(2011/02) Feb 2011

Valerie,

She is at week 14 now, too early to tell and Dr Ang is unsure but he say more likely to be a girl ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Those with Dr Ang did he only do 1 printout at each visit?

He also did a Group B Streptococcus screening on my wife, charges $40. Anyone else did it? We only say once got discharge and he did the screening liao ... we didn't even had time to ponder.. ha ha we read about it and thought it's not necessary until late pregnancy.

melody: wah you must be feeling terrible. i only had one episode of excessive saliva due to MS and the feeling is like sh*t.. back of my throat te saliva just keeps refilling.. cannot imagine how u feel cos when i had that i just had a very strong urge to puke.

bigflamingo: LOL.. Julian is the name hubby and i have decide upon.. i think its a nice name too.. sounds like a combi of hubby and my name

@cecelia: Hahha. Alamak. You so smart. Lol~ Ya, Charmaine should let her cook for your whole family. But provided they like her cooking lah. Hehe..

@OFB: What's that test for?

meowmeow: I got lots of saliva which I have to spit out.. tried swallowing once before and almost puked... I have also stopped my multi- vits totally, it caused me to vomit... There was a period I cant swallow folic acid at all, gagged on it... hubby has grind it into powder and stir into milo... so taking folic acid on and off now.. feel guilty but really cant take it...

The excessive saliva is called ptyalism.. Here's some info on it:

http://www.babypartner.com/guides/health-and-fitness/common-complaints/ptyalism.php

bigflamingo

awww.. julian must be a real sweet boy. am also not fussed, if boy then i have upper hand to close shop, if girl then k will have a sister to do sisterly things with!

Valerie,

From Website.

Group B strep (GBS) is a kind of bacteria that many people harbor in their intestinal tract. The bacteria may also inhabit (or "colonize") your vagina as well, where it can be passed on to your baby during labor and birth.

Approximately 10 to 30 percent of pregnant women carry GBS in the vagina or rectum or surrounding area. While GBS is generally harmless in healthy adults, it may cause stillbirth and serious infections in babies.

Judy,

haha..yeah I chose that name because I liked to read the famous five and Julian seemed to us like a gentlemanly name. But it's getting quite popular, there's even another Julian, with the same surname too, in his playschool class!

@OFB: Thanks for the info! But so far other than Oscar I've not done any other test yet leh. See tomorrow how. Hehe.. Can't wait for tomorrow!!!

judy, you shd be feeling bb movements very soon. Guess those popping sounds are your bb talking to your hubby? hahaha.. My hubby can only hear growling sounds in my stomach hahaha

melody, ya, thanks. Will make the decision asap.

trinket, my maid can barely handle my boy alone coz he's super active. So impossible for her to help me with my confinement. Now after all these, i feel like doing confinement myself, afterall, i did my 1st confinement alone. It's possible but only not enuff rest. But what worries me is my health. After the 1st confinement, my health detoriates badly. This maybe my last chance to get my health back so i chose to have a CL.

meowmeow welcome! Understand how you feel. Dun worry, your ms shd subsides soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Or you can tell yourself that at least you know that your bb is doing great coz having ms means bb is doing good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Take care

cecelia/valerie, hahaha okie if my CL comes, will make her cook for whole family. At least can make up for the extra 50% salary paid to them for the cny period [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Judy: yah, tell me abt it... mine is everyday, from morning till night... has been using boxes of tissues and plastic bags... When gg out, I would have to bring a plastic bag to contain my spit...

You guys are going fast today, had a hard time catching up.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Valerie: Coz in the confinement month, you only cannot bathe, cannot wash hair, cannot anyhow eat things, cannot 吹风 then you sure get very pek chek easily coz the weather in Sin so hot then cannot bathe somemore.. You will feel so dirty and sticky lor (with our menses somemore).. Perspiring all day.. Gotta on aircon whole day if not really will go mad..

I think there’s some kind of Dry Shampoo for mummies on confinement.. But not sure how it works..

Thanks for recommending the insurance.. Looks good! Will check on it..

Turning into a man soon.. LOL.. Mine tummy also has hair growing but very fine ones..

@Confinement Centre: Really too ex.. Rather spend the money on 1 good CL and the rest on 补品 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Bigflamingo: Cool man!! Ya, I heard of that too.. They say can drink Guinness Stout during that month.. But the weather already so hot, drink stout lagi hot lor.. I think I cannot tahan..

@Princess 31: Welcome here!! Sorry but what is alpha-thelassemia trait? So good for you to have both mums volunteering to look after bb coz it’s really ex to engage a CL during that period (I have my mum doing for me too).. But sometimes they could have different opinions which will start arguments.. So plan it properly to avoid unhappiness.. Of course I will opt for natural birth w/o epi if possible [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. Will only know then if I can tahan.. Haha.. Hope your bb will cooperate to let gynae see gender this sat.. I’m going for my scan tomorrow.. Wish me good luck too!!

@Meowmeow: Welcome here!! Hope you will get away from the MS soon.. I’m still taking folic acid now and no other supplements.. Have not started on calcium, iron, multi vits or fish oil yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Think the gynae prescribes according to our condition ba..

wow.. the thread is moving so fast..

@good luck for those mummy who is going for scan.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i hope that when our confinement time the weather will be good.. n not so hot..

last time i do my confinement i also never follow much..

bath n wash hair everyday.. cuz that time i am breastfeeding.. dun wan my gal to smell a smelly mummi..

my mum also nag at me say dun everyday bath..

but when she go work i will faster go bath..

but she still will prepare all the bating herbs for me..

cuz she know i dun listen.. lolx..

V lightly used playmat. condition 10/10

Letting go at $30.. includes the plastic cover. Pick up at Tampines

PM me if interested. thanks

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4418385.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4418386.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4418387.jpg]

*sigh* Have been having headache everyday~ This morning didn't wake up with a headache thought will be fine. But now it's here again. Argh~!!!

@Meowmeow : i am in my 16 weeks now. Dr Wong gave me calcium, DHA and multi-vit when i was 12 weeks cos he say main structure formed, dun need folic, now need to develop, so need all these vit. but i only take 1 of each each day. he say no need to take too much.

@PreciousBabi: never heard b4 the dry shampoo, but can go the chinese medical shop "Fu Hua" to buy so medicinal herb bag for confinement. with that, think we can bath more often. put that and pour hot water to bathe. suppose to "absorb the wind"

Baby movement

For those who have felt baby movement, how is it like? I only feel poking pain here and there..

Baby heartbeat

I don't think we can hear baby's heartbeat without any aid so easily, but I read that it's possible to hear using stethoscope from 17 weeks onwards.

@Meowmeow : i am in my 16 weeks now. Dr Wong gave me calcium, DHA and multi-vit when i was 12 weeks cos he say main structure formed, dun need folic, now need to develop, so need all these vit. but i only take 1 of each each day. he say no need to take too much.

@PreciousBabi: never heard b4 the dry shampoo, but can go the chinese medical shop "Fu Hua" to buy so medicinal herb bag for confinement. with that, think we can bath more often. put that and pour hot water to bathe. suppose to "absorb the wind"

@faithnhope : yeah yeah, i also read in the website can hear from 18-20 weeks using a stethoscope. bought one from toys r us (hope i never spell wrongly). quite cool but using that, hubby and I hear mainly water sound. but hubby say he can hear a soft heartbeat sound but we not sure if its my or BB heartbeat. :p

Mummies, questions here:

Anyone experience choking in the middle of the night? Wake up coughing as the throat feels so dry.. I have a few occassions like this but not every night..

Also, read from the internet that bb will have hiccups from 2nd Trim.. How does it feel? Coz I'm a person who seldom hiccup.. Nowadays I get it once in a while and it's like once or twice and it stops.. Hehe.. Wonder if it's me or bb.. LOL..

@Princess 31: I am thalessemic too. But I dunno if Alpha or Beta except Thal-minor. Found out a few years ago when did routine test. Forced hubby to take the test before we got married. I dun thk there's any "disability" from thalessemia except maybe more tired in first tri esp cos I was generally very very sleepy ALL the time. Also, must be more careful aft birth (blood loss) cos before I knew, I went to donate blood a few times & kept fainting after dat. We have less red blood palates (is it how it's spelt). My gynae is aware but has not said anythg abt it in particular.

when i went for my oscar scan, my baby is hiccupping all the way. Bouncing up suddenly all through the scan. The sonographer say drink too much water ahhh! Dunno she referring to the baby or me :p

At week 13+, my evening MS seems to be getting worse leh.. I can't eat much dinner now.. always throwing up all the food before bedtime when i can't tahan the indigestion/heartburn feeling anymore... Why leh? I thought it's supposed to be getting better?

Hey Ladies, the forum is gg fast & furious today. Sorry I cannot contribute to the CL discussion as Iw on't be engaging one.

Today, I went see gynae for "emergency appt" as I saw blood & wasn't sure where it came from. Thank God it was rectum...thk must drink more fruit juices to facilitate my bowels. :s

In 5 weeks time, I'll be seeing her again (19weeks +) & she say can try look at gender (if baby is cooperative). Initially, asked to postpone the scan & appt by one week cos wanted 20 weeks. So excited!! =)

And gd news is baby is growing ok despite me not gaining weight etc. Dr is not worried. Tis is really gd news for me cos I am actually quite angry with SIL who has been making me look like I am on diet, or precise preg anoxeric...been so pissed...can't wait to tell them to stop forcing me to eat when I cannot eat!

@pootz: So baby bouncing means baby is hicupping ah? Ahhh.. Hahahha! Mine also keep bouncing up and down when I did my Oscar test. I was still thinking why he/she keep bouncing... So is hiccup... Heh.

valerie: mine was bouncing very abruptly, like jerking up and then floating down...non-stop leh! So it was quite obvious hiccup leh.. not like it's jumping around. :p

I just googled it:-

"Your baby may have started hiccupping intermittently beginning in the late first or early second trimester, although you wouldn't have been able to feel the hiccups at that early stage."

"only more mature fetuses hiccup in the womb because their central nervous system is adequately developed in order to allow this to happen. It is believed that the fetus breathes in amniotic fluid or drinks it. When this happens and the amniotic fluid enters and exists the fetus lungs then the diaphragm contracts and hiccups results. Fetal hiccups appear to be extremely normal and almost all moms will feel the babies hiccups at least once if not on a regular basis. "

So it's GOOD! =D

@pootz: Mine also. But hiccup didn't cross my mind. Hee hee.. If tomorrow my baby bounce again I'll ask my gynae. Hehe..

So much to read, and I was just here this morning!! Guess that's what happens when a bunch of excited mums get together to chat, heehee :p

trinket: I wonder if it's one of your CG mates who recommended Dr Wong to me. She was recommended by my hub's friend's wife - whom I've never met before, hence I dunno her name [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] All I know is she is a teacher in a private school and she gave birth not too long ago from when I found out I was pregnant. The timing was good so I just accepted her recommendation of gynae, courtesy of my hub who got the info from his friend. Yup, I accepted a recommendation from a stranger! :p

Joodz: Does that mean your mil is gonna be your CL? Better lah, I think, no matter what your relationship with mil is. At least it's someone familiar. I don't like the idea of taking instructions from a complete stranger (in direct contradiction with my above method of finding gynae hor??) But this is different - coz CL will be staying under my roof, which means she should be listening t0 me, not the other way around! Alamak - power struggle! And my poor hub will be caught in-between. Better to save everyone the misery. Somemore I will need an english-speaking CL coz my chinese sucks.

And btw, I'm also abit on the chubby side so maybe that's why cannot feel any baby movements at the moment. But I wanna feel!! So far, all I've got is the occasional twinge in the left side or lower abdomen; I doubt that's bb kicking. My gynae, at my last scan, commented that we couldn't get a particularly clear scan due to the "abundant maternal skin". Hrmpt! She called me fat! Haha~ But the upside is that alot of my clothes still fit and at least now I have a proper reason to look chubby :p~ I really hope to slim down (even beyond pre-pregnancy weight) after all bbs are done though. I'm beginning to realise how impt a healthy lifestyle is.

Valerie: Woohoo! Our EDDs are so close! And you're gg for your scan tomm, while mine is day after [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Must swap news, ok!! Really hope your bb cooperates with identifying his/her gender ..

Bigflamingo: The Mother&Child prenatal yoga is one where you go alone, without husband in tow, right? I'm looking for something I can do on my own for now, just so I can have some me time, and get myself mentally prepared for the delivery too. But somewhere down the road, I'd like to start attending the classes with hub - those that concentrate more on the labour and birth process .. those that I could use his help with [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Did you notice another yoga studio at Tanglin Mall? The name has slipped my mind, unfortunately, but their packages looked attractive too. Not so much the price, but the things they teach. Maybe I'll have to make a trip down there one day to do some exploring ...

PreviousBabi: Thks for the warm welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How are you coping with your pregnancy thus far? Thelassemia is basically a genetic blood disorder where I'm missing some genes in a certain chromosome. The nurse was really technical when explaining to me and I've forgotten half of it already. In a nutshell, I don't have enough red blood cells, and since red blood cells are the ones that carry oxygen around the body, it means I'm not getting enough oxygen sometimes and this can result in me feeling tired faster and more easily than others. But other than that, there's no major impact to my lifestyle. That's why it's so impt for me to exercise and eat right. Pregnancy is probably the first instance in my life where thelassemia will have a noticeable impact, in that I'll feel real lethargic. So far, it's true! The minor version is tolerable but thelassemia-major is a serious case whereby blood transfusions are required. Anyway, impt thing is (but I dunno how true) - I read somewhere that pregnancy is designed such that oxygen gets delivered to baby first, so no need to worry abt baby not getting enough oxygen. Just means poor mummy gets even less! :p Small price to pay for a healthy bb.

Nashita: How do you overcome the tiredness associated with thellassemia-minor? I try and sleep as much as possible and it helps but not much. My energy levels are generally low - 60% energy level is considered a good day for me! As the week progresses, the energy level continues to drop ... sigh!

@princess31: Sure! Hope your baby will be co-operative too! Hehehe..

Anyway last night my leg cramp again. A bit too soon right? It's already the 2nd time! And my poor hubby had to wake up to massage my leg. =p

think i saw a prenatal yoga studio in Novena Square 2 as well... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

when and where are you mummies starting prenatal classes, as in the one you attend with daddy for all those labour/baby knowledge? I hear that Mt A and Thomson has some very popular "teacher"?

hey there Princess31,

Yes, only mums-to-be attend that class at Mother & Child prenatal yoga class.

Most hospitals offer the couples birth and labour classes for I think something around $200. Other than the breathing exercises for labour, I didn't really find it all that useful.

princess

haha, no private sch teacher in my CG. although there are 2 teachers. but she's quite popular and highly recommended, so sometimes waiting time can be long.

pootz

tmc's popular parentcraft teacher is Mrs Wong Boi Boi.

but for second child, i'm not going to attend prenatal classes anymore... and for exercise, think shoulder massages will do more wonders for me.

Princess 31: I’m doing well so far.. No MS or major problems except for constipation and tiredness.. I see, so this is passed down from your family.. You really have to take care.. Eat right, exercise and rest well!! This will help in having a healthy bb and mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie: I always get cramps on my buttocks.. Irritating! Especially when I’m walking and it just attacks suddenly.. Then gotta put my hand against it to massage but it doesn’t look nice when walking right?? Haha.. Your hubby so sweet, still can wake up in the middle of the night to massage for you.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've changed my appointment from Sat to tomorrow coz I really feel so tired.. Can take 1 more day rest like that and can see bb one day earlier.. Haha.. Tonight I will start nagging at bb to be cooperative during scan tomorrow.. LOL!!

@preciousbabi: Hahahaha! But when cramp cannot walk already right? You never relax your buttock while walking ah? How come will cramp. No choice leh. Cos I grapped his hand. LOL~ He don't want to wake up also cannot cos his hand will full of my fingernails marks. Wahahahaha~

What time is your appointment tomorrow? Mine is in the morning. Hehe.. These few nights I keep telling my baby to open leg big big for me to see. Then I bribe him/her. I said if I know already then I can buy pretty clothes and toys for him/her. Hehehe...

princess31: at least doctor say your SKIN is thick instead of fats. I think i got pretty thin skin but pretty thick fats. hahaha. however i managed to see my baby clearly everytime leh.

re: prenat classes

got many many questions to ask!

1. anyone already going or intend to go?

2. when are the classes?

3. how much for mother and father?

4. can the dates be changed if cannot make it?(i really wan hubby to be there but hubby works irregular hours and has to be on standby everyday)

5. i ave been reading up on mdm wong boi boi. is she good?

*LOL*

I must admit it never crossed my mind to talk to bb at this early stage ... I figured that will take place later on, but I think no harm to try, esp when I'm so eager to find out the gender tihs Sat!

Good luck to all of you having your scans in the next couple of days! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sorry not to dampen ur mood, but i read that at this stage our BB cannot understand what we are saying, i m not even sure if they can hear now, maybe at a later stage. If we talk to them often by then, they can recognize our voice but they won't know wat we are talking about.

so if we ask them to open the legs wide wide, they wont understand? or we keep thinking abt it, it may get through to them? 'telepathy'???

@neongoby: Haha! I got think also. Sometimes when I'm working not convenient to talk to my baby out loud I will talk in my heart. And when I talk to my baby I'll put my hand on my tummy. Don't know if he/she will understand but at least he/she can hear some voice and "feel" a hand on tummy he/she won't be too bored. Hehehe...

haha i think 'communication' at this stage is limited to hormone levels. like if we are stressed or upset, bb will feel it. if we get adrenalin rush bb will feel too. but non-hormonal effects... mmm... probably psychoing has more effect on us than them. so concentrate on producing happy hormones (pheramones - spelling not sure) by being HAPPY!

yes i agree! if we want to have a happy baby, we must be happy too! try not to think negative thoughts. my hubby so sweet, he says don worry, leave the worries to me. awwww.....

@princess31: I dun thk there's anythg I can do really. Except I try and rest and sleep well. When tired, I dun care if pple say me incl hubby & will jus sleep cos next day still gotta work.

I do try eat iron-rich food tho in my meals not supplements. I checked with dr and she said after 4th mth shld be better.

@pootz: Square 2 is near my workplace. So mebbe I can go. U gg. Any website or info I can look at?

@Valerie: I had cramps once too & I too woke up hubby cos I got up with a sudden and he massage my leg. But thg was the "tenseness" did not go away for 2 days then ok liao..

Valerie: When the cramp attacks, I will stop by the side and massage lor *shy*.. Lucky thing is they don't last long.. Haha.. Your hubby so poor thing.. My appointment at 11am tomorrow, so can sleep abit later.. Hehe.. I also keep telling bb these few days already.. But scared he/she forget.. So tonight must keep reminding and repeating (bb must be thinking mummy so naggy).. LOL.. Ya lor, so excited, the long wait is finally here.. Hopefully can go shopping after that already.. Hehe…

Neon: Nevermind if they can hear or not lah.. I just assume bb will understand mummy coz he/she is living in me.. Haha.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Same here! Good luck to all mummies!! BBs must open legs at scan huh.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I feel so bad towards my bb coz mummy has been throwing temper very often nowadays.. But I can’t control it too.. Haiz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Nashita - antenatal class

http://www.babybreeze.biz/

not sure i'm gg.. we just walked past the place whilst strolling around square 2 and my hubby say go join! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Why don't you go check it out after work, then fill us in! =D