(2011/01) Jan 2011

Thanks Ting for the info and concern.. so scary rite and the weather is really lousy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] making it worst..plus if i dont on aircon will perpire and rash around tummy start appearing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lily, you are most welcome. me on air-con almost everyday at home. the weather outside really bad. so i conditioned my environment to 27degC everyday. and also keep drinking water. so u too. must remember to replanish the water that your body lose during perspiration. take care.

Hello Ladies,

How exciting now that some of us are into the last trimester... BTW, do you guys know if we still see our gynae on a monthly basis or does it get more frequent as we close in to delivery?

guess I am the different one, i would prefer to stay home for this coming CNY, cos I know i wont have time to prepare myself for CNY during confinement.

Mostly i will go for c-sec again. scare of complications like uterus rapture or others.

For those who c-sec and going to choose date, do you choose timing also?

I want to stop at 2, should I on the way ask doc to tie my tube up?

Hi hopefully,

Yeah i'm also asking the gynae to tie up my tubes...and she's agreed to it...coz initially i even thought of not wanting to keep this bb.

hi kikapo

i should think it will be more regular when we are approaching our EDD but right now, it goes on as a monthly consultation.

i'm now into my 26th wk.

Hi Lily,

Thanks....and you will be fine too...Dun think too much about ur boss now...hehe, think about our baby more happy..kakka

Hi Ting,

Ya, I'm waiting my bro in law to pass me the fengshui master contact, Im gonna give him few name and date + timing (from x - x), if master say ok..then I will tell my gynae..my gynae say if we wan to choose time, then need to pay extra..will see how...one thing good about c-sect is flexible date...

Hi Kikapo,

I heard we will be seeing gynae more frequent but not sure...may be experience mummy can share..

Based on my last pregnancy, after 32 weeks, it should change to 3 weeks checkup, so, will be week 35. And after week 35, should be weekly checkup till we deliver.

Kimmysc,

Don't worry abt your OGTT test. Should be ok. I will be doing mine in 3 more weeks... Think I need to control my diet once again... haiz...

Hi Kikapo, every gynae is different. For my gynae, his routine is to see monthly until week 36. Then will be 2 weeks time which is 38 weeks and then will be week by week. But depends on case to case basis. For me, he might see me week by week from 36 weeks due to my high blood pressure.

Hopefully, I did choose date & timing for my #1 for c-sec. I'm also thinking of asking my gynae to tie my tube but my hubby disagree... He's thinking of #3 already...

Guess for CNY, I've got no choice cos my EDD is end of the mth and gynae said tat I can only choose the date after 15 Jan. So, I will be spending my CNY in confinement...

Chabby, thanks for your advice regarding having a Dec baby. I agree I can't extend my CL till CNY, different costs. It is also a consolation to learn that Dec babies won't lag behind in terms of development, cos I thought they would already have missed out on months of 'experience' as compared to a Jan2010 baby born 12 months ahead. What level do you teach?

Ting, my EDD is 7Jan. So it is really neither here nor there. Safer to Csec in Dec lah, unless I wanna take the risk n wait till early Jan. By then I am afraid if water bag burst, then gotta do natural, scary leh... I have heard that most pp give birth before EDD rather than after. Is it true mummies?

hopefully, Yes I think if you consult fengshui master you can choose both date + timing of delivery. As for whether gynae charges more for specific timing, you have to check with your respective ones.

I have been reading the news on Mrs LKY's passing. There is this story whereby when she learnt of Lee Hsien Yang's wife being pregnant, she immediately knitted booties of all colours except PINK, cos she did not want a Tiger year grand-daughter. So educated yet so #$%&#$@.... DUH!!!

Thanks Hoshi...

Hi Chercat

Ya, my gynae charge extra if we wan to choose timing. Hopefully timing between 9-11 is auspicious time to deliver my baby, then I dun need to pay extra for tat. C-Sect is already costing more compare to natural.

We have at least many years to teach our child. I dun think Dec babies will pick up slow :) I have faith...hahhaha

I think of it the other way... Dec baby 'cleverer' coz they can catch up with those born in Jan who are months ahead of them... haha... The initial years may see big difference, but think when they reach primary school, not much diff liao... somemore when they are older, they will still be the one of the youngest in their peers... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]

Thanks all for info on gynae visits...hopefully my boss won't mind me going for more frequent visits to the gyane as we inch near delivery...I intend to work as long as I can..a bit scary cause I wouldn't want my water bag to burst in office...so malu...

Dunno about the diff between Dec & Jan babies, but I think the nurture bit help to make up for it? And a lot of times, its the character of the child and later in life, the attitude towards life bah...I've got a friend who is a Jan baby but just don't take his studies or work very seriously but there are those born later in the year who have more ambition and achieve much more in life....just my 2 cents worth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Too bad hubby don't approve of C-sect so I just have to wait for baby to decide if he wants to be Dec or Jan baby...

Hi chercat, is this your 1st child? i think if is 1st, the likelyhood for your baby to come out early may not be high. i wouldn't say ur bb will not come out early. but base on my observation, most 1st time mommies ard me have their 1st bb deliver after their EDD. most of them need to burst water bag and assisted ... i only know one colleague's wife have their bb deliver 1 month b4 the EDD. Think if u prefer c-sect and already opt for it, your Gynae still can do it for you even when your water bag burst and you do not have to go thru the natural birth. you may want to check with your Gynae.

As for your preference on Dec/Jan bb. like what hoshi mentioned, for a start during their first few years, you may see a diff. but u need not worry cos eventually they will learn whatever they need to know and catch up with the rest. fyi most of the programme managers and directors in my company are Nov/Dec babies lei. they are all smart pple lor ;)

Had this concern tht bb too small size so I asked gynae during visit last sat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] gynae confirms tht bb is healthy n weighing ard 600g for 26 weeks.

He mention tHat bb is avg (small avg) but tht also bcos my frame is v small too. :D so happy. Gynae also gAve us a 3D pic of bb face... She is sooooooo cute... With pouty lips somemore... Lol

Thanks all for ur concern

chercat,

i'm teaching mainly upper sec. does that console you? like what Ting says, 1st baby dun engage early. but not sure about it being later than EDD though. it's my first too. i can't comment on that.

doesn't matter tiger girl or boy la..most important is healthy lah. i dun think by our kids generation we really mind so much about the chinese horoscope thing that much considering inter-racial marriage as something so common.

My MIL is a confinement nanny who has more than 15years of experience. She is available on 15 Jan 2011 onwards.

She charges $2800 for 28 days of confinement duties. Definately no regrets in hiring her as she is responsible, clean and able to do household chores (if the baby is good)

Do PM me if you are interested.

Hi mommies...how's ur day? Me just back from OGTT test...super tiring cos need to wait 1 hour btween each blood test..by the time I finished the last blood test, already exhauted..Seeing gynae next Friday, hope i pass the test.

Hi Nimkulut,

My baby also small size like urs, 600+ at week 26.

eh?... kimmysc, i remember straightaway from the blood test can see whether got GD or not liao... coz after drinking the sweet drink, the nurse will prick our finger to measure the blood sugar level, if it's above certain value, then u know whether got GD or not...

Ur baby pretty small size, so chances of GD is low.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Hoshi

No leh..:-( the nurse din prick my finger..draw first tube, then drink the sweet drink, wait 1 hour, another round of urine n blood test, then wait for another 1 hour, last urine n blood test..total 2 hours plus...very tiring n boring..tot GD is by mother, baby' size also count?

Hi Hoshi

GD is not determine on baby size .... there bb which are small yet mom has GD ...

Kimmy : I will be doing mine nxt week ... drag drinking the syrup ... taste horibble

Yup, kimmy, baby size also matters. If there's a sudden big jump in your bb's weight, gynae may suspect mummy of GD, so need to take OGTT.

ya, take the test very long one... i'm gg for mine in abt 2 more weeks... ask my hubby no need to come with me, coz 'waste' time only... haha..

If in the event that kena GD, you may need to buy the home kit and prick your own finger after every meal to measure the sugar level... can tell the results immediately one.. I didn't buy the kit, and just control via diet only..

I am with Kkh n my gynae did not mention gd test leh. Haha. Realize not many Kkh mothers here so I hv to compare notes on how tmc n Kkh handle preggies.

At wk 24, gynae indicated my ds is 778g. Normal and I never ask further.

Do everyone feel v hungry these days? Hungry n sleepy

Hi ivftwins, I dun think you shd compare the hospitals. It's actually up to yr gynae whether he thinks you shd take the test. My gynae ask me to take the test due to my age but he did not ask luckymummy(same gynae) to do it. When he's with KKH last yr, he also did not ask me to do the test for my #1.

The normal weight at wk 24 is between 600 & 800g.

I also feel very hungry these days. But I'm trying to control eating too much....

I'm going for my GD test in another 3 weeks + time.

Hi poormummy,

Hi Mitch

The one that i drink is not syrup, some orange thingy, not that bad, sweet when u have drink until certain amount..may be Im too thirsty due to fasting, taste quite good..hahha

Hi Hoshi,

Ya, waste time only...Feel so sleepy whle waiting. I still eat normal portion like pre-preg, baby's cheek still thin thin :-(

Hi ivftwins,

sleepy yes, but not hungry leh....can yawn like nobody business nowaday even in the office..haha

ivftwins, I am 1 hungry mum, Haha i feel hungry every 2-3 hours.

The scary thing is i think my baby weighs most here.

24 Weeks with 971g.

Ting

erm nothing leh. just a little more backaches as usual. In fact I quite worried i might have overweight but my doc say baby growing well! So i also didn't care much.

Hi Lily. My CL doesn't have anyone that does 40 days. Sorry no recommendation but I do know of an indon Chinese lady who charges 2.8k for 28 days but she only speaks hokkien. Let me know if you are keen.

Hi Ting,

Have used this lady aunty Ngoh before. She works together with her sister so they will come together for 2 hrs. Charges will be $50 per time so it will be $12.50 per hr per person. They are efficient as well. Not too sure whether charges have increased. She's contactable at 91785306

Angeline,

Wow! Almost 1kg. Your bb must be growing very well. Mine was only 670g at 24 weeks and I have already put on 11kg and I am only in my 26+ week. So afraid that I will have GD when I go for my next scan

woah.. all your gynaes actually update you on the baby weight everytime when you go for appointment?

she only told me once when we did the detail scan at 22 weeks. little tiger was 480g at 22 weeks..

Angeline, i can hardly cope w the size of bump on my tummy, how do you cope when your baby is near 1kg?

Ting,

I'm using Jia Jia Team Cleaning Services and i am satisfied with their services. You can try them.

http://jiajiateamcleaningservices.com/

Seems like my princess is the smallest here...at 24 weeks, she weighed 528g.

I was worried but gynae says i shudn't compare with other babies cos i am small sized and short. So i can't be carrying a 600+g baby at 24 weeks. Anyway, so long as baby is growing and healthy, i'm happy. ;)

Bethel: no no..dun compare this way in absolute weight but rather if gynae is happy, we are happy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Daphne, thanks thanks!! me KS lah...want to make sure all required test done. But your advise noted and will control my KS syndrom.

Hihi all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] finally recovering well for my flu cough [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks mag for helpin me to check guess I will jus stick to the one I book then since charges are ard there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

envy u all pp can know the estimate weight of yr babies my gynae nvr tell me my even thou I ask he say all est nvr tell me at all wo...

Hi Mag, Hi Bethel, Thanks for the contacts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Lily, glad to hear that u have recover [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

if u want to know bb's weight, u can ask your Gynae. they should have all the info captured when doing the ultrasound. maybe some Gynae just don't have the habbit to report every details ba.

Hi everyone I have a Medela Free style pump to let go. Used for 2 weeks only.With local warranty still valid. Letting go at $420. Purchased from local retailer at $799. Please PM if interested for photos and such. thanks.

Hello mummies...

Will be seeing gynae this weekend, hope she gives me an update on bb's weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow angeline 1kg! thats a v good weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ting - where do u stay? I am intending to stop the current PT helper as my FT helper will be arriving next week, I hope to help her find a household before I terminate her services. Generally she's a v nice local lady...she's quite efficient in her work too.

I scouting high and low for home survilliance camera, anyone has lobang? So many of the diff kinds in the mkt, i dunno how to chose!

Thanks Ting [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya i did ask and he jus start measurin the head and looking at all the internal organs but never mentin anything abt the weight he say all estimate my gal shld weigh around 3kg around there ...he say till the las stage than will he able to tell more accurate weigh..

Hi PM, may I know how your PT helper work for you. how is the timing arrangement like?

Hi Lily, the weight is estimated. its a guideline to monitor bb's development. your bb really 3Kg arr? :-o

Hi Mag,

You been having this problem only when u preggy? or all along? sinus is the worst must avoid dusty place and all..

Hi Ting,

This lady help ppl to clean their house, you may wan to call her and check out the price..etc...91434802

Hi Lily,

Got shocked, tot ur baby 3kg...hahhah..I think mine will be less than 3kg by the time I give birth...

Mag,

Sinus gets worse during pregnancy. The only antihistamine tat is safe to take when preggie is piriton but that one is extremely drowsy so is difficult to take during the day. Otherwise, only can use topical stuff like nasal sprays and salt water wash.

Unfortunately, only can manage the symptoms, no cure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]