(2011/01) Jan 2011

Seems like many mummies out there prefer ML after delivery .. Me too... Thinking to take 3 mths then the other one mth ad hoc ....

Hi Lily,

If you wan to company your boy to school then u cant choose 1 Jan. ya, will have many things to think and prepare cos of the CNY. I even choose the full month party date now, either 23rd or 30th Jan, Plan to get the buffet from chilipadi, full month gift pack from sweetest moment (http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/fullmonth/Default.aspx), or any experience mommies can share other idea? My hubby is a busy business man, so I dun expect him to have much time for me, so I gotto be more kiasu and prepare now.

Luckymummy, I also did not do the GD test for my #1. But he mentioned cos of my age - 35 yrs old this yr, so he arranged me to do the GD test.

I was working till I decided to go to the hospital due to my contraction. Hope to do so too this time round. Waiting at home for signs sounds boring leh. Plus I get to spend 4 full months w bb at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Since my EDD is 24 Jan, I probably wont be out of confinement by CNY. So... hahahah save money. No need to pao ang pao/ cny goodies (so no temptation), buy new clothes / do hair and nails.

Nimkulut:

My #1 born 3 days earlier than EDD. Its just an estimation of the bb's readiness to arrive. Generally, I heard of natural born bb being delivery from week 36 - 41.

Like to find out how many sessions of post-natal massage did you mummies signed up? Some offers 5, 7, 10 sessions. Any feedback?

I am also thinking between 7-10 days mite need more dayz this time..since its the second one the tummy more looseee...kakaka

Thank u thank u all :D u all are e best!

Well if that's e case I will clear leave from mid dec and go on maternity from 1st Jan. I think gg to e office with a full term bb using public transport is too risky! Especially nowadays I feel that e train is getting more n more crowded... Wonder why...

Anyway in dec is our freeze period in e company... Might as well do some tai jiao! Lol~~ listen to some music, relax one corner, read some books... Been super busy so far~~

I m planning for natural delivery... But also have been aski g e opinion of bb.. I tell her if she wan to be born naturally, then turn... Else sit upright and cross her legs... Lolz...

I did 7 times post-natal massage last time. Think will do the same this time round. But thinking of trying another massage lady also even though the last one was quite good as a lot of my frens using her.

wah kimmy, you think very far ahead. I have no idea which fullmonth caterer to use and gifts to give. Who is usually given a gift? Relative and close friends only? 1 per family?

daphne, I see. So Dr tham's recommendation could be based on age.

Sorry to intrude..

I have a brand new tube of Medela Purelan 100 (37gram) still in box to let go.

Expiry: 03/2012

Info on Medela Purelan:

Soothes sensitive or dry nipples, dry baby skin and dry skin.

If you experience breastfeeding problems, PureLan cream protects your nipples from dryness during breastfeeding. It contains 100 per cent pure lanolin (wool wax) without any artificial additives or preservatives. This means it doesn't have to be removed before breastfeeding. You can also apply it to other dry skin areas. The PureLan cream is so safe, you can even use it on your baby's skin to act as a moisturizer.

Collection at CCK / Yew Tee MRT or Normal Mail can be arranged.

PM me if interested. Thanks!

Lily:

If your confinement period crosses the CNY period for more than a week or so you can give her some off days on CNY and reduce the amt paid.

Am going to give my CL 3 days off during CNY and though it's 40 days she only charges 2.5k luckily not much of a premium. With 3 days off, will prob pay less than 2.5k

Hi Mag,

How come yr rates are so reasonable ...how do they calculate? mayb i should call the auntie to ask? my is straight thru not going home.. and when is your delivery date?

Mag, does she has any other frens charging the same rate for 40 days? i dont mind really..my was 2.8k for only 28 dayz.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Luckymummy,

I dun know leh, I scared I will be busy n tired to do all these during confinement month, so better to list down the invitation list and decide which cater n gift box to give away. Actually I also not sure gift box is only to relative n close fren or to give all the ppl tat you invited. I plan to give 1 per family lor. Another word, 1 per angpao.

as a first time mummy, I have totally no idea what need to prepare and buy. e.g. extra teats (actually dunno why we need extra), cream for dry nipples...I only realised we need all these when someone is selling on the forum. I'm the first among my siblings to give birth, so basically nobody to ask except thru forum and friends. So planning to do watever tat I know, at least lesser the *last minute heart attack*.

Hi Lily, i think if we want to complete confinement before CNY, we have to delivery before 3 Jan rite? i am looking at the chinese calander now. if we deliver on 3Jan (lunar 29/11), our confinement should officially end on 1/2/11 (30 days). 2/2/11 will be reunion dinner and 3/2/11 CNY ...

Likely i have to deliver on 3 Jan cos m only 38wks that day. my Gynae will not allow me to deliver during holiday or any hot dates. He explained that holiday time many places not operating. if anything went wrong during the c-sect, we got no where to get help.

Hi Ting,

generally confinement period is base on 28 days so if deliver on 3 jan confinement will be done by 31 Jan.

Oh so you are delivering where? My gynae is the one tat ask me how you wan 1 jan? i say tot its hot date veri crowded etc he reply me with a smile say no..its ok :p

Hi Ting

My gynae ask me if I wan to deliver on 25th Dec. Sounds scary when ur gynae say no where to help when got urgent case :-S

I also hope to deliver by 3rd Jan so can celebrate CNY... But scared if CNY bring bb go crowded places, very easy to fall sick, and also troublesome coz we will be breastfeeding...

Ya, my no.1 was delivered during public holiday. So that time when anesthetician came, the nurse ask me to better take the epidural first, else later he go back, may not be back in time for me to take epidural. My gynae very good... he came in the morning, and check on me every now and then till I delivered in the afternoon.... Later, his wife (our GP) said that he missed out on the family outing movie show coz he came to deliver my gal.... hehe...

Hi Lily, confinement should be 30days. CFL serving us for 28 days only cos we will be spending 2 days in hospital for normal delivery mah.

I will be delivery in Mt.A. My Gynae is those super play safe type lor. my edd for my prev preg in Jan. he already make himself very clear that he not comfortable to let us deliver on the hot dates. he quoted many sad incident reported on news on delivery on hot dates. he also will not allow mommies to delay delivery too long after EDD.

Hi Lily:

My CL is a s'porean and according to my fren who refer her, it's always for 40 days. Apparently the price she charges me was the same for my fren who is her relative. I will ask the auntie whether she has other frens with same rates

Hi Ting thanks for the reminder i totally forget to count the hospital stay [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ...lucky..

ya hor...hahahahaha..

Oh isee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good to be safe but anyway i wont be choosing 1 jan anyway..i wan to accompany my son for p1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think Mag's CL rate veri resonable hope she can recommend her CL 's contact to me :p

Hi Lily, i m facing similar dilema as you. cos my #1 will be starting childcare on 3Jan next year. not sure if i should/can delay her entry cos i really hope to accompany her there.

Hi Mag, so lucky u get singaporean! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but is she staying over at your place? as was told if local they wont stay overnite to look after baby?

Hi Lily,

My CL will be staying over. S'porean is better might be able to communicate better. My fren recommended another one from Indo but she only speaks Hokkien which I know nuts abt and she charges 2.8k for 28 days.

I will let you know once CL reverts

Hi Mag, do let me know if you can find one for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] as was told that no Singaporeans will stay over usually they work only day time cook and go off like office hour. Wah if can find like yrs will be good go back for CNY and come back again and charge me 2.8 k or wat for 40 days i dont mind! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank god it's Friday!

Super tired this week and next week will be hell due to marking.

Confinement lady

Good luck with that. CL is super ex during CNY period. do remember to buy your food ingredients and etc in advance as shops are closed during CNY..also, malls and all will be super packed around x-mas to CNY period.

School

school start 4th Jan next year if i didn't remember wrongly.

Post natal massage

anyone has any good ladies to intro. muz speak English.

maternity leave.

as a teacher, i won't waste my maternity leave. dec is sch hols.. muhaha.. will start mt leave from 4 Jan and take unpaid for the first half of the school term.

Re: C sec

Hi Ting, Daphne, kimmy, LilyH & mummies who have done or are planning to do C sec...

I have also decided to do C sec for this delivery. I do not want to go through the hassle of waiting, not knowing when the water bag will burst, impending contractions, the pushing etc. so the half-an-hour C procedure will eliminate all these unknowns. And I have noticed/read that most celebrities deliver their babies thru C, so I guess there must be some merit in that. (Zoe Tay was the latest).

As we can choose the dates, I am still very undecided if Dec or Jan babies are more 'convenient' taking into consideration schooling, overall development, whatever... Mind repeating your 2 cents worth of advice? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chercat,

honestly i find the intellectual development doesn't not make much difference ultimately. cuz i've top student/smart kids who are born in December..my hubby himself is a December baby.

but u may wan to consider if your spouse/support for post delivery. my hubby, for e.g, prefer December as he has more time to accompany me should i delivery in December. and like for Lily and a few other MTB, they would like to celebrate CNY.. thus, prefer for confinement to be done before CNY. also, confinement lady cost.. CNY is really expensive to engage CL.

do remember C-sec is still a surgery. it has a higher chance of wound infection, pain post surgery and so on. the inconvenience after surgery is more than natural delivery.

I have a brand new La Leche League International Wrap 'N' Snap Nursing Bra (Black Jacquard to let go) to let go as the size is too big for me as i am a 34C. Letting go at $25.

WRAP 'N SNAP™ adjustable soft cup nursing bra offers comfortable wireless front closing in cotton/spandex with satin trim. Adjusts with your changing body size. Soft enough to sleep in and wear all day. Easy one hand nursing buckle. Patent pending design. Made in China - 95% Cotton/5% Spandex. Hand wash, line dry.

AWARDED THE NATIONAL PARENTING PUBLICATIONS AWARD!!!

As Seen in Consumer Reports Best Baby Products May 2009!

L/XL fits 36-38-40 C/D cup

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4590133.jpg]

Hi mummies.

Sorry to interrupt.

I have a brand new swaddle me brought frm Isetan. Never used before and letting go at $20

Let me know if u are interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all, I have the following to sell.

Read the review from for the Relaxing Bath & Shower Essence :-

http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/maternity-aids/avent-future-mother-relaxing-bath-shower-essence/

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4592990.jpg]

Brand-new Avent Relaxing Bath & Shower Essence. Retail at $24.90 EXP: 10/2011

Brand-new Avent moisturing light oil Retail at $29.90 Selling EXP: 05/2011.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4592991.jpg]

Avent Future Mother Moisturising Light Oil is a light moisturising oil spray which is easily absorbed into the skin. The Omega marine extract helps keep moisture in the skin and improves its elasticity, whilst the orange and sweet almond oils revitalise the whole body.

• Helps combat dry skin and stretch marks

• Hypoallergenic

• Dermatologist approved

• For use pre and post birth

Name your reasonable price, im open to nego

Collect @ Yishun, sembawang please

Mornin to all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am into 28th week and have appointment this week after four weeks. Waiting to hear for my next appointment at 30 or 32 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We are almost there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also made a list of the clothes and things I have from my DD, and what I need to buy soon.

I am also trying to creat a list of things..still hav some items tat i need to buy am in to my 27th week..phew time really files..

thinking its beter to get ready all the stuff as am getting really tired recently..

Hi chercat, me agree with Chabby. choose a date where you can get most support from your family. Dec time usually pple clear leaves and weather is usually cooling. so shud be quite comfortable for serving confinement. btw when is your EDD?

thanks Lily: DD is darling daughter or dear daughter [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How are you guys today?

http://picasaweb.google.com/107435811188765719302/MummyBabyStuffs#

dear mtbs, sorry to disturb again. have added many BB clothings. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] all in gd cond cos only let my gal wear not more than 3times. lol.

i've alr delivered my gal & looking to clear the abv items. hope mtbs can find them of interest to u.

pls refer to abv link for related pics & descriptions. all items are described to the best of my knowledge. items u see in the provided link are all up for grabs (except for those that have been RESERVED), items once SOLD will be removed from the link.

if keen, pls SMS to 96495528 for fast deal. pls do NOT leave PM or postings in the forum as i'm unable to keep track of them. calls from unknown nos. will not be entertained.

here's wishing all mtbs a safe & happy pregnancy!

Hi all mummies...same as Lily, I'm into my 27th week...last week to end 2nd trimester.

Hi Chabby,

I have decided to c-sect in Dec so that I can complete my confinement b4 CNY :), but still undecided the date between 25th - 28th Dec.

Tomolo is my Glucose test :-S, pray for the best.

Hi Kimmy,

Thanks for your concern [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

and dont worry you will pass yr GT [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I been sick for this pregnancy..think my boss mus be veri unhappy wit me....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi kimmyksc, since your Gynae is flexable on the date for your c-sect, why not go and see feng shui master for a suitable date for your delivery? can decide the name earlier also so that you can immediately register the BC after bb's birth and go make passport for her ;)

Hi Lily, must really take good care of yourself. we approaching 3rd trimester le. if we have flu during c-sect no play play wan lei. last round i had flu few weeks before my delivery. after seeing 2 GP for 3weeks still haven recover then went to see Gynae. Gynae then gave me a box of super expensive antibiotic. the medicine do improve my condition but still got alot of phlegm. this phlegm caused me difficulties in breadthing during the c-section. very scary lei. that moment when i can't catch my breadth, i thought i won't be able to see my bb... luckily the anestatic very caring. he help me suck out the phlegm. my colleague's wife also like that. he told me his wife is on FA. her Gynae told him that his wife almost "gone" during the c-sect cos she got difficulty in breadthing due to the phlegm and luckily she made it thru. so do take really good care of your health now. if by mid dec still flu, then don't hesitate to see Gynae and seek treatment.