(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Novakido, your rashes come after having the massage? My ML tell me that some pple will have rashes after the massage lor, and she recommend to apply calomile lotion wor..

My ML contact: Latifah, phone Number: 98001972

Her charge is $500 for 10 session. She'll visit your house.

I've just finished my Massage session yesterday.. Too bad becoz it's today I feel sick in the morning. huhu..

I found her quite good. My colleague also used her for post natal massage after she give birth to her 2nd and 3rd child. All natural delivery.

There's another colleague also used her, caesarean delivery.

All of them has the body like before they are pregnant when they return to work..

Mine I have not come back to my previous weight. Hehe.. Now I weight 63 kg. During my wedding I weight only 55 kg. I want to reach at least 58 kg (my 8 weeks pregnancy weight - 3 mths after wedding :p). But I'll do diet only after my baby is off from total breastfeeding :p.

Celia> Try to visit a lactation consultant? Massage your breast while pumping will do better too.. All the hard part on your breast needs to be massaged in order for the milk to come out better.

Btw, Lactation consultation visit in Mt Alvernia hospital is $60+7% GST (I dunno if this rate is because I give birth in Mt Alvernia or not..). My Lactation consultant is Wang Yan. She's very good and she speaks English very well.

teoong, thx for the suggestion and will tryout on red bean soup! Thx!

novakido, i believe if in non air con room sure very itchy, weather has been hot and i'm perspiring like mad. Which binder u get? the guardian $35?

COngrats WISELYN

Please rest well and do share with us how bb Luke arrived!!!Hugs[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Empress

hmmm...think being a first time mom,you will tend to be a lil kan cheong over how they handle the bb..Cos i was like tat too![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But well,if you are well enough to take care of yourself,guess its all fine!But you must take care of yourself too!Rest while bb is resting and eat healthily![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How come after epi still felt so much pain le??But it sounds pretty fast to get the bby out...so..BRAVO!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If the tear is bad,you might need to bear with it awhile more and the pain will eventually subside!Most importantly keep it clean esp now that we are still bleeding[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]Hugs

princess_d,

Birth story as follows : was having strong contractions on 10/10. did not admit to hosp. 11/10 admit to hosp at 9am. doc do ve check and was 4-5 cm dilated....doc break waterbag,but on drip and was push to delivery ward. Baby Luke was delivered at 11:35 am.

Princess D,

Hugz.. Gynae says future can reconstruct and told me not to worry, so i suppose it's quite bad thou he never comment much, the stitch go all the way down and one of which pressed on a pile, so painful!!

After epi I feel numbness actually but i still keep feeling contraction and urge to push, and when baby is stuck half way i feel really really sore, midwife and hubby keep cheering but i m frustrated. Ya everything is so fast, only half an epi used. Gynae still give me some as bonus after the labour.

Celia & Tinggy,

I'm also using freestyle pump, flow is really pathetic, and I always get blister or skin on aerola peeling off when i remove the sheild, anyone facing same problem?

How often u guys express? My every 2 pumps is only enough for 1 feed, and needs to be 4 hours at least for the milk to restore. Previously was engorgement problem and the LC advised to pop 2 panadols and get someone else to massage for me till they soften. After that is sore nipple problem, baby vomit milk brown color i got a shock coz he's drinking bloody milk. And now is blister with open wound, really really on the verge of giving up!!!!!

Afternoon mommies!

Hee..just got up frm my 2hr nap.. =) feels good! I've got to remind my lil one to tahan till mon so dat her mummy & daddy can haf enuf rest! Haha!

Empress7: ur delivery experience sounded quite scary wor.. Making me nervous! And my bb gal is oredi approx 3.4kg.. Really quite worried abt having tears & stitches.. =s and likely I'll b shooting my mouth off too if it's freaking painful.. Haha!

But I hope ur wound heals real soon! Ure one brave mommy!

Teoong,

I also dunno why gynae asked me to go home first, i suppose becoz i told him pain is so far bearable, but actually after the VE I felt much stronger contraction, same when i was admitted, each time they chk dilation, the contraction started to be stronger.

Pearlyn,

Ya, i've to say that i'm traumatised, coz i nvr know it could be that fast, or else i'd have requested to have the epi administered before hand. Was so shocked when i was told it's too late for epi. When the nurse go through the questionaire with me, my contraction was so close that i haven't got chance to answer much, only 1 question per gap. LOL!! And no time to brief me on the epi concent form also, she asked me to read myself and sign but i returned to her crumpled. LOL!!

Jac, yah these few days is really warm/hot.

Congrats Wiselyn, you have a fast delivery.

Empress, when I was a first time mom, I try to take care of bb by myself even though I have a CL. For Caelan, I’m a lot more hands off actually.

Groovy, you must take care. Once you feel a little cold must either turn off aircon or drink warm drinks. I heard it is no good to feel cold/shiver during confinement.

Ivy, what about holidays after the first 8 wks?

Shin, fridge to go is a portable cooler bag brand and they have a model that can last till 12 hours.

Tinggy, have yet to try any supplement thus can’t provide feedback. There is also scared tea.

Empress, sayang sayang. For the early days, the LC recommend that I express every 3 hours. Did you apply bm on your sore nipples? Can also use nipple cream, it should help. Usually sore nipples are due to improper latching, how about seeing LC to get the latching right?

Ameda pump

Mummies using Ameda, do you sterilize after each use? From the manual, only need to sterilize once and subsequently is to wash in hot soapy water. I also read somewhere on the net that cannot use microwave sterilizing method for Ameda. Thought of using it at work but if can’t use microwave to sterilize a little headache.

Weight

My weighing scale not working, I think need to change battery. So till now donno how much I have lost. CL was just asking me the other day.

Princess,

Ya lor. Still hanging around. Your prediction failed n I m still lugging my big tummy. Lol.

Dd didn't wet her bed during nap but wet herself 2x after she woke up. Lol. At least my bed is spared.

Re: indigestion

I m having indigestion n blocked nose now. Duno why. Suddenly started sneezing n ended up with blocked nose. Then indigestion must be from e tidbits that I m munching on. Now tummy uncomfy + very much breathless. Sob.

yes yes... I am back...

MIA for a while coz busy with my sick boy... sigh... just before my CL is here (my CL came 1 week after delivery), my boy kena stomach flu... then followed by high fever which is still not gone... then now cough, runny nose + throat infection... aiyo... headache sia...

Congrats for those who have popped... lost track of who liao...

and jia you for those who are going to pop soon!

Shin,

I have inverted short nipples too. Latching is always a challenge. I only managed to latch a few times with my girl but due to my super slow milk flow, I gave up latching liao.

Now pump pump pump... miserable output but doing whatever I can bah.

You can still try latching but you need to pull your nipple out then latch. LC in Mt. A gave me a "cut" stringe as nipple puller but i dun like to use that. I just pull myself. Sometimes my girl still find it difficult to latch properly.

Alternatively, you can use a nipple shield. I tried, it works but only temporary so you still need to pull your nipples out before latch.

For bringing EBM out hor, last time for #1, I dun leh. I just keep my EBM at home in fridge and gave FM when we go out for short period (coz need to go home pump anyway). But think as the ladies suggested here, using cooler bag shld be good enuff, but only when it is drank within short period of time.

If your milk have not come in yet, you shld have colostrum now liao. In fact, once your baby is out, you shld have produced colostrum liao... but rem... colostrum is not a lot one lor... just give whatever you have until your milk kicks in.

And dun worry too much abt pumping not able to drain breast fully etc... since now you are not latching, just make sure you pump regularly every 2-3 hrs. Massage before and during your pump. I always make sure I got NOTHING left in my breast before I stop pumping lor... so far, touchwood, no problem... dun worry too much.

Oh, and I store my EBM in fridge, not freezer coz I make sure my girl finish my EBMs latest by next day so no need to freeze. And it is true that freezed EBM coz weird smell and taste. I hate it... dun think i want my girl to drink that... haha.. but since my milk supply so low, dun think I have the chance to freeze any of my milk... kekeke...

Jia you ok!

bibizai,

for ameda pump, the tubing cannot touch water hor. Once water gets in, might have bacteria. These wun come in contact with BM coz the silicone diaphragms (look like transparent cups) will block mah. You just need to wash and sterilise the breast flanges, and white valves.

just delivered my baby girl at MAH. Baby is 51cm and weighs 3.6kg. She's only 38weeks. Her head is so big that the damage to my perinum is 5cm. Worried bout the pain after epi wears off.

Apple yup my mum is helping me with confinement. I scare later some CL make me eat pigeon shit. Haha just kidding.

Groovy I also had the shivers my mum told me to drink yomeishu or the hot red date tea if ever happens again.

Freestyle

So far my freestyle working well for me. Must make sure the membrane n caps are dry else the pump don't work. If the suction is making u feel painful u shd reduce the level till u are comfortable.

Rest of the mummies still waiting to pop… jia you!!

Empress! You have popped! I was still wondering how are you leh...

Your CL not gentle to your baby? how?

Oh, I also have swollen feet after delivery... after massage now better.

How often do you express? I now also express every 4 hrs coz even if i express every 3 hrs, it is quite miserable. Bo bian lah. At least i can rest a bit longer for milk to "recover". As for sore nipple and blister on nipple, I had that and applying nipple cream before and after pumping helps A LOT. In fact, with the nipple cream, it creates less friction when u pump so not so painful and helps recover faster.

Jia you ok?

Btw, I just went for review with my gynae for my BP. Sigh, BP went down slightly with meds but still not good enuff... going back for another review 2 weeks later... so worrying...

I also visit Lactation consultation at Mt Alvernia but is about 80 plus because I gave birth at TMC not MA. Wang Yan was my LC. Sister Kang ( head LC of MA) came in to take a few looks.

I think Wang Yan is very good. She was the one that made me felt the "real latch". I was very happy during the visit. At least, I feel more confident, Although i come home I still cant latch her on. Hahah... I had flat nipple too. Think of it... i got flat nipple, low milk flow and narrow pelvic, baby got jaundice... so many bad points. At the beginning, I find myself a lousy mother.

During my stay at TMC, the LC and nurse kept saying... "u need more patience" got one even worst,see my nipple then leave me alone. Didnt even help me on to latch. If not, keep ask me to use pump to pump the nipple out.I I think LC at TMC not good. They really made me feel no confidence.

Although LC at Mount A didnt propose nipple shield, i brought a pair medela contact nipple shield. They work. My baby can latch on. i still express out my milk most of the time, but i really do feel more confident everytime after each latch.

Starry, how much you got the medela freestyle pump? It's a local set or US?

Me still thinking to invest on this a not cos my coll is going US tmr... thot of asking him to get.

Now me using Pigeon manual pump...pump till my hands r tired lor...

Today my ML also massage my breasts saying still got a bit block. My ss seems getting lower lor. I saw her pressing my nipple..the milk oozed out actually...first time i seeing this. SO happy! However, i think my latching still got problem...nipples are sore leh. And right side actually blistered!!

Do all your bb suckle and do stretching at the same time? My boy likes to stretch lor...then stimes pulled my nipples also cos he dun wan let go! So painful lor!!!

Tinggy> Sister Kang is the one that actually make Josie able to latch the first time for my left breast.

In fact, there's no problem with me and Josie. It's just Josie is too sleepy and I don't know why she always refuses to latch when Wang Yan tried to latch her. Then Sister Kang came and tried 1 time and succeeded immediately. She's a MASTER. hehe. I emptied my almost engorged left breast at that time! But too bad Sister Kang didn't managed to latch her to my right breast anymore becoz baby Josie is sleeping after emptying my breast and can't be waken up anymore. Wang Yan said maybe it's like 50 ml of milk already, so she's sleeping in peace..

After that, I come back home, and still having problem sometimes to latch her. And I can't latch her to my right breast which has a shorter nipple than my left breast. So I come back to see Wang Yan. And there, she's able to latch baby Josie after a few tries! Feel so happy emptying my right breast that's almost engorged too. hihihi..

I asked Wang Yan to teach me to latch her by sleeping position too, but baby Josie is sleeping so we didn't managed to empty my left breast :p.

Gaining more confident, I tried and tried at home, and now it's getting easier and easier to latch baby Josie. I'm hoping for a day when I can just offer her my breast 1 time and she started too suck immediately. Right now she's almost always reject first before latching.

This morning I tried to pump since I'm shivering and it's baby Josie's meal time. A few minutes already produced 60 ml. Maybe my milk flow is fast, so baby Josie is satisfied with 1 of my breast, 8-15 minutes. So I'm more re-assured, even though LC always said must latch at least 15 minutes each breast.

Princess,

I think I pump till dry le... but somehow I still leak milk. Then have to keep changing breast pad. Feel so wasted.. if only I can collect the milk! hehe

Talking abt rash.. is anyone having itch down there??!! I think it could be cos of the pad I'm using (but I change very frequently and even change brands too!) but somehow I have a bad itch at the skin ard my anal area. Thankfully its not at the V area.. but I feel like sticking my hand into my undies to scratch all the time!!! What should I do??!!!

Teoong, no leh, haven’t started massage. I think if I dun stay cool, the rash comes back probably heat rash?

Empress! You are right leh, I thk just now I fell asleep without the aircon, woke up feeling all warm and itchy. Couldn’t find the size I want in guardian after much searching decided to give in and bought the belly bandit binder from motherworks at $129 with member discount slightly cheaper… it really is better I guess, coz my gynae also highly approve it says its elasticity is very good.

Bblin, my latch wasn’t proper too… so also hurts… now slightly better… us take sure bb place the entire nipple in the mouth as soon as u feel not right must unlatch and try again… dats what my LC told me.now it feels beeter. I keep squeezing out the milk to moisturize the nipple. The soreness is slowly going away… haiz…

suwaiwai

There's this thing tt sells in mothercare to collect leaking breast milk..dunno wats it's call.. Can drop by to enquire b4 it leak too much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess D

Really.. ok will look out for it.. now more concern abt the itch which is turning quite unbearable! I was fine till yest after my gynae appt. He was check the stitches to see if they healed well. Then he put some med on it.. dunno if the itch is cos of the med or not?? I'm thinking not cos the itch is on the surrounding skin not on the stitches area.. but so damn itching!!! argh

finally got my internet at my mum's place up!

congrats to mummies who have popped. for mummies still waiting, jia you!!

as for my birth story, i was scheduled to admit on 10/10 night for induce n deliver on 11/10.

when they inserted the pill to soften my cervix the night i was admitted, i tell ya it was pain like hell. at that moment, i really regretted hvg to go thru this birth process. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i was strapped on the CTG to monitor the contractions n baby's heartbeat. after one hr, CTG shows that i hv contractions but i felt no pain. anyway they didnt allow my husband to stay n say since its my 1st time, i wont deliver so fast.

but shortly after my husband left for home, i felt some contractions. they were still bearable and not that regular. so i did not alarm the nurses. i also didnt msg my hubby abt it cos he jus went home to rest. tot wanna let him rest longer. but 2 hrs later i really cannot take the contractions pain any longer. it got more intense n regular. so i msg my hubby n also called for the nurse. my hubby rushed down.

by then i was stil only 1cm dilated. they arranged for my epidural at ard 5+am. By 10am, I was almost fully dilated. The epidural is really god sent! Felt nothing after that. I could at least rest for a while while waiting for the dilation. But the side effect I had was shivering. I was shivering very badly thruout the waiting, delivery and even post delivery!

by 11am i was asked to start pushing. after almost 1 hrs plus later, i still cannot push baby out. i was too exhausted n cos of the epidural i cannot feel anything so im not sure if im pushing correctly. i decided to give up n requested for assisted delivery. so in the end my baby is delivered with forceps aid.

baby is healthy n well just a little bit of jaundice

glad that its all over now! kakakaka

Lilac White...congrats! Dun feel regret...see your bb you will think all worthwhile...

Groovy and mummies with good ss of BM, i so envy all of you. I pumped for 1/2hr to an hr and only pathetically barely 50ml from both breasts. Seems getting lesser and lesser. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I got another 2 sessions with my ML. Hope thr her massage can help me unblock all the blockage if really my case is like tat... very depressed...

Non first time mummies who's Total Breastfeeding. Just wondering, until when we need to feed baby every 3 hours? (minimum 8 times a day)?

I wonder becoz this time around I have a very minimum ME time. Hehehe..

Before pregnancy, thinking maternity leave is like holiday. But actually it's even worst than work. 24 hours of working everyday!

bblin: haha yes yes now see baby i melt! but at that point... really pain until wanna die LOL

oh btw hor, any mummies here who hv delivered hv bladder problem? i cant control or feel anything for my bladder now. dr says my nerves may be damaged during delivery. sigh.... but he says shld recover slowly.

thanks u mummies for advices!

Vivian!

Totally need to thank u for giving me such detailed advices as to what to do[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just now I tried 2 times with nipple shield just for baby to suckle so my milk ss can kick in... Maybe cos he was so hungry, he did suck but cos got nth, he kept wailing until face red.. So heartache... After that let me feed on FM...

When I go home tmr I will try massaging and pumping Liao... What pump you using?? The LC says my pump is tommee tippee not very good but can try.

Hope successful cos I feel so heartache when he wail and wail when hungry...

Re: LC at tmc

Haha mine even "better"

First time I tried bfg, the nurse look at my nipple and shake head and said "oh.. U got inverted nipple.. Gonna be difficult"

How ENCOURAGING. The LC came and when I said what the nurse told me... She just blabbering on and on abt alternatives, ask me try and left.

Today when I tried, same nurse helped me.. I was like thinking.. "sians"... But surprisingly today she slightly better.. Help me get nipple shield N ask me be patient and try..

Bfg seriously difficult and needs lotsa patience and determination.

Diveera,

Nowadays latch until i got phobia whenever i hear baby cry of hunger, finally learnt the right way but a bit too late coz alredy sore so will keep getting worst if continue to latch, so decided to pump and feed lor.. I apply avent cream but it's sticky sticky and after some suction got blister liao.

i also try to hands on but CL keep asking me to rest and dun wan me to touch water. Adui!

quick qn for bfing mums... Are there times when baby is just thirsty and will only latch on for 5-10 mins just to get the foremilk? Jadelyn is sometimes like that. She latches for less than 15mins then don't want le. She isn't sleepy, just looking ard with eyes big big. 30 mins later will want to latch on again. Any idea how come like that?

Just can't get to sleep. Baby is very active tonight.

Sleeping has become more n more difficult.

Anyone also liked me? Every night I'll also feel liked vomitting. If nt, will feel very xin ku.

Re: Mother's Milk Tea

Can give it a try I think they do help to a certain extend try eating golden mushroom to boost Ss too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

Showering in such weather is the best thing in confinement nowadays I bathe twice wahaha cannot stand being soo sweaty and dirty!!

Empress,

Congrats! Was reading thru yr birth story! Hope u feel better nw.. Swollen legs I oso had them after delivery bt they will go away in a wk's time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

try to eat brown rice and take brown rice tea it will help in bringing it down faster! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats to the other mummies who delivered too !! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi lilbluey thx!

Will ask the CL to make for me. Mine is 10 days already n still swollen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lilac

Read yr birth story, mine also induced n dilate faster then expected, but I too dumb to go home n wait, ended up hav to scream all the way from home.

M also unable to control urine n passing motion during first few days, so I try to visit toilet every 2 hourly. After stitch removed it's better already

Hi viv!!

Ya finally popped! Hee hee.. I pump every 4 to 6 hrs, coz nothing much for 2 to 3.. Quite panic Liao coz looks like it's not restocking.. Ok I shall be hardworking on using the cream then. CL not very gentle when wiping his butt n bath him lo.. Also swaddle him so tightly, I really heartpain. Feeding with bottle keep knocking the bottle rushing him to finish up.. Then I told her I wan to hands on, she says later.. I miss my baby terribly!!!!!!

Hi empress ..for me I feel a hard lump at the outer side of the breast. V painful when u press n breast feels tender to touch n painful. Cleared by my massage lady yesterday ... V painful cos wat she does is to apply lots of pressure on lump n push towards nipple to expel it n milk just oozes out from the block duct. Now I to the same thing when breast feels full before pumping to get more milk n also prevent engorgement / mastitis.

Shin, i express m'y milk too.

Wiselyn congrats.

Empress, thé stiches took abt 11-14days for me to get better

anyone started preparing for full month celebration ? anyone here not party but just going around to send cakes to relatives ?

Not sure if this will be tiring as it will take whole day traveling to few places

Morning,

I had bad night. Took forever to fall aslp + keep waking up! At one point, was even perspiring! So warm night! I want to give birth!

Groovy,

I'm not like not on confinement too but i didnt take cold stuffs but i go out to run errands rogether with my baby. Curious onlookers alway start looking at him and started asking me if he is 2mths old? I said nope, he's only 2 wks old,& they gave me a strange look & say how can i go out?

Ever since discharged from the hospital, i've not been feeding bm to my baby, bought a faulty pump, sent back for repair, still cannot function..it has been so many days, dont think i've any supply of milk. Now, boy drinking fm. My boy is so impatient, whenever he is hungry, he will start to find ur boobs but feel so disappointed that i cannot feed him with bm..haiz..

Is it true that baby are "pan tang" ? that what my MIL mentioned. Last few days, my friends came to visit me at my place, his wife was pregnant too. They commented how easy my baby was, and touch him & put his face near to baby's face, & he started crying incoherently, which never happened before & since then, he started crying like this everyday & he's no longer easy to handle anymore.. & my MIL says preggy woman shld not touch ur baby..why is that so? She said its not gd for ur baby..

Now, my baby seems to have nightmare every night & so hard to pacify him nowadays..Worst, he dare not sleep alone in the living room during the day time himself which he used to ever since that visitor came..he seems to know there's no ppl in the living room & started crying out loud!!! These few days been feeling super tired because he wakes up every hr at night..

Bad news received last night.. my new maid from Myanmar decided not to come to Sg & work!! Got to look for any one again..this time rd, the agent recommended me to pick indon as she said her latest batch more pleasant looking..haiz..why am i so unlucky..?

Now hope for baby to be happy again & back to his usual easy to manage days!!

Since my breast pump is spoil, those bottle and lids that i bought to store bm is not no longer in use? Anyone needs those items?

btw, my relatives kept kissing my baby's face whenever they saw him & i can't possibly stop them, resulting in milia seeds or small baby acne on my baby's face..haiz..& they used their hands to touch his eyes when his eyes are closed, now his left eye lids have small little rashes..feel so heartache seeing him like tht.

Btw, what should i do if baby hiccups? Mine seems to have this problem almost everyday.. & he is so lazy to stay awake for belching & dozed off immediatly after feeding..

Also, ever since the visitor came, he's been crying one or two cries then stop..haiz..what's wrong with this baby?

Claudia:

Not sure abt baby being pantang. But got some pple did mention that preggy cannot touch ur baby. N one of my colleague swear by the fact that pple cannot say her baby easy to managed. Cos after that baby very difficult to handle. Some babies are pantang I guess.

Zuen:

Hi5 man.. I also cldnt sleep last night. Took so long to fall asleep but kept waking up. Then kept thinking wen baby popping. Tummy kept hardening but no pain. Was hoping for pain.

Can't wait to give birth man. Keep thinking if baby is too big, imagining natural birth dunno can anot, then think abt csect. Think going crazy Liao.