(2011/02) Feb 2011

claire...u were asking about pureen maternity pad how long rite...last nite i went to measure...appx 28cm.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning idaar.... yeah...anyone here may pop anytime..but try to hold till 36weeks onwards ya!!

Elise: Most of us are using Origins Jamu which averages about $70 for a 1.5 hour session. We booked it because its an established company and has a structured way of massaging process e.g. hot stones therapy, binding with cloth binders, use of herbs which sometimes are not included by freelancers who only use oil.

In addition, as we purchased together, we had gifts such as confinement body gel, ntuc vouchers and other freebies..

Update: Saw Dr Ang yest.. Baby still yet to turn. He say bb is in breach position and hope he would have turned by the next apt.. Surprisingly, I did not gain any weight but lost 100g instead. On the contrary, my weight gain previously went to the baby. He is now 2.1kg. I hope this continues.. He continue to gain weight without me gaining additional weight.. kekee..

Thanks Charmaine. Haa. . my poor english.. today then i know ngor he is threadfin... :p

Thanks Choc on the info on Pureen pads. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eviangal/ charmaine: Finally checked with the cc yesterday and confirmed a place for my boy..

good.. then I can put him in school until abt 5.30 pm while I get time to bf my gal and cook for him!! so happy

but lost sleep last night as I am quite apprehensive abt sending him to CC at such a young age, 18 mths..

worry whether he will adapt, will develop negative behaviour, will eat/sleep well in CC or not..

sigh so stressful.. cant imagine when the children go to Primary 1..

went for the dongzhi gathering at my in laws yesterday..

ha ha got a Medela Freestyle, several bottles, clothes and newborn items from my cousin in law who recently stopped bfg her 15 mth gal..

so I got my wish to have the Freestyle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I wonder whether I should get new spare parts or after sterilising should be ok..

After settling my son's child care now everything looks more optimistic for me...

guess I'll be able to cook and prepare the meals for both of us so no need to tingkat liao..

yippee..

ah_ching: if u never lend ur pump to anyone i think can just serilise ba. But maybe just the parts that is often in contact with your milk previously u might want to get them.

Sian :< did not sleep much cos keep waking up to go to toilet and coughing and today baby is prob stretching his legs, keep poking my chest Zzz...

There is a big sale going on at Cotton On (adult and kids) at Ion, going to head down later :>

I'm finally done with my baby shopping, hurray! Yesterday the hubby and I hit the cardmember's preview for the Robinson's sale and we bought our breastpump and stroller. So the final tally for our big-ticket items is:

Stroller- Aprica Stick $475 (Robinson's cardmember price + 5% rebate)

Breast pump- Ameda Lactaline $285 (Robinson's cardmember price +5% rebate). Comes with 40 milkbags and an attachment for 1 handed pumping

Cot- Mothercare cotbed with cot top changer $300 (bought 2nd hand from a friend)

Cot mattress and bedding- Mothercare $350

Carseat- Maxi Cosi Cabriofix $150 (bought 2nd hand from a friend)

Moses basket- Mothercare $70 (bought at Turf City garage sale)

Diaper bag- Kate Spade coal $400 (my indulgence- MIL's friend bought in US and brought back for us)

Baby monitor- Philips DECT $145 (bought at Philips carnival sale)

Steriliser- Pigeon rapid steam $199 (from Parenthood fair, including food warmer, some bottles, wipes, etc)

Aiyoh like that already about 2.4K, not including the rest of the stuff- bottles, baby clothes, nursing pillow, beansprout pillow, wipes, diapers, baby bath, maternity pads, breastpads, nursing bras and nursing gowns. I think I spent close to 3K in total. Please tell me I'm not alone- did any of u spend this much as well?

Have been having a trying 3rd trimester, sigh. First 2 trimesters were such a breeze for me (no MS, no spotting, felt great, even travelled to Europe at week 21), but this 3rd tri is terrible. My hubby thinks it's cosmic karma- payback time for the easy first 2 tris!

I've been having very frequent braxton hicks contractions, which are almost painful when I walk a significant distance or climb stairs. I wasn't alarmed initially but my gynae was, and initially he wanted me to go on bedrest. I wanted to continue working (for complicated reasons- I am still under training and want to complete my traineeship on time, so cannot take too much leave) so instead he gave me drugs to suppress the contractions. But I still got to take it easy and avoid walking too much.

Second problem is I am having palpitations. I have spells of very rapid heartbeat several times a day, and my baseline heart rate is also increased. Hubby has put me through a battery of tests, all normal so far. Still don't know the cause.

I am just hoping and praying to deliver this baby safely as close to my EDD as possible. Very scared of going into preterm labour!

claire no problem...pureen maternity pad can be found in kiddy palace, some say john little, tom n stephanie...

i have to say it is thick lar..but the cushion is very good for those with natural birth and got stitches as for myself its really pain when i used thinner pad...maybe my threshold level lower...

ah ching..not to scare u but be prepared that first few months in CC, the child will get sick easily(like fever, vomit, lao sai...etc)...also try to check the sick rate lar, the teacher turnover rate at tt childcare...

Cherry - you are definitely not alone. I have spent almost 3k, if not more, on baby items. And there are still more to go... the miscellaneous items which can be quite substantial also. it seems like the checklist of items to buy is never ending... ha.

Sigh... i am suffering from feet eczema (bottom of my feet) now. It's my first time! Went to see doc and got the cream to apply but it doesnt cure immediately. Now, it's itchy and developing into bubbles which are painful when i step on ground.. so am limping now :-(

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4918896.jpg]

Err...this is the other brand of adhesive pad which i bought from cold storage ytd...didnt noe kotex now got this adhesive pattern one..so got one pkt to try..abit exp compared to Pureen brand...its 10pc for $6.95, compared to pureen 20pc for 7.95..

almost double the price!!! but i can tell its slightly more compact ba... hehee... no verdict yet..till i tried later on... but worth getting to try [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry...so far... i didnt spend so much coz i have alot of handdown from #1...but more or less the price is like that lar...

Claire, no prob. Most hawkers talk in dialect so smtimes when we will find it hard to tell them the fish/veg we wan in English/Chinese. I also only noe threadfin is ngoh he when my bb started solids [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I never use a separate pot so after I boiled the water with the herbs, I'll trf the whole pot of water to the pail

Ah Ching, so happy tat yr boy got his slot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now no need to worry about his meals problem. Separation anxiety hits me real hard when I send my boy to the cc. But hv to keep telling yrself, this is good for them coz it's the time whereby they'll learn to be independent n to defend for themselves. My son was the youngest among his grp n often kena bullied so can imagine how terrible I felt tat time. Do get prepared for his crying as u placed him there or while changing his uniform at hm.

U may want to change the funnels, valves n bottles for yr freestyle. Otherwise, double or triple sterilize the used parts if u dun want to waste money [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry, wow u bought alot of stuffs! But gg thru yr list, 3k is worth it coz u got all the big items. Now u can relax n wait for delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I spend > $600 so far and my list includes 6 avent bot, brestfrd nursing pillow, a bb cot n mattress set, medela PISA, breastpads n milkbags. Wearing all the clothes worn by my boy previously so dint buy any

Re: Kotex maternity pads

It should be $6.05 and $6 in Watsons [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Choc: are the kotex adhesive pads individually packed?

Pureen pads are not individually packed

claire: for the herbs to bathe.. no need to boil lei..

I just put the packet in the pail and add hot water.. (i lazy, I just turn on the heater to hottest and fill my pail)

u can get the individual packed dao feng cao from medical stores..

when done just scoop out the pack and throw away, no need to deal with bits and pieces of herbs..

It has been a long time since my last log in.

My EDD is 26 Feb. Just wondering what should we do if water bag burst? Should we go to hospital immediately or we ca take sometimes to shower and have a quick bite at home before proceed to the hospital? I know hospital will require you to fast before the labour.

Can someone share the opinion?

charmaine: my son will also be the youngest in his group.. and maybe the whole school..

cos now he'll be joining the playgroup and the youngest is almost 2 years old liao..

hope he adapts quickly.. i'll start him on 2-4 hour days for first 3 days and gradually increase..

at my nanny he got used to it within 3 days!

choc: yeah the principal also warned me abt the falling sick part..

now I'm giving him cod liver oil every 2-3 days..

maybe going to start him on Multi-Vit or Vit C soon..

actually with the nanny he also falls sick once every month..

i've checked that the teachers turnover rate is low and the school is recently re-located to new place which is very spacious.. should be ok..

heard of eager beavers at Yishun?

sovrana: if you're tested +ve for GBS, it is better to go to the hospital ASAP..

otherwise u can wait for 24 hours as long as the water leaking is clear

u can take shower and quick bite before proceeding to hospital.. if u intend to go natural

eat something light or bland.. cos if u getting epidural, you may vomit..

for c-sec they require u to fast before operating.. so try not to eat too much too

moomoo: your ezcema sounds very painful..

did u go see gynae or GP for it..

cos rashes now at this stage of our pregnancy need to make sure it is not something too serious..

for my hand me down freestyle: think i'll go get the funnels and new storage bottles..

i guess the tubing and the valves does not come into contact with the ebm right?

Cherry: actually $3k for your baby items not really a lot..

for me second time mum with so many hand me downs I'll be spending $800 - $1k..

$250 @ kiddy palace for steriliser & assortment of bottle accessories, detergent

$50 diapers

$200 maternity clothes & lingerie

$150 new clothes for my baby gal (gal so must wear cute cute clothes la..)

$150 breast pumps spare parts & storage bottles/ milk bags/ breast pads/ nipple cream

$100 confinement herbs/ tonics/ pads

$100 miscellaneous stuffs like cotton ball/ wet wipes/ etc..

cherry: regarding palpitations, could be due to blood pressure

try to rest as much as possible [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies.. Just come back from 35 wkd check up..

Will be inducing on 11/01/2011.. So counting down to the date le..

Baby weighting 1.8kg..

Hiya...holiday mood now...

how's the lunch gathering ytd? sad that i missed it again...

Ah Ching, you are not alone. Mine #3 already i spent more than $3k lo until think i lost count... everything new one coz this is a gal... *broke now*

Ok.. Will update live if I can tahan.. Lolx..

Ah ching: ya.. I ask dr Ang for the date..

No extra charge cuz he is free that day..

Ah Ching, my boy used to be at eager beaver mount faber [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Is Sharon still the principal? My teachers in chrg of my boy's class are good and esp one whom will always attend to him when I leave. But after taking advise frm the PD n long talk with Sharon on my boy's unusually sick records, we withdrawed him after 1yr. Gd move to boost up his immune system now

Fiona, nice date! U must be excited to count down now hehe..

Sovrana, no need to admit immed after yr waterbag broke coz yr contractions may not come yet or yr cervix not dilate yet. U can shower, have a light meal n double check yr hospital bag before u admit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

moomoo: not sure whether will affect the baby..

but it is better to play safe

cos there are certain type of rashes that only appears during pregnancy..

charmaine: principal at yishun is sue-ann..

think she has been there for many years..

and the teachers have also been there for more than 5 years!

wah.. u scaring me abt the sick record.. think i must start to educate my boy on his personal hygiene.. cos he likes to put his finger in his mouth now..

Joodz: my number 1 was induce also..

So if can choose date for induce den I choose a nice date for him..

Dr Ang give go ahead sign den will just go ahead.. Hee ..

Dun want to mess myself with all the waterbag breaking thing at home..

just came back from my mthly chk. I'm now 32 wks n gain 0.9 kg since last chkup n all this weight is allocated to my Bb who is now 2.2kg. So happy she is developing well ;)Think all the household really contribute to the weight mgmt. Lol

Cherry is easy to spend $$ buying things for 1st mummy, enjoy it n for take it easy for ur Bb.

To day, I've yet to finish my shopping for my Bb. Haha.

ah ching!! watson so cheap ah!!!! okok i go buy another pkt...hahahaa...

the kotex adhesive pack looks like individual packed leh..pureen one not individual ...once opened all exposed...

i also have the herbs to bathe tis round...talking about able to bathe openly make me feel so relieved this round..heheheee

ah ching... no worries lar...just start with those immunity booster lor...

nvm lar..u recee the place liao shld be good..my son starting playgrp next month in Jan....1.5 hour class..

i also very worried about him getting sick and passing to my #2...

fiona...for mine i was induced for #1 coz i was pass EDD and i asked gynae can induced bo..she check check say cervix soft enough to try for induce and natural birth...

wah...ur #1 induced at which week? exciting! i wan to see live broadcast on that day...will mark down on calendar...

rachel...yeah ytd was fun and as usual we were very relunctant to split our ways when time is up..hahahaaaa

hehee...its ok to splurge on girl lar...

Sovrana,

Yes, you can eat something light, coz once you go to the hospital, they wont let you eat anything, i guess in case you will feel like throwing up. I did ask my hubby to sneak me a plain croissant in the room though..heheheh...

baywater...i tink hor..shopping for our kids is a vicious cycle...never ending...meaning can never finish buying...LOL

Afternoon mommies. Hehe just finish doing 89 cupcakes. For the gathering yesterday was fun and happy meet new mommies. Sorry the photos I will post to u all later. Please give me ur Email address or post on facebook. =)

Choc yester me and Vicki went to mothercare I bought a maternity pad 12 pcs with wings $6 and bought another 48pcs without wings $17.50. Also bought a bb jumpsuit for 50% off. Hehe

Ah Ching, falling sick is v common for kids who just started cc. Once their body system adjust to the environment (btw 1-3mths), they won't fall sick so often le, in fact they shd get stronger. My boy's case is rare coz besides the usual flu n cough, he'll hv fever (3-5days) for twice a mth during his cc period.

Fiona, gd luck!! Induce or not, most impt is delivery is smooth and bb n mummy is safe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wish_child, can teach me how to make cupcakes? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

choc: my gal was induced at 38wks also..

that time dr ang still ask me whether i wan to have a 2008 or 2009 baby..

den i just say the faster the better lo..

cuz very heavy n very xin ku already..

Charmaine: thanks.. n yes.. most impt thing is bb is healthy..

Read this on Strait Times, thought i share. Shd try to avoid flying when pregnant I guess no matter what doc say.

BUCHAREST: A Royal Dutch Airlines flight made an emergency landing in Bucharest on Tuesday afternoon when a pregnant Singaporean onboard fell seriously ill.

The 28-year-old Singaporean was travelling with her husband to Amsterdam for a holiday.

Their vacation turned sour 10 hours after takeoff from Singapore, while they were flying over Russia.

The woman reportedly felt very sick and pilots decided to land in Romania.

Henri Coanda International Airport spokesman Valentin Iordache said: "At about 5.50am local time, a message was sent to the airport to await an emergency medical landing here.

"The plane landed at 6.48am. Medical emergency crew from the airport got in the plane and tried to give first aid to the passenger".

The woman had almost no pulse and blood pressure and was immediately rushed to Romania's Elias Hospital.

Doctors discovered she was suffering from extrauterine pregnancy, and had to remove part of her uterus in order to save her.

She is now clear of danger, and doctors say she will still be able to bear children.

Elias Hospital's Dr Alexandru Filipescu said: "The patient is now feeling very well, as compared to the state of shock when she was brought in yesterday. She is balanced and she has regained all of her functions".

The woman's husband, who did not want to be identified, said his wife underwent a medical scan before the trip and was assured she would be able to cope.

He said: "The scanning showed that things were okay, so we (made) preparation and (took) precautions.. It's not a thorough check-up, but the pictures showed that it's quite okay, that's why".

He said they would stay on in Romania for observations, if necessary.