(2011/01) Jan 2011

I am 12 weeks 2 days. not confirm but can't see the scrotum was total flat so most prob a girl. When I had my boy at the same time I did see the scrotum and penis. haha but still anything can happen till 20 weeks scan.

coconutz: cherie hearts have many branches right. During my search for CC, I read /look ard for feedbacks on particular CCs or PM mummies and ask them about the CC before going down to see myself.

U already register? Sometimes CCs can be quite full at second half of yr.

hi coconutz, heard cherie hearts is quite good. my co director send her daughter & son to yio chu kang's branch. they do provide detail check list on what your child doing for whole day, can monitor your child through online...

initialy i plan to send my son to cherie hearts sembawang. but after consider, it is not so convenience to me and my hb because need to take a big round to send/fetch him everyday. so, maybe will send to normal cc which is close to my house. planning to send him after deliver my 2nd child.

apple

i m gg down with hubby and son to have a look at the centres on mon. so far has visited one cherie hearts centre. like the cirriculum but dun like the teachers. so will be viewing more centres before deciding lor. but i shld be registering by next week if all goes well.

coconutz: My personal take is teachers are very impt. Even if their activities are great, but if teachers are not good or u are not comfortable with them, don't, cos u are going to entrust your kid with them.

yeah i agree too. actually the first centre is quite ok. i feel safe to leave my kid with them but my hubby felt that their spoken english is lousy : (

evlin

y dun u want to send yr child before u gave birth? i dun wan my boi to feel that #2 comes, then papa and mummy send me away....

wat is thalassemia???? My blood test come back with some problems jus called my dr he say could be thalassemia.

i am sooooo nervous i can faint now

coconutz,

i agree with you on sending # 1 before we deliver cos we will be too occupied to handle # 1 already...imagine they will take a while to get used to CC and also may fall sick easily...it might be too much to handle...

bbkoh,

relax relax...its basically lower red blood count. i would assumed you are a minor carrier as major carrier would need to undergo blood transfusion regularly. another term is also know as anemia...

hi coconut, actually my friend also advise me to send my 1st one to cc before 2nd comes.. our original plan is to send him by the end of the yr... but seems my mother is taking care very good on him... so we postpone the plan

babykoh: don;t worry too much. I think a few mummy here also thalassemia minor

evlin: I also agree to send in first. Cos it takes time for them to adjust. some cry for long time and not forgetting getting sick. My dd joined CC in Jan this yr. since feb has been falling sick on and off...............

bbkoh,

yes for ur case ur DH would need to take blood test too...dun worry too much k?...am also a thalassemia minor.

Hi coconutz, i am also sourcing for childcare for my #1. i also don't want my girl to think that have #2 then dump her away... Have been thinking about this since my girl turned 18th mth. but seems like it will going to happen anyway cos 3 of those childcare i shortlist, got 2 only can take in yr 2008 bb next Jan and the 3rd wan take so long still cannot confirm with me. sian.

Bbkoh,

dun worry. I am also a thalassemia minor carrier. So long as ur hubby is not a thalassemia minor, everything is fine.

And there are also many thalassemic mtbs here!

So u r not alone.

ting

which cc u look at? so popular?

or can consider other cc?

i m damn sian to look for one and scared of the transition period...

i envy those who are able to shortlist CCs. for me i dun have much choice cos those CC ard my neighbourhood are charging at least 900 bucks!!! so i got only 1 choice situated under HDB blk...and i haven check it out on the availability yet...haizz

thanks mummies for giving me the assurance, the nurse just call me say dr wans to see u and talk abt the blood test, i say wat happen? she say i cannot tell u, for a sec i tot i have HIV!!!!!

nearly faint in my office

she say i cant reveal the test results on the phone, we jus need to see u n ur hb tomorrow. my whole face turn red n hot n hand hold the hp also tremble. haiyoh......

then i buay tahan i call the E number must talk to my gynae, then the gynae say he haven seen the report yet but maybe is thalassemia, then i start asking a lot of questions he say he cant explain in phone have to see me, haiyoh buay tahan

Hi coconutz, ya. i would say these cc are all quite popular in west area. many SMH mommies giving good feedback on them too. They are CreativeO, Learning Ladder and TELC. i have been doing research and visited a no of centres le. this 3 centres fulfil most of my criteria in cc selection and the fees is among the mid range.

i visited few Cherrie Heart cc before. i personally feels it is a very commercialise cc. everything ok but i find their teacher to children ratio usually huge. if you decided on CH cc, think you may wanna check on their teachers' turn over rate. i heard is quite high. i feel this is no good for our kids.

babykoh, ez ez, cool down first. did you chk with your Gynae clinic if can see Gynae tonite to review the report? hear what they say first.

babykoh, I tot u already know yr blood test results earlier tat makes u low risk together with the NT scan? Why is it yr gynae still call u to talk about the blood test results?

I went for my OSCAR test yest at TMC but no results on blood test yet. Hope no news means good news...

babykoh, dun worry too much...im a thalassemia carrier too..what doctor will do is to test if your husband is also a thalassemia carrier, if ur hubby is not, then ur baby confirm no problem. if husband also the same, doctor will advise to do amnio test to check the baby. thalassemia mandarin called - 地中海贫血症

Hi shycloud, try not to limit your choice lor.

Last time i enrolled my girl at a cc near my work place. conveniently 5min walking distance from office. cheap cheap after govt and company subsidy. but i overlook on the security. strangers can move into the centre freely. and during my girl 1st few days at cc, i was with her. i notice that the cc is slow to identify sick child and did not isolate them from the rest also. after checking with the principal, she deny that this shud happen and also tried to cover up for her staffs by saying they could be bz. haiz. anyway i withdraw my child from that cc after 4 days when my child got sick cos no one in the family support me putting my girl there after that.

so after that i set some basic criteria for my girl's cc. i thot the cc shud hav some1 to look after the visitors and teacher to child ratio shud be small and also the environment shud be well lit. i not so particular with the curriculum. i thot as long as my girl likes to go to school and happy to mix with her friends to play can liao. surprisingly, not many cc can fulfil my basic criteria lei. some do but fees are too high (over $1K). i thot is rediculous. luckily i manage to shortlist few after many months of research. actually learning ladder is out cos i not sure if i can fetch my child on time after work. left 2 choices actually.

no i took another blood test after oscar for the HIV and Hep B and a lot of test dunno wat la, it says its a compulsary blood test for all pregnant ladies

i am seeing him first thing in the morning tomorrow, i make sure i will be the first one at his clinic. I think i cant sleep tonight

Hi Vogie,

My boy was down with HFMD last week, i consulted Gynae, she says as long as we do not contact their saliva, mucus and those body fuild shld be fine, as the virus is passed via such means. And even if you have HFMD chances of affecting BB is very low. But she disclaimed that it has not happen, doesnt mean it wont happen...

I had no choice, no place to sek refuge, thus i'm still caring for my boy. Thankfully I'm fine, did not catch the virus.

Ckn pox - Yes will affect BB according to gynae. so best to avoid....

Babykoh - you'll be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Dont worry K! keep us updated...

Sorry to interrupt. I have some sanitary pads for sales which are good for post-natal use:

1) 2 packets of Laurier Superguard X-tra 34cm (12pcs per pkt) - $4.00/pkt

2) 4 packets of Laurier Superguard X-tra 30cm (14pcs per pkt) - $3.50/pkt

They are extremely absorbent and breathable. If you are keen to take all, i will sell them off to you at special price of $20.

Pls PM me if you are keen.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4248224.jpg]

Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump selling for SGD $200. Used once only, still in brand new condition, still under warranty till Feb 2011.

PM me if interested

Good Morning Ladies,

Anyone has any idea if there is any oncoming baby fair? Any idea Taka baby fair is over already or not?

Hi Babykoh, how's yr visit to yr gynae's?

Still no call regarding my blood test results. Been checking on my phone for the past few days. Hope no one calls me by end of this week.... Cos no news means good news....

Went to eat buffet last fri and yest. When I weigh myself this morn, realised tat I put on almost 2 kgs within these few days. Cannot believe it... Think I need to cut down on food so tat I won't put on so much on this pregnancy...

Daphne: yesh if doc never calls.. gd mah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haa... no need to cut dwn food ..juz eat per normal..maybe cut back on the num of buffets u go to!!

Dear Mums,

For sale - Brand New Avent Newborn Starter Kit (BPA Free)

I have a spare set which is given during the birth of my baby. Includes:

2 x Airflex Feeding Bottle (260 ml/ 9 oz) with size 2 teat.

2 x Airflex Feeding Bottle (125 ml/ 4 oz) with size 1 teat.

2 x Extra soft, Newborn Flow Teat size 1.

1 x Newborn Pacifier.

1 x Bottle and teat brush.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?ctn=SCD270/00&scy=gb&slg=en

Retail price @ about SGD49.90

My selling price SGD40nett, brand new.

Call me 98204176 to transact immediately.

Seems like a quiet monday..

Im waiting to go to baby fair at Taka too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi MTBs

I went to dr on sun early in the morning, my MCV ( some blood cells) is lower then normal (normal is 87, i am 8.34) so is suspected Thalasemia minor i think so dr took a sample of my hubby's blood and check if he is, if he is then big problem but if he is not nothing to worry about. I was thinking to myself could it be when i was young i don eat red meat and liver so my iron intake is very little.

After taking the blood for sample, hb remember that he took an insurance body check up last year and his MCV is higher then 87 so phew at least last weekend i can sleep well

Now waiting for dr to call me by this week to confirm. Cross my fingers and toes, baby's fingers and toes too hee hee

Hi Evon, Thanks for the info. Will keep a look out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Komathi P, Ya. really a quiet Monday. I thought something wrong with my network when i see no updates on this forum...hee

Hi Daphne, me also looking to go for buffet lunch. My hubby say we will be going for it after my 5month scan at mt. E. :D cannot bring my girl along cos with that monster ard we won't be able to have peaceful lunch. ha!

Hello gals,

Reporting in today.

Weekend is tiring for me, I went to USS, night museum.. I dread Monday! =P

Can't wait to see my BB... this coming saturday is my oscar.