(2011/01) Jan 2011

Re: Nursing bras

There is a spree going on now which seem quite decent. Can check it out. In fact there are many such sprees.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4562371.html?1286370402

Seems like many of u are reaching your 3rd Tri already..so fast! I'm now in my 24th week.

Yesterday did find it hard to fall asleep. Previously had no problem falling asleep. Think tummy getting bigger, so more uncomfortable.

And i'm sleeping in Air-Con every nite..cannot imagine i hv to go without it during confinement.

Frens always tell me must go for natural delivery. And i'm even hoping i can do it without epidural! haha...am i being unrealistic?

I've just got to pray hard that i will have a short and painless delivery!

For c-section, think u will suffer more after delivery. my SIL just went thru C-sec a month back, her 3rd time, but she still advise me to go natural. She said its painful & diff in breastfeeding + menses flow is irritating!

@Ting, thanks for the link [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This time round when I engage the CL thru agency, they actually will follow a recipe presribe by TCM to so called tiao the body back.

I also think a lot of CL anyhow do. They just did based on what they think it's right.

@Bethel, u're not being unrealistic, alot of my frds did it without epidural. It can be short, hmmm painless.. quite hard ah.....So its a matter of personal pain endurance. How's yr level like? I can't even stand the VE, so immediately I ask for epidural. Hahaha.

For confinement - Already warm my hb that I wil on the aircon 24/7 for the full one month, so he better get it serviced the month before and also dont complain abt bills later :p

Hi Chabby, i thot i read that air-con can? just don't blow directly at ourselves. it mentioned is good to keep the environment cool between 22 to 26deg. so must have aircon ;)

true that c-sect can chop chop get delivery done. what i afraid of is the side effect for the epidural only lor.

Hi Bethel, pain from c-sect wound can be overcome by pain killer and binder. breast feeding also not much of the issues to me lei. mommies went thru natural delivery no menses flow irritation?? c-sect one thing more troublesome is that we got to go back to Gynae to remove the thread lor. think natural birth no need. otherwise i think not much of the problem actually lei. think depend of individual ba. BUT if you ask me, i will also encourage you to go for natural delivery cos you got the option to deliver without epidural ;)

Hi PM,my CFL know how to cook to tiao the body. but after reading some sites, i find her sequence wrong. for a start, she shud prepare food which can help "clean" my body first then start to tiao during the following weeks. i remember my mom got buy 生化汤for me. but CFL only cook them sometime 3rd or 4th week during my confinement. haiz. my mom thot CFL know when to cook them and i thot my mom got tell CFL. but just no one bother to confirm with anyone. and only after reading the site, then i know what 生化汤 is for.

After reading.. this weekend I will b at bugis to look at nursing bra.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just saw e websites on confinement.. but all in chinese! will get hubby to read. Think I will take years to read it through. Lol.

PM,

me first time MTB here so dunno how severe is the pain. But I guess my endurance is normal. I'm also not comfortable with having epidural. I shud say scared of it after reading abt it n how it's administered. But wat's VE?

Ting,

I also tot no matter csec or natural, we will get menses after delivery. But if we start breastfeeding, menses shud stop?

Pls enlighten me.

On another topic, do u gals get lots of v. discharge? I've been having yellowish fluid discharge since 1st trimester till now. It's not a continuous flow of fluid but on some days can feel a the outflow. Need to use abt 3 liners a day.

yes, I'm sure the websites are really informative, but I'm lazy to slowly translate everything. hehe

How likely is it that the epidural won't work properly? I heard stories where it only numbs one side of the body etc. Eeeks! After paying so much and it fails to work fully?

bethel, my discharge is also more than usual. Can't last one whole day on just one like I used to. Think it is normal.

I'm just browsing through the nursing bra spree link sent by bethel...it looks interesting and some are quite cheap. Has anyone tried this brand before? Mostly from Fabulous Mom.

Ladies, when you consulted the aunties selling the nursing bras, did they advise you to go up by band size or cup size? Don't think our band size will go down much so fast after delivery right? How much engorgement should I give allowance for? half to one cup?

@ Ting,now iam worried abt the CL i engage as i dont know how good she is [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and what are the sequence oops..

@ Bethel,

For my case las time, C sec my mense stop after a few daz and was not heavy. And was told if C sec the mense will not be as heavy as normal delivery? or is it subject to individual?? As for V discharge, i have tat too and its pretty normal... due to our hormones changes bah las time for my first pregnancy at the las month its so bad till i jus wear disposable panty..but again depend on individual body adjustment and changes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Luckymummy, the epidural rite it does work but again subject to individual ... i have heard horrid stories abt pp tat has no impact on epid

as some pp mite has already be immuned to painkillers..for me tat time when i still feel the pain i tell the nurse and they will increase the dosage accordingly..

Hi Ting

Thanks for sharing the c-sect information. My gynae also told me 30 minutes only. I think I dare enough to watch those video clip, will try. So I guess u choose to numb half body only, and u cant see it cos they will cover it using a cloth rite? My hubby scared of blood, so he say dun wan to go in with me, but i keep telling him tat we cant see the procedure cos it will be block by a cloth. My pain endurance should be above average, guess I can cop with the pain. *pray*. As for the binder, you put in on for how long?

re: menses after delivery

My fren opt for natural, blood flow aout 5 weeks then only stop. Guess sure will have *menses* after delivery regardless which way we choose. That one cannot be avoid.

re: c-sect

Except for the bill and take longer time to recover, wat else is not gd compare to natural? Baby will still be the same rite, no side effect hor? My placenta is the decision maker now.

re:discharge

Me too. I guess is normal rite? so long as it's not brownish or blood :-S

Hi Kimmy,

for c sec not tat i know of..all the side effects are on the mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] not on the child..

for the binder i remember i put it on as long as i can..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: menses after delivery

I had heavy flow for abt 2 weeks, then normal flow for another 2 weeks. Thats for natural w epi.

Ting: thanks for sharing the website... I will need to take a while to read the chinese. Haha btw, do you have the email of the BP organizer?

Luckymummy11:

My band size when up by 1 size and cup went up by 2 during the breastfeeding days. I guess it depends on individual.

re: discharge

I have quite a bit of it too. Seems to be more for this pregnancy. Forgot to ask gynae about it during the last visit.

I'm losing track of the no. of weeks i'm in now. Can't rem if i'm at week 24 or 26. Can I find out when does the 3rd trimester starts?

Hi pinky, me also took few hrs to look thru the site. all traditional chinese. If you want, you can use Google or babelfish to do a translation to read the site in english. i did htat cos i don't recog many words also :p

Hi Bethel, we may still have menses while we breastfeeding. i remember my post natal discharge took abt 2 weeks to clear. after that "aunty" still visit but not every month.

As for discharge, you need to check if is clear type or thick type. clear type could be urine leak. MUST do pelvic floor exercise and don't carry too heavy things. for me i expereience this when i carry my #1. if thick discharge, i only can think of 2 posibilities. one could be infection (western thinking) and the other could be your body too "cold" (chinese thinking). if i were u, i will let Gynae know and check. it happened during my previous pregnancy. Gynae will inject something into our v to clear it. if after check and found not infection, then i will c TCM. i very KS hor. but i am those play safe type ;)

Hi luckymummy, the epidural should work during our delivery la. no worry. the side effect which i mention will occurs many years later. many pple told me the spot where we inject the epi may ache badly when we grew old.

I have booked my CL but when nearer to our delivery date than we call them or only call them when we deliver? How does it work? me first time hiring CL.

@Bethel - VE - Vaginal Examination.

It is a check to see how much yr down under has dilated. They use their fist to measure.

V discharge - Mine is more than usual. I'm very used to it already, i was rather 'heavy' even before preg.

After delivery, we will have lochia. the volumn i think depends on individual. Mine stopped after 3 weeks for #1. Yes, Breastfeeding does stop our normal menses from coming, but it is not a 100% contraceptive method.

@Ting - Oh... yr normal menses came when u BF? Mine didnt.. so again, i think it depends on individual bah.

Epidural - So far, I have not heard of anyone's epidural not working. Only complaints is that they endure too much in the end cannot admister epidural liao, or their dosage is too high they cant feel the urge.

As for the pain, yes I do feel the are aching as and when. However I feel post partum care's the culprit, I didnt really rest my back well when I had no1. Coz paranoid.. everything wanna do myself :p

@Lily, mine told me to call them after my delivery and inform them abt the day of discharge. They will be at our home on the very same day as our discharge date (perhaps afternoon) coz usually our discharge time 12noon by e time reach home shld be 2pm? I am expecting her to reach ard that time too.

Hi Lily, no point worry abt the CFL now lor. all depend on our luck la. my advice is not to pin to high hope on them. for me i'll observe how my CFL will behave later. if she let me have the feeling that she juz wanna come my place to kill time then bo bian also. i will just instruct her to do whatever i really need and leave her alone. if she is those proactive type, i will just leave everything to her and just rest and take care for my bb. i don't want to get myself to any misery cos i only want to quickly pass my confinement and celebrate CNY...hee

Hi kimmyksc, there are 2 option for pain relief during C-sect. one is epi and the other is FA. for me i opt for epi is because i can't wait to see my baby and also my hubby wanna accompany me thru the delivery. most Gynae do not allow hubby to accompany their wfe if they are on FA. err...if your hubby already say that he will be scared then better don't force him. if he faint inside the ops theatre even more troublesome. my hubby actually can view the procedure lei. he got video down the procedure for me to see. My Gynae say my hubby can stay with me behind the cloth or sit at one corner to view the procedure. i put on the binder for 2 weeks until the day i went back to Gynae to remove the thread. but think if still feel pain can put on the binder as long as you wish lor.

Hi jass1408, which BP you referring to? if u r referring to the taiwan maternity wear and bra, you can find her email addr at bottom right of the site. her name is klara wong ;)

Hi PM, i got menses during bf. but the menses not like normal menses that last for 5 to 7 days. the menses i had was like 2 to 3 days and not regular kind. ya. it depend on individual. i got friend who only have menses many months later even they don't bf.

Hello ladies, was wondering if anyone out there have experience cervical funnelling ? Anyone taking progesterone jabs/pills ?

my MIL said the last time I went under GA for C sec, my baby was very sleepy. But isnt all newborn sleepy during the 1st week?

C-sec lesser mensus as doc will clean the womb.

I wore my binder till stitches remove, cant stand the itchiness, as that time was a very hot month.

The only downside for c-sec is takes longer time to slim down especially if had put on lots of weight during pregnancy. I only start to slim down after the 6th mth.

I only put on cardigan and track pants when sleeping in aircon.

I belong to those non-traditional type, I shower the moment stitches remove, no herbs bath or anything.

Thanks for all your answers on my epidural qns.

hopefully, why is that it takes longer for c-section mummies to slim down? Isn't it mostly a matter of diet and exercise?

Luckymummy, my personal interpretation is that when a woman goes through a natural birth, the birthing process itself will communicate that the baby is no longer in the body, it's time to make milk, and the uterus to contract etc etc. It is all part of the miraculous nature.

But when u go thru a c sect, it's human intervention. Your body did not "deliver" the baby naturally. That's why for some newborn babies who are born thru C-Sect, when they are removed from the womb, they haven't realise that they are already out in this world, thus the lungs are still collapsed etc. So when u go through a c sect, it takes longer for your body to communicate that the baby is no longer in the body, and it's time for the rest to do their work and lose the extra weight etc.

Not sure whether this really is how it works.. like I say, it's my own way of explaining lor...

Hi Ting, Wa...Your hubby trembling but still dare to watch the entire procedure, very brave leh. I told my husband, if he really cannot take it, he can still walk out from the theater. Dunno leh, I wish he can be there to support and also same as u, i can't wait to see my baby. If opt for FA then a bit sian rite.

Hi Jass,

3rd trimester start from week 28.

Hi MTB,

Will u gals feel weak suddently in the office? Or feel dizzy? I have this suddent feeling since few days back. Heard 3rd trimester will be more tiring than 1st trimester, is that true?

Hi Kimmy,

Yes i wll have tat feeling like see stars [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi hopefully, i don't think sleepy bb is the result of C-Sect lei. my SIL's bb naturally deliver also keep sleeping and refuse to feed until they return home. as for my bb, she always wakes up on time for feeding. at hospital, my bb is always awake when nurses bring her to me.

actually i think the pelvic bone for c-sect mom don't expand as much as those went thru natural delivery lei. theoritically shud b easier to slim down lor. My Gynae also encourage me to start bf asap to bring back uterus to original size quickly.

Hi Lily, my CFL didn't ask for extra $. she charge $2K for her service.

Hi misty, i think i read or hear somewhere that for natural birth, midwife also have to do something to wakes the bb lei. your theory sounds very scary. what m most sure is that once bb get their first gasp of air, their lung and other organ have to work lei. so it doesn't matter they come from which opening.

Hi kimmyksc, ya. my hubby told me that he was trembling when viewing the procedure and even before we went into the ops theatre. but he say he see me so calm so he dare not tell me beforehand. scare loose face. ha! for my case, my hubby volunteer to view the procedure and i didn't force him lor. i understand that most of us will wish hubby to be by our side during the delivery stage but i think if they really can't take it better respect their decision lor. i m not sure if ur hb can walk out of the ops theatre halfway thru the procedure or not lei. you got to check with your Gynae. cos every Gynae got diff practice. some Gynae don't allow hb to enter the ops theatre even the mommy is on epi lei.

Natural or C-sec..

will opt to do natural la.. but i understand the doc will advise on natural if possible.

pain relief option..

i feel my pain tolerance is ok.. but i dun wan to know or test my limit!! so will tell doc i wan laughing gas and epidural. and pray hard BOTH works on me. although laughing gas only work on 50%.. shld not have issue w epidural.

vaginal discharge

slightly heavier than before i pregnant but i can do w/o panty liner actually. so i guess it varies for individual?

menses post delivery

sure have even if you BF.. image you've store up 8-9 months of overdue periods! sure will come regards c-sec or natural.

aircon bill

already told my FIL and hubby that i'll on aircon 24/7.. these days i need aircon as my cleavage is sweaty!! i even woke up at 1am a few days back just to shower and on the aircon. i jus recover from heat rash at the cleavage.. now i start to appreciate my previous B/small C cup liao..

see stars/giddy

do be careful ok? stand slowly and hold edges of furniture until you are sure. so far so stars gazing experience for me yet.. hope i won't have at all.

i agree w misty theory.. cuz natural birth will release adrenaline which prep the baby for delivery and the entire physio changes. when the baby is born, the 1st 2 hours are when it's the most alert. that's y initial BF within first 2 hour after delivery is recommended.

Sorry to disturb again, I have recently added more brand-new and preloved baby and maternity items. Please refer to this link http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

for related pics and descriptions.

If keen, please PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

SOLD items will be deleted in the album, so it won’t be confusing.

PS: just to add, for every purchase for $15 and above, you get 4pcs of Mamy Poko S for free. so for $30, u get 8pcs and so on. while stocks last!

Hi ting when is yr due date wa u are so lucky still hav lobang for CL ? I call alot some dun do cny period and some even wan to charge 3800! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi all, back from my gynae visit. Baby is 696g at 24 weeks. Compared to 328g at 20weeks, think she really puts on good weight due to my continuous eating....

I also on my air-con when I'm on confinement the last time. Even now, my air-con is on as long as I'm at home. My hubby is an air-con technician. So, my air-con is always cooling... Hee...

Hi Lily, my EDD is mid Jan. but i told my CFL that i wil be delivering thru C-Sect and hence will choose a date where i can complete my confinement before CNY.

Hi Ting,

Oh i see no wonder [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so hav you chosen a date?

so if i choose a date before tat I can too heheh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] as confinement period are 28 days rite?

Good morning TGIF! I m so happy... Gg to see gynae tml - been looking forward to seeing bb :D

Quick survey ah - is e EDD accurate? Is it usually early or late? I heard it's usually 2 weeks early - which for me will be 1Jan2011. Is it true? Experience mummy pls enlighten~~

V scared ley... Public Holiday dunno can find cab to hospital or not... Also dunno if MAH will have enuff staff... Also dunno if my gynae gg anywhere for holiday~~~ shall ask tml!

Also can check if any of u plan to take maternity leave earlier than EDD? If so how early? I think squeezing on mrt to town when tummy is gigantic is super Ke lian ley.. I already think now v inconvenient Le. -_-"'

Good luck n take care all~~

Hi Kimmy,

As my was Csect for my 1st so dun wan to risk it the 2nd time. labour for 13hours in the end emergency csect. so most likely this time will be csect..

Nimkulut:

EDD is just estimation, babies never arrive on this date they come when they are ready to come[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so no worries, it could be 2-3 weeks early or 1 week late as well.

I may take my maternity leave 4 weeks before EDD if my current contract is not extended [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] (it is until 31 dec 2010) at least can use up all leaves in nov and starting from 9 dec can take maternty leave, if abby dont arrive by then. If extended, i will save all leaves for post delivery.

Hi Nimkulut,

EDD may not accurate, but it doesn't mean it will be earlier. Doctor say normally early. My fren got no feeling till her EDD date, another fren got late by 2-3 weeks.

My company will close from 24th Dec till 2 Jan, if I opt for c-sect, will choose either 25th or 26th Dec, Plan to take leave at least 1 week b4 the date. Since yours is natural, may be u can consider to start 2 weeks prior to ur EDD date. Pack your hospital bag 1 month b4 EDD date is safer.

Hi Lily,

Oh...ya..better dun take the risk..so, have you decide the date yet?

Hi Nimkulut,

Usually the EDD is just an estimate, you need to check with your gynae. For my case my EDD is 13 Jan but gynae say will be one week earlier..so since i am csec am thinkg of a proper date now..

For me my office shut down during xmas period so i wont be back liao..from las week of xmas kekeke..

Hi Kimmy,

Not yet, now am thinking if i am earlier i can end my confinement before CNY than i mite not hav to pay the premium for CNY if the CL can go back before CNY [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but still thinking ...and still need to call her and ask.

Hi Lily,

I also wish to complete my confinement b4 CNY..hehe. I already prepare for the busy confinement month, gotto make sure I recover by then, and gotto apply passport for my baby cos I'm not local, im from MY. then gotto buy new cloths for myself and baby for CNY, prepare for baby full month b4 CNY, then CNY decoration and foods..busy busy busy..so excited...

Hi Kimmy, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wah..really got lotsa to do.. phew.

for me still thinking but i wan to be around my boy when he go P1 on 3 Jan so i suppose i cant choose 1 jan? and also must see wat doc say again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mayb choose 5 jan or wat? and my confinement if 28 dayz will end before CNY but i will hav to rush so many things to get ready for CNY think liao tired lay...:p

Nimkulut, for my #1, I also got no dilution 1 week before my EDD. But since my baby is still breach at tat time, so I decided to go for C-sec. This time round, I'm also going for C-sec. My EDD is 26 Jan but my gynae say can start choosing date anytime after 15 Jan.

My MIL will be doing confinement for me so I'm not worried about the CL part for CNY. But guess during the first few days of CNY, I will still give my MIL some break. Will ask my hubby to cook for me instead. Haha.... Anyway, since this is my 2nd confinement, so will be more experience. Think will only go through 3 weeks of confinement.

Luckymummy, Dr Tham nvr tell me about my weight yest. He did not mention if I'm too heavy or not although I already put on about 9kgs and baby weighing 696g at 24 weeks. But I did remember him telling me to gain weight slowly and skip those junk food for my #1.

I will be doing my GD test next mth. Did he arrange for u to do the test also?

Actually wanna do for the hospital next mth. But since I'm doing the GD test, so think hv to postponed to 2 mths later.

Hi Daphne, tat is so nice of your MIL. for me i did not hav a gd confinement for my first one so am thinking this time round i must really 'Pu" back everything before my health become worst than ever..so i cant cut short my confinement..

Daphne, that's cos I put on more than 10kg to date. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] You are no where near me...haha and he said my baby's tummy is "kinda round". So all these factors have led to me being on a healthy eating spree this week.

Dr Tham asked if I have a family history of diabetes, and I said my grandfather had it. But he didn't pursue leh...so nothing about a GD test. Maybe he was thinking he already stunned me enough for one session, better not traumatise me even more.

Ladies, did anyone sign up for the TMC parenting class starting next Tue evening? I'm going for that one.