(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Re: Pearl Powder

It's supposed to help with 化痰, 解热 newborn can take them with each intervals of at least 10 days apart frm first dose..

Btw, my aunt was telling my mum to ask me to refrain frm drinking too much soup least later the tummy will be 'bloated & big' and it will be diff to get rid of the flab later... Anyone heard of it?!

Hi Apple,

She said epidural will weaken contraction and she did not want bb to stay in the tummy for too long once contraction started. She felt that something is just not right as bb not coming down though I have such strong contraction and all the nurses that monitor me also got that worried look. And its true, bb totally stuck, so even if gave birth at a later date, the situation will still be the same as my pelvic bones very unfavourable for him.

Jaundice: My PD said I must let bb take formula milk together with breastfeeding. He said always start off with breastfeeding, then follow by formula milk and I can see the effect straight away. Now my bb's jaundice has dropped to below 90 something.

Jac, why today is shower day? actually I been washing down under everyday, cos just wipe very unhygiene I think.

bblin, my Girl did not poo for 2 whole day on Sunday to Tuesday. My midwife say is because of the BM, and ask us to use mineral water to make the BM, so finally my girl poo again, alot and like wat u describe, is yellow and muddy, alot.

Princess Diamond, I kena the water fountain today after her multiple poo poo while changing diaper. Keep wiping and wiping and then comes the poo.

LilBluey ...

Frankly I cant be bothered cos I already told them long ago that I intend to clear all 16 weeks + annual leave for this time.

Anyway did my appraisal with my staff yesterday ... wow she got so emo that she dashed out of the room screaming at us (directed at my colleague)! *faintz*

Had to wait for her to cool down before I could chat with her to find out what exactly is she unahppy abt and to tell her again ... what exactly WE are unhappy abt *sigh*

How I wish I can scream like her hahaha anyway told them that just be prep that I will disappear this week onwards liao cos my #2 was born at 38week++

Seabreeze

Yr boss having PMS I guess emo outburst..

Anyway since u alrd upfront tell her then just heck care lar n enjoy yr break to come!!!

Juz to share..

If yr Bb has some 'Bb acne' or 'heat rash' or 'diaper rash' apply some BM on affected areas and u will see the improvements [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Metta

can get the 'Ng kee' frm med hall to bathe Bb with jaundice! Get them to pound for u..boil a portion for 15mins and add to Bb bath water..

Get a few whole seeds wrap in red pkt n put at Bb cot..

Babydes, ur confinement is ur mum do for you de?

Congrats Celia. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My BM came only on Day 4 or 5 if I rem correctly. Is quite long and after much stimulation then come.

Ade, how was ur wound infected huh?

Jac, why are you sitting on the floor huh?

Elle, ok. So maybe next time got to csect also?

Seabreeze, so in the end did your staff take in on the feedback that you and ur colleagues not happy with her?

Lilbluey thanks for sharing the info on the rashes.

Pearlyn,

I also envy those mummies talking about shedding half of what they had gained. I am still gaining weight even though at 39 weeks liao bcos the fridge is so tempting and I constantly get access to FOOD! I think my mum worried that I will strave the baby and kept stocking food at home. Now I feel like eating ice cream in this hot weather. Must ren!

Ade why gynae ask u to stop confinement coz heaty is it, that’s why the rashes? Mine full body leh, neck, tummy, arms… but after I took my own anti histamine now better le.

Elle, sounds like your delivery really very traumatizing hor. I guess different healthcare staff maybe they have different school of thoughts ba.

Lilbluey, no leh, in fact my mum ask me to drink up all her hot soup so that I can perspire. Haha...

Seabreeze, wa your staff very drama queen hehe… You guys must be more composed hor.

Apple ...

Dunno lar ... I explained to her areas that she need to work on and tell her that since I am not around and there is a major event coming up ... a good time to prove herself IF she really feels that we are the one who are 'against' her.

But everything ended off q ok lar ... at least I hear her out and I know areas that I need to work on as a boss too =p

momotan, me also 4th day. but my milk came in 2 days ago le. i kept latching him on the 2nd night actually every other hr leh coz he was so cranky! but maybe because of its my second child thats why came in faster too. did u keep latching lucas on? try squeeze ur nipple a bit and see maybe got more than wat u thk.

Apple I sit in a pail of water (sitz bath) everyday to “chill”out my down under too haha… If not feel very gross out!

Anyway, my gynae press press on my tummy muscles says they are very weak. I need to work it out otherwise my tum tum will be loose… ☹

mummies can anyone pls advise me..

Ytd I tried bfg for first time den found out I had inverted nipples so attempt failed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now baby is on FM for time being. LC advised me do expressing so tmr I will go home try with pump.

My question is now that I cannot latch directly, I can only feed ebm, if at home at least can feed fresh or from fridge... But how if I bring baby out??

How to bring the ebm along??

Then I've started drinking soup like papaya fish soup and hot Milo etc... So if I start expressing tmr, should have colostrum first right?? Den wait for milk ss to come? Am I right? So I've to supplement with FM until my ss totally come in??

I'm worried pumping may not drain breasts fully and will get engorgement or blocked ducts.. What should I do???

Lastly, mummies who went for c-sect, how u all bathe?? Wound will hurt right? Ytd nurse say I must walk so I tried and damn painful but must tahan.. Today so so much better.. I can walk by myself Liao.. Just worried abt the bathing part...

Sorry I am having so much questions cos I'm at a loss... Didn't expect bfg to fail cos all along I thought I was "normal"

momo

So good today u can go home!!

I will be discharged tmr if everytg ok..

So far Aedan is fine.. So I can't wait to bring him home tmr!!

novakido,

Oops, sorry. Hehe. I am like you, trying to resist temptations now cos I really dun want to put on more weight liao and dun want bb to grow too big, later cannot come out naturally.

Shin,

dun worry abt bathing the bandage is waterproof will keep the wound dry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I started bathing on the 6th day after I get Hm!! So frustrated getting all sticky sweaty and with a head of oily hair!!! Argh!!

Walking will speed up recovery, day 2 was quite a nitemare getting down frm bed but day 3 onwards much better le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin, I remember for inverted nipples, there is an apparatus called breast shells to pull your nipple out during breastfeeding right? Did your lactation nurse advise u? My gfr she also has inverted nipples and yet she direct latch on still and now she has breastfeed for 19months le wor!

I'm shivering and feeling so cold when waking up this morning. Huhuhu.. Say goodbye to ice cream till next month :S..

So far I have no confinement, eat as I like, including eating ice cream at night time :$..

I thought nothing will happen becoz I'm feeling ok. Maybe becoz yesterday I'm so exhausted, lack of sleep, some more, I'm wearing shorts & during breastfeeding in aircon room (my baby's room is aircon 24 hours) never put blanket on my leg. huhuhu..

Congrats to ladies who have popped[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jiayou to e rest who are still waiting q(^_^)p, njoy e coupletime w hb n let him pamper u coz it will never b e same again w bb ard.

BBlin, my bb's poo also like wat u described. he's on TBM

Good afternoon all![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gsm,

Im not too sure about ginseng..but im taking it on and off with 1 finger size into my soup la....

so far ok[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilbluey

Yea...my mom always makes us drink soup after or before meal..not during meal time!Cos water/fluid makes us bloated if taken during meal together with starch[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple,

Hahaha....Hb told me yest...Prata is missing..looking at those Dhal like poo!!LOL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy

OOhhh....careful k...eventhough i do break confinement rules everyday but i do make an effort to drink something hot to heat up the body esp at night!

Shivering is not good[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

keep yourself warm esp at night..like drinking hot cereal/hot choc or red dates drink[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]take care..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

Actually,you still can bf if you want..Novakido is rite about inverted nipples...there's nipples shield for bfg mum

Congrats Elle and Shin

Both of u reamind me of my previous delivery also same case narrow pelvic end up c-sect. Its over now just enjoy your bundle of joy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

Good to hear that u and jadelyn are doing well! wow u really have good milk supply!! Good work!

BBlin

I have sent my girl for jaundice check 2days ago and jaudice level of 204 she would need to go back for checks again tmr. PD says I still can continue TBF not a concern so im still on TBF. Lujayne's poo also like what you have described she can poo more than 6times daily on TBF. if for BM & FM, just make sure he can poo at least more than 3x a day.

Nova

I hiao la..am wearing the binder for 24hrs including meal times! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess D, Ade

I also have engorgement but yesterday Mdm Siti has helped to release it liao but the pressing was so painful!! After she press press my milk just spray out high in the air like fountain!!!

Momo

for c-sect u can do massage after 2 weeks le and its better to do it within your confinement period easier to shrink your womb and tummy. Dont wait till 1 month later by then its hard to reduce to your ideal pre-pregnancy weight.

Shin

Ya..dont worry the bandage is waterproof will keep the c-sect wound dry. I also start bathing when i return from hospital on day 4, cant tahan the sweat and hot weather and now i shower everyday! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rashes:

started appearing on tummy after 1st massage session 3days ago. then spread to e whole body incl. soles. was told by aunt could b too heaty n today stopped e red dates drink, now only drink hot plain water. although not subsided yet, at least it's no longer itchy

Groovy,

i also had a shivering episode last night after my 1st cold shower. (coz my itch n rashes were really bad last night n cold shower helps to temp relive e itch).

pls try to take more hot beverages n soup n keep urself covered up

hi all! Having a hot afternoon again. Wishing for rain!!! Later going to bukit timah to see jadelyn's PD for her jaundice checkup. Think shld pass lah. These couple of days at home my mum and grandma's been bringing her down to the park to sun for 30mins in the morning. They told me a lot of people stopped to look at her 'cos naked except for her diapers in her baby rocker on the grass patch. Heh heh!

Princess d,

I dunno about the pearl powder leh. My mum just gave before I cld say anything. She said it helps with jaundice and it's good for baby girls. Also said I had pearl powder when I was a few days old last time.

Re: expressing milk out after every feed

Asking mummies here who do this... Where you store the expressed milk? Usually baby emptied quite a lot of milk and what's left probably only a few ml. Hard to store like that leh. But if throw away also wasted right? And hand express or use pump?

Xin, zuen, snoopy, cyn (and mummies still waiting),

Hang in there! You know what, I kinda miss the times I feel my baby kicking, hiccuping, rolling around in the tummy even though now I can see her, kiss her, hold her. But I don't have her with me 24 hrs anymore. So treasure this time 'cos you only have a few days left to enjoy your pregnancy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you okay?

Teoong,

My mum's fridge really not much space for my ebm also. Her fridge all stocked with my confinement herbs and stuff, not that my supply is exceptional. Haha!!

Last night was the very first night I handled baby all by myself! Kinda proud of my achievement. Heh heh! Woke up to latch her on I think 3 times and on 2 occasions she had wet/soiled diapers so need to clean her up. Finally saw her poo turning more and more yellow, but still have seedy green bits in them. Thot I'd be scared to clean her but realized everytime I see her diaper wet/soiled, I feel happy and relieved!

Starry:

It's so contradicting rite? When we are preggy, we hope that bb can pop soon cos of the big tummy etc. But when pop, we hope that bb can still be in tummy cos we can feel their movements and they are with us 24/7

Jacq, my fridge too! Stock with confinement food /herbs and now trying to squeeze space for my EBM.

Sometimes I hope baby can drink more, so she can empty my fridge faster also. heehee..

Ameda pump,

ladies who are using this pump, e instruction says not to boil or wash tubing, adapter cap n tubing adapter. yet all these parts will b in contact w BM. so how do u clean e parts?

irish

hahha..Mdm siti does tat to me on the first session!like yours...shoot up high!Got sound somemore..wahahhaahhahaha[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bibizai

tht tubing and adapter cap got no contact with bm wat?

The tubing is the long tubing and the cap is the white cap that capped the bottles?

I am using Ameda[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pearlyn,

Take care of yourself these few days and catch more rest and zzzz while you can! Once baby out it's really no night no day. Heheh!

Apple,

I read those bf magazines and it says poo should turn yellow by day 5/6. Today's day 7 le, the last I checked her poo, still not 100% yellow, got greenish bits inside. Hopefully next 'batch' we will strike gold. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] abt the csect, doctor said he had to do 'something extra' to make my uterus contract. Said what put pills up my rectum. Ughs... Can't bear to imagine. I guess they had to increase the dosage of anaesthesia to keep me sleeping another hr. Finally today showered 'cos my mum says after giving birth shldn't bathe for at least 5 days. Dunno lah.. Her confinement 'rules and regulations'. Happy to be able to wash my hair!!

Shin,

Inverted nipples also can bf. Don't worry abt that part. You can go buy the nipple shield meant for mummies with inverted nipples. Go online and do a bit of reading up on this issue too and I'm sure you will find a lot of info and encouragement from other mummies with the same situation. Think you will be expressing colostrum at first since baby didn't manage to latch on. Don't stress urself over supply, just slowly build up. In the meantime supplement with FM but continue to latch baby on even when nothing comes out as it will help you make more milk. Jia you k? You can do it!

As for the wound, there's waterproof bandage. Won't touch water at all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but you may not be used to standing for long time in shower, so I suggest just wipe down until you can walk around, stand without assistance. Does your wound still hurt now?

Lilbluey,

I also had to endure sticky sweaty body and oily hair till this morning!! Baby's 6 days old le. Happy!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the feeling to shower is damn SHIOK!!!

Princess d,

Your hubby very good imagination. Yellow poo = dhal. Wahahaha!!! Ask your maid buy back some thosai for him tmr morning. :p

Irish,

How are you and the little princess? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so far I'm happy with the milk supply also as I'm producing more than enough for baby. Hopefully can keep up with her in the following weeks/mths! Lujayne can poo more than 6x a day? That's a lot!! Don't think Jadelyn is pooing so much. Didn't keep count though. Talk abt breast massage to clear blocked ducts.. Wah... Damn painful!!! Worse than csect wound pain. Scared. And I suspect I still have a couple of ducts not cleared. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ian,

How're you and your wife? She's still working right?

Xin,

It's like that lor. So while I was waiting and waiting, I kept telling myself to enjoy the pregnancy 'cos it wasn't gonna last and I knew I would miss it!

Re: medela freestyle

Started using it to express my full boobs this morning 'cos baby was sleeping and wasn't time for her to feed yet. I love the pump!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] definitely a well-spent investment.

I am taking Frenugreek. But still not much improvement, has anybody try organic mother's milk tea before?

I am getting it from one of the bulk purchase thread. Just want to increase my milk supply.

Traditional Medicinals Organic Mother’s Milk, Tea Bags

thank u mummies for the reply...

Yah the LC mentioned 2 apparatus - nipple puller and nipple shield. But she advised against nipple shield cos she say it's temporary and baby will need to be weaned off it.. So hb and I decided to do total expressing lor...cos we thought the nipple puller thingy sounded so painful! Haha

Any mummies doing total expressing??

I think Vivian right? If I rmb correctly.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How do u all store the milk in fridge? I heard thawed BM fm freezer has a metal-fishy taste.. Will baby not want the BM?

How u all transport the BM when bringing baby out??

Re:wound

Ohhh i see.. Cos I didn't dare see my wound until today.. Saw got bandage over it..

Jac

It's less painful Liao... So much lesser!

But I can't stand long cos after a while it hurts.. So I better take it slower first[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin,

I m keeping my eyes on 21st oct liao. If I dun have labour from now till then, 21st oct is my light at e end of e tunnel. Actually, I also not sure when m I so eager to deliver. Maybe bcos of e anticipation bah. E feeling of being so near yet so far. Lol.

Princess, jac,

Yeeeeeeeee.... So gross!!! Joking abt poo poo!!???

Princess,

My girl refused to nap with her diaper. She's on my bed n w/o diaper now. Wish ms luck ya. Hoho.

Zuen, Xin2 and seabreeze

Me too.. yet another night.. last night I had few rounds of very strong BH couple with a tingling sensation near my cervix area, i thought it was dilation. the first time it happened, I could barely walk!! I thought that was the signal for me… but after observing the whole night, nothing really happened leh.

Zuen, I dun have much appetite for proper food, but I have good appetite for sweets and ice cream too!! Fruits also!!

Seabreeze, you going back to work in April 2011? You have so much annual leave!! so envy..

Btw, anyone knows if public holidays are included or excluded from maternity leave?

zuen

U still around ah???? Haaaaa

Hey congrats ! Finally ur girl decided herself not to have diaper on!good girl! Proud of her... Give her sometimes even though they might wet their bed once awhile ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

I used to carry those EBM out in a cooler bag with ice pack in it! Those reusable ice pack can get it easily from supermarkets or kiddy palace ... However, u must really ensure tt the milk is cold enuf when u remove from the bag cos it might not last long .. I rem it last the most 6hrs n tad milk slowly smells funny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jac>>yeah..last day of work on the 20th~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilbluey, thanks for the tip. my boy jaundice readings is going up ! although not yet in risk level but I'm already worried - have asked my mom to buy this evening at medical hall.

Wiselyn, Baby luke is same day birth as my boy Daryl. His weigth is 3.0 kg.

Congratulations Wiselyn.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Iris Thank you[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

halo mummies! congrat to those who's popped! and those who's yet.. pls do jia yu! finally got time to sit down for a quick break, it's really tough without a CL!!! My CL only appeared 1 wk after delivery, but now i see how she handle baby i feel a bit heart pain coz not very gentle and i think i'd rather forgo my sleep and confinement food and take care of the baby myself. Any first time mum feel the same??? Or m i just being too paranoid?

Anyway, here's my birth story... Induced at 12noon due to not much fetal movement, by 5pm only 1.5cm dilated and can feel contraction but bearable. Once the VE was done i feel stronger contraction, gynae says i can go have dinner, shower etc and return at 10pm if the pain set in, may only deliver the next day. Reached home the pain became more intense, pack up stuffs and rushed back to hospital, 5cm dilated by 7pm. I'm screaming for epidural and the nurse says why you come so late, too late already. I almost scold 4 letter words, she gave me an oxygen mask, i try for awhile and it doesn't help. I was pushed into the delivery ward so as not to distress other mummies there i guess, the anesthetist appeared and administer the epidural, but i can't feel anything other than contraction pain, midwife keep telling me not to push yet. By 9pm i'm 9cm dilated. Within 30 minutes, I hear a loud pop and the water splash to the ground, saw midwife and nurses rush in, another one with mop to clean the floor. I pushed for 90 mins until... #$@%^%$@& coz i can still feel much contraction, hubby is very excited keep telling me what he see down there.. finally gynae appeared and tell me it's time, I hear a snap and within second my baby is out and landed on my chest.. That moment is sweet =) Gynae continue to work on the stitch, I keep asking him why the stitching took so long, he says i've a torn V and episiotomy. Baby was out by forcep, weighing 2.5kg. =)

My feet are more swollen then before, anyone with this problem? gynae says it will go away eventually. And the stitching still hurt after a week, how long does it take to recover?

Sigh my rashes are back again! Dunnoe why... itchy scratchy!

Irish, Now I am wearing the binder outside with my tshirt coz me having rashes... otherwise it will be itchy. hope it works. i try wearing 24 hrs too leh but hor when i m breastfeeding i realise its making my boobs engorged leh coz its pushing up while i m sitting down so i take it out... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Afternoon mummies!

Empress, Wah! You actually scold the 4 letters words ah! Can imagine what you are going thru after reading the birth story. But why doesnt your gynae ask you to stay in after inductions? I thought usually gynae would advise mummies to stay in one of the ward after inductions wor.. My feet are swollen after birth also, I feel sharp pains walking too. Then I tried one of the remedies the mummy here intro, drink red bean soup. It helps with the feet swelling. Maybe you wana try this?

Irene, holidays which fall into the first 8wks are considered part of your ML. So in fact we lugi the Nov holidays lor..