(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

hi mommies, anyone here using nuk teats? im feedibg baby e 0-6 months teats size 2 which i jus upgraded last wk. now shes fussing again. bottlefeeding her is so stressful! i punched a bigger hole still dun work. wat size teats r u babies using?

re: weight loss

i jus checked last nite.. i Already loss my pregnancy weight, all 14 kg gone! must b bf coz ive been eating rice n fastfood.. hehe but got 6kg more to lose to wedding weight liao..

mommies, is it true if baby is well fed during e day, they sleep better n longer at nite? hubby n i experimenting to bottlefeed her during e day n c if we need to increase her intake coz i used to tbf so dunno how much baby is drinking n shes still having probs sleeping at nite

marissa> I breastfeed also difficult to lose weight. Must be becoz my hubby relatives cooks lots of good food for us. hehe..

Even when I eat less rice she asked why eat so little when u breastfeed..

Re: weight loss

I put on 15kg n still got 7.5kg more lor. Still look damn fat n cannot squeeze into my pre-preggy clothes. Damn sad. I have a wedding coming up in Jan 11. -.o"

Hi Marrissa,

I am using NUK, and giving baby the teats for Large feed. Tried the Small and Medium, both bb reject, so currently using Large feed teats. So far ok.

groovy, i lost 11kg within 2 wks give birth coz i dun take carbo.. only take soups. milo n horlicks..'hehe

teoong, thanks! are u using the normal silicon teat? im assuming large is size 3 issit? i din buy size 3 coz the lady told me its for feeding cereal. anyway i jus made e opening of babys existing teat slightly bigger AGAIN. seems to b less fussy but a lot of milk flowing down her chin, like she wasting at least 5-10ml of my milk

Hi Mummies ... I've got a question on teats ... I have been using Avent Bottles and teats ... and my Boy actually gulps his milk really quickly .... thinking of changing to Nuk ... Can Nuk teats fit into Avent bottles?

Cherry, I'm ordering tingkat from empire food, so far I find the food quite ok, like homecooked (maybe i'm not the fussy type, got food jus eat lor). I do not know if they have trial or not, but the good thing is that they serve 1pax, unlike some of the others minimum is 2pax for tingkat. You might want to take a look at this site. Hope this helps.

http://www.empirefood.com.sg/

Marrissa, I am using both latex and silicon. But latex cannot sterilize and reuse for many times, so I got the silicon one. Ya, i think is size 3, cos i tried the other sizes and find baby drinking very slow.

Vivian, I don't think NUK teats can fit into AVENT bottle, cos they are different sizes teats.

My baby refused to finish her milk in the bottle!

give her 100ml she'll finish 50ml

give her 60ml she'll finish 30ml

give her 20ml then she'll finish all...

sigh..dunno wat s the problem....UNTIL i found out lately!!SHE ONLY WANT MY HB TO FEED HER!!WAHAHAHHAHAHHAAHAHAAHAH

GOODZZZ!!!!I CAN SLEEP AT NIGHT NOW...wahaha.....

give her 150ml oso she finish..so long HB is the one that feed her..

if im the one that feed her,she'll struggle nad clammed up her lips!!notty notty meghan!!

heheheheh.....

she just wanna latch if its me that carry her..kekeke......what a JOKE!!

Princess, Meghan really knows how to choose wor. Heehee.. Good also. She wants you to have a good rest at night la, so daytime can have all your attention! Night time choose daddy lor! Muahaha..

Princess d, I read somewhere it's better for someone else to feed baby with bottle so they won't have nipple confusion since they know mum is breastfeed, others bottle. Hehe

teoong, what's the portion for empirefood tingkat like?

princess, so u seeing Dr Gong on Mon for Meghan's 6in1? She would be fine... Lucas' fever is gone but not his fussiness/crankiness. grrrr.... would you be doing the rotavirus as well?

wow...meghan is so filial! Want mummy to rest! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess_d, smart meghan! sofea also will fuss more when i try to bottlefeed her. other ppl bottlefeed her no prob

tbf mommies, how do u know yr babies r feeding enuf? when i pump each breast can get 70ml but im wondering how much actually my baby is sucking frm e breast? today i bottlefeed sofea n true enuf as suspected her intake is now 90ml, up from usual 70ml. all these while shes a one breasted baby n she would fall asleep or refuse when i try to switch her to my other breast. i thot babies r smart enuf to cry for more milk?

Mummies n daddy,

Does ur baby have heat rash or I also dunno wat on their faces n neck area?

My boy has got some pimple liked thing on the face, neck n back leh. Got cream from PD to apply but still got leh. Wonder if it's dirty or he's heaty or wat.

Xin2,

My baby also has pimple like bump on her face n neck. Her neck is worse. I ask my PD she said is common put some moisiturer but till now there seem to hv more at the neck. I think is dirt and rash that cause these. I also dunno how to cure. Haizz

Hi Marissa> I read somewhere that the baby is smart enough to know how much they need..

Mine also single breast but she drinks every 2 hours. Same like you, she'll refuse other breast even though eye opened. I don't dare to force afraid will vomit.. But most of the time she dozed off after she finished 1 breast.

When my breast feels slight engorged, I can pump 80 ml+ milk (I never pump until fully empty, too lazy to wait when the flow is slow already).

But when bottle feed Josie, she always drink 50 ml before doze off, so I really don't know how much she takes.

But I truly believes baby is the best pump, so maybe you can out 70 ml using breast pump, but in the actual she drink 90 ml when she latch..

Marissa,

Do you take meat n fish? I also try to avoid carbo but my mum always cook so much meat, chicken n fish lor.

Xin,

My bb also got pimples on face. But I dun think need to worry. I never do anything about them.

Groovy,

Hi 5! I also duno how much baby drinks. When I express, I can get 120ml 3 hrly but bb sometimes latch 1 side them slp. But he seems to be putting on weight plus peeing n pooing well, so I just leave it. When we gif him ebm, he doesn't seem to drink a lot, he prefer to latch.

Ladies who r on ebm

How often do u pump out a day?? I assume that when the bb latches on 1 side, you will pump out the milk fr e other breast??

I'm trying to pump out some milk so as to store them. But e breast that e bb latches on seems to b emptied so I will pump out fr e other breast.

How often do we need to sterilize e parts of e pump?? Is it after every pump??

Emmie

Yes,going to Dr Gong's clinic this MOn!Tel you honestly,i leave everything to him..if he ask me to take this i 'll take..i remember for JAde..she took all the jabs even Chicken pox!lol

Lucas had his jab at his clinic as well???

Teeong,Marrissa,Groovy

Yea..Meghan's ROOOOCCCKKK!!!hahhaha

GOood girl!!!

My HB was so proud just now....

Me: arrghhh...this girl refused to drink....

(meghan struggled and turn her head away)

maybe she needs a changed on the teat?

HB: no la..when i fed her..she was ok!

Me: u see??she just refused!!

Hb: come let me feed...

HB took over and Meghan finally drink!

HB so proud he just....pssttt..see??i can do it w/o any struggling ...how?champs onot?i got magic hands le...

me:Don't be too proud!!

Hb:come on..look at her...she is finishing her 150ml.....!!!Smiling and giving me that kind (you damn lousy) look!!!

Me: U don be too proud..this shows that i no longer need ot wake up for night feed ,dude!!THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

Hb:STARE AT ME WITH HIS EYES WIDE OPEN!!!GULP!!!

Me:wahahahahhahaha..!Best!!So hoa lian!

BTH him..damn funny just now..

groovy,anyway...those bf babies can smell their mommies as far as 1M away...thats y i dare not sleep with her in the same room!They will aske n ask and ask for more!I experienced b4 and its enough for me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]lolx

Me brought JAde for a swim just now and that lil girl was so happy and chirpy makes me felt so guilty for not having much time with her...tomorrow and Sun bringing her for a party and MOn Her teacher invited us to n early christmas celebration at school!

AND Night IM GOING FOR A ALL GIRLS NIGHT OUT!!Let the man settle the girls la...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Destitonia: petal messager is gd but so

Far only seen 1 size.

Marissa: 15 min before a feed pump n see how much u get. Example u pump 50 mls baby will be drinking roughly ard 85 mls or 1 oz more. Their sucking is much more effective than a pump. So dun worry abt bb not having enough.

Starry

I can wear back my wedding band when bb about 1mth old.

Vivian

Nuk teats cant fit into Avent bottles, the teat size is different. Why dont u change your avent teat to a smaller hole size teat?

Princess D

Wahaha!! Your HB damn funny leh!

Im same like u having this guilty feel for not having much time with my boy...especially now he is in teething stage his upper and lower first molar teeth is cutting out now, he is in pain that affect his feeding, nowadays when he's asleep he will wake up suddenly crying which he usually dont..

Sometimes heard him crying when breastfeeding Lujayne, although MIL was around but i wanted so much to hug him but couldnt that was the time am feeling so so so guilty. So now whenever im done with Lujayne i will try to spend as much time with him..

Luckily Lujayne is good girl, quite easy to handle dont fuss much and her routine more or less is there. Its not easy though cos i have to adjust both siblings timing, my boy sleeps abt 8pm and he needs me to pat him to sleep so i have to avoid this timing for Lujayne's feeding time. Its so tiring to jagger between both..

Teoong,

I tried cloth diapers on my baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not bumwear though cos I came across some negative reviews on them and they are not any cheaper compared to those US brands.

So far I tried happy heinys,bumgenius and blueberry (cute designs)! They hold up well,similar to disposables and my mil dun mind using them. You can try www.babiesgrowup.com to get them.think they have promo prices on happy heinys ($28 each) and bumgenius (buy 5 get 1 free). Mamy Poko N buggies are digging a big hole in my pocket!!!

Stella

I'm not sure if tommee tippee pacifier is good or not but apparently too hard or what to suck.. My boy can't find comfort until we gave him the NUK one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe u can try changing... But NUK the pacifier like very short or what.. Will leave a slight mark on my boy's cheeks leh...

Re: NUK latex and silicon teats

Mummies using NUK teats... Got diff ah?!? Mine is the yellow one and I presume it's latex... Cannot keep sterilizing!??? Shucks I duno abt it leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so must change to silicon type?

Re: weight loss

I gained 10kg during pregnancy and now I've 2kg more to go... Still waiting for my tummy to disappear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and until now I can't wear my wedding ring... Wonder if it's permanent that my fingers are fat Liao!!! Hahahaha

Princess

Your hb super funny!!!

Btw... I survived one day without CL... Phew... Now hope I will survive the night feeds [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irish

hahah..my Hb very hao lian!served him right...anyway..he has been up doing all the night feeds whenever he is around la..only when he is not around..im all by myself[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I felt it esp wheni came back from hospital actually...sigh...its been months i ve not carry her and finally i did..she weighed so much that i can hardly lift her up!I keep her occupied with many activities at home like coloring ,flash cards and stickers (her fav) and thought it would be good but unfortunately i don't think that's enough for her...sometimes when she sees that im feeding meghan,she will quickly go to her room and grab me a hanky...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]she s getting more n more sensible but to me she is growing too fast...

So far Meghan has got a routine just like Lujayne.so whenever settled with Meghan i will spent my time with her adn b4 8.30pm will hug her to sleep...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]she felt much comfortable like dat...

Today,after so long..i initiated to bring her for a swim...she was so happy..jumping around...taking her own floats and goggles,getting ready and rushed me...when we were at the pool...awww..the lil girl was so chirpy and happy...i just felt a lil guilty...she came back with a loud voice telling her dad..PAPA, JADE is very happy today!!!...really not easy handling kids at home and have to be sensitive towards their needs...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Jia you together!!!

Shin

My HB very silly la...sometimes want to hao lian but then he always ended up getting himself into trouble..wahahahhahaah!!

gd morning mummies,

ivy n emma,

thank you for sharing on e tingkat.

jac n mummies,

ring cannot fit, how about time to ask for a new carat diamond ring?!?!?! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess,

meghan is good girl ley, bully daddy n adores mummy. talk about kiddos, i also quite guilty so yesterday evening brought my kiddos for a swim.. they r overwhelm n they ZZZ at 10pm!! haha.. I still havent brought my girl for ear piercing ley..

yesterday went orchard shopping.. whoa, e jingle bells r ringing!!!xmas is coming..

princess, didn;t go to Dr Gong for the 6in1 cos too far for me...but trying to follow his schedule since the initial jabs were given based on his instructions. Let me know when the next dose will be? The paed Lucas is seeing now says to go back at 4mths for the 5in1 instead. So I'm alittle confused. For my elder boy, I gave the chicken pox as well...but only when he started going to sch at almost 3YO. I rem the paed always nag at me abt it whenever we go see him :p But I'm wondering abt the rotavirus cos it's an oral dose and can cause diarrhea.

teoong, empire food allow trial! for 10 days but must pay $5 admin fee

cherry> in which age and where will you bring your girl for ear piercing? I also want to do for josie, perhaps when she's 1 or 2 years old. hm..

Last time I got ear piercing right after birth leh.. In Indonesia that's the practice, the gynea will asked whether want to do ear piercing right after birth..

Syann: I try to express 3-4 hourly but my bb is so unpredictable that usually end up 5-6 hourly. He also only latches on 1 side. I will pump both sides aft feeding to make sure both quite empty. I sterilize aft every pump coz the parts come into contact w milk so easily breeds bacteria, same theory as sterilizing bottles. It's troublesome n uses alot of water n electricity but no choice 

teoong. thks! yest hubby bought the nuk L size teats.. hmm but the milk overflowing her mouth. i tink she waste abt 10ml qt every feed. now im even more confused! M teats she struggle, im assuming she its a bit slow for her. now L teats milk overflowing her mouth.. n she still struggle..how?? does she jus want my breast?? or shall i try other brands? can anyone recommend a gd brand teat besides NUk pls, thks

zuen, i eat fish n all other meat. jus cut out rice, noodles n bread.

princess_d i also had a girls nite out last wk!! had a bachelorette party but i brought sofea along coz my gfs all wanna c her. n we booked a suite wif 2 attached rooms so hubby came too n he looked after n feed sofea in e other rm while we girls had fun in e other rm.. khekehrer!

For those who TBF, do u wear bra at hm? Then wat top u wear? I dont wear at hm but wen latch 1 side, the other side leak leh. Then how?

Really wanna be able to latch bb well. But finding it so difficult sometimes.

Nycmum ok I try later ;)

Stella thks for the info

Mummies when we sick will affect milk supply? My bb discharged yesterday. Me coughing and flu while in hospital. My supply seemed to have dropped low low low. The last pump only yielded 30 ml, usually can get 60-90ml.

Spent almost a week in hospital, reduced my confinement time at home. Tmr bb full mth party = end of confinement Liao hehe

Marrisa,

nuk bottles

there are 2 diff diameter nuk bottles, from wat I know. One is the narrower, presume it's called std, the other wider, presume it's called wide neck. When u look at e nuk bottle label, it's stated clearly; think wide neck is e newer product

xin,

bb pimples

my boy also has lots of 'pimples' on e cheeks. I clean his face with water and apply moisturiser- twice a day after bath. Has since cleared alot. U may want to try. Moisturiser- I am using seba med bb face cream

diaper rash cream

anyone using desitin creamy- seen alot of bulk purchase organized- it is very good? Any feedback

chemical hair treatment

most mummies would finish their confinement soon, anyone planning to do chemical hair treatment- colouring, perming, rebonding?

If we are feeding our breastmilk to bb, wat do we need to observe?

Marrisa, didn't read e posts above. My boy is using size 1 teat medium for nuk bottle. For e teats- come in s, m and L which is for water, milk and thick fluid respectively, from wat I know. Size 1 is for bb - 0-6mth old

Woof, I have been using desitin for my elder boy until now. Very gd. Started with cannot remember wat brand, given by tmc three years ago then my boy had diaper rash, seen doc, recommend to use desitin, still remember buy fr doc is $12+ for 2oz tube, super ex. Eversince then no issue with diaper rash (;

Xin,

I wear bra all the time. I scare will sag lah. Hoho. I used to use milk shell but found it troublesome. Now when I latch, I apply pressure on other nipple and this will stop the milk from leaking.

Woof,

Desitiny is good. I used that on my dd.

Zuen:

Haha. Wun sag la. The nursing bras I bot all too small leh. That time went to buy before giving birth. Super regret nw cos breast bigger than the bra leh. Though already bot bigger size bug still can't fit.

Can't go out nw so can't buy new ones yet. Just making do with the most suitable one for now. Bu-hu.

Actually I think the size of my breasts n my built now not match. Quite thin now Liao but breasts look quite big. Funny leh. Haha. But hb like. Haha.

Xin: mayb u get those nursing tops with support? Mothercare sells them. Gives u abit of support n can use breast pads to soak up leakage? Quite comfy too. I wear them otherwise I wear normal tube bras without wire. Comfy n convenient. Jus pull up to feed. If wearing bra usually under a normal t-shirt or tank top

groovy, syann, stella thks for e advice. really hope baby is bf more than wat i pumped.

woofwoof, i tried M and L size Nuk teats on baby. M size she fuss n cry. L size e milk overflowing her mouth. wat seems to b working now is i poke another hole on e other side of e M teat. so e teat got 2 holes dripping n baby drinks well. but dunno if she shd drink from a self modified teat. wondering if i shd try other brands.

xin2 i dun wear nursing bra during e day coz i pump one side when baby is latching e other, so far no leaking. only nite time i wear bra wif pad coz baby sleeps abt 5 hrs at nite straight. boobs become engorged n leak.