So much to read, and I was just here this morning!! Guess that's what happens when a bunch of excited mums get together to chat, heehee
trinket: I wonder if it's one of your CG mates who recommended Dr Wong to me. She was recommended by my hub's friend's wife - whom I've never met before, hence I dunno her name [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] All I know is she is a teacher in a private school and she gave birth not too long ago from when I found out I was pregnant. The timing was good so I just accepted her recommendation of gynae, courtesy of my hub who got the info from his friend. Yup, I accepted a recommendation from a stranger!
Joodz: Does that mean your mil is gonna be your CL? Better lah, I think, no matter what your relationship with mil is. At least it's someone familiar. I don't like the idea of taking instructions from a complete stranger (in direct contradiction with my above method of finding gynae hor??) But this is different - coz CL will be staying under my roof, which means she should be listening t0 me, not the other way around! Alamak - power struggle! And my poor hub will be caught in-between. Better to save everyone the misery. Somemore I will need an english-speaking CL coz my chinese sucks.
And btw, I'm also abit on the chubby side so maybe that's why cannot feel any baby movements at the moment. But I wanna feel!! So far, all I've got is the occasional twinge in the left side or lower abdomen; I doubt that's bb kicking. My gynae, at my last scan, commented that we couldn't get a particularly clear scan due to the "abundant maternal skin". Hrmpt! She called me fat! Haha~ But the upside is that alot of my clothes still fit and at least now I have a proper reason to look chubby

~ I really hope to slim down (even beyond pre-pregnancy weight) after all bbs are done though. I'm beginning to realise how impt a healthy lifestyle is.
Valerie: Woohoo! Our EDDs are so close! And you're gg for your scan tomm, while mine is day after [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Must swap news, ok!! Really hope your bb cooperates with identifying his/her gender ..
Bigflamingo: The Mother&Child prenatal yoga is one where you go alone, without husband in tow, right? I'm looking for something I can do on my own for now, just so I can have some me time, and get myself mentally prepared for the delivery too. But somewhere down the road, I'd like to start attending the classes with hub - those that concentrate more on the labour and birth process .. those that I could use his help with [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Did you notice another yoga studio at Tanglin Mall? The name has slipped my mind, unfortunately, but their packages looked attractive too. Not so much the price, but the things they teach. Maybe I'll have to make a trip down there one day to do some exploring ...
PreviousBabi: Thks for the warm welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How are you coping with your pregnancy thus far? Thelassemia is basically a genetic blood disorder where I'm missing some genes in a certain chromosome. The nurse was really technical when explaining to me and I've forgotten half of it already. In a nutshell, I don't have enough red blood cells, and since red blood cells are the ones that carry oxygen around the body, it means I'm not getting enough oxygen sometimes and this can result in me feeling tired faster and more easily than others. But other than that, there's no major impact to my lifestyle. That's why it's so impt for me to exercise and eat right. Pregnancy is probably the first instance in my life where thelassemia will have a noticeable impact, in that I'll feel real lethargic. So far, it's true! The minor version is tolerable but thelassemia-major is a serious case whereby blood transfusions are required. Anyway, impt thing is (but I dunno how true) - I read somewhere that pregnancy is designed such that oxygen gets delivered to baby first, so no need to worry abt baby not getting enough oxygen. Just means poor mummy gets even less!

Small price to pay for a healthy bb.
Nashita: How do you overcome the tiredness associated with thellassemia-minor? I try and sleep as much as possible and it helps but not much. My energy levels are generally low - 60% energy level is considered a good day for me! As the week progresses, the energy level continues to drop ... sigh!