(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Hi Claudia, I've also heard b4 dat preg woman shld not carry newborns.. I was advised to when I visited my cousin-in-law after she gave birth but also cos I don't dare to handle someone else's newborn.

But there's no actual proof for such things & sometimes like u said, it's awkward to stop relatives or frens frm being too touchy w baby..sometimes it happens b4 even b4 u can yell stop!

Xin2,

Oh no then..my baby is pantang i guess..he used to be very easy to manage when he was discharged from tmc..he will let u bathe him, change his diapers, self soothe..generally quite easy to manage & i felt i was lucky at that time..but not now anymore, ever since my friend commented that he's such a good baby, he turn disastrous on that night onwards, bathe also cry, change diaper also cry & kick non stop,give him pacifier also shake his head, must drink milk on the dot, very impatient, cannot wait..now is the opposite..sometimes i feel like slapping him..but of coz not..is there any remedy to this? I want his usual self back!!

Xin2,

It happened to me weeks before too..when my doc kept advising me csect though i very much want to give birth naturally. Then weeks before tht cannot sleep, thinking shld i just wait for baby to pop naturally, yet thinking what if baby is too big? When i went for my 37 weeks scan, baby is 3.5kg my 38 weeks scan, baby 3.7kg..then went to do a further detailed scan at tmc, baby 3.549 but yet doc mentioned might not be accurate but the difference is not much..i scared if wait till full term will be 4.5kg, hence i decided to c sect on 39th wk & baby was 3.96kg!! almost 4kg!! Imagine if i go thru natural birth!! At that time, thinking of how to give birth to my baby, i couldnt sleep for weeks and i actually lost weight, imagine if i dint, baby really hit 4kg! He is not 4.6kg at 2weeks old.

Pearlyn,

Ure right, u can't stop anyone from being touchy to ur newborns right, else they will think ure over paranoid and start talking behind ur back..but i do stay vigilant when there are small kids ard..there's one time whereby my husband's playful 3 yrs old niece almost sit on my baby's head & there's one occasion where my husband's sis allow her 5 yrs old to carry my baby on her lap & when my baby pooped, she let go of her hand, luckily my husband's sis got hold of baby! Dangerous!! I dare not nap or sleep when there's r visitors ard....really nerve breaking!!!

Claudia, must be tough on you. Hang on there. I can understand how it feels like cos caelan has been difficult since he was discharged from phototheraphy. He cries alot in the night at times it takes about 2hours to settle him down. Now he is getting better. You have to stay calm when he fuss and be patient. Easier said than done but do get your hubby or CL to help out if it reaches your limit. Hope you get your maid in soon. You can try using the 'xia liew' to bath/shower your boy.

Claudia:

I dunno any remedy leh. Well, guess just got to get used to it, and hopefully ur baby can be more manageable in time to come?

I voiced out my concern to my gynae but he is not willing to do anything for now. He wants to be as natural as possible. He mentioned that will try natural first then if cant then c-sect in the end lor. Haiz.. crossing fingers that baby can come out natural so dont have to go thru double pain.

Actually i think depends on individual. Cos my SIL gave birth to my nephew 4.2kg naturally. But she bigger size than me. So i'm hoping i can do it as well.

Claudia my little darling the past few times kept hiccuping too! I tried burping and latching him, it goes away pretty quickly.

Ladies doing malay massage, my gosh it's my first time very shiok. The binding super tight! Dunnoe if I can tahan whole day with it! Wanna ask if u guys still use the binder u bought on top of the malay binding?

how to stop the baby from using u as the pacifier? My nipples feel so used and abused! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Vivian, so what's your combined yield per pump session if you pump 4 hrly?

starry, your mum so strict as not to let you shower everyday? I shower twice a day and I still find it not enough. But I do wonder if I can afford such luxury when my confinement leaves.

Diveera,

Actually i'm a christian, i pray to God that my baby will return to his usual self ever since he started having nightmare every night after seeing my friend's face & dont know what he cry for at night sometimes. Tried all means, feed him, change his diapers, carry him, gave him his pacifier..all he dont want..keep crying..,then try singing hymes to him then he calm down..think he really got a shock from my friend. MIL superstitious, she says to believe than not to believe certain things.

Xin2,

My gynae doesn't want me to go thru double pain & moreover my cervix show no signs of dilation at all even nearer to 40 weeks & he said he predict my baby will stay in my womb beyond full term & in the end i trust his professionalism..Maybe will try natural for the 2nd baby. But again, if baby too big, my c-sect wound will tear. I like kids but somehow i cannot imagine going through the same process twice.

My boy is sound asleep now..in the day he's fine..but alway cry cry at night...like having nightmares!! sometimes sleep half way his body will jump & start to wail again!! haiz...

wah 2 days never login missed so many posts!

been bz having guests e past few days n the lack of sleep + entertaining guests really got to me. yest i snapped! im one of those ppl who needs breathing space. i dun mind visitors but when PILs say they want to sleep over w/o even asking me (hubby said ok), i had to say no.. coz i know my MIL. she can be overbearing n in yr face kind. already she sat down n watch me bf.. i feel suffocated. but sofea was good yest nite.. woke up 3hrs promptly to feed so i managed to sleep along wif her also.

Thank u ladies for the lovely compliments. but dun be fooled by sweet sofea. daytime she looks sweet, at night she becomes tasmanian devil. And everyone says my baby v strong. afew days old only she can lift n turn her neck and she struggles n kicks a lot.. during feeding, during bathing.. i tink i gave birth to bionic woman's daughter..hehe

apple, at least hebe dropped to 2.8kg on 8/9th day, mine 3rd day dropped drastically. last i check she was 2.9kg. Hopefully she's now 3kg.

lilbluey, thks for e tips! jus apply a bit BM on rash huh.. sofea has a tiny patch of rash under her folds of neck. i've been applying cornstarch paste.. looks like its working too

Shin, if inverted nipple try using nipple shield. I've gone out with baby twice.. i bring my ebm in a cooler bag and also i carry a small flask with cup. will pour out e flask water in the cup n then immerse bottle into e cup to warm up ebm. Bathing after c-sect.. gynae told me to jus go ahead n shower but pat the wound area dry. but me too scared. i've been washing my hair n sponging my body. after gynae checked n said wound totaly dried then i bathe under shower.

re": baby's poo

baby's poo is now watery like diarhoea but still greenish ley, should i be worried ah?

re: weight loss

today baby is 11 days old, i've lost 10kg.. got 4m ore kg to lose + pre-pregnancy weight of 5kg (those 4 mths trying for baby i gained 5 kg woa..)

Groovy, me too! last time i thot 4 mths maternity leave is long.. but now that im TBF every 3 hrs it seems like there's not enough ME time!

Congrats Wiselyn & Nycmum!!!

Jac, i'm loving my freestyle too! can pump out a lot in a shorter time n not as painful as the medela mini

ladies, cannot eat eggs and seafood for 30 days ah? i can dun eat seafood or sopicy stuff.. but i already ate egg sandwiches, scrambled eggs.. hehe

Claudia, my baby hiccups a lot too. I asked PD, he said its common n not harming the baby in any way, its only making parents worried. Baby nothing woa.. He said jus leave it , will go away

Claudia, I'm a Christian too. We oso pray for caelan other than using the xia liu to shower. Let's keep our boi boi in prayers. Personally, sometimes can't don't believe in supersitious stuff. My dd is very sensitive towards funeral. If we forget to wash up before entering the hse, she will sure b fussy & difficult in the nite. But oso difficult to say no to friends or relatives.

Jac, can't help u wif yr questions. Cos caelan usually doze off while latching.

Xin,

Tat was exactly wat I went thru last night. Hard to fall aslp n crazy tots raced thru my head when trying to slp. Haha. Baby not v active today, making me worried.

Zuen:

Haha. We sama sama.

I also everyday try to disturb baby to make him move. Don't worry. Try to wake baby up. Sld be fine

Shin,

I using ameda pump. Very good. But nowadays I also express by hand after pump to make sure i completely DRAIN out my breast... every drop counts... keke...

Empress,

if you think your CL swaddling your baby too tight or too rough to your baby, just gently tell her lor. I sometimes also do that to my CL. Dun challenge her but just subtly tell her... sometimes i act blur and ask question like "Wrap her so tight like that, painful for her or not? maybe next time dun swaddle her too tight ?"

Claudia,

My girl also hiccups very often. In fact I never knew a baby can hiccup so often and so LOUD! My #1 also not like that. She can sleep half way, suddenly start to hiccup and non stop. Most of the time, it is so loud that I can hear her from my room while she is in the living rm lor... But I guess it is pretty normal. As long as she dun puke or wat, shld be ok.

Emmie,

My average combined yield per session 4 hrly is ard 70-80ml. Not fantastic but doing the best I can...

Aiyo,bb really sluggish today. I whole day shaking n tapping my tummy. -.o" i want to deliver!

I m on my way to a full month bash, but friend not panting. Haha.

Novakido: my boy oso same so we put 2 layers of nappy liners on the diaper then we dun hv to keep changing diaper. Only change the liners.

Quick update ladies! I have given birth today at 1532hrs... Natural without epi is like going to hell! My boy is a 3.5kg baby and 51cm... Will update more later

Congrats Cyn!Brave mummy, but going to hell is only for that moment right? All is worth it after you saw baby. Eldrick is of a good weight!

Cyn, well done to havé natural delivery without épi. Peifu peifu. M'y NeXT one without even trying or wat think i m going to havé épi once i start dilation.

cyn

Wohooo! Well done !! Another one w/o epi!

Rest well! I'm sure all worth it!! Can't wait to c Eldrick's pix!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bblin,

Just saw ur post that u asked abt my freestyle. It's US set, bought it from BP thread at SGD475. money well-spent! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia,

I've asked the PD abt hiccups. It's perfectly normal, so don't worry abt it.

Marrisa,

You may wanna check with PD on this? Baby's stools are sometimes loose, but shldn't be diarrhea. If diarrhea, then means baby's sick.

Anyone able to help with my query on expressing the remaining bm after baby finishes latching on? How to store if only a few ml? Think throw away wasted right?

Jac usually I don't pump after latching coz my ss low so bb smtimes still wail after drinking. But no harm just keeping n accumulating the remaining in th fridge. Can give to ur bb in any case u too tired to latch or wat. Just take note if in fridge cannot keep too long.

Ya me quite happy with my freestyle too but I have not used any other to be able to compare. One qn do we need to sterilize after every pump? I m sterilising after every pump. Don't know if the softfit funnels n membrane can take the constant heating.

starry

I do! Cos after feed I ll try ti squeeze as much as I can to just Empty the breast.. I store it in a smaller medela btl! Less than 10ml! Why waste .. heee[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auntie melissa is back and a bit more lor sor than ever! hahahaa..

ok sorry i only have time to scroll back one archive post!

Marissa,

I can understand how overwhelmed you are with all the visitors. Some of them just don't understand how tiring it is the first few days of being a new mother can be. My colleagues were dying to see me and baby but they're a lovely bunch. TOld me to rest and let them know when is the best time to visit. So of course, given that option, I told them pls visit me after my confinement. THey did. Anyway it's my third time lah I get used to the inevitable crowds and the unexpected guests. I took eggs as normal after 3 weeks. I wasn't sure if it's ok so I avoid a lot of food in the first 2 weeks post partum. By the 3rd week, my body is picking up energy and by 4th week, i feel fine i eat anything and drink cold drinks except some citrus fruit and seafood.

novakido,

my boy does that all the time. it's normal. some days he pooped once in two days, other days he pooped 3-4x a day!

zuen, xin2,

are you sure you wanna deliver so soon after all these horror stories you heard? lol. all i can advice is, eat anything you want and sleep all you can! kekee..

cyn,

congrats! not sure if natural without epi feels like hell though b'cos i haven't been there but it is quite an experience! how long was your delivery? come back and tell us about it when you're able.

groovy,

you no confinement ah? just avoid cooling food. irregardless of whether you decided to follow the rules or not. i read somewhere that it's healthy for a women to eat heaty stuff more than cooling stuff in normal days too b'cos of the way a woman's body work it's different than men. also it has impact on your sexual performance too. once i kaypoh on a sammyboy forum and "eavesdrop" on guys talking about their experience with girls. they like it when the girl is "hot down there". and feeling who is "cold down there" is really a turn off. heaty food seems to be my staple died, not really by healthy choice but i do love fried and spicy food sometimes. i feel healthy too and my immunity against sickness is pretty good. i dunno if it has anything to do with my high threshold of pain too. just voicing my two cents [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

dhal gravy looking like poo..??!!! LOL LOL LOL.. never thought of it! i regret reading your post!!! LOL!!!

irish coffee,

hiao or not, wearing binder for 24 hours a day is supposedly the right thing to do. kudos for enduring! err.. not itchy meh?

starry,

congrats on handling the baby yourself. it is a very meaningful experience. i remember during my first child i started changing her first diaper during the first night in the hospital. i was that excited. luckily i got it correct. visiting time was over. my mom was not around. i was staring at my new sweetheart all the time and suddenly realized that she pooped. so without calling the nurse, i tried to change her myself. once done, i feel like a real mom! so happy! can relate to that definitely! oh by the way, don't believe everything the textbook teaches ok! it's likely that your baby will not follow it and you're going to panic in no time. this is the best time to practise your natural motherly instinct and learn your own baby's behaviour and cues.

on irregular 5-10mins latching. ok another textbook opinion. your amount of foremilk and hindmilk will vary all the time, depending on baby's needs and weather condition, etc. doesn't mean that if she's latching on for only 5 minutes she's not getting enough nutrients. if you let her self-detach means she knows that she has enough. if she wants it again in 30 mins, that's normal. trust the baby and her needs. they dun suka2 do anything they like and not pampered at this point of time. everything that they do is all based on survival and needs. once they get older, you will know when they want something for fun or when they really need it.

empress7,

i had stitches for both tearing and episiotomy and it takes at least 2 weeks for you to feel ok. technically it heals fast but you will feel a little stinging or itchiness for like 2-3 weeks. of course by 4th week you should be feeling really well. thanks for sharing your labor story. had fun reading it.

lilac white, wiselyn,

thanks for sharing the labor stories!

Thanks Teoong for the info..

Zuen, xin2, seabreeze, snoopy...

after the check up and CTG this morn, doc said there os contractions about every half hour but no dilation for me! its been like this since more than 1 week ago.

after some discussion with doc, we decided to opt for C-sect on coming mon. partly also becos my water level is going low... so technically, my gal will be one day overdue..

I am choosing C-sect with epi, am a bit scared...

For mummies who had Epidural, can share if epidural itself is painful when administered?

the thought of the needle going into the space betwn vertebrate scares me.

Birth story

contractions started at 3.30am. But i wasn't sure if it's real or cos need to pass motion. Pass loose stool 2 times. Waited n monitored till 6plus am. Contractions got fast n furious. Once every 2-3mins.

Went to mt A at 7am. Heavy traffic n bumpy ride made contractions worse.

Reached hospital at 8am. Midwife did VE. 4cm dilated.

Waited till 9plus n ask for laughing gas. Not much use lei. So took the injection at thigh at 11am. Was 6cm dilated.

Can still tahan till 2pm without epi. Thought can give birth w/o epi but doc came n checked only 7cm dilated. The water bag broke when doc did VE.

Drama started from here. Contractions started to get very intense n painful. Screaming like mad n midwife came n told me not to scream cos scaring other patients. Tahan for 15mins n got my epidural.

Didn't feel any pain but also didn't feel urge to push. My pushing wasn't good n baby couldn't be pushed out. Doc checked n said baby getting distress n passed out meconium. Have to get her out immediately so the midwife pushed my tummy downwards while I push.

Doc made a cut about 2cm but baby head too big (33cm)so it became 5cm. Tramatised!!!

Now recovering from the stiches n also having piles.

I'm S***** X* in FB. Just posted my baby's photos [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cyn,

Wow! Congrats!! And u managed it without any epi! Share your birth story with us soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

Thanks for replying! How you feed the 10ml? You don't express into the same bottle like 2hrs later right, so how do you feed it to Meghan? Warm it up and mix with your night-time pumped out ebm?

Melissa,

I'm trying to be as hands on as possible so that when I've no more help after confinement I can still cope. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any idea why baby suddenly wants to nurse so often, like every half an hr or less? She wld suck less than 10 mins, fall asleep and refuse the breast and I'll just let her sleep in her little rocker. Then less than 30 mins later, she will make noise and want to suck again! Is this normal? Can't figure out what she wants. Worried that she may be like that in the middle of the night.

Lilacwhite, very good tip leh! Thanks for the nappy liner! ☺

Melissa,I thk he is wasting all the good diapers… its really very very little. Haha…

Irene administration of the epidural depends on your threshold for pain wor and esp the anaesthetist skill… the one I had came at 12mn and his face super black. Mine was pretty painful but I asked the rest of my friends they say its not painful leh. I hate the side effects it had on me but likewise different individual have different experiences de lo.

starry, it may be because your bb is thirsty? they do take little sips when they get parched [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if its a feed time, maybe you can tickle her or open up her clothes to wake her up so that she will continue to feed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Either that or she is just a comfort sucker, couldn't fall asleep, woke up and need to suck to sleep again...

starry,

i think she's going through a growth spurt! it'll happen 2-3 times in the first month. trying to increase your milk supply for future exploitation hahaa..

novakido,

yeah first few months the system is a bit out of whacked. waste lots of diapers and stuff. my boy spits up a LOT. everyday must change 2-3 attires. laundry problem. my mom said I was like that too nia.. dunno what to say, she win lor.

Thks for mummies' reply on my prev qns on bf & ml. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wiselyn,

Yup. I brot Lucas to kids clinic tdy.

His jaundice is still w/i accepted range.

Next f/up is on Monday. Hope will be ok.

U oso went to kids clinic, seeing which pd??

Shin,

How u doing le?

Dun worrie abt bathing.

So far I bath 2x a day, the bandage is still there nicely. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But I hv really bad water retention aft c-sect.

Worse than preggy days. Had engaged ml, hope it helps.

Bf:

Now starting to get the hang of things.

But!!! Everytime I position Lucas nicely,

he will change pattern & start nibbling on my nipples! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

It's really horrible Loh. I hv tried all sorts of pattern to latch him again but the successful attempts is really low. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Plus this aftnn got v engorged boobs, I bite the bullet to let him drain me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Can any mummies save me?? Really pek chek with this. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Babydes,

I've been sterilizing the freestyle parts after every use. Maybe shldn't hor? Just wash with soap and water then air dry shld be fine?

Nova, Melissa,

Yeah, I also think either thirsty or growth spurt but can't be sure. Just worried that something's wrong and I don't know how to read her signs and miss it. If just thirsty and having growth spurt then ok lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will monitor her. Hopefully she sleeps well tonight!

Momotan,

Since engorged and Lucas doesn't latch on well, better pump out the milk. You have electric pump? Initially I used manual pump cos haven't figure out my freestyle. Tiring, but better than hot and painful boobs! Remember to keep massaging also.

Melissa, woa long time no hear! Hope baby huzz is doing well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sofeanis 1st grandchild for both hubbys n my family so ppl damn excited to c her. Some of my visitors too good, bring food for me and other guests to eat bt in e end, no one eats e food n im left wif e burden of cleaning n disposing em :|

i feel like an ingrate talking like dis but really leh, im exhausted! I feel bad also not letting my pils sleep over but i dun feel comfortable. Hubby on night shifts so they thot they doing me a favor by accompanying me but i got to serve em when they r here! I dun mind em sleeping over if hubbys ard but im bf and i walk ard e hse braless.. Not nice rite when fil

is ard?

Ladies, if baby falls asleep at breast while bf, do u still burp bb?

Melissa,

I m 2nd time mummy lah. Cannot slp as much as I want. If dd is awake, I become e playmate. And it is tough with a huge tummy, so I hope for bb to come out asap lor. And I dun dare to eat too much now cos bb already 3.4kg. Later cannot come out naturally ah.

Irene,

Oooooo, next mon ah. Jia you, jia you. I m keeping my eyes on 21st.

Re: sluggish baby

Arrrggghhh, I hate it on days like that when bub is sluggish.

starry

I will store the milk separately from the prev expressed milk n store it in the fridge [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I only fill the milk btl when feeding time.. Just top the few ml to the next feeding ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Maybe she is not getting enuf ? Bb got growth spurt within the first 2weeks n will keep asking for more out if suddened .. It is oso important to wake them up ensure they get the hindmilk to fill their tummy otw it ll go on n on...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Your matured milk should be in by now so u must ensure tt she is getting it.. There's where all the calories are ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nycmum

Thanks fir sharing your birth story [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] rest well ...

Melissa

Wahaaaa.. Dhal your fav ah???? Kekeke

Melissa

Yea..the babies in this thread gone through A SPECIAL DIETs while inside mommy...

Diets include UDDERS, KOI,MSW....lol[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irene - for my epi operation, i didn't feel any pain.

Lumpy Breasts - today is my Day 6 and I started to feel that there are quite a few lumps for both breasts. I tried massage before feedings but no diff lei... how huh? also is it normal to have only milk coming out of 1 "opening" only?

zuen

Lol!3.4kg ok Mah... Good weight la.. Another week then add another 200g .. Still ok de!! U can la..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ask gynae cut lor... Then sew back just like new ! No worries ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

B still v comfy inside .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats Cyn! Wow! no Epi! Salute to you! Pls rest well in the meantime and looking forward to see your baby's pic! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]