(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi Jass : *waves* hope u win the bet hee hee

stroller: I personally prefer lightweight one after having tried those heavy weight ones. But as Jass said, usually those umbrella types not suitable for newborn. Maybe a baby carrier would be better I feel. Its really challenging going up and down the steps if the stroller is super heavy!

Any feedback on baby carriers? I'm looking at the baby bjorn ones (synergy or the air) cos I need something lightweight and that I can use by myself. I think even a light stroller might be a problem when getting on or off the bus when I'm alone, cos that means cannot buy/hold much.

I also can't feel any baby movement (17 weeks now) but maybe cos inexperienced. Very bloated by evening, and backaches are quite bad though. Any tips on how to reduce backaches?

luckymummy,

u can look at the ergo too. personally prefer ergo cos can use until bb is a lot older.

can't remember baby bjorn is until what weight limit but definitely less than ergo.

only downside is ergo cannot put bb facing front whereas baby bjorn can.

u can try getting one of those microwaveable heat pads from the pharmacy. i use those to relieve my backaches.

shycloud,

i used both sling and carrier. sling is good for younger bb cos can put them in lying down position. but as they get older and heavier is not so good for u cos the support is all on the shoulders and upper back.

carriers are better for heavier bbs cos there's usually a waist strap to distribute some of the weight onto the lower back and hips. but bb has to stay upright.

I thik ergo has better weight distribution than baby bjorn so its better for the parents when the child gets heavier. I feel its better for the child as they are supported in the sitting position rather than supported by crotch.(for newborn need to use an insert for ergo)

But then ergo has more bulky straps. Can try Beco too as it has less bulky straps and an inbuilt infant insert but its more ex.

Otherwise I would say Ergo is the most value for money as it has longer useage lifespan than baby bjorn and is cheaper than some other brands.

This time round, I will use a sling for newborn and when older switch to baby carrier.

hihi.. im from June thread.. i've got 5 brand new boxes of Pigeon diaper liners (100s) for sale, selling at $8 per box.. also giving away abt 20 sample sachets of Similac Mum/Anmum Materna/EnfaMama.. Please PM me if interested..

I actually posted a bit here and there in the beginning of the forum, but I stopped for some time, don't think anyone remembers me, so hello again to everyone! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/bounce.gif]

ivftwins and pinky - read that both of you like quinny. Just to share, I have a quinny buzz. It's definitely on the heavier side, and it's bulky (so it takes up a lot of boot space!), but on the positive side, it's very sturdy, so easy to push, and you can choose to sit your child forward or backward facing with different incline positions. Pinky, if you do get a quinny, should get maxi-cosi car seat cos compatible with quinny. Then if baby is sleeping soundly in the maxi-cosi, just lift the whole car seat and plonk onto the quinny. No need to wake baby up!

re: baby carriers

I agree with apple and grumpus. Ergo is good value for money because it can be used till the kid is much older. Think it can carry up to 25kg (if im not wrong!). My boy already 2.5years i still can carry him comfortably in the Ergo. Provides very good support for back. But cannot face baby forward (like bjorn) and very bulky - if kiddo doesnt want to sit in ergo, cannot just stuff ergo into my bag cos too bulky!

Actually I find bjorn very good but limited cos only up to 10kg. As for sling, I still find sling very good for my 2.5year old boy cos if he doesnt want to walk, i'll just take the sling from my bag and then sling him. Still a better alternative than carrying him (cos my arms will break! He's already 13 or 14kg now!)

Thanks to all who responded to my qn on carriers! Wow, didn't know there are so many considerations for slings vs carriers. Actually I was kinda hoping that after 1.5 years old wouldn't need to carry ard too much. I don't know how much weight I can take...at the moment 14kg sounds like a lot!

grumpus, apple79 n happybelle,

Think bjorn can take up to 14 kg or something like that. I'm just wondering how beneficial/crucial is the front facing option. Is it a lot better than facing the person carrying? Or it's personal preference? Can your children (for those who are onto #2/3) sleep in the upright position?

For those who have tried and compared, between baby bjorn, ergo and beco, which is the most comfortable for the person carrying, i.e. least tiring. Should I just start with a sling for newborn and think about the carrier later on when I can actually 'load test' them with baby?

Sorry for my many qns! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luckymummy,

hahaha till today my girl is 2.5 yr old and i'm still carrying her. if yr kid is ok with stroller maybe later on u can rely on stroller. but sometimes go out with stroller also quite ma fun.

i used the front facing option and dun think is very crucial. usually u use it when bb is past 6 mths and if they're not sleeping u can flip them front facing so that they can look at things instead of just staring at yr chest.

my girl could sleep perfectly fine in the upright position. in fact if i was out past her nap time i would put her in the carrier and walk until she falls asleep. she can actually sleep quite long in the carrier vs in the pram. but my girl was one of those like to be carried a lot lah..

i like ergo better especially for a bigger child cos the position of the child is sort of like sitting down for them and their legs curl around yr waist. for baby bjorn the bbs legs are hanging straight down so if u're short like me then u find that yr bbs legs keep hitting on yr thighs when u walk and is not as comfortable. i didn't try the beco but the carrying position is similar to the ergo. but i think ergo is still more comfortable cos it's got more padding.

it was a super heavy rainy afternoon.

Abt bb carriers.. I've tried Baby Bjorn & Beco.

Both me n hb find that Baby Bjorn (Synergy) is over-rated. We tried it and it gave us both back aches and shoulder pain. A disappointment I would say. Perhaps it's coz my baby girl is on the big and heavy side. Some ppl like baby bjorn but not for us.

I've tried Beco and like it much better than Baby Bjorn. Borrowed from my friend for travelling use and simply love it! My girl find it comfortable in it too. So Im asking my hb to buy the Beco Butterfly for me from US so that I can use for my 2nd bb.

Oh yes, I've tried the MIM sling too. For new born it is still ok and the laying down position is better for young bb too. But long wearing gives me sharp shoulder pain (esp. it can only be worn on one shoulder). The material is quite nice and cooling though, and the tail can be used for multi-purpose (eg. sheltering bb from sun, a lil rain etc)

apple:

Thanks. I hope I will win the bet too *fingers cross* He won once for #1 liao. Haha

daphne:

My boy is 2.5 yr old this month. Born in Feb 08. Realised that grumpus, apple & happybelle's #1 is about the same age too!

Btw, can I trouble you to update the database pls. I'm staying @ b.panjang and turning 30 soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

grumpus:

Wow... you can still carry your girl? I made mine walk as I can no longer carry him after he hits like 10Kg? No strength [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't really use carrier or sling when my #1 is young so can't comment much. Just find that sling is easier to use but weight distribution is not even (on 1 shoulder). Had a hand me down baby carrier from mother care. Felt that it is more troublesome to put baby in alone. Haha so, I used the sling and hubby used the carrier when we need to bring my son out for excursions. Frees the hands [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jas,

my girl is born jan 08! yah i still carry my girl but nowadays not for long stretch lah. my girl is small sized lah, she's now only 12kg+

when she go out with my mum, my mum still carry her and take bus, walk etc etc....

grumpus:

You are strong leh. Can manage even when you are pregnant? Power! My boy is also rather thin too. Think about 13Kg. Probably include the weight of a heavy diaper haha. We are lucky as he don't mind walking but sometimes the pace can be quite slow for us (esp when we are crossing the road) despite the fact that he is already walking very fast for his little legs.

jass,

hahaha, i hv no choice. i'm a sahm so my girl is stuck like glue to me. i've been progressively training my arms since she was born :p

actually my girl doesn't mind walking now but sometimes she walks too slowly for me and gets distracted easily that i will just pick her up so we can get from A to B faster! also when she's tired or hungry she will ask to be carried.

This thread is moving fast as usual...i just missed 2 days and it has moved 2 pages.

Re: Strollers

Hubby and I were looking around at all the different kinds of strollers.

We went to almost all the major baby shops - Baby Hypermart & Baby Kingdom at Kaki Bukit (don't really like these 2 stores, too cramp and messy), Spring Maternity showroom at Bukit Merah (my fav so far), Mothercare, Kiddy Palace, Baby Ave at Balestier (just b4 they shifted).

We initially shortlisted Combi, Maclaren and Peg Perego. But finally decided we like the Peg Perego best.

Price: Maclaren has the cheapest.

Light weight: Combi has the lightest.

Easy to handle (i.e. open and close, carry) : Peg Perego

Maclaren - We didn't like the heavy weight on top after closing it. The majority of the weight is on top where u carry which makes it very difficult to carry. The closing is also not as easy at Combi or Peg Perego. Other than that, Maclaren is good for the price (can get one at abt $400).

Combi - We didn't like the flimsy feeling of the pram. Doesn't seem as steady as the other 2. And price is also not cheap. The light weight miracle turn is $600+!! I can get the Peg Perego at that price!

Peg Perego - I love the ease of closing and opening it. And the stroller can stand up in the closed position which Maclaren can't. It's also much easier to carry cos the weight is equally distributed when closed. It is also very steady, seems like i can easily push it down a kerb/step. And price is $638 for the basic model (Peg Perego SI). If u catch the sale, can get it at 15% off which is abt $500+!

But thought it is too early to buy a stroller now, so now i'm waiting for the next major baby fair to get it.

Good advise from experienced mummies above on the slings and carriers.

So other than a stroller, i need to get a sling/carrier too.

There's just too many things to buy!

Re: Car seat

Do you get a car seat for infant and when ur baby is past 6 mths change the car seat to those normal kind? Or can i just have 1 for new born all the way?

Cos i just got a preloved Britax Omega car seat and I was wondering if my new born can seat in it or do i have to get a infant car seat as well?

agree with Bethel's comments on the strollers as I was considering those too.. I'm getting Peg Perego too. :p

grumpus/jas: both ur child r lighter than mine though they r 1yr older than mine. Mine born in Jan09 and already 12kg now. Like I said before, she's big size n heavy-weight. My hb juz flew off this morning for his biz trip.. now she's sticking to me and want me to carry her. Cant carry for too long.. esp. with my tummy growing now

Grumpus:

Mine too. Typical boy... the cars on the road will distract him :Þ Nowadays, he knows that only his daddy will carry him at times. Never ask me to carry any more. Haha not successful in my weights training leh, before I know it, he is this heavy.

Miaiko:

Envy your girl's weight. My son is a fussy eater. Sigh.

Bethel:

I am using a Britex car seat (cannot rem which model) that can be switch between 2 styles - infant / toddler stage. Infant stage will be rear facing and slightly recline while the toddler stage (after 1 yr old) is the normal front facing style.

Bethel, Miaiko,

i hv the peg perego P3 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bethel,

i use an infant car seat (rear facing) until my girl was 9 mths then switched to a proper front facing car seat. btw, u can only switch yr bb after 9 mths to a yr. 6 mths is too early.

but like jass said there are models which one seat can switch between the 2 styles. u need to check if yrs is one of them.

miaiko,

when my girl is being sticky and ask me to carry, i try to carry her while sitting down so that she's more sitting in my lap. i will also try to distract her with sitting down activities so she dun keep asking me to carry.

jass,

hahahhaa, my girl also! when daddy/grandparents around is always carry carry. but if she's with me alone she walks by herself! only when really tired or hungry then she will ask me to carry.

really know who to bully :p

morning ladies

Went for my check up ytd, bb in weird position dr cant cfm the gender but he guess should be a girl! Yeah!!! i like girl!!!

little pigpig, i ask for a presciption for the fish oil, the nurse refuse to give me leh saying they only give prescription for medi that they dont have. weird right? so the fish oil can buy from KKH off the rack?

Hi babykoh, not sure if the fish oil can buy off the rack at KKH. But the one I bought from KKH is the natal care plus and not the natal care triplus. If you want to buy the natal care plus & not in a hurry, maybe I can check out for you when I go to KKH and buy next week.

Good Morning, this thread is moving really fast lei.

me has a Baby Bjorn original carrier. i find this carrier more useful than my Combi stroller. ez to use. i can install by myself. if i rem correctly, it can take up to 11Kg. but i agree with one of the MTB that the weight distribution is not so good. i feel back ache after carrying my bb for sometime. usually my hb and myself take turn to carry lor. if u ladies wanna get a baby bjorn carrier, i think its good to get one with lumbar support. the ergo wan looks good to me also. can carry from the back. but not sure these carriers are suitable for new born. mine baby bjorn confirm cannot.

as for car seat. i don't think is practical to get a infant car seat alone. for me my bb can't fit in it when she is abt 4mth. becasue infant car seat is rear facing and no space for my girl to stretch her legs and end up she refuse it. luckily the infant car seat was borrowed from a colleague so we consider didn't waste $ :p later we bought britax royale. it can hold bb from infant to 4YO. think the price is ard $300+. we bought from robinson cos we got discount vouchers to spend and credit card can charg points .kaki bukit wholesale also ard this selling price. i let my bb seat fw facing when she ard 6mth. actually violate the rule lor but bo bian cos my girl just refused to fit into the seat in infant setup when her legs can't stretch and when her view is just restrict to the cushion back.

i bought a Combi booster car seat from baby fair last week. think the seat is $200+. got a detachable back rest and the breathable mesh cushion. so far we only use it at home to let her seat on it to drink milk and watch TV. she seems to like it. need to slowly move her to her new car seat liao if not scared she refuse to give up her original car seat to her sister later :p

Hi Daphne, babykoh, may i know what is the effect for the fish oil? is it also an important source of supplement?

Hi Ting, think the fish oil is for the development of the baby's brain (so that the baby can be more clever?).

Your gynae did not prescribe u the fish oil?

Ting, yeah, think something about the omega 3. My gynae also prescribe me for my #1. Not sure why yr gynae nvr. Maybe u can check with yr gynae?

Ting,

hahaha, my girl also hated her rear facing seat cos cannot see anything and cannot see me somemore. i frequently travel with her alone.

i just tahan until she's 9 mths old, from the driver's seat i sing song, talk to her, play nursery rhymes etc etc and just put up with her screaming until we get to our destination.

speaking of which i hope #2 won't be like that otherwise #2 start screaming, #1 also start screaming, mummy will also start screaming :p

grumpus,

invest in good earplugs. lol. But I can just imagine the mental stress from all that screaming...

ting,

yup omega 3 is for brain development. Actually baby is supposed to continue to receive omega 3/dha right up until a few years of age. Think it helps for adults as well. My doctor did not prescribe to me, but he did ask if I'm taking and I said yes so he didn't prescribe.

about slings,

just to check, slings don't cost very much right? Can I get one for under 50bucks? I'm thinking if I can use it for a couple of months till baby is too heavy, the cost is justified.

on carriers,

seems like many mummies here are not very pro baby bjorn. I will go check out the beco and ergo. Is there a place which sells (hopefully) all 3 and can try too?

babykoh,

yah I kinda prefer a girl too, so just keeping my fingers crossed that my doc's initial guess is right. hehe

hi ting

The nurse told me is for baby brain development.

Lucky mummy, i prefer girls too, they tend to be more close to mummy. my hb say jialat sure spend a lot of money on the pretty clothes!

Grumpus, you are so funny! I can just imagine the whole car full of screaming passengers, sooner or later, driver also start screaming. Then imagine how a passing by motor cyclist will look at all of u! hahahahaha!

Envy all mummies who know gender of baby already... Girls are really sweet to have, and everything revolving around baby girls are so sweet and pretty!

hi all, i jus delivered my baby and i have extra one tube (brand new in box) of elancyl stretch mark cream(for pregnant women) which i bought fr john little. retail at abt $47. i want to sell it cheaply at jus $30 . i finish a few tubes during my pregnancy and its v effective in preventing stretch marks.i dont mind accepting shopping vocuher or cash. email me at [email protected] if interested.

Daphne, okie. will check with my Gynae during the next visit. i hear omega good for woman and fish skin rich in that. i actually been eating those fish skin left from my girl's dish liao :p

Grumpus, i tried forcing my girl into the infant seat while she struggle and scream but i just can't manage lor. one thing is the seat really quite small and my car also not big. i also scared she may get hurt. really got hard time fit her inside the infant car seat last time. if i can successfully buckle her up in the seat then is ok. i can either distract her with any means or put up with her scream. now that my girl can communicate with me liao i tried to let her understand that she has to seat in her car seat when in the car. its for her safety and she will obey. now what i worry is she won't give up her present car seat to her sister later lor.

luckymummy11, i like my baby bjorn carrier. but just that mine lack of the lumbar support lor.

if use the carrier for short duration is alright. but if u intend to bring bb for long hr shopping then need to get one with back support. actually i think maybe wait for baby deliver liao then buy the carrier or stroller will be better lei. my friend bought carrier but her child refuse to fit in it. and as for me my girl don't like the stroller and prefer to be carry in baby bjon. initially i got one $50 or $60 carrier from kiddy palace. not sure what brand. very difficult to install and the material doesn't feel comfortable. my girl also refuse to fit in it. i buy liao 2nd day immediately go back and exchange for other items :p

check out this link, they have both baby bjon and ergo brand carriers. their shop at KKH and paragon: http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/list.htm?pid=15

oh ya. fyi if anyone got sign up for KKH antenatal class, one of the lessons got roadshow to introduce and sell bb products like strollers, car seats, breast pump and etc. can check-out their product then also

juz to share what i bought from Taka Baby Fair..

Pigeon Wide neck bottles (twin pack) $12.72

Pigeon Nipple cream $12.75

Pigeon Bottle Brush $3.92

Pigeon Disposable Breast Pads $8.90

Pigeon Milk Storage Bags $15.12

Gaia Baby powder $15.57

Medela Quick Clean™ Breastpump & Accessory Wipes - Singles 40 Pack $48

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ting,

ya i also remember the fights with my girl to get into her infant seat, at least u still put yr girl in a car seat, better than some i've seen who let their kids climb all over simply cos the kid dun like to sit car seat.

now my girl looooooves her front facing car seat so much i also scared she won't want to give it up for #2. she always remind me to wear my seat belt if i'm sitting behind with her.

maybe u can tempt yr girl by telling her she big girl already can use the normal seat belt same as mummy and daddy.

Miaiko, are the baby fair prices you stated much cheaper than if I bought them elsewhere?

Was wondering if I shud really start buying baby stuff so early.

Bethel.. hmm..

GAIA pdts r priced at 10% less

Medela wipes usual price is $60+

Pigeon ones Im not really sure how much cheaper. You can do a comparison with Kiddy Palace coz usual Kiddy Palace sells slightly cheaper than other stores.

Next Taka Bb fair should be in Feb/March 2012 le

Btw..

I used to buy Avent milk btls for my gal.. but later change to Pigeon ones coz Avent ones leak!

A few of my mummy frenz found that too. I've nothing against Philips Avent. Juz sharing info here

grumpus, ...err actually i am one of those who leave my child climb over in the car also :$ that is when my hubby driving. he told me he get distracted when he hear child scream in the car when he is driving and want me to try pacify and satisfy her in anyway to stop her scream. i only force my girl into her car seat when i need to drive her alone. anyway this is what happen last time lor. nowadays she will stop her daddy from moving off the car when i am still preparing her in her car seat.

Miaiko, may i know if the avent bottle u bought are the BPA free batch? actually i am consider if i shud buy new sets of bottle for my #2 or just new teats. my whole feeding system for my #1 is Avent brand and haven expereience leakage so far. read many complains abt avent bottle leak but i wonder how the leak happen. is it the bottle crack, or the teats area? new bottle leak also?

Ting,

din buy the brown BPA free ones. I bought the transparent ones.

Leakage at the neck. No cracks. The teats also have problems when my girl suck. I cant explain clearly. We changed to new teats and then we also tried with total new bottles.. still leak.

hihi, hav not been writing for sooo long since 1st trimester but been silent reading all the posts..am not in the latest chart..edd 13jan. detail scan will be 30 Aug @ 20wks..3D scan on Oct. reali hoping for a girl tis time..

guess im e only preggy mummy in this thread who still bf my ds who is 2yr 3mths..he wudnt wanna take formula so had to continue nursing even thou breast feel e stinging sensation coz of preggy hormones..ds is soo cute, has been deligently kissing & stroking my tummy evry now & then ever since im 7wks preggy..sayang baby he says..he noes der is little sibling inside..he's taken over daddy..hehe

ived used baby sling for ds too..v convenient & easy..ever nurse him wen he's ard 2 3mths while walking too..lol

used 2 strollers..one is capella & other combi miracle..both reversible ones..capella v good but 8 kg used wen gg out wif hb & buying groceries as basket big & spacious..combi wen i gg out alone with bb..most times oso wif hb..lightweight & easy too. only dat wheels nd to send for service(free svc) every 6 mths coz of the suspension nd special lubricant..

nw am 18wks, hav felt the constant moves & kicks by my little one.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bethel, if u buying clothes try buy bigger sizes. last time nurse from hospital complain the outfit i brough for my girl to be worn on the day to discharge from hospital is too tight for her. i rem that is new born biggest size as recommended by sales staff. that outfit wear once only.

i think sterizer, breast pad, cloth nappy, towel, hankerchief no harm stocking up if u find good offer lor. as for breast pump it depends... i only can think of 2 cases that confirm should go ahead to buy before delivery. one is that if MTB has inverted nipples and want to give bb breast milk. 2nd is for those who not want to let bb latch to feed and want to express out their milk for them.

oh ya. if anyone using avent feeding system, u may want to get the sealing disc for milk storage if u can find. last time its very difficult to find. many place oos. i wrote to avent they also can't help. i saw taka bbfair got sell the sealing disc.

and hor if u stocking up diapers, remember to check the expiry date.