

fiona, i have stopped carrying my boy coz my mum say this will cause our uterus to be low lying after birth and needs to do alot of pelvic floor exercise to "push" it up. Maybe you hug her on bed? Continue to talk to your ger even though she din't reply you or dun understand coz you will be surprised, one day she will be able to reply you! Talk to her using similar phrases like good morn, let's have lunch, etc so that she can familiarise 1st [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs ong: my gynae stopped my folic acid after 1st trimester. i am only taking the pink colour multivit.. during my last appt with him i asked him if this is all i should be taking. he told me the multivit is enough. the rest are add-ons, optional. he probably said that cos of my age..

pinkyval: dont worry about the weight gain.. you mentioned you are petit to begin with so you should look pretty fine now. i have expanded just about everywhere. everywhere except for my boobs. my boobs are still the same as compared to pre-pregnancy. haha.

@pyng: I've stopped taking mine after 3mths when my gynae gave me the multivit. In it it contains folic acid too but small amount.

Oh no, is bird's nest really the cause of it?? Hmm.. I'm only taking it like once a week should be fine right?

Btw my mil said she wanna bring me to see a Chinese physician this Saturday to get "an tai yao". And she asked me to let her if I want to go. I don't really like the idea of taking Chinese supplements though. But even if I don't see she'll also buy off the shelf. Lol~ So I also don't know should I go anot. I mean, the supplement might be good for me. But I'm fine now without taking them and I don't dare to risk leh. What if *touchwood* something happens after taking it? I told my hubby about what his mum told me. Initially he said go lor. But after that he asked me don't feel like going ah? And I told him no lah, I also don't know leh. What are your views mummies?

@joodz: I'm not petite leh. I'm standing at 170cm. I'm just underweight. But I scared if I keep putting on weight at this rate I'll look like a giant lor. Lol~ My boobs also expanding but I'm still wearing my old bras. Very bad I know but I'm lazy to buy new ones. Lol~ And I don't know which kind to buy. I'm afraid if I buy new ones then when approaching 3rd tri will expand again. Hmm... Should I buy normal bras or nursing bras or sports bras? But I want those that can remove strap too leh. Hmm...

charmaine & bigflamingo: everyday i'm talking to her..

den my hubby his da sao daughter is bigger den my gal by a few months..

but she talk alot.. den the da sao say i never teach my gal..

she always say until like i'm lousy than her by teaching my gal..

pinkyval: i feel that TCM is a very subjective form of medicinal practice.. not very scientifically proven. it has its pros of course, but i think when in doubt better dont eat.. or u can find out what kind of an tai yao it is and consult your gynae first.. also must see whether the chinese physician is good.. but even if he is can u trust? after all, the baby is yours.. though we need to respect the elderly, when it comes to matters of your own flesh and blood u have every right to question what u are feeding him.. my 2cents worth..

Mrs Ong, me too. My hubby wil say i'm crazy to think of lipo even though i'm not fat but just desperate to look skinny. My friend went to thailand for a lipo surgery cum holiday. She stayed in a resort while recovering from a lipo surgery. But i can't really tell the difference post surg coz she's big (>100kg) and she only lose 3kg even though lotsa fats is taken out as fats are really light. I will mixed 75% prune juice with 25% orange juice and they must be very cold. I will drink just before i sleep coz if i drink any earlier, i will keep farting then next day can't poo. You can try. Actually i saw this from babycenter.com. The original concoction was prune+orange+milk and suggested by a gynae. You may want to try it out. I stopped folic acid at 18weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pinkyval: i never regretted buying new the new maternity bras.. though my size never go up, my old bras have become tighter bcos my breasts are more fleshy now. at times feel like the bra cutting into me.. i procrastinate for a few months and finally got maternity bras about a month back.. the feeling is so shiok.. like not wearing anything.. downside is it is not sexy at all and not much shape. haha. but feels so good now. i heard some mummies recommend sports bra, or to buy nursing bra straight becos useful when u breastfeed also. one stone kill two birds. haha. but i think they all work to ease the load on the breasts.. a good bra is useful in preventing sag next time.. i saw some photos of women's breasts after breastfeeding.. looks so.. droopy. the things women sacrifice for their children.

@trinket & joodz: My gynae very westernized. She don't really believe in taking Chinese medicine. Myy sil also took those an tai yao when she was pregnant and also seeing this physician. But the thing is, she had 2 miscarriages before this current one. I know her first one was she abort cos abnormal. Unsure about the 2nd one though. So I'm quite worried actually. But when she had her current one she also took those an tai yao and her baby turns out to be chubby. So I also don't know how leh. My mil already told me if I don't want to see she'll buy off shelf for me to drink. Anyway this is the physician that told my sil that she can't take lotus roots cos she's pregnant lor. But I'm still drinking the soup and eat the lotus roots that's brewed by my mum.

@joodz: Hahahha! That's what I'm afraid of! I want a bra with support, I don't want my breasts to sag! Lol~ And I find sports bra and those no wired bra has no support. But I heard wired bras are no good as it blocks the milk gland. And bras are so expensive lor. Lol~

pinkyval: u can check out triump.. i think they got pretty good selection of bras.. i bought mine there but that was when they having sale.. 3 for $39.90.. but its the most ugly granny bra ive seen in my whole life. haha. dont wear the bra when u want to make love with ur hubby. :D:D

@Nashita: Good luck to your scan!!

@Val: I feel that since you are ok now without taking the Chinese an tai yao, then better to carry on without it.. If your body cannot take the mixture of Chinese & English medicine how? Or best is consult your gynae..

I also wanna buy bra liao.. My boobs are getting bigger and I think they can’t fit into the old bras very soon.. Mummies, any recommendations?? Nursing bra or maternity bra better and what are the differences??

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4549882.jpg]

As promised but late, this is my big fatty tummy at 20 weeks and 4 days according to the calculation on iPhone.. But according to the clinic, it's is lesser..

I am still taking folic. My Gynae gives it to all his patients to take til delivery. Also taking vit B ,C, calcium/magnesium, utrogestion, UTI antibiotic, fish oil and recently added ventolin to prevent early uterus contraction.

I have a phobia of pills now.... So many medication?!!

Ventolin makes my heart beat fast and my MS seems to return after I started it, so today I secretly stopped taking it in morning n afternn. Will just take before I sleep.

@joodz: Hahahah! Omg~ It's okay lah, I don't wear bra at home. Hahaha! But can the straps be removed? Cos I have quite a number of sleeveless tops whereby have to wear strapless bras..

@preciousbabi: I think so too. Cos it's not like my health is poor or I had miscarriage before. If soup is okay lah, I'll drink. But medicine.. I'm quite turn off by the idea leh. Though I think my body can take in everything but still to be safe, better not risk.. Maybe I'll ask my hubby to tell his mum. Hee hee...

@mami B: Huh. Could it be you are not suitable in taking Ventolin? Did you tell your gynae your heart beat very fast after taking it? It could be the side effect of taking it. And ya, I also think you are taking a lot of medicine. I've just changed my fish oil cos I find mine has a fishy taste. So my gynae gave me a new brand which also consists of iron. So now I'm only taking that and calcium..

pinkyval: mine cannot be removed, so i can only wear those covered tops.. i havent come across any maternity/nursing/sports bra without straps/with removable straps..

mami B: ventolin is also a drug for asthma sufferers.. i was on ventolin pre-pregnancy and side effects is heart palpitations. i didnt knw can take during pregnancy.. never asked my gynae though.. the heart palpitations cannot be helped wan..

@joodz: Hmm... Then I think maybe I buy a few of each. What's the diff between maternity bra and nursing bra huh? Heee.. Pardon my ignorant.. =p

pinkyval: that one i am equally clueless.. haha. i just went up to the counter and ask for maternity bras.. i think nursing bra got hold in the front for BFing? got to ask the other experienced mummies here.. lol..

Hi Geri: i have emailed you.. Thanks again:)

Re: Bras

If i am not wrong, nursing bras have an extra piece inside the cup that we can take it out during nursing time. maternity bras are those softer bras with softer underwires for pregnancy period. not too sure but can anyone advise?

for myself, i have also expanded.. but its the width, not the cup size..hahaha..when the salesgirl measure for me, i was so disapointed. i thought my cup size increase.

Re: Chinese TCM medication

The best is to ask gynae and if you are not comfortable in taking it, can maybe tell your MIL nicely that the gynae say best dun take...then reasure her by saying you will eat healthily thru other foods...sometimes this can be tricky...understand how you feeling.

Re: leg cramps

anyone have any so far? this morning when i woke up, one of my legs, lower calves area cramped so badly! the feeling is like the muscles and tedons are pulling so hard..i quickly put a boster under my legs and felt much better.. the cramps went away quite fast

Re: pelvic cramps

anyone has this? this morning until now, i can feel some cramping around my pelvic and vaginal area..wonder if its normal?

nursing bras have a clasp on the cup so that you can unhook it and nurse one side by one side. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

by the way, some of the mummies have also recommended to buy Sports bra instead of maternity bras as they are much cheaper and provide pretty good support. Get a good support so that the breasts won't sag.

Also, the sports bra can last till 3rd tri while we may outgrow maternity bras after expanding more in 3rd tri