(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

Ribena, Playskool(Hasbro) has something like that. My MIL managed to get a hand-me down from her friend.

http://www.amazon.com/Playskool-Step-Start-Walk-Ride/dp/B00004T2WP

Fisher price also has something like that.

http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Stride-to-Ride-Walker/dp/B00005YVRM

Hasbro is cheaper, but maybe would be better if you try the physical toy and see whether are you comfortable with the speed of the wheels.

Crystal, poor mine. I think you are just tired. Tonight rest earlier. Maybe give Ethan, chilled wash cloth for his teething. Pray that it is only for 1 night. Sayang Sayang.

thanks bribena and stefie. i did i put teething gel for him and then he's quiet for a while and then start again.. sighh...

stefie, the price disparity for the 2 items is so big. wat's the diff?

Crystal, Things will gets better. Jia you[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will go and check up the USA reveiws and share here. IIRC 1 mommy was selling the Playskool one here at S$40, retailed price is S$50.

I just saw the FP price, wow almost USD200. Very ex leh.

Crystal, perhaps he wants more milk?

The size of the push type walker looks very different in the photos! Think am going to check out the real thing and see which one is more suitable for Leah and our pocket. I'm eyeing Mothercare's Ybike Pewi Pink, I think it's selling @ $60. But I haven't see the real thing yet.

Brought my baby for his third 6-in-1 jab and he woke up like 4 times in the night!!!! Zombiefied now. Thankfully no fever. Zzz..

mummies, hearing all of you talk about purees and cereals make me envy how your babies are loving all those purees and food. My boy is not interested in purees at all! Feeding him is like nightmare. He prefers to have his milk. I think he might just skip the puree and mashed food stage and go straight to porridge. I gave him a very very small piece of bread today and he actually managed to give me chewing action and swallowed some! This is one great achievement for him..

crystal, poor thing. Hope it was just for a night. waking up every hour really siong.. tonight sleep early!

bribena, no he's refusing milk i tink cos its painful? i only manage to dreamfeed him when he finally doze off to sleep.

stefie, thanks for the research hahaa.. can always count on u to do the "work"

debbie, thanks for concern. whew thankfully ur baby has no fever i tink that's the most impt. your bb has teeth? u might wan to consider steamed tofu. i fed some to ethan when we were eating out and he love it hahaha...

good morning mummies!

terribly busy for me at work so can't check in much.

ribena, i'll get the rabbit from u this weekend. will sms u before i go over. can pm me yr hp#? thanks!

this morning my gal so cute. i walked her from the kitchen to the living room, she promptly headed straight for the box of toys we keep there and plopped herself down to "attack". lol!

Hi what is the gym trial about? Got UOB card is free?

Also, anyone knows if daiso ice trays can b sterilized?

Just signed for shichida so Celeste will b starting next week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

crystal, nope my boy has no teeth yet. Everyday i feel and touch. He also has teething difficulties. Gum itchy and wake up at least once a night. Can try tofu when there's no teeth right? Sounds like a good idea. tofu made of soy right? Hope my boy not allergic to soy.

good morning mommies... liz poo-ed 4 times this morning. Taking the advice from some mommies and rinsing her bottom instead of using wet wipes and she's quite happy.

Re: Toys

liz loves her toys... well, the current 'flavor of the week' is her toy phone, which she carried all the way to the PD and back, and she was holding it so tight when the PD was checking her. She would hold the phone and scream "dah-dah-dah-dah-dah!!!!", I told hubs she's trying to call him to complain about me. haha... anyway, liz is playing the multi-activity puzzle toys for 12+mths. We got them as gifts for her 1mth party so thought I just let her play with them.

seetron, wow you starting shichida so early. Keep me updated about the class. If it's good i would like to start for my boy too when he's about a year old! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, i see i see... so for this kind of push walker type they are both quite comparable. hmmm will go and look see when i can hehee.. thanks babe.

debbie, ya ethan has no teeth now so the steamed tofu is oki for him cos no need to chew he will mom mom mom like chewing motion and then swallow.

Dewdew, my number 9two74double8 15 =))

Muddy, haha! Dah-dah won't be happy when Liz learns his number by heart, she would call everyday! =))

My boy is FINALLY 6 months!! Woohoo!! Time to junk the sterilizer at last!! Hah.. Kidding... Kiasu me will probably still sterilize..

Re: Pumpkins

Me tried to give my boy butternut pumpkin, coz it looks so bright and orange! But when I tried it myself, I don't like it at all, feel it's a bit course.. And neither does my boy fancy it... I say save the money and buy ordinary pumpkin to try out first.. Unless your bb doesn't like ordinary pumpkin then try butternut pumpkin bah... (Or just move on to other *cheaper* food.)

I think my boy is not a fan of puree.. But he's a fan of baby biscuits.. He loves this brand called Baby Bites.. He rather eat that than cereal or purees.. Think he's a cookie monster... Good for lazy mummy, not good for his health.

Anw anyone's bb stopped pooing after starting on solids? After I started my boy on solids, he didn't poo for one whole week! Then after one week, he did a MAJOR poo. And since then, it's now the 4th day that he didn't poo... BAH... Wondering if he's going to do another one-weeker again.. Hmmmm... Better bring him for his 6-month jab and ask PD about this soon...

Samantha, don't stress lah... Babies at this age don't need solids to survive.. Solids is just for fun.. Their main food and nutrition source is still milk... So if your bb not interested in solids, just keep feeding normal milk feeds, should be fine.. I feed my boy solids when we're at home, but if we go out I'll just skip the solids feed, too much of a hassle.. Anw your bb so big, growing so well, don't worry lah.. Let her develop her interest in solids at her own pace, don't force and stress yourself lah... Just try to give her, if she take then good, if don't take then leave it lor.. Tell yourself tomorrow will be a better day!

Debbie, look on the bright side, you won't have to go through those jab nightmares for a looooong time after this one! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]... My boy still hasn't taken his 6-month jab... NOT looking forward to it at all... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ribena, ok, got it! thanks!

muddy, i think Liz is really fast at learning all these things, hahaha.. and already knows she can use phone to call Dahdah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so cute. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ribena, i know exactly how u feel. the other day i was just looking thru' Gwen's photos again and gosh, how she has grown!

Debbie: yep! Hope it's good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] getting busier man. Thurs shichida fri kindermusik. So wana ask about the trial class. Finding things to burn off her energy. She keeps falling fr bed. Even with two bed rails on adult bed n two walls still can kick off the pillows surrounding the last little gap. Sigh... Can even roll off mattress on floor when totally surrounded by body bolsters. Now testing mattress in play yard. She's got her own DBSS while mummy the contractor/ ID is kept bz

Lee, when my mum ask me to intro brown rice cereal into my baby's milk, he didn't poo for 4 days and then he did a poo explosion. I wasn't there to witness it but my MIL and helper said that my boy poo-ed so much that it overflowed out onto his back. I asked PD before, PD say, if baby never poo and didn't show discomfort, it's fine. But if baby is always trying to poo and give the constipated look, then may need to use enema.

Toys

Yeah, my girl also don't really like toys. Can be best friends with a few babies here. She likes to play with cloth and paper. Everytime she sees my clipboard and pen she will go for it. Can save money. I gave her sofie the other day. Will chew a while then got bored and decided to watch me vacuum floor and play with her diaper cloth.

Lee

Ya, now taking it more relaxed. You are right about tomorrow will be better day. Surprisingly she ate her cereal this morning. Not very enthusiastic still but manage to feed 1.5 tbsp. Must be know I angry with her yesterday.

Muddy

Liz is very clever leh. Must be quite talented. I hope my girl (ey, I never intro her name before hor. She's Isabelle) will be incline to music. When she can sit properly unassisted I gonna start to teach her. Lol, told my hubby other enrichment classes can don't go but music lesson must go.

mummies who's trying to make bb poo, give more water and fruits. my gal who has had constipation problem since born, now poos regularly with lots of water & fruits everyday. my mum usually gives dragonfruit (can see all the little black seeds in her poo!), apple, kiwi or pear.

Ribena, yes leh. Babies grow very fast. Now my arms are quite firm cos keep carrying my darling Alexis[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sam, wow can form a "no-toys for us" club for our babies[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I love this name Isabelle, lovely name. Can call her Belle belle. All the Isabelle I know are all very pretty and smart[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alexis likes to play with her disposal diaper (when she is wearing it), she will use her finger nails to scratch the surface. Alamek, like that also can[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She likes her wash cloth, diaper cloth and our bedsheets(She will scratch it). I guess she is learning about texture now. Ha!! ha!!

Stefie

Hee, thanks. I do call her belle for short. Give her girly name but alamak, don't look and behave girly. Oh, when in the car cos we let her sit on our lap, she's so hyper and can't sit still, we hang a platic bag in front to let her kick. Sometimes got things inside even more excited. She loves it! Really like kampong kid. Wa, should let our babies meet and play tug of war with diaper cloth. Ha ha

dewdew, dragonfruits very good, especially the red one. Gwen can poop well, mommy super happy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really hoh, poop too much also worries, don't poop also worry[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sam, yes leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Maybe if our no. 2 is going to be girl, I will call her Isabelle also[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now belle still young is okay. No worries about about she don't look or behave like girl. She will eventually. Alexis also like that, like jumping beans or jumping monkey. It is good sign[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I like the idea of babies being a kampong kids, cos just simple thing already make them happy, last time no TV, electronics stuff, just simple, fly own made kites, catch drain fish, Zero-point, 5-stones, all these are Tong zhen leh. Wow play tug of war with diaper cloth, would be fun for them, funny for us. Ha!! ha!!

stefie & ribena: ya lah.. can hold hands liao. yes, i also wana get a push type walker for Chey later. think too early for me to get it for her now since she has yet show any interest in walking and capability to.

crystal: hope this is just a one off.. super sianz to be waking up every other hour and still have to report to work the next day.

debbie: some babies just doesnt like mashy stuff. Chey is also not into mashy stuff. she prefers gnawing on fruits in whole than the puree form.

side track a bit... i think you look so different from the first time i saw you leh. now you look so lady unlike the first time, you appeared like a teenager. not saying you look older but rather, with a lot of NU REN WEI now.

muddypaws: Liz is "quite" loyal wor. can hold all the way back. mine will not hold longer than 5 seconds.

lee: happy 6 months old to MingFeng.

i personally also prefer the normal kind of pumpkin. i dont really like the dense texture of the butternut pumpkin.

yes, once they are on solid, they will start experiencing pooing issue (for most). so just have to keep giving them water, diluated prune juice or preserved prune (just like Chey's case).

lovebyte: oh, this is good at least i can get now and then let Chey plays with the activity box first.

Thanks mummies for the concern... really have to monitor him...

I have no time to log in.. cuz im working from home and gotta attend to him.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyways, i have question on porridge.. But really not free to ask now.. will catch up with all of u...

Stefie/Sam

I love the name Isabelle, but a close friend named her daughter that liao. I also like Amelia, but SIL's daughter's name. Leah is the one we both love, it means cry baby, but so far, Leah's ok *touch wood! touch wood! touch wood!*

Eon/Stefie,

heh heh.. actually want to see now, if got discount, i get now. =D

hello mummies.. today stock take day.. drop in just for a while..

Yurieve.. you here?

My helper's co-agent has a helper wants to transfer, I'm not sure if you would like to consider? I'm not sure how this works, coz she was hired directly by her Filipino employer not through agent, and she has already repaid her loan.. came here like 8 months.. I can't recall why she wants to transfer though helper just told me about it this morning.. :-(

Seetron, I am not sure, I just wash, then use liao. To me as long as I wash off all the washing liquid can liao. If you are worried, then just pour some hot water over it, like that also considered sterilise bah.

Ribena, it is either Leah or Leia right[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Heng is Leah, if it is Princess Leia, then must put 2 donuts on her head liao. Ha!! ha!!! Ha!!! Our star wars jokes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eon Eon, wow you hands and legs very fast leh. It depends on what you want. The one Lovebytes suggested is good cos can take our the panels. The Playskool one can use it as their bike when they can walk. So maybe see how comfortable are you with the speed of the walkers[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The reviews at Amazon UK about the Vtech walker is quite good.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/VTech-First-Steps-Baby-Walker/dp/B0002MG6ZE

I still have few toys for Alexis in the box, may take out soon[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just in case you maybe interested[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PLAYSKOOL EXPLORE N’GROW BUSY BALL POPPER (from 9 months & Up)

http://www.hasbro.com/shop/details.cfm?guid=914499FA-6D40-1014-8BF0-9EFBF894F9D4&product_id=11457&src=endeca

PLAYSKOOL PLAY FAVORITES Stack & Nest Cubes (from 12 months and up)

http://www.hasbro.com/shop/details.cfm?guid=285A8B74-19B9-F369-D940-51BA4A9EEC49&product_id=25777&src=endeca

PLAYSKOOL PLAY FAVORITES Form Fitter (from 18 months and up)

http://www.hasbro.com/shop/details.cfm?guid=8EBE6EC8-6D40-1014-8BF0-9EFBF894F9D4&product_id=8598&src=endeca

Good Afternoon Mummies.. Hope u guys having a good lunch... Today is such a nice weather to slp in... But gotta work.. Sianzzzz

Crystal, thanks for the supplier contact... Will discuss with my mum n c how... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Samantha, Abt pears, we asked the PD ytd and he said for babies at this stage.. Give the 'Ang Mo' pear (Green) instead of the chinese ones... N apples is also one of the best for babies now... I like the name Isabelle too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eoneon.. haha... Mine also bo gay until i saw a little white ytd... So excited to c the 2 little pearlies coming out that i quickly called my mum to take her specs n c cos not very obvious... Also called my hub who's on reservist n told him... U can look out for it too cos it can appear anytime!

Ribena... Haha.. I still din let Clarissa crawl all over leh.. Cos we only mop the floor once a week n i find it dirty... :p That day i mopped n let Clarissa try crawling on the floor but i tin she's not used to the coldness n keep goin back to her playmat... lol... I used to be scared of that kind of doll when i small leh... Lol

I probably starting Clarissa on porridge soon too is she continues to reject her cereal.. Cos now i'm wonderin whether izzit she sian of cereal or teethin as jus saw her pearlies ytd.. She's comin to 7 months this sun... Mi lazy mum la, actualli wanna drag till 8 months then start but maybe cannot drag liao.. haha

Oshgosh... Hope ur new maid will be good so at least u have an ease of mind when a t work...

Mummies, jus brought my ger for 6-in-1 jab ytd and her weight n height got very nice numbers... 7770g at 70cm... Hahaha... But i haven buy any lottery yet.. :p My PD said my ger considered tall for a 6months+.. N she keep screamin or talkin inside his room till he shake head cos he said my ger got gd lung power as she got loud voice.. Haha.. dunnoe to laugh or headache lo...

Later will need to do groceries shopping cos gotta stock up my BB stuff like laundry detergent etc... Btw mummies, NTUC is havin some offers on BB stuff right now...

muddypaws - i also just brot my ger to the PD ytd.. she has been pooing bout 6 times a day.. its mild stomach flu for her case cos not all poops are watery.. mostly pasty n dry but in 'instalments' :S he gave probiotics too, 5drops a day.. my ger also cries each time she needs to change diaper.. heart ache.. i rushed out to buy desitin for her red butt but im using the blue one.and tis morn, the butt was much better.. hope our kids get well soon!

eon,

re-pumpkin.

I usually buy organic one for now.

And spinach too,due to the pesticide.

Apple too has to be dip in hotwater for a while before giving to kids, as theres is a layer of pesticide and wax on them and even washing is not effective.

no2 now is taking basically 5grains rice, brown rice, pureed with whatever roots vegs,vegs,but no meat till 7mths plus.

oshgosh,

hopefully your new maid will be good.headache changing maid all the time.

does any mums still experience bloatedness ,indigestion mths after giving birth?

i still do, and i get full easily and my stomach will bloat so quickly even after like 6,7spoon of porridge or noodles.

I am gong to a specialist today,as ever since no2 arrives, i had 3gastric attack and occasionally slugish bowel movement and bloatedness on off.

sigh.

Pauline, poor mine, that must be the stupid super car owner's fault. Some more he and his female passenger is fine. Hope the guilt is enough to eat him up for the rest of his life. Pig driver, rich so what, it doesn't mean that can do such a damage to a person life. Heng the baby is fine. Angry......

stefie - i got the ball popper too, its a vy nice and interesting toy to me.. haha hope my ger likes it,yet to open it for her! also got the FP crawler ball to encourage her to crawl but so far, shes stil in reverse gear! crawls backwards instead of forward hee... and to keep her occupied and my caregivers more 'free' time, i have quite a number of props at home.. they will place her in exersaucer -> jumperoo -> hi-chair ->bumbo ->playmat.. when all fails, its the traditional way of baobao n gaigai liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re:push walker

FP has got a simple model for $39.90 which is good enuf for learning to walk.. its mostly on sale at major shopping malls... i got it as a gift for her full mth.. and for my elder ger, wat we did was use masking tape to tape ard the wheels so that it doesnt go too fast.. scared she will fall flat on her face if she pushes it abit too hard...

oshgosh - hope ur new maid will b suitable for ur family.. maid issues are nv ending.. and i hate dealing wf them too, used to stir alot of trouble btw me, my hb and my inlaws...

pauline, i roughly read that news in the papers recently. i always find it's so sad that such things happen... totally innocent ppl getting injured just cos of someone else's negligence. it's so difficult to accept that the woman will be paralysed for life and not able to hold her baby at all, just cause of the stupid driver. stefie, i also hope he'll be ridden with guilt for life, and that the lawyers will win the case agst him and get a whole load of money for the affect family. how to support a family of 4 with just 1 income, with the wife needing special care? haiz... 4 lives changed just like that.

Stefie, kampong kid/bb good! No TV, no handheld games, just enjoy the company of other kids, using their creative imagination playing 'pretend'.... Sometimes I feel the kids nowadays are overdosed with media and games, they lost the fun of being a kiddo, running ard bare footed, fall down and bleed, etc. Where are all the fun!!

Stefie, hahaah! Donuts!!

Lena, I don't like rubber baby doll, esp those kind with eyelids that can close and open ones.. EEK! Give me nightmares.

Yah.. actually Leah used her hands to feel the floor first before she crawl on it, she seldom crawl on bare floor...

dewdew/stefie/pauline

ah... so sad. Every day I return home from work, the first thing I want is to hold Leah. I cannot imagine how she cope with it.

maid just texted me saying that liz pooped twice just now, total of 6 times since 3am! The poo is not explosive, just drips and dribbles. Just called my PD and he says to bring a stool sample down for testing.

Debbie, hoho, I'm queen of dealing with overflowing POO! Coz my boy, even before eating solids, pooed once every 3-4 days.. So when he poo it's usually overflowing! Depending on his position, it can overflow to his tummy or his back! Anw he's perfectly happy, doesn't look constipated at all, so I shall just let him be.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dewdew, oh... Fruits and water do wonders!! Right after posting that my boy hasn't pooed for 4 days, I went to feed him banana and forced him to drink a bit of water from his sippy cup (I had to stuff it to his mouth, the past few times I tried to let him drink from his sippy cup, he just kept throwing it on the floor).. And one hour later, POO!!! Yeah!!

My friend tells me spinach helped her boy poo... Shall try to feed my boy spinach after he finishes the pumpkin in the freezer.. wonder whether to be kiasu and buy organic or not... hehe...

Pauline, I read the news too! Almost cried.. This kind of news makes me very emo... Too sad le... Life is so unfair!! Poor hardworking mummy (8 months pregnant still working until so late leh!) kena paralysed and cannot hug her baby... And what happens to the idiotic Lambo driver?? Damn him lah.. Dunno how to drive Lambo don't drive Lambo lah! Seriously, how fast was he going man? Midnight driving in a Lambo, whole bonnet crushed, must be very fast lah! Idiot.. This reminds me of last time, got the stoopid guy who went for test drive in I forgot which sports car, crashed and got the car agent killed.. And totally not repentent.. Sheesh!! Make me angry! REPENT REPENT!

dew: Even tho Liz is still happily playing with her toys, I am very worried about her condition. Maid is giving her porridge water to drink. Fingers crossed she's ok...

Lena, number so nice! Must buy 4D! That day my MIL dreamt of hb's late grandma carrying my baby, so she went to buy 4D with hb's grandma's death year (2007) combined with baby's birth year (2010).. She bought 0710.. In the end open 0711, third prize some more!! I told my MIL, she forgot my boy was supposed to be 2011 baby, accidentally squirmed out early become 2010 baby, if not she win big bucks liao!