(2011/01) Jan 2011

kimmyksc,

it's ok. Just let it all out and you'll feel better. here's where we share all joys n tears. hehe.

Last time when I was preggy with no.1, my mil also same like yours. Keep telling me last time this, last time that. Im so fedup. She wanted to do my confinement but I told my hb NO. I know if she came to my hse everyday for 28-30days, I'll go mad and go into depression. So I warn my hb to tell her off.

She keep telling me cannot wash hair and bath for 2wks. *faint* Told me cannot drink plain water lah.. blah blah. so many traditional old folks thingy.. until I cant stand. Weather super hot how not to shower? I was breastfeeding my bb, i don't want to smell bad or taste bad to her. haiyo.

So end up i did my own confinement. All alone without help at all from anyone. My MIL at time very black face to me and said I have bad temper lah blah blah. I ignore her. I told my hb don't let her come visit me or else I'll hv postnatal blues n depression.

oh dear.. i sound such a bad dil. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Miaiko,

Nah you are not a bad dil, think you made the right decision. If u didnt stop it in time, your relationship with your mil could be worst.

Hoshi,

Its because of the time difference, thats why my posting is so early. Love my sleep, but after having no.1, sleeping is a privilege. Thanks for your input on the pram matter. Just that if I buy another single pram, wonder how to manage 2 prams when I go out ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re: Clarins SM cream and oil

DFS is selling at abt 75 (cant rem the exact fig), its abt 10% of the retail price.

Kimmyksc:

Poor girl. Its good to let out your frustration here. Are you staying with in-laws? Possible to move back to your mum's place for confinement? Sometimes I think its easier to engage a CL compared to have your mil doing it for you. At most can bo hiew CL, but MIL a bit tricky. Sigh~ hope things will be better soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Miaiko,

I would like to join in the spree for Cinch Tummy Wrap with pouch for cold/warm pack. Thank you so much.

Jing

I have been MIA for a long time. Looks like the thread is really very active now with many mtbs feeling movements, knowing gender or going for detailed scan.

I am supposedly in 19th weeks this week. Next week will be my 20th week. Detailed scan will be next Thursday. When I went for my 15th week check, doc just did a quick look and say 'could be a girl but then, don't believe in whatever I say now'. So, just wait till detailed scan. Anyway, initially I had wanted a boy as #1 is a girl so when I heard her guess, I was quite disappointed But if it's really girl, I reckon, I should be happy as long as the baby is happy and healthy.

Kimmyksc: Don't feel bad. That's the same thing my mum and MIL told me during my 1st confinement. But I just did selective listening because my CL was the modern type. can hide in air con room, can blow fan and the confinement food she cooks taste like normal foods! That's why this time round, even though I was facing a CL crisis and almost had to 'invite' MIL to do confinement for me, I refused to give up my search for a CL hahah...told my hb that if I really couldn't find one, we will just do ourselves with tingkat service.

Anyway, hope I will pop in more often to chit chat..definitely a good platform to share things with fellow MTBs!!

Hi Miaiko, I'm also interested in getting. But I actually prefer the one w/o pouch as I dun think I will put any cold/warm pack inside. I presume the one w/o pouch will be thinner as short of pocket? Hope it's not too troublesome cos seems like most mummies prefer the one with pouch....

Tien, I'm also going for my detail scan next thur 9 Sep. But guess we will be diff place as mine is at TMC. I also waiting to know the gender then.

really love this thread so much sharing..

well for my second one i am definitely getting a CL as i did my first one with my MIL, and i suffer helL! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Am having my check up this sat, so me comin 21st week does it mean my gynae has to do detail scan for me?? sorry lost touch after so long... :p

Hi Lily H, usually the detail scan is done around 20 weeks. Maybe u can check with yr gynae.

For my #1, my MIL also did my confinement for me. But so far no prob as she's quite young and modern. Only thing is she's not good with babies. So, she's only in charge of washing and cooking. I still on my aircon and bathe + wash my hair. So, will ask her to help me again with my #2.

Just called my gynae's clinic, the detailed scan should be done anytime from 19 weeks to 22 weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My MIL also did my previous confinement. She has a lot of traditions, like cannot bathe + wash hair, cannot touch water, cannot carry baby too much, cannot eat chicken (only the hen can eat), cannot eat seafood, cannot drink water.... I suffered very badly, but I know she says all these is for my own good. Some too ridiculous I will just one ear in, one ear out.... haha...

I did not wash my hair totally during my confinement. Only managed to bathe 2 times throughout my whole confinement using the herbs... but I clean myself with towel and powder... haha...

CL is not an option for me, coz my in-laws + hubby's sister stays with us, and logistics is a problem. Also my MIL very 'domineering' in her kitchen one.... so no choice lor...

Daphne,

I'm asking Miaiko to check how to use the hot/cold pouch thingy, coz I'm also not sure. But u can keep it in mind, coz I dunno if it will be more effective to use it together with the pouch...

Bethel,

I also went to the Robinsons fair and bought a car seat. Safe n sound (australian branding for Britax) car seat can sit from newborn up to 18kg. Price was $229 over the weekend. Ended up topping up with lots of baby wipes to make up the $300 to get the $50 voucher too. hehe

Re the slimming pouch, I also want to kiv and find out which version I want. I don't think I can be bothered to put hot/cold packs inside.

Thanks for the info. I will call to check too.

FYi, my MIL was the totally opposite, she only cook and leave the rest to me so I have no rest. So i have to wash feed my baby and no rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] she cook the same dishes and food everyday and the soup she will just cook once and let me drink for the whole day... so u can imagine..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and will complain to her sister about me wanting to be clean and all and call me names [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh...

Lucky this time i am not stayin with her anymore so i tell my Hubby please dont let her come..

Cinch Tummy Wrap with pouch for cold/warm pack S$130 (usual S$150). Cold/Warm pack can buy separately at S$16.

Without pouch is S$120 (Usual $140).

For our thread, Organiser giving us FOC postage:

Pls write beside your name whether u want with / without pouch, want the cold/warm pack? , and your size. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1) Miaiko

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat

7) hoshi

8) kika

9) Jass1408

10) JJ (w pouch)

11) Daphne (pouchless)

Sizing: 2 Sizes Only:

XS-M stretches to 38" post baby waist

L-XL stretches to 46" post baby waist

If your pre-preggo waist is 32” or Size 10 or less, get the S-M Cinch. If above a 10 ladies , your safer to get the L-XL.

Regarding the cold/warm pack benefits, Im awaiting reply from organiser. Will post here once I got her reply.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I really admire those mummies who can endure your mils. I tried and tried, but juz cant tolerate mine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

She came a few days during my confinement when my hb not ard. So she took advantage and told me off on alot of things. She don't want to wash her hands with soap before handling my bb, which im displeased abt. THen later she insist on wanting to bath bb and her reason being "I very long nvr bath bb liao. Muz let me try mah!" and she snatch my girl from me to bring her to bath. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Then when BB cries, she pass back to me and said "wa! so bad tempered one ah?". sigh. she juz cant handle a crying baby. And if the bb don't do or behave the ways she wants, that's a bad bb. sighz.

thanks for the comforting words...I feel much better. After the quarel last nite, I hide whole night in my room. Yes, I stay with MIL, so no choice and no way for me to escape, my family in KL, Malaysia, so it's not possible for me to do my confinement with my mother. I just feel they are not so knowledgeable compare to us, theirs is only by tradition but we do research and medical history by ourself. When I try to explain, she will just continue to tell me about her confinement last time. And say now her kids so healthy. I dun know if I will get depression over her old thinking after baby born. I understand the *for our own good* but sometime it's just too much to follow.

Anyway, today is my detail scan...going off soon to TMC...something to brighten my day

Dear all mummies,

This is the experience i had during my first confinement and it happen...

August 22, 2007 - 9:28 am:

Hi all MTB,

I juz happen to come to this thread and it reminds me of what a great help my confinement nanny is. I agree a good confinement nanny is very hard to engaged and i would like to state my experience with my confinement nanny.

Her name is Mei Hua and is about mid forties...from agency-she was recommended from my Boss too)! Initially we have some doubts about her experiences but she soon familiarize herself and is a great help to us.

The she arrived the day I'm discharge from the hospital, aft putting my bb to sleep, she was introduced to my parents-in-law, my elder son, maid and my hubby... next, she prepare my bath water, longan tea and getting ready to cook dinner. I show her around my house and taught her how to use the vacuum cleaner, washing machine, stove and other electrical appliances and show her the kitchen and also the laundry area. Aft my bath, i went to rest and took a nap too. I woke up during my dinner time and was amazed that she cooked for the whole family and while we're having dinner, she took care of my bb and also give me advise on how to breast-feed my bb. During the ngt, my hubby and I had complete rest and Mei Hua took care of everything. As the week goes by, my bb is able to latch well and her confinement food was really superb. B'cos i don take pig trotters and rice wine chix, she encourage me to try and I ate heartily! On the third week, she also taught my maid baby handling skills and show patience towards my elder boy. She also gets along well with my both my parents-in-law. During the last week, I was worried that my bb will get 'hooked' to latching on during feeding, I ask Mei Hua to help me... She show great patience and care during the process and I'm really please with her performance and help rendered greatly.

As our family members really missed her when we realise it was already her last day with us, I gave her a 'big' ang pow and tell her that she 'earned' it herself. Till now, my parents-in-law still mentioned about her during our conversation.

She was indeed a great help and I really wish mummies could get this kinda help during your confinement period. Kindly PM me if any MTB interested in getting her contact. For my second pregnancy next year.. it's gonna be the same agency I'm engaging from again.

I've engaged my initial first CL (58yrs) thru PEM confinement and she kept complaining about her backache and also muscle ache. I've a hard time putting up with her, she also insist on her 'break time' from 2:15pm to 4:15pm and during that hours she simply does nothing even my bb cries! After four days... I simply let her go and the agency 'persuaded me to get a replacement but wanna charge me S$200!' I said FORGET IT!.

Juz one word of caution... mummies pls get a reliable agency (b'cos nannies from agency are still more reliable if compared to those freelance as freelancer might'fly kite' the very last min.

P/s: I don get any commission out of this recommendation.

kimmyksc,

that's something to smile about! Enjoy ur time there! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cinch Tummy Wrap with pouch for cold/warm pack S$130 (usual S$150). Cold/Warm pack can buy separately at S$16.

Pls write beside your name whether u want with / without pouch, want the cold/warm pack? , and your size.

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat

7) hoshi

8) kika

9) Jass1408

10) JJ (w pouch)

11) Daphne (pouchless)

12) Darienna (w pouch. Size:S-M)

If your pre-preggo waist is 32” or Size 10 or less, get the S-M Cinch. If above a 10 ladies , your safer to get the L-XL.

Regarding the cold/warm pack benefits, Im awaiting reply from organiser. Will post here once I got her reply.

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat

7) hoshi

8) kika

9) Jass1408

10) JJ (w pouch)

11) Daphne (pouchless)

Kimmyksc:

*Hugs* Yes, sometimes its not easy to deal with in-laws. Hope your hubby is the understanding type who will stand by you. Else... have to close both eyes, hide in the room and hope that 1 month pass quite soon. Jia you jia you, think about positive things for bb ok. Do share about your checkup later k [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had lots of conflicts with my mum do helped with my confinement the last time round too. Made me eat and eat and eat, bathe a grand total of 4 times in 1 month (thats after much fighting and negotiation), no plain water only red dates tea. Fight till both of us face black black but then mother & daughter, at least fight liao won't hurt the relationship. With mil, need to tread carefully hor. Anyway, decided that that its best that I DIY this time round with my domestic helper and catering of confinement food.

Hoshi:

Your MIL sounds like my mum. LOL same pattern.

Daphne:

You are so lucky to have your MIL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tien:

Yup, having a strong and healthy baby is more important than anything else.

Miaiko:

Just to check if the pouchless one is the one that is recommended for mums with toddlers rather than the one for new mum?

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat

7) hoshi

8) kika

9) Jass1408 (w pouch/pounchless TBC. Size S-M)

10) JJ (w pouch)

11) Daphne (pouchless)

Tien, Daphne, my detailed scan is also next Thurs at tmc. But its done by my gynae herself.

Daphne, your detailed scan will b at TMC or ur gynae? Do u know how much it costs?

Luckymummy, sounds like a good buy for the car seat. But hv u used the $50 voucher? Take note that it expires on 5 Sept which is this sunday.

Hi Miaiko, Thanks for helping to coordinate on the tummy wrap orders. I am interested to get one also but not sure about the effect for the warm/cold pad. shall wait for the organiser's reply to decide. as for the size, let you know later. need to measure :$

Ting, I put ur name down first ok? Then later u put down which type u want.

Pls write beside your name whether u want with / without pouch, want the cold/warm pack? , and your size.

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat

7) hoshi

8) kika

10) JJ (w pouch)

11) Daphne (pouchless)

13) Ting

Regarding the cold/warm pack benefits, Im awaiting reply from organiser. Will post here once I got her reply.

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat

7) hoshi

8) kika

10) JJ (w pouch)

11) Daphne (pouchless. Size S-M)

13) Ting

Hi Bethel, I cannot remember how much is the detail scan at TMC. Cos when I go for my OSCAR test, they already ask me to make payment for both the OSCAR and the detail scan together. Will go back and check my bill. Let u know tmrw.

Anyway, I also need to see my gynae either before or after the detail scan also. Btw, those who have gone for detail scan at TMC, will u hv the results straight away?

On topic confinement

For my #1, my hubby and me were quite adventurous and decide to survive thru confinement ourselves. So my hubby took a month leave. Its tough but I think we have made the right choice cos hubby till now still very hands on to take care of my gal. And he is telling me he is all ready to take care of our #2 this time round.

My MIL dropped by quite frequent too. She is the traditional kind. But I can get along with her well cos she will say (or nag) but she will give in if she see you don't like. For things she quite persistent, like no bathing... I know its for my good. I do it everyday..... but when she went home. Still remember when bb full month, she bought some herbs and tell my hubby to bring home and prepare for me to bath. :p really guilty about it. Somehow she trust I listen to her.

Guess as some mommies mentioned, we shall practise selective listening. But if its possible, just do some arrangement to still do what you like but avoid direct conflict. I know its tough (even my hubby sometime cannot take his mother good intented nag) but I always try to remind myself she is actually doing it for our good.

Maybe MTB cannot feel it now. But its really very helpful if you have your PIL or Parents to help us out to take care of our kids. Me too have my bits of compliants and grumble. But overall, I really appreciate my PIL and Parents.

anyone interested in F1 tix? 24 Sept (Fri)

Last min I cant go so Selling a pair of tix for $150! pls sms 92375402 if u r keen...

Bay Grandstand

row 53, seat 22 n 23

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat

7) hoshi (w pouch/pounchless TBC. Size S-M)

8) kika

10) JJ (w pouch)

13) Ting

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

6) chercat (w pouch. S-M)

7) hoshi

8) kika

10) JJ (w pouch)

13) Ting

Thanks Miaiko for organising!

Hi Miaiko,

My updates below. Thanks for coordinating this [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

7) hoshi

8) kika

9) Jass1408 (w pouch. Size S-M)

10) JJ (w pouch)

13) Ting

hi mummies...just back from doctor visit. confirmed is a baby girl :)...and yes, really enjoy my time there cos baby face down and we took long time to measure her heart. result was good except one bad thing. my placenta is low at os, so high chance I will have to go by c-section. Any mommy c-section here? can share some experience? pain or should be ok?

Now I have to rest more because of low placenta cant walk too much and carry heavy things.Don't know is good or bad :-(

Hi kimmyksc, dun worry about it. My SIL also hv low placenta but during her 3rd trimester, the placenta move upwards. So she manage to give birth naturally in the end.

My #1 was c-sec due to breech position of my baby. It's actually not as scary as we all thought. Anyway dun think so much now. Just rest well and everything will be fine.

kimmyksc, Daphne is right. placenta may migrate later. but even placenta stays at low position, you will only have to go for c-sect when the placenta totally block your delivery path right?

http://www.babycenter.com/0_placenta-previa_830.bc?page=1

Anyway not to worry about c-sect lor. me also deliver my #1 thru C-sect. chop chop see my bb within 10mins. only feel the pain after effect of epidural over. but wear the binder can liao. for me is the effect of the epidural that causing discomfort. cos i have bad headache for many days after delivery.

Thanks Daphne & Ting...Now will rest as much as i can, see if placenta will migrate, atho doctor say only 10% chances. Currectly is blocking the delivery path..wondering if it's also due to sitting for long hours? Actually is not the end of the world, just that surprise to hear that result, need time to digest the situation.haha..I'm fine :)

Hey Jovial, My doctor say mine will be a Dec baby leh..she told me gotto minus 14 days from EDD, not sure issit bcos of c-sect..

Now I can start to shop for baby girl stuff..must be quite fun

Congrats kimmy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my Edd is 13 jan and my is c sect too so meaning my date will be shifted too? As my first del I opt for natural in the end was emergency c sec.

Haha! kimmyksc, be prepare to burn a big hold at your pocket. girl girl stuff very ez to buy. esp from online. everything seems so nice and soo much to choose from :p

Congrats kimmy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my Edd is 13 jan and my is c sect too so meaning my date will be shifted too? As my first del I opt for natural in the end was emergency c sec.

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

8) kika

10) JJ (w pouch)

13) Ting

kimmysc,

Don't worry too much. If gynae says c-sect, then still ok... at least u dun have to worry going for natural, then later emergency c-sect, right?

Ting,

Can we still travel in 3rd trimester? Tot some airplanes don't allow? If go m'sia, still ok... I love getting out of singapore... even go m'sia also better than nothing, coz got cheap food and shopping...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]

1) Miaiko (w pouch. S-M)

2) esthert

3) Mitch

4) luckymummy11 (S-M)

5) cookiefleur (w pack)

8) kikapo (w pouch, size:S-M)

10) JJ (w pouch)

13) Ting

Just went for my detailed scan on Saturday. Baby was not very cooperative. Went in twice to get everything checked. And due to the position, still can't confirm the gender.

kimmy,

I also have low placenta. Actually the gynea already told me during the 16week check up. But now the gynea advised me not to fly and rest more, not to carry my son. But how to don't carry when I need to put him to bed everyday. Sigh.

hoshi,

We still can take flight in the 3rd trimester. For SIA, it is up to 36weeks, Air China 32weeks.

My first confinement was horrible. I stayed with my ILs and had a confinement lady. But I fired her coz she was not pro breastfeeding. After that my MIL fed me overnight vegetables and same thingie everyday so I ordered tingkat in the end. Oh, she said she doesn't know how to prepare confinement food but she prepared vinegar trotter for the guests for baby's full month party and never offered me a single bit. Haha. Who can beat this?