(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

good morning mummies and daddies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, i also told hubby hope that princess looks like me haha i cant imagine a boyish looking girl :S

yugal, its better late than never [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

next time u can even bring yr girl along on yr outings [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainbow, haha me too slp at only 2plus :p still i woke up 3plus and 6 plus for toilet breaks...crap!

Cindy

Congrate on knowing the gender.

U must be excited of thinking wat cute stuffs to buy for ur princess [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me, got work today.

Now waiting for time to knock off by 12.30pm.

Halooo! Ya me too woke up at 330 and stay awake till 430 and jus got so frustrated and decided to wake up and eat bread then. Got back to sleep only ard 530. I also jus tell myself it's going to be like this liao since I already gotten sleepless nights since 1mth ago [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] gotta nap later le. Hee!

rainbow, ermmm... it tasted not bad based on that small sample piece. I felt some of the mooncakes were overpriced because of the packaging. One of them has this long box with 4 drawers and used jade pieces as the drawer handles. :s

oshgosh, wow, your hubby is a role model for daddies to follow!

cindy, you are right, better late than never!!

Reminder to mummies, this weekend marks the end of the extended taka bb fair sales @ the bb department. My wife and I are intending to get an extra set of covers for pillow, bolster and fitted sheet today; cheeky bon bon brand having around 30% off.

oshgosh: haha, your gal is so funny! so friendly, go around greeting others. she is not afraid of stranger at all arh?

cindy: i see. but at least you can get professional opinion there.

congrats on knowing your baby gender and thats a healthy growth. haha, i was laughing out loud when you mentioned about what your gynae said about your princess playing with her feet. sounds logical lah... our princes and princesses are all too bored in our tum tum le so must play with their limbs.

stefie: aiyoyo.. why are you up at that hour? accompanying hubby while he works?

yugal: wah! your dad must be super happy. its normal and definitely fine for men to be emotional. hehe... thats the true you!

wah! charcoal bamboo mooncake! is it nice? time for mooncake liao...

mummies: me too wakey at 4+am and then couldnt sleep till much later but was woken by alarm at 7am cause have to prepare and go to bugis area to see if can find maternity clothes and OG bugis to see if can get button front night gown.

cant find nice and cheap maternity at all! sad. but i got 2 night gowns from OG bugis. they are having 20% sales for their stuff. the night gowns i bought is karmy brand, selling at $23.90 before discounts. mummies who are interested can go check it out.

tenq: congrats on the healthy baby growth. oh, oct also have baby expo. great for last minute shopping. hehe, thanks!

jiahui, thanks! i went to buy 3 sets of clothes for her le ^_^

tenq, u muz be so excited to see yr girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eoneon, haha ya the doc say until like that, i was laughing also, no wonder while scanning, doc could only detect one feet then realised the princess was playing with the other keke

I just went to the babycare fair at Square2. Was quite a disappointment, think only about 6-8 stalls? One for clothing, one to sell massage, johnson booth, one selling sling, others selling baby books... can finish in 5-10 mins. After that went to Taka to buy mooncakes, yummy! but I miss my raffles hotel champagne truffle...must ren for this year cannot take, for the sake of bb ;)

Just now when I am packing bb stuff, my hubby complaining I buying too much bb clothes until wardrobe no space to keep already... First time mum, some more mine is a bb girl, of course i here buy a bit, there buy a bit lar. Hahaha.

Dear Mummies

Sorry to interrupt. I am from an earlier thread. Have some "leftovers" from my breastfeeding days to let go cheap.

- 2 brand new boxes of Mothercare breast pads (100 pieces per box) with 25 - 50 loose pieces from an open box

- 2 brand new boxes of Lansinoh milk bags (50 pieces per box); with close to 40 loose pieces from an open box

Price:

$25 for breast pads (original price: $18 per box)

$25 for milk bags (original price: USD10.99 per box)

Pls call / sms me @ 93679627. Don't PM as I don't check this often. Self collect from my place at Pasir Ris.

Breast pads reference: http://www.mothercare.com.sg/productdetail.asp?pid=67707

Milk bags reference:

http://www.amazon.com/Lansinoh-Breast-Milk-Storage-50-2dpk-2e/dp/B000M16Y7U/ref=pd_sim_hpc_63

Eoneon/Cindy, now that I can feel her movements I feel less excited abt scans. Haha. My gynae doesn't do 3D scan n I can't see much of her on the screen.. But still happy to know that she's healthy n growing well.

Just a trivia, gynae educated me that once bb exceeds 1kg, she has a 50% chance to survive outside the womb (just in case, choy, of some emergency). Of coz the bigger she gets, the higher the chances.

Good morning mommies and daddies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies remember your pills and drink more water.

Yesterday at our friend's princess 1 month old, had very good nonya food, yummy.

Later will pack for my trip. Wow another working day then I will be free liao. yapee!!!!

Eon eon, not lah, I slept at 11.30am, then woke up at 2am, hubby haven't sleep, he was working on some emails[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Today remember to cook bird nest hoh, I will soak for 1 hour after lunch, then boil for 2-3 hrs, then drink tonight.

I love the Karmy brand PJ, very comfy, but abit thick. I also will get that.

TenQ, congrates[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] your baby growing well.

Hope everyone is enjoying the weekend.. cooling day today.. :)

Sharon, we went to Square2 last nite too, and was also disapppointed.. hubby says, no more baby fair or what fair for me coz the last time we went to the Robinson fair, also a small one.. hehehe..

Then we went to TPY's Kiddy Palace.. goodness.. it's huge.. like a paradise..

Yugal, thanks for the pics you showed me the other day, we've got the Anakku 10pcs loth diaper at S$19.90 (U/P: S$30.45), 150pcs liner at S$8.50 (U/P:S$13.15) and the fastener (no discount) at S$7.70.

If not because we arrived like 9pm, we would have more time to look around. When I saw a mommy bought a few of one of the baby wipes, I couldn't help thinking it was a good buy. Pureen baby wipes, 3 packets for S$8.85 (U/P: S$4.20/pack). Good deal I think.

The Capella stroller we saw at Robinson fair, S$329 (before discount S$399), sold at Kiddy Palace for S$329 before discount. I guess if we apply for the membership card, we'll get a 10% off? Then it'll be slightly cheaper.

Later, we'll check the price of the stroller at Baby Hyperstore and Baby Kingdom.

btw, the milk powder I mentioned the other day, I have the details here:

1) 3 sample packs of Anmum Materna (weight unknown)

2) 2 sample packs of Dumex Mamil Mama (48g X 2 sachets in each)

3) 1 sample pack of Similac Mum (50g)

4) 1 sample pack of Enfa Mama A+ (50g)

5) Full tin of Similac Mum (700g)

6) Half tin of Dumex Mamil Mama (900g packaging, left with about 500g powder)

Anyone interested, please let me know. Hubby and I can deliver to your place at your convenience. Do not want to waste these powder. :)

Bubbly -Where is baby kingdom? Btw which stroller did u get?

A bit upset with my MIL. My hubby's 2 sisters are already married so when we got married, we had to stay with her. There is a old sofa bed in the study room and my hubby told her this morning to ask his sisters whether they want it or not cos we wanted to throw it to make way for the baby cot, at least for the 1st month, baby will sleep with CL in the study. Her first reaction was 'what a waste! (cos she is the type who keeps a lot of things)then when we came back she said my huby's sisters said can re-adjust the furniture in the room, shift the table to face the windows, blah, basically squeeze to fit everything in and added that CL will run away after half month if you let her sleep on mattress, also said we must think (dunno implying who never think). Damn angry when I heard that. I mean , I never wanted to stay with her in the first place if I could help it, but we took up the responsibility of staying with her rather than buying a place of our own which I would have liked very much and thus my own personal space is already so limited. If I had a place of my own, I would definitely have another room to set up for my bb and won't have this problem caused by her!

Sharon, don't get angry with your mil, not good for baby. I think confinement lady wouldn't mind sleeping on mattress. Maybe just let her know before hand. Relax ok, stay with mil is like that.

I am also upset with my mil. She told my hubby I was rude to her on monday when she called to ask me to nag at my hubby's diet. I am happy that she will not call me any more. My hubby is ok with it cos he said everyone is happy (me and him). I guess I will just don't think too much and enjoy my pregnancy. My hubby said my mil don't know how to carry my sil baby girl, hold her by her arms. Wah lau, it will break the baby's arms leh. Now I have more excuses not to let my mil take care of alexis liao. Even hubby see liao also worry for that baby.

I guess things will work out eventually, so we should relax and enjoy our pregnancies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Athena:

Hi I'm Jollymummy from your Pilates class!

We are having gathering this Sat 11 Sep 2010 after class. Wanted to PM you but you don't accept PM.

Can you PM me for gathering details pls if you are keen to join us? Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sharon, Baby Kingdom (83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park, Singapore 417954) is just a few doors away from Baby Hyperstore. We've got ourselves a Capella 707 stroller (S$299) and Britax car seat (S$229) there. They say they'll help to install the car seat when I am about to due. We arranged delivery to be at late Nov.

I fully understand the frustration of staying with MIL that keeps everything in the house. But married to hubby who is the youngest and need to take care of ageing MIL comes in a package I guess. Will have to bear with it.. stay cool..

dec_mum: We are not sure either if Pureen wipes is good, 1st timer, need to try. I see the other mummy took so many, I also kiasu, took 3 packets. It's cheap (no alcohol, got aloe vera, vit E etc), if baby cannot use, then we can use ourselves. :-D I heard from friends, if possible not to use wipes in the beginning, instead use cotton balls soaked with warm water..

As this is 1st, and hopefully only baby, I can only try and err. :p Hubby says it's ok to err the 1st time, we are learning along the way.

Stefie: excited for your, last day of work before heading off to Beijing! :)

Good morning mommies and daddies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies remember your pills and drink more water.

Thanks bubbly. Yes leh, really very excited. But today would be very rush, cos need to finish up some work and leave one the dot cos the boarding lady would come at 730pm to fetch my 2 dogs.

This morning already have some work piling up. Catch up again[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning mummies

Feeling so tired. Did not have a good sleep last night.

Can felt monday blue in work today ...Yawn....

bubbly7

I am also one of the kiasu parents.

Hubby and i always buy 1 carton of Pureen wipes from baby fair, to stock up.

Cheaper and can last for several months for us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Although it is not the best wipes or not as thick as johnson & johnson, at least it is good choice for parents with budget constraint.

At home, we can use water or cotton ball soak with water to clean the baby.

The wipes generally is used when we are outside shopping or for the infant care centre, which require us to provide.

morning mummies and daddies ^_^

cindy: this jakarta gynae really very funny loh! haha... after i told my hubby, he is constantly asking if princess is playing with her limbs. as if i know like that.. wahaha..

sharon: ren ren ren... next year you can have your fill! hehe...

dec mum: haha, this always happen to first time mum. i have been trying to cut down on my purchases also. you are not alone.. hehe

tenq: really arh? im still as excited about seeing my princesss very month. maybe we have different sentiments cause you dont have scan during every visit. your gynae's practice like those of abroad hor.

stefie: thanks for the reminder. had my birdnest yesterday. yum!

yes, i used to have a piece of karmy. very lasting. material also very comfy. so i think its worthwhile to get that.

bubbly: you make me wana go tpy's kiddy palace liao. haha...

sharon: cool down! dont be affected by mil. not good for baby. ask hubby to talk to her again. tell her the sofa bed is old and it might cause the skin to be itchy if ask the confinement lady to sleep on it.

stefie: emjoy your beijing trip... ^_^

good morning mummies!

stefie, enjoy your beijing holiday! we'll sure miss your posts here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yugal, i agree that we tend to take our parents for granted. that's why i tell myself must always spend time with them when i can. these 2 weeks of staying with them, i've been having daily breakfast with them and chatting. it's really good bonding time which i believe we enjoyed.

sharon, dun be so upset. sometimes our ILs speak without thinking and sometimes we place implications where they dun mean. so just one ear in, one ear out. sometimes have to close both ears and just block them out.

andrea, i just have to say again, your daughter is so pretty! everytime i see u post her pics in FB, i'd go in and take a look. even my hubby also said she's very pretty. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

to all mummies, if you are interested in getting the lemongrass shower gel/cream for confinement, they're having an anniversary sale. see this: http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Annivesary-Sale.html

i already ordered mine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

have a good monday everyone, it's a short week!

dewdew: what is the lemongrass shower gel/cream for? I have heard of dry shampoo and body shampoo and searching for it in pharmacy.. but no this. can share?

Hi mummies & daddies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's great to have 4 working days tis week .. looking forward to Thur.

stefie: Hope you've a wonderful beijing trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vicky, Bubbly: Thanks for the info, gonna run for bb fairs. Still looking ard for cot .. I need a small one *_*

Hope everyone enhoyed their weekends. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Its a 4 day week!

cindy - congrats on princess! Finally you've confirmed the gender! hehe..

bubbly2 - how's the fair at baby kingdom? Izzit good?

stefie - lucky you! going on a holiday! take care!

sharon - don't be upset, some old people just can't bear to throw away things. I'm also living with my PIL and their really nice but one room is not enough for me, hubs and bb.

I'm still awaiting my new home to be completed probably end of next year so I can move in and at least she will have a room of her own.

Sometimes its so fustrating for me when I don't have enough space to put stuffs.

Dewdew - have your tried the shower cream/gel? Does it have a funny smell?

lilsunshine - I'm also looking for a small cot, maybe a playpen kind. I've limited space in the room.

Hi good morning mummies and daddy!

This week is a really short week so weekend will come really fast! So happy haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Does anyone know if mosquito repellent is safe for our babies? Because I don't stay in high rise building, there's a lot of Mosquitos!! My nephew recently got bitten a lot so I'm wondering if those mosquito patch stickers are ok for newborns and young babies.. Anyone got use those?

Morning Mummies,

Finally my back is almost back to normal. Still slightly achy but can walk normally so that's good. =) Hope all of you are having a great start to the week. Its a short week this week so YAY!

Based on the votes that we had the last round for venue for the 18th of September. The places with the most and equal no. of votes are

1) Plaza Market Cafe @ The Fairmont Singapore (Cityhall MRT)

12:30pm-4:30pm

$32++ ($37.66 after tax)

2)Scotts Lounge @ Grand Hyatt (Orchard MRT)

2-5pm

$28++ ($32.95 after tax)

Although Scotts Lounge @ Grand Hyatt is slightly cheaper. I'm suggesting we go for Plaza Market Cafe @ Fairmont for the following reasons.

1)CityHall MRT is a very centralised station therefore for mummies staying all over singapore, it is a pretty accessible place to get to.

2)The hotel is not a far walk from the station so good for us who should not be putting too much strain on our delicate legs.

3)It starts at 12:30pm so we can start even earlier like at 1pm or 1:30pm instead of 2pm for mummies who need to leave earlier yet other mummies who are working can join us at 2pm till 4:30pm. We can sit for a really long time. =)

Let me know what you ladies think. Once I get a good sensing I will call to make the booking. Going by the list we have compiled I'll do a rough estimate number and do the booking.

hi bubbly & melissa,

i haven't tried the shower gel but i ordered it + 1 x lavender cream and 1 x ginger cream. i thot to do a patch test before the confinement - to test the smell and if there's allergy reaction. i think should be ok 'cos i saw reviews for it were good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] once the goods arrive and i've tried it out, i let u all know, k? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] juz thot for those who were interested in buying could grab the promo now.

bubbly, the lemongrass shower gel is for dispelling wind in the body, i think. i plan to use it with the herbal water that we have to shower with during confinement (double whammy for the "wind" in the body).

girls, i've been talking to my cousin and SIL and both of them advised me to take really good care of my body during confinement. basically they said if can just eat, sleep, feed baby and lie down the whole time, do it! 'cos both of them didn't listen and both got backaches now. my SIL didn't have epidural so it isn't due to that. it's the strain on her back when she bend down to change baby's diapers, carry baby etc. i think it's hard to avoid (who can tahan lying in bed the whole time?!) but just rbr to take care of our bodies whenever we can!

lovebyte, i'm good for fairmont! count me in for that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

debbie, i'm not sure of the mossie patch or insect repellant but i think there's a citronella plant that u can try putting in the house to repel mossies. some ppl said rosemary plant and peppermint oil helps too. definitely less dangerous than repellant sprays. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

feeling a bit zonked. sat nite totally didnt sleep much toss adn turn cos ethan kept moving and moving... he was kicking soo vigorously.. i gave up trying to sleep.. went to watch tv instead till 6am then finally dozed off for a while... sianzz.. last nite manage to zzzz but not enough.. sighhh

Melissa, we didn't see much of good deal on the 2nd floor of Baby kingdom (toiletries, etc..) whereas, 1st floor, where the bigger items are, we find better deal. Coincidentally, we were looking for Capella strollers, and they had quite significant discount for the one we bought.. and so was the car seat.

lilsunshine: you can take a look at Baby Hyperstore and Baby Kingdom for smaller cots.

Debbie: you can use J&J mosquito repellant for babies. Should be safe. Those OFF! for adults not advisable.

dewdew: thanks for sharing. look forward to your review. so far, I have found the Klorane dry shampoo. Still looking around for the dry body shampoo.

Good morning mummies and daddies!!

Debbie, how about those electronic insect repellant? Supposedly emitting some kind of electronic waves sensitive enough to get rid of insects. Never tried it myself though.

Lovebyte, Plaza Market Cafe @ Fairmont sounds good to me and my wife!

yugal, now that u mentioned those electronic ones, i rbr i used them before! lol...

debbie, the electronic ones work sometimes. there was a period of time i kept getting bitten in the middle of the night, so i went to buy one from mustafa - think it was less than $10. i got bitten less frequently after that and then i stopped using it and the mossies have not returned. sometimes it's due to the weather too. rbr to keep your pots overturned and get rid of all still water sources!

Lovebyte: I'm ok with Fairmont.

[Mommies: if you need a lift, let me know]

Debbie: I remembered my mum using the electric insect repellent (the kind plugged in, with the piece of mosquito repellent inside) when I was young... are those baby friendly? Or put a mosquito net over baby's cot?

Mommies: Those who heard about my maid doing the massage on my legs... the massage is great! She used ginger shreds and flat spring onion, squeezing out the juices and using that to massage my feet. Very good!!! She also boils ginger with brown sugar for me to drink. I felt so light-footed the whole weekend! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi good morning mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sharon, u're not alone hehe

those staying with MIL have problems with them, not staying with MIL also have problems :p

think any unhappiness work out with yr hubby let him settle with the mum, u dun get involved too much, not so depressing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, enjoy yr trip! u can also take this period to shop for alexis [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubbly7, i also going to try and error! LOL

will jus buy one pack of each to try out for a start, dun dare buy too much in case end up all i have to use T_T

eoneon, ya lor..i also find this gynae much more detailed, showed me blood flow/heartbeat in the umbilical cord, no cord around baby's neck etc, hubby was smiling throughout [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hubbies really like small boys hor? hehe

after the scan, these last few nights when baby moving alot, hubby will tell her 'little girl, pls slp and dun play with yr feet' wahaha machiam she's playing at that time...crazy sia

for mine, hubby seems to 'know' more than me LOL

how i wish my tummy was made of glass, so i can see baby anytime i want.. keke

melissa/sunshine, thanks! hehe

i started shopping liao..esp for clothes, hope i dun overbuy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cindy, u are not alone hahaha i also wish my tummy is transparent so that i can "see" bb anytime hehe...

muddypaws, ur massage sounds reallie nice!!

Hi mummies, I will confirm if I can join the gathering next week oki?

Cos gt some family matters to settle this week and next week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stefie, njoy ur trip! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies and daddies: if we are lunching at Fairmont, i can get 20% discounts. so if confirm there, i will make booking and guarantee with my credit card.

dewdew: i must agree with you that Andrea's gal is so pretty and adorable. haha, i better not let my hubby see else he will fall in love with her just like the gal from the yamaha music school commercial.

muddypaws: your maid legs massage sound super shiok leh!

cindy: i guess you will be going back to this gynae more often liao loh ^_^

mummies n daddies: anyone familiar with air purifier?? i m thinking of getting one .. where i can get and which one is better and how much ..

muddypaws: wow.. what a great massage and maid..! good for you.. maybe we can try that ourselves too.. hehehe..

cindy & crystal: same here! i was wishing we could see bb anytime we want.. how nice to know what they are doing inside.. now, i don't even know if it's his hands or feet kicking..

eoneon: my hubby was so in love with the yamaha lil gal too.. :) :)

Hello Mummies & Daddies,

Fairmont it is! Thanks to Eoneon, she's gonna help us get a 20% discount! =) So she's helping us to do the booking!

Thanks a million EON!!!!

bubbly, oh J&J mosquito repellent, yes should be safe for babies! thanks! i shall get one. Hope the smell not so strong, hehe cos i don't like mosquito repellent smell.

yugal, dewdew, muddypaws: thanks! I think ya the electric ones are safe.. especially those that emit the electronic waves. thanks again! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

muddypaws, your leg massage sounds soooo good!! hahaha lucky you!