(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Marissa & Bblin, mayb u can try expressing jus before u go out? Then bring 1 warmed ebm for first feed that last abt an hour den the fresh ebm can last 4 hours at rm temp?

Me jus came back frm kkh. Thankfully bb lungs r clear but apparently all this time he's been having some kind of virus causing the nose n throat prob. Doc says bb too young to confirm it's a sensitive nose only aft 1 yr can tell. Now I doubt the pd. They tried to suck out the mucus n phlegm but nothing much came out, seems to be e dry kind. Got nose drops n doc said give a little water aft feed to loosen e phlegm... Hope he recovers w e med.

Marrissa, I do the same too!! Sometimes I feel like I'm bringing the whole house with me! I bring a thermal mug, you??

just a quick glance at the posts... No time to read sia.. Baby sleeping in my arms now...

Jac

Yah endure lor! But at least my hb is making more effort now.. When we quarrel, imme after tat he apologize and say we'll solve the prob tgt lor..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm gonna set a routine and everyone must follow the timing.. I don't care!!

Ann

When I Reno my house, I didn't think I would have a baby... So his rm now was my study room actually... And the door is like those translucent door so cannot lock [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] no choice got to bear with it until we make it vv clear to family members what's the expectations...

mummies, I've 2 issues I need some advise

Re: bottle teats..

Initially my boy drink vv slowly so I changed the teats to bigger flow and he drinks well... Then now he's starting to drink vv slowly again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] yet when he's drinking, milk also overflow out from his mouth.. Which means the teats are big enough that's why those milk flow from his mouth right???

So.. Am I using the right teats??

Re:feeding

My boy has weird drinking pattern.. First 5-10mins he can finish like 90ml... Then the final 30ml he can take 45mins to finish!!!! Just this week, he starts o vomit out milk after feed.. Immediately that kind.. My nanny keep telling me it's normal.. Isit true??? My heart pain seeing the milk coming out even thru the nose!! Hais... I'm feeding him 120ml now.. Am I overfeeding?? In the past I give 90ml,100ml then everytime he cries for milk after 2 hrs.. So we increased to 120ml... Initially he has no probs finishing the milk.. But now this vomiting issue comes in... What's wrong with my boy???

I just fed him and after 90ml he dowan drink and I don't dare force him Liao...

Can someone kindly advise me? What's the prob here? Isit possible to prevent such vomiting issues?

Thanks in advance!!!

bblin,

Not sure if all babies know how to slp on tummy. Maybe some don't like? Jadelyn lasted only an hour! Thought can at least slp 2.5hrs. Tmr try again.

Re: milk when out with baby

When I was out for more than 8hrs the other day, I brought out fm instead of ebm. As I was afraid she may get fussy outside and refuse to finish then really super wasted. Then with fm also easier, no need to worry about spoilage. Only during later part of the day when we were in the car then I let her latch on. Actually mummies feeding ebm can bring out cold ones in cooler bag (those with freeze pack inside like medela's). And I'm sure u can ask for hot water and a cup outside to heat up milk. Pack properly then no need to bring whole house out. Heh heh!!

Re: growth spurt

Need advice here. My girl usually drinks 110-115ml. Suddenly she's drinking 160ml just now. Got growth spurt like that one meh? Such great increase??

Shin

The teats might not be suitable for your boy as he can't hold and control the flow..maybe you might wanna changed back the teats....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sometimes when they fret and struggle during feeding might not be the flow..it could be something else...just monitor k.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vomiting is not very common if you are talking about Merlion type!

Spit out is very common!

Some babies have reflux and many PD will advise to feed the bb a small amount but in a shorter interval..burp the baby regularly[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HOwever some does acid in the tummy where meds are require...

If every feeds he reacts the same,maybe you wanna make a trip down to the PD and get some advise[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bringing EBM out..

store the EBM in a cup/milk btls and in a chiller bag with ice packs in it!This is to ensure the EBM are properly chilled!

1 termos flask with hot water!(good flask can last hot water at least for 8hrs!)

And a hot cup...to warm up the milk....

Starry

If she is drinking,sleeping and pooing well..that should be okay!!the 160ml is Fm or EBM?

Bringing ebm out

I tried once to bring ebm out 1 fresh feed the rest w ice packs then wen used up latch on. I go out w bb got full battle pack, so will even bring 1 spare feed of fm coz kena once already. Initially wana drink milk then halfway fell asleep wake up 11/2 hrs later ask again n again nvr finish. End up hv to buy a whole tin of fm! Now I go out prepared. Count the estimated hrs n bring backup feed. Hehe I know I'm kiasi but a screaming bb in public is no joke!

Re: Bringing ebm out

I used to bring chilled out in cooler bags too and asked for cup + hot water from kopitiam to warm up ebm. Very ma fan so hoping that I can total latch on for no 2. I haven brought no 2 out yet, suddenly I m worried that I Dun hv enuff bm when I m out with bb. Haha.

Marrissa,

i mean fresh ebm.. whoops do not know that can keep up to 4 hrs outside!! heehee..

Shin,

I see... Hope ur in laws will understand soon.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

regarding milk,

can it be that the 120ml is during growth spurt? now that it is over he drinks 90 ml again?

Starry

Yes thats right, Max 6K + 4K from ah gong [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

is it When u fed him 90ml he drinks well with the bigger flow but not for 120ml? sometime when bb is full they will slow down and milk will overflow out from mouth.

I think u have overfed your boy, he is not ready to drink 120ml yet, its normal for bb to cry milk every 2hrs cos bb has a very small stomach thats why need more feeding frequency, u may wanna stick to 90ml now and slowly increase by 10ml later on see if he is able to take it?

princess d/ann

Thanks for reply!!

The prob is even with the old teats, with smaller hole, slower flow, the milk also flowing out from mouth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] duno why.. Until I changed to this teats.. Still like that so I'm confused even thou he drinks better now..

He vomit like merlion lor!

So just now I gave 100ml cos I scared... End up within half an hour he looking for milk again then I gave him another 30ml... Why so weird??

In the day, 120ml he struggle to finish... At night, he keep wanting milk before sleeping.. Then abt 3+am and 5+am feed

he will take vv long to finish again... You see like now he's crying and mouth looking for food.. Reject pacifier and I just gave him another 30ml...

This is damn weird! So hard to know his feeding pattern all of a sudden.. Only this week I've this prob... Any reasons why so?? And so far he hasn't puke again... Luckily...

Irish

Yah I also thought I'm overfeeding him... So I make lesser for him... Then everytime abt 9pm feed, he doesn't seem to have enough! I gave him 100ml at 830pm, 30ml at 9pm and another 30ml at 10pm and finally he stopped crying.. So does this mean I've to do like what princess says? Feed less, shorter interval?? So how much shld I be giving him every feed now? Really pull my hair man!

irish,

thank you so much for the information!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

160ml both fm and ebm! sudden increase of 40-50ml leh. today only. and just nice, i enlarged the opening of her bottle teat. wonder if that's the cause?? i tried to give her 120ml ebm just now but she kept crying for more, so gave another 40ml then she satisfied..

shin,

i think it's more or less trial and error from here on to find how much to give your boy and how frequent. from what you mentioned, your baby needed 160ml from 8.30pm to 10pm. so maybe can try giving him 80ml at 8.30pm and another 80ml at 9.30pm see how that works out?

SHin

Normal feeding time taken should be less than 15min, if feeding time more than 15min should change to a bigger teat hole.

Overfeeding may leads to merlion vomit. Are u feeding him every 2hrs? From his feeding pattern u may wanna try 90ml in the day and give him 100ml for 8.30pm and 10pm feeds?

jac/Irish

Yah think I've to try and try and see what's his pattern.. Will try out what u all suggest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] he's finally asleep now.. Poor CL "battled" with him for 3hrs.. Friday onwards my turn to wrestle with him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm feeding him every 3hrs... Actually his feeding time always drags to 45mins.. At times he takes 15mins.. Most of time abt 30mins.. Can be as long as 1hour!!!! So eg: 330pm i feed... Abt 415pm he finish.. So the next feeding time is 630pm?? Usually I try to drag till 7pm cos he finish milk at 415pm mah... But he cannot wait!!! At 6+ he will start asking for milk so I feed lor..

I'll try give lesser in the day and monitor again if he cries for more..

Thank u mummies for replies and listening to my rants.. Or I think I duno what to do!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] CL keeps telling me it's normal, vomit liao feed again! Aiyoohh.. And say he will reach a point where they will stop vomiting..

hahaha... Believe it or not... Just when i thought he has slept, he fussed again when we put him into bed.. Fuss fuss until 1130pm, CL buay tahan... Gave him another 90ml and he finished it in 15mins!!! And totally concussed mode now... Amazing appetite

anyone heard of having babies freunulum (the line under the tongue) cut? today went to the doc and he suddenly mentioned it. say better now than when he is bigger.

Shin,

Maybe growth spurt? Monitor again tmr bah.

Loca,

Nv heard of cutting the line under baby's tongue. Why have to cut?

Are babies prone to be fussy after getting a jab? My dd seems to be harder to please these 2 days after her Hep B jab yesterday. Actually at night after milk she can fall aslp quite easily, but these 2 nights eyes big big then wanna be put in yao lan. Haiyo.. But once in yao lan she can slp so well! Up to 5.5hrs! Dunno whether to be happy or sad...

Shin - *hugs* , the MIL and DIL issue is never easy to deal with, i hope all will be over soon for you, just continue to do what u deem best for your child...

I really wonder how u mummies can find time to login to the forum...i've been overwhemled taking care of eldrick alone, he wakes up at 5 plus or 6 early in the morning and most of the times refuse to sleep after that. The wrestle to put him to sleep can last till late afternoon. If i am lucky, he will sleep for 1/2hr to 1 hr where i can quickly pump milk , otherwise it is entertaining him all the way. He use to drink 90ml but now when we give him 90 ml or more, he will only drink half of it...sometimes can take half an hour or more to finish the milk...and for night feeds, he wake up every 2 hrs but onlly drink 50-70ml (again half of the quantity he use to drink), i wonder why this is happening?

For mummies who have set a routine for their babies, how do i start?

cyn,

Nv easy to take care of a baby. I'm having my mum to help me 20% of the time so not too bad. But now trying to 'wean' myself off her help also as really wanna move back home le. Miss our own home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Routine wise more or less have but in between feedings sometimes can go a bit off, esp when dd starts fussing. You can start with morning bathing timing and evening wipe down timing. Then in between can fine tune. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia you yah?

Abt Eldrick's feed, maybe it's time to change the bottle teat! Try and see if it helps. I enlarged Jadelyn's bottle teat opening yesterday and she's drinking more at a faster rate.

@loca: If your baby is latching on fine, then there's no need to get the freunulum cut.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Din get to sleep after 530am feed. After his fm feed, i went pumping. Till almost 7am. Now taking breakfast. No point going sleep as bb will be waking up around 830am. He very zhun de. Aiyo... Today i'm going my mum's plc in the noon. Getting her to take care of Denzel while i can catch some sleep!

Thanks all for the replies on bringing EBM out. Yesterday before i can do that, he cried for milk. Haha...gave him the ebm straight away instead of putting into the thermal flask!

I nv heard of freunulum and feel so scary about cutting the tongue. Aiyo why must do that?

@syann: You can make burdock soup for her. It helps to clear the toxins and stuff from her body. You can get burdock from NTUC.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gd morning

Reflux

Caelan is hving it, brought him to pd yest and was given medicine. Cos he always cries aft vomitting & spitting. On tue, he vomit immediately aft feed (watery) and spit (digested milk) an hour later. It happen for every feed. Dr gave medi for vomit & to strenghten the muscle to hold the milk. Dr say reflux usually happens bet 4 to 6 wks

Due to reflux he has bn crying more and hv difficulties sleeping.

stella, thanks for e tips! i din know fresh ebm can last dat long outside. so 4hrs is for spore weather? hope yr baby will be better on e meds ya!

suwaiwai. ya lor i nowadays walk ard wif a huge bag! cooler bag, flask, mug, diapers, wipes, changing mat n xtra clothes in case baby soiled e one shes wearing

Starry,

After hep b jab my gal also become cranky, refuses to sleep on her own, cries even when carried unlike before. I asked sis n mom n they said this can happen after jabs as bb feel uncomfy with the virus in them but will improve in 2 days to even a week. Only way is to soothe them with cuddles n singing. Now I super zombified loh :/

Marrisa n shin,

Sorry for misuse of words, what I meant was spitting out of milk after 1 to 2 hrs of feeding is normal (something like a a stream of milk flowing out fr mouth) while Merlion vomiting type is not, like wat princess said. My gal used to merlion after feed, sometimes even before I burp her. Wat I did was when she sucks to fast n too vigorously, I will tell her to "relax" n gently pull out the bottle n give her a few seconds to catch her breath n for the milk to go down. I will gently pat her chest n tell her to "tun" her milk as a cue for her. On top of that, after she drinks half of her milk n seemed more satisfied, I will burp her before giving her the other half after which I will burp her again. After all that, I hold her semi upright for 20 to 30 mins before lying her on her bed. Her merlion issue has since resolved.

Shin, not sure if it will work but I believe our bb merlion becoze they just drink too fast sch that milk cannot move down their digestive tract in time.

Marrisa, I envy u can tbf [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cyn,

Same here, not easy to put them on routine Loh. I started by observing when bb sleeps the best n work feedin, activity, bathing time around it. Say if bb can sleep better in late morning n afternoon, bath bb in the morning to start day fresh, feed bb, let her rest upright for a while n coax bb to sleep. Not easy to coax but one step at a time. When thru starle, coax them again n hopefully as they grow older, they startle less n can sleep longer. Around noon time, feed again, then have dome activity time like singing n talking to bb. During day time n activity time, keep room bright with day light, turn on tv to give them cue it's day time. Of course when they nap in day time, turn off tv but still keep daylight in the room such that they can diff between day n night. Com nit e time when u want them to sleep, give them a new cue such as always play the same light music, sponge time or say the same sing. Turn off lights n coax them to sleep. When u wake them for nite feeds n change diaper, don't stimulate them, do it quietly. I am still trying. Jia you n don't be disheartened when it's not smooth as u wish. Slowly slowly yah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning mommies! i almost died last nite! baby refused to sleep n woke up every hr to feed from 7pm to 4am!! can die or not?? at 1st i thot it was my fault coz during e day i let baby sleep on chest n she napped well. then after a few feeds hubby thot maybe i dun haf enuf bm so we switchex to bottle (thank god i had spare ebm!) still shes asking for more!

i was desperate n googled online. turned out shes having growth spurt!! she hD one exactly like dis at ard 2-3 wks. now shes abt 5.5wks. it started on mon. ask for milk every hr till 12am. then tues also same but last nite was e worst! i read it shd last 2-3 days so i hoped lqst nite was e peak n she could go bqck to routine tonite.

anyway jus to shAre wat i read, signs baby having growth spurt:

- baby wants to feed every hr

- baby no longer sleeps thru e nite

- waking up more frequently from naps

- pause / unlatches during nursing n fuss ard b4 latching back a sign milk not flowing as fast as she wants

- occurs at approx 3wks, 6wks, 3 mths, 6mths n 9mths

-

Marissa: fresh ebm at abt 25 degrees can last 4 hr. That's abt air-conditioned Rm temp so shd be fine if gg out to shopping centers or places w aircon. Jus put e bottle of ebm in a cooler bag without the ice packs shd be able to maintain. That's wat I usually do.

Wen bb fusses during nursing then latch on again a few times do u give ebm to top up? I did that this morning coz he seemed quite fed up but wen he unlatched his mouth was full of milk! So I dunno whether he's fussing coz the flow too slow or he's just acting up...

Does anyone have problems getting their bb to sleep on their back? My bb seem to startle easily when she sleeps on her back and keeps waking up as soon as you put her down or after 15 mins. But when she sleeps on her tummy, wah can sleep for 3 hrs!! Like now, her feed suppose to be 10am but she still sleeping! I'm wondering whether to wake her up or let her continue sleeping?

Suwaiwai: my bb startled too wen he's on his back so I put him on his side. He sleeps better like dat. He can turn onto his back already so aft he reaches deep slp he will turn onto his back n continue sleeping.

Shin

When your boy vomit out the milk...don't feed anymore..your CL might be overfeeding him...

Yes,there'll be a time they will stop vomiting but at our part,we can prevent it otw it can cont till toddler age...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Try to control his feeding and watch for hunger sign..sometimes when they cry,it's jsut over tired or need comfort..sucking is the only way they seek comfort besides cuddling and rocking them...

Spitting is common but if its really merlion on every feed,i suggest you see the PD...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]take care k...

Apprye

What's Burdock soup?? She's on tbf, can she still take it??

Marissa

Thanks for ur infor. I believe my bb is also going thru e growth spurt period since she behaves e same as wat u hv stated.

Shortyncute

Your routine sounds great. I will give it a try today.

can i check what do you do during activity time with bb?? I'm trying to get her into a routine but not sure wat to do for activity? sometimes she ignore the toys too!

Marissa> Thanks for your info.. Maybe Josie also undergoes growth spurt again.. She's like that once per week.

Luckily last night she ask milk every 2 hours, then I delay and give her like 15 minutes after. Hehe.

In the evening I feel quite bad, she's fussy dunno ask milk or what, it's just 1 hour after her last feed time (and she's been having milk 4 times in a row within 3 hours, in between she only sleep for 15 minutes!). So I put her sleep on her tummy and she finally can sleep.

Strangely the day before she only ask for milk every 2-3 hours and even 4 hours at night.. huhu..

Afternoon Mummies!

Finally got time to come in to post. Damn tiring after the Sentence begin.. even more tiring this week as I was one on one wth bb. Can't wait for tomorrow to faster come, tht's when hubby comes back! And I get my much needed rest.. Time time, pls pass quickly today.

I wana ask mummies whose babies are now into 6/7wks old, do your babies start to be awake longer hours? Baby Athena does not seems to be able to sleep for longer than 1.5hrs in the day time liao. Headache for me manz! However, she's such an angel at night time, really sleep after sponging and feeding her at 7plus in the evening till morning. All I have to do is to carry her out of bed and she will automatically find the milk bottle teats and start suckling. Now i need advise on how to settle / pacify bb in the daytime...

Princess, do you feed Meghan on the dot as the recommended timing frm Gina Ford? How do you handle Meghan's demand during her growth spurt period?

Cyn, how are you doing now? Did you ordered Tingkat as recommended by the mummies here? Hope you are coping well wth ur precious!

hello mommies and Ian

Teeong

I feed Meghan on demand in the day!I kept latching her till she shiok and only at 2230hrs n 0300hrs now she is on EBM..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

During her growth spurts my boobs are working machines!Non stop latching...Only thing that she didn't asked for more during the night...in fact she is taking much lesser now esp the 0230hrs feed...only 50ml and she is done till 0700hrs...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think she is ready to skip that feed but will still wake her up n feed till she decided to reject[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Teoong,

You are SO lucky!! I wish Grace would be as cooperative at night. My bb like owl! At night eyes open wide wide

Zuen: I used neo garden catering. Food is quite nice according to feedback frm guests. (I couldn't try every dish bcos still on confinement) but wat I did eat was gd. Only thing it was abit pricey. $15 per head in e package I took.

I have 2 silly qns..

1st one for those on a routine.. if the bb sleeps thru her feeding time, do you wake them up? Or let them sleep? This is a new problem for me cos usually grace will wake up screaming for milk.

2nd.. how to put stroller on escalator going up or down???? haha hiyo this one is a headache for me cos I so scare i'll drop the stroller

Mummies taking fenugreek,

Do u notice a maple syrup smell coming frm u and baby? I was wondering how come baby's urine smells like maple syrup n jus found out online that that's a side effect but doesn't mention if it's bad for baby. Anyone know anything abt it?

Princess,

Wow! That means Meghan can actually do without the 0230hrs feed! Tht's very GOOD! so even when you are latching in the day, do you notice that Meghan is awake more & more now? Or she will drink and go back to la-la land?

I was hesitating on taking away Athena's 12mid night feed, scare that she will cry dwn the whole hse so now I still wake up to feed her 3hrly.

Suwaiwai, you can also do it! Jia you!!

Slowly drag Grace's feeding time at night by 10mins, then 15mins and so on.. Are you latching Grace at night? Cos I am feeding Athena on EBM at night, so makes it easier to drag her timing & I have been monitoring her feeding pattern in a chart. These few days manage to start on 3hrly feed le. So HAPPY! At least slightly more time to rest, but this lil terror does not want to sleep in the day much now! Grr..