(2011/02) Feb 2011

Valerie, I feel the same like you. Maybe I should talk to my company and check with them whether I can work from home. But till now, I have yet to let anyone in my office know that I am pregnant, though they are suspecting. I was hoping I can stabilise the pregnancy before disclosing.

@felpoo: Woah, you still want to work from home, I only want to relax at home. Lol. But my hubby said if I continue working then next time my baby will be very smart with numbers (cos I'm doing accounting). Like real lor.. Haha!

same here Felpoo, my manager is quite concerned about me (we sit in the same room), but still i dare not disclose to her. I prob will need to disclose in 2 weeks time cos we are going to have outdoor team building activities which I don't think i would be able to join (i personally don't want to do anything dangerous), no choice.....

donno why, i use to enjoy coffee, now i don't even dare to drink, scare i will puke so i switch to tea once in every other day.

wow Choc, you are very brave and positive! My role model [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for those mummies who vomit, can you all still take in your food as per normal ie food taste the same? For me, every meal time, i'm forcing food down my throat coz they just taste otherwise.

Hi Jolin, don't give up on your bb. Since you are the type who gets satisfaction from completion of tasks (whether work or household chores), you can take this MS as a challenge too! Don't think of abortion, k? Having a bb is a blessing. Like the rest mentioned, there are many women who couldn't conceive after years of trying. If you visit the 2ww forum thread, you'll know what I mean. There are girls who are still TTC after 1 year, 3yrs and even 5yrs. I, for one, have been TTC for some time before I got this bb (I had MC twice). I really admire the persistency and the every effort some of those girls have trying to conceive.

Making lifestyle adjustment is unavoidable and part and parcel in any stage of our life, whether we are a parent or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Agree?

Also, very important to continue folic acid which is critical for the development of bb's neural tube. You can give up milk but not folic acid.

Come in and chat with us anytime you need to, k? Jia you!

@charmaine, now my choice of food is very different from the past. Now one of my fav is mcdonald's nugget [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Not sure if mummies here alrady knew about this website, I think its quite good. It tells us how our BB is growing and many more info.

Do check this out at www.babycenter.com.sg

Rain, you are so hilarious. For a moment, I was wondering who's your good friend. Nowadays, I don't dare to look at toilet bowl becos I know I will vomit non-stop. So I vomit in the sink or plastic bags.

Valerie, I cannot stop working. I'm those ppl who cannot sit / lie down the whole day doing nothing. Even when I watch shows or doing other stuff, I will think about work. No work, and I will fall sick

Valerie, yesterday i took leave to stay @ home cos i m feeling really uncomfortable with all the gas built up in me, i feel so lethargic, don't feel like doing anything, in the end i feel bored.... Will we start to think negative thoughts and get depressed f we stay at home all day? i think got a bit of work to do also can help to distract our discomfort a bit.

Ya, this thread is really a good distraction, come here share troubles, listen to others, learn from others makes me feel better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@felpoo: Woah, you are a workaholic leh. Lol. But actually I also cannot sit still to watch shows. I have to play games on my hp or snack while watching shows. If not my hands feel very empty..

Felpoo, me too. I have not told anyone in the office. There are 2 MCs from my gynae which I've yet to hand in hahaha! I'm thinking to tell them next week after Mon's appointment but hesitating if I should say it only after 1st trimester, which will be end Jul. Don't know if boss will think that it's short notice if I inform after 1st trimester ha! Cos ideally, after 4mths maternity leave, I'm thinking to take no pay leave till end 2011.. but of course, I won't tell my boss or colleagues about the no pay leave yet until I'm nearer to my due date...

@Neongoby: Last week I also took MC cos I was feeling so naseous. Though I'm at home but actually I was quite lazy to go downstairs to buy lunch. But in the end I still went down to buy and I watched drama the whole day. The next day I was so reluctant to go to work. =( I can't concentrate at work. Don't feel like working.. Everyday counting down to knock off time. =(

Hi mummies, saw the posts on all the vomiting..

for myself I take gaviscon for the heartburn i.e. the gas and acid.

now with no heartburn i dont have the nausea feeling anymore.

And I just had potato salad for lunch.

yummy yummy and make me feel so healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me craving for junk food too!!! And bubble tea!!! My god, this is so sinful. Just yesterdae, I'm craving for fish burger, and not just normal fish burger from any fast food restaurant, but fish burger from those western store with soft bun + cheese + colesaw + fried fillet.

Made my hubby run 3 coffee shops to get for me coz 2 western stores do not sell burger!

My crave when I have #1 is perculiar too. I have craving in the middle of the night for Ang Ku Kuey and beef noodles. My hubby was begging me to have a "normal crave" where he can get it at off the rack at any convenience store. He told me to sleep and when i wake ang ku kuey will be selling in the market :x

One of my gal friend even best, she had craving for hard boiled eggs at 1am, her hubby went 7-11 to buy the eggs and cooked half a dozen at one go. While waiting for the eggs, she dozed off while her hubby played the Wii games.

He woke her up when the eggs r ready and shelled but get a good trashing from her coz she finally fall asleep and he woke her up!!!

@felpoo, I guess at this point of time, we jus have to make ourselves happy... So instead I made toilet bowl my current good friend. My little silly way in making my merlion happier..

I think we all have to stay positive so as to enjoy this period [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I told my boss about my pregnancy and he is very supportive. I guess I am quite lucky in this area.

I guess its ok to let a few close frds at work know about our condition, because at least they can look out for us. My friends will offer to carry heavy stuffs for me and help me with some stuffs.

raine, so do you still have the appetite food? I'm over and done with mac coz 1st week of ms, only have appetite for mac till i got sick of eating mac oredi.

Neongoby, if you will be alone in the house, it's easy to get depress coz now we are pregnant, hormone change. Find things to do at home, chat here online, do housework, watch tv, watch movie, chat with neighbours etc.

BPC: hahaha your cravings are so funny.. ur friend too.. thank god my craving has mainly been snacks easily available from convenience store like fish cracker.

charmaine... I still likes nuggets but I dun take it so often now. My cravings will change every now n then. Today I had KFC Bkfast... But i realised i tend to go for food that are salty. Maybe becos our mount feels bland after all the vomiting.

BPC, your hubby so nice to get your craved food at the middle of the nite. I dun dare to wake my hubby up once he's asleep during my 1st pregnancy. His mood will be cranky if i woke him up

Hi Raine, actually the main reason why I have not disclosed to my colleagues is because of the stability of this pregnancy (I had 2 MCs previously).

About cravings, sometimes I also think what if I have cravings in the middle of the night? My hubby and I don't have a car to drive out hahaha!

BPC: Your stories on craving very funny lei... hahaaa.. A good way to lighten the mood here with all the MS problems.. So cute.. cravings in the middle of the night and both your gal fren's hb and your hb are willing to accomodate to your cravings at this hour.. My hb just didnt bother...

Luckily, with the 1st I didnt have much cravings eiher.. But with the current one I do.. When I crave for something.. die die must find until have.. So abit trickier..

Jolin: I am glad you changed your mind on the abortion.. Hang on there.. YOur baby is definitely worth the suffering..

I am pretty surprised quite a no of you have not told your bosses yet.. I wanted to suppress the news too.. But I cant.. My stomach is too obvious liaoz.. Partly bcos I am petite in size + lost some weight with my 1st pregnancy.. So this one.. within a week.. the stomach protude out liaoz.. So I told my boss around 7/8 weeks.. before it became so obvious that no need to say also can tell..

BPC, you are so cute in your craving... so happy to hear that your hubby so accomodating to your request, haha

Valerie - i was very lazy yesterday too, i din even want to go down to buy lunch, in the end i juz ate crackers (square biscuits), milk and apple and then waited till my hubby to buy porridge back for dinner. So now i m back to work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] luckily now is lao period, i can spend time juggling between my work and this thread (i think i m more productive here, lol)

I lost cravings for all food, i just take for the sake of taking.

Valerie, if you are doing accts, then you have to make sure you stay awake and don't enter the wrong numbers.

Faith, I think after the 1st tri to inform, I think it's realistic. Afterall, I am a bit pantang. Last pregnancy, I told everyone before the 3rd month, and in the end, ended up m/c. This time, I better be safe than sorry. But also depends on your company policy. Did they mention anything abt disclosure on pregnancy?

I have cravings for raw oysters and sashimi similar to the first pregnancy. U know pregnant women salivate a lot and 1 day while looking at my family eating, unknowingly, i was drooling.

Oh yeah, I also crave for instant noodles but been trying hard not to touch.

I look at a number of websites but settled for my iPhone appl. "what to expect"

Just back from lunch.

I don't have any craving for this pregnancy, only craved for watermelon and jackfruit when the MS started. In fact, i wish i don't have to eat so that i can skip the vomit session [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Neongoby: Crackers enough meh? It's not a full meal.. Anyway I just had my lunch and now my mouth has this funny taste. Argh. I don't know how to describe but it's making me very uncomfortable. =(

@felpoo: Yeah, that's why I always double check my work. I'm also reading "What to expect" everyday. Hehe..

Babes, hang on... once surpass ur MS, craving will slowing kick in.

I normally don't take fish burger and ang ku kuey and dunnoe y i crave for them!! I Maybe that y it's call craving bah!

Eviangal, ya ya, now die die must find the food I crave too, if not feel very empty and frastrating rite??

But the burger yesterdae dun taste nice at all, very disappointed and my tastebud dropped from my mouth to my toes, all anticipation diminished at once. Good also, stick to rice and soup which is more healthy.

faithnhope,

I tried to take the folic acid whenever i can, and i took it in the evening (before slee) but i don't know whether it's psychology effect or it really cause the nausea feeling, everytime after taking the folid acid, my MS is getting worse, hence, i daren't to take.

I will try to take it from now on.

Faith, I can understand what you mean. My 2nd pregnancy also ended up MC.

But don't worry, let us think positively and everything will be fine.

felpoo: my hubby also downloaded the 'what to expect' app.. that day when i went to checkup the app told me bb should be 2.9cm.. when i went scan my bb only 2.18cm.. then i panic.. went online to search then find out the average CTR length for my bb is 1.8cm.. my bb is actually bigger.. scare me.. haha.. so from now on i think the app not accurate..but my hubby still like to refer to it..

Thanks Raine!

Felpoo, I don't think there's any policy on pregnancy disclosure hehe.. I've always like to wear loose clothes so they can't really see my tummy yet :p

I've eaten instant noodles once last week.. didn't feel like eating other stuff so I had instant noodles and it tasted so good, like never before haha!!

Valerie, is it some funny metal taste in your mouth? I've read about that too.. hehe...

faith, i'm a pantang person. Best to tell after yr 1st trimester. Take care.

Jolin, it's good you have a craving for certain food but do avoid watermelon and take in moderation coz it's cooling.

I thought a lot during lunch just now.

The baby has done nothing wrong, she is not aware that her existence inside my body would cause so much discomfort to me either. It's me and her dad who bring her into this world. It's unfair to her if i abort her just because of the discomfort.

I was so silly and evil.

Judy, I'm using 2 apps "what to expect" and "Being mom". I find "Being mom" more suitable for asian women in terms of bb measurement.

Jolin, I also take it before going to sleep. But mine is opposite from yours. I dun feel nauseous after eating.

I read it from somewhere that taking it before sleep, the vits. will be more effective. But once if we are starting on multi-vits, the nurse warned me against taking at nite becos some of the preggies cannot sleep.

I believe a lot of mummies had read this about sleeping on the left side as it can improve the blood circulation to the feteus. I realised that if I sleep on the left side instead of the right side (my usual sleeping position), I feel like vomitting. Do anyone feel that way?

Jolin, so happy that you've straightened things out. My folic acid is a very tiny tablet so I didn't have problem taking it. I just popped and immediately drink water to swallow it then it doesn't have a chance for me to taste it haha!

valerie...why not...can can work... dun wan to take unpaid leave... work also not bad..get to talk to colleagues, have lunch...relax abit...

raine...i agree...watever i feel like eating or drinking i will go buy.... ok lar..now is the time to get fatten up and no one will questions u

actualli not bad too...my mil will be more sensitive to wat i want to eat...and she also will cooked bird nest for me... so far..so good..hahaa

charmaine... food taste same for first few bites...i can be very strange one... suddenly very hungry...eat a few mouth i get super sick of food..

either i pass to hb or dun eat lor..no choice...i know if i finish up all, all sure go to the toilet bowl one

bpc: dun talk about bubble tea, fast food...make my stomach start GROWLING! suddenly wan bubble tea too! OMG! think tonite will go grab one to drink...

last nite i also have a weird craving..I want to get Slurpee from 7-11, then my hb drive me to petrol kiosk say buy those normal canned drinks...

i say dun wan liao..wahhahaaaa

end up till now still feel like drinking slurpeeeeeee

telling boss: hahahaa..i tink i am the earliest who tell boss..hahahaa..i tell my boss within a week i know i strike TOTO..hahaaaa

tell them also good..they will be more understanding..

@faithnhope: Ya!!! And I don't know what should I eat or drink to get rid of that taste. Yucks! Even water with lemon taste funny to me.

@felpoo: I don't feel like vomiting when I sleep on my left side but sometimes it's quite uncomfortable. I can't help it but to sleep on my back which I know it's not good when my tummy gets better. But I keep toss & turn when I'm sleeping.. Unable to find a comfortable position to sleep. =(

Judy, you can take those UK and US websites as a reference only. Because in the context, we are more smaller size as compared to the western counterparts.

I had dl another appln called My Baby Lite, which only shows first 12 weeks. But they have a chart on Gender Prediction which was pretty accurate as I use that on all my friends' babies :p.

Oh no...all this talk of bubble tea is making me drool (even more than before!)

And I keep wanting zha jiang noodles from Din Tai Fung!

Yes, this taste in the mouth is so weird!

Choc, sorry no offence here. We are not supposed to eat bird nest at this moment. Can only eat during the 5th to 6th month as it's rather "cooling". I only drink paosheng brewed with pork bones three times each week.

I think someone mentioned about mutton which I heard those old wives' tales on the side effect on the child easily getting fits when born.. Dun know how true as I dun eat mutton anyway. But beef is good but must be fully cooked.

@charmine: my choice of food i also different from before..i crave more for sinful foood like fast food but when eating those food i feel good but after eating the oily after taste feel arg...

@jolin: yea keep trying..folic acid is good for the baby development...

@ bpc: wah your hubbi is very nice ! same here if i cant get to eat my crave, i will feel so sad and jus so not satisfied!hee

@faith and hope: everything will be fine for you!! take good care n have enuff rest!

@felpoo: yup i heard abt the sleeping on the left side..i tried but always end up fliping to another side..but i wont feel like vomiting for my case..

@jolin: huggiess... ur right! keep postive kk! hope yr ms be away soon!!!u r not evil...u just a drift to being depressed...dont be too hard on yourself kk..

Jolin, glad you have tot it thru. Like wat faith mentioned, do take your folic acid every day. I still take folic acid despite bad ms coz the nurse told me folic acid is to build up bb's spine.

choc, yes but i will go toilet after a few bites. Sian liao, vomit just vomit, i heck care liao.

valerie, curious you mentioned you doing accounts? Can go online? coz i'm doing accounts also but all my accounts jobs all super busy de and dun even have time to go toilet.

For the rest who's working also, does your boss knows you are online [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

felpoo, i'm also taking paosheng with pork every week for my giddiness

felpoo...no problem... to me anything in moderation is still ok lar...in fact i still got take water melon etc...but just half or a slice nia

coz my gynae believe in taking food in moderation... as long as not alcohol and raw food...more "Westernized" LOL...

charmaine...ya ya agreed...come to a point immuned to the feeling..hahaaa...but do u see any blood vessels bursting in ur face esp eyes area?

for me i see red spots if i were to vomit too violently

hahahaha... of cos my boss doesnt know.. if he does, i guess i will be send packing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lately I have no strength to work n think, my brain seems to be sleeping... I hope my energy will come back soon cos there are still alot of things to do...

Oh btw, anyone working around suntec area??

so many accounts here.. i also doing accounts.. but small company.. 6 full timers only.. nothing much to do most of the time.. haha..

@charmaine: Haha ya.. It's a family business actually. My hubby's bro-in-law's shipping company. Sometimes very busy, sometimes not. And have 2 accountants including me. So okay lah. Not always very busy. That's why feel very sleepy. Lol.

Hi Valerie, I don't have a solution to get rid of the metal taste.. I think it'll go away after 1st trimester.. so bear with it a while..

Talking about bubble tea, aiyo.. I love the sour plum bubble tea! Maybe I will drink tonight haha!

Thanks Amazing Miracle, I'll keep positive!

Charmaine, nope, I don't think my boss know I'm online lah.. cos we are seated in our own cubicle with PC backfacing the entrance of the cubicle.. it may look to others like I'm ferociously typing work but actually I'm chatting hahah!!

Raine, me too.. have been procrastinating work in the last few weeks.. but I have to buck up else later can't finish, worse!

Tomorrow, I am going to take a day off to enjoy myself. Eat steamboat and Gelare ice cream with waffles. I will be making a trip to GuanYin temple to pray and get a divination lot for this pregnancy. Hope it s a 上上签。

Jolin, it's human to err. Let us think that it's the hormones who's the culprit which makes you think that way. Do not have guilty feelings, just happy thots and your pregnancy will be smooth going [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charmaine, I multi task. My boss dun bother as long as I complete my work. I guess no screw ups will do.