(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Need some advise.. Is it okay that baby can be drinking every 1-2hrs? My girl has been drinking about 100ml every 1-2hrs this morning wor.. Is she going thru growth spurt?

Wiselyn, Momotan, can i ask, how long was the wait at Kids Clinic? I read from forum that some pple actually waited from 2-4hours before seeing the PD wor? Is it true?

Wah no epi, Congrats cyn!!

Melissa, i only wear bra n breast pad when i sleep. During e day when no visitors at home go braless.. Damn hot la..haha bt so far no leaking during e day coz i always pump/latch 2-3hrs

Hi Teoong

My boy also seeing Dr Lilian Lim at kids clinic, waiting time around 45mins to 1 hour even with appointments

Re : Medela breast pump

I had just went to the svc centre at Toh Guan Yesterday as I thot my pump isn't working.. Wasteful and ling trip! All is working fine.

For the breastshield funnel(soft fit), this cannot be sterilised. Just was with hot water. The breastshield assembly which has a soft membrane thingy shd be sterilised only once per day. The tubing that connects the pump to the bottle needs not be sterilised.

Try not to remove or meddle with the battery so as to prolong the batt life.

Now my breastshield assembly on one side like not working properly too. Sigh.

No breastmilk:

Tdy is already day 7 after delivery. Breast milk or colostrum still a tablespoon nia despite taking fenugreek, fish papaya soup massage etc...

Sigh!!

Went to see a lactation consultant too whom teaches the technique to properly massage the breast also no use.

Breast still feels light leh.

Empress: Dont be overly stress with ur Cl. I think many will have this expereince.I also has issues with mine. The first time CL bath bby bby msybe poo and pee but she didnt notice. During the next chge of diaper then reaslise romper got bit of shit and patch of urine lo. Then tha bath towel also didnt notice got bit os stain poo. But I wld attribute it to lao hua yan sometimes didnt see. So long she can handle bby well sometimes give and take lo.

The first few dys of cooking also I didnt like, so just maybe mentioned what food you wld like lo.Actually also wondering shdnt it be the other way ard, since they are familiar with confinement fd, then they shd just tell us right. But maybe it boils down to communication.

Dont;s be stress out ok. Jia you

thx guys.. really kinda stress. I'll give her one more chance, if she still insist goin her way then i'll hav to be frank to her that i'm very uncomfortable with that. I can forgo confinement food, just want to take care of the baby the way i want.

rgd bloatedness and vomit milk, i know sometimes they vomit milk if didn't burp properly, but i notice the baby has a big and round stomach, is it normal? looks bloated, but he didn't cry for discomfort thou, so far only cry for milk and when poo.

rgd funegreek, how does it look like? in capsule form? roughly how much anyone any idea?

Re: vomit milk

Mummies, do we need to feed baby again aft he spits milk?

Else like all his food is gone. So must refeed again?

Teong,

Not sure abt the walk-in patients waiting time for kids clinic.

My appmt was scheduled, so aft registration, I waited for less than 30mins I think.

Last time when I pass by the clinic, before it opens, can alr see long queue outside.

teoong,

If no appt, then waiting could be up to 5hrs or more for sat....but if with appt, it will be much faster says an hr or lesser....priority will be given to newborns....

teoong,

maybe you could call up the clinic and tell them urs is a newborn if you wanna walk in. The last time i walk-in when my boy is 4 mths old, they told me had to wait for 6-7 hrs despite running a high fever. Personally, i find Dr Lilian a better & more detailed PD compared to Allyson. My older boy was assigned to Allyson while this time round, the younger one was assigned to Lilian. Waiting time is about an hr even though you had an appt.

I wan to ask if ur know hor In this case if m'y girl really drink m'y bm. I let her latch then most of thé Time found thé béd, thé place where she drink wet. Change side ok. Then aft she unlatch n i feed her fm. She still CAN drink finish abt 90ml.

Empress

the fernugreek is selling at $29.50 from GNC in capsule format. 30pills. take 2 / 3 pills, 3 times a day.

This work and doesn't for some. So depend on individual.

Princess,

You must b kidding. Hohoho. I dun want liao. Hb also happy with 2. In fact, b4 we conceive, he was trying to convince me tat one is enuff. Haha. We will b very careful.

Cyn,

I change position in bed also feel kan ko now, no mood to ML lah. Tried suggesting 2 weeks earlier but hb scared hurt bub. I also no strength to persist. Now, I only want to lie down whole day if I can. Kekeke.

Shirlz,

Reached edd liao n still must wait 1 week to induce ah? My gynae mentioned will induce if by edd no active labour. I will beg him too even if he doesn't suggest. So xin ku now.

Thanks Ade, momotan and Wiselyn. Maybe I will call Kids Clinic to make apptmt first. 6-7hrs ia really long wait.

Shirlz, your bub overdue? Did your gynae discuss the possibility of inductions if over EDD? maybe you talk to him on the nxt visit? Can't wait to see your little baby too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess, haha...will wait for my chance to pinch those cheeks then :p

vivian, i will be alone most days, unless my mum agrees to come over to help. I wouldnt mind going over but think getting out of the house might take too long plus so much barang...till i settle into a routine with him...

so regardless of bm or fm, rhea can last 3 hrs til next feed?

Emmie,

ic... slowly bah..

As for bm, it depends. Usually daytime she sleeps longer so most of the time can last 3hrs but evening and night might cut short to 2hrs. This girl sometimes can fuss for milk after 1 hr too... but we think most likely she just need comfort...

Baby's poo are not supposed to be smelly right? Yesterday my boy's poo was kind of yellow & muddy & it stinks!

Re pantang, ya ever since the preggie woman touch him, he becomes more cranky & diff to care for now. When I lecture my baby when he's awake, he straight away went into deep sleep! Naughty fella!

princess,

i can feel ur excitement alrdy.. i had my pampering session of hairdo/clothes/nails all done last week, if not really looks terrible!!! my party was great, no hassel.. order neo garden buffet n bengawan cakes n vouchers..

now cant wait to put on my heels n dresses to work!!! but seems like going back to work is almost impossible esp with 3 monkeys.. sigh.

poopoo,

my bb also dont poopoo everyday.. shd be fine as long as e poo is not hard stool ba..

It has been ages since I last slept for more than 3 hours straight. Got to wake up every 2 to 3 hours to either feed milk or to pump. sigh. so deprive of Zzzz..

hi mummies... Been so bz and tired that I've no time to log in [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so super overwhelmed!! Haha

I have been trying to pump and finally today there's like smth translucent gluey liquid flow out... Isit sign that milk is coming in?? I'm just trying to pump that milk ss comes in... But right now my breasts feel very full and little hard and sore... Isit engorgement??? I vv scared cos nth coming out yet...

cyn,

Great job on the attempts to bf Eldrick! Keep it up and you will succeed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: tbf boobs

Is it normal to feel soreness and tenderness around breast and nipple area? Sometimes even after baby unlatches, I'll still feel very raw and tender around the entire breast area. If touch/press gently will also feel very sore. Why huh? Today already day 8. Thought shod have felt a lot better by now. No issue with supply, as it is increasing. Only have to manage engorgement when baby is sleepy and doesn't wanna latch on and breasts get filled up.

pantang - how about try to cut a small branch of ang huay and put at baby body. It should be help to keep baby more quiet. If you take ang huay from neighbour (dont ask but just snipe a small branch) leave a red packet with a small toke e.g 20cts at the flower pot.

Thanks all mommies regarding pain management. I'm getting better. Since last night decide to skip painkillers and bite the bullet. So far so good - bearable discomfort. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa, thanks for the tip. I will try massaging and doing the cycle exercise. hopefully poo poo comes really soon.

Princess - tried hot compress still the same lei. will monitor if lump increases, will call lact consultant for help!

Current status - really lack of sleep. last night feed almost every hour. I'm suck dry by 6 am. he keep crying for more. tonight will do plan B - FM to aid if situation same as last night.

BM+FM - I also think not good to mix FM and BM. should feed it to baby separately. I think as you had employed the CL, it is right that she follow some of our preference.

got to go... he just wee in his baby cot!

fifi,

thx a lot! i'll call the parentcraft LC tomorrow to find out more, maybe the shield is really too small, coz look quite squeezy also. Thx!

shin,

i experience that once, the whole breast become as hard as rock so i called the helpline in the middle of the night, they told me to take 2 panadol and ask someone else to massage for me till soften then pump again. It's really painful!

shin,

My breasts were exactly like what you described when I was in the hospital on day 3. You have to bear with it and keep on massaging, and use pump also. Try to feel for lumps, which means blocked ducts. Press hard on them and try to push the lumps towards nipples. It will be painful, but have to bear with it. You'll be fine in a couple of days.

Zuen/teong : gynea say still can afford to wait another wk..after day then induce..he say coz if cervix n bb not ready..induction might fail n can result in csect instead..so i'd wait loh..I so envious those of u dat hv popped n some even passed ur confinement!! Sigh...

Princess d: sista..u've come to e end of ur confinement..mine not even showing signs of starting yet loh..si bei sian man..aiyoh I don want my bb to be too big loh..how to come out like dat??!!

Shirlz,

Gynea mentioned same thing abt c sect if body n baby not ready too. I will see him on 20th, which is my edd. Guessed I will noe for sure wat happens then. Last apptm, no dilation but cervix soft. I think baby not engaged yet cos I felt his hiccups at my side when I lie sideway to slp last night.

shirlz,

dont worry, just hang in there for now and be patient! you will get to hold your baby in your arms very very soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] when you start your confinement, i'll still be halfway thru it only.

actually my confinement not really a confinement leh. apart from having confinement food, shower alternate daily, i still stand in front of the fan and also went to the mall with hubby etc. even baby's bottles and breast pump parts also use tap water to wash them myself.

empress,

the fenugreek come in capsule form. GNC sells this and i think a bottle is like $30++.

cherry,

you are already thinking of going back to work?? haha!!! i'm enjoying my ML leh, although like you, i can't remember when was the last time i had slept at least 3hrs straight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shirlz:

Hihi. I also hoping tat baby can pop before edd and dont need to be induced. My gynae also said the same thing abt induction failed n end up csect. Well, will see hw it goes since my edd is only 21oct.

Will be seeing gynae tmr.

Zuen:

I also think my baby may nt be engaged yet. Felt his hiccups at sides also. Super sian.. Scared baby too big. I was telling hb if baby nw of average weight, I won't be so eager for him to come out. But knowing he's quite big Liao just wan him to come out fast fast.

Suddenly realized that quite a lot of mummies behind us in the q seems to hv pop but not us.

like Jac, I also wash the bottles n pump with water, otherwise how not to touch water? Very unhygiene.

Empress, fernugreek cost $29.50 100 capsule in 1 bottle at gnc.

ok thank you mummies!!

Now really need to learn as much as I can..

Also got some issues with my CL that even my MiL also complain.. Got one time she say the nose got dirty things, she wanna use cotton bud to dig it out.. At first I said no politely... Cos common sense what!! Even hospital also teach cannot.. Then she tell me she experienced nanny for so long and she always does this and no problems at all.. I think that's when I snapped at her and said don't tell me experienced or not... The nurses said there are cases where one person did it and the cotton bud got stuck inside the nose. She kept quiet.

I didn't mean to be rude to her but sometimes cannot keep insisting her way what... Hais

zuen,

yah man... the weather is KILLING! only this morning started to have a bit of rain. very cooling. then afternoon onwards hot again. hope tomorrow rains some more!!

xin,

i hope you get to hear good news from your gynae tomorrow. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] update us k?

apple,

do you sterilize the pump every you use it? i'm worried about the silicon parts. 'cos i realize i have to pump up to 3 times a day already. if sterilize after every use may have to replace the spare parts very soon.

re: ebm

each of my pumping session yields around 100ml and i've been storing them in the fridge (at the back where it is colder). jadelyn is only having like 60ml per feed currently and i always try my best to latch her on because i love the bonding with her that way. at night it's fully latch on, no bottle feed. just wonder if i store and and store and if supply increases more, how to deal with the extras? ebm can store for up to 4 days in fridge so if i transfer to freezer say on the 3rd day, is it safe? and is it okay to just pour out 60ml from the milk bag but seal up the remaining and put back in the fridge for next feed? very wasted to heat up all 100ml and she only drinks 60ml.

shin,

CL is CL after all. not really infant care expert. anyway, what dirty things inside the nose? usually they will be cleared out by those rubber suckers once the baby comes out.

oh, this afternoon hubby's parents and grandma dropped by my mum's place to see baby. just nice it was feeding time and i was about to feed her my ebm. i only made 60mls, so it actually looks quite little in the bottle. the grandma saw and asked very loudly, "you not enough breastmilk is it, have to feed formula?" i was a bit pek chek 'cos weather so hot and i was trying to coax baby to take the bottle nipple. so i just replied loudly also, "this is my ebm, i had too much supply so need to pump out otherwise very painful." then she just keep quiet. luckily my PIL's are tactful enough, nv outrightly qn my bm supply.

Jac, the only time I steralise is the first use. After that is wash cleanly and throughly.

Xin,

I also hoping that I will pop naturally but I think chance very slim wor. Hopefully you have good news tomolo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: sterilization of pump

I used to sterilize after every pump leh. Sterlisation is to kill the germs that grow. We also sterilize the milkbottles after every use, so the same theory should apply bah. I m using ameda n actually changed the spares quite a few times during the 8 months that I was expressing.

I have this lump under the pits.. I forgot what should I do with it?? It's a little painful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] it's due to the milk ducts isit??

I never do anything to BB nose dirt, becoz when BB cries, nose become moist n dirt will eventually come out.

Jac, I also never follow strict confinement, also went to supermarket..but I will put on a cardigan as body feel frail during confinement period.

hey mummies, my boy hasnt pooped for 2 days shld i be worried?

he is on partial BF and FM... is it cos the FM is not suitable? But in hospital they were oredi feeding him FM at night and the 1st few days he was poo-ing a few times a day. these 2 days totally nothing.

tdy my boy has been wanting to latch every 30mins or so. dunno is he hungry or jus latching for comfort or cos i dun hv enuff BM to meet his needs? it only happen today. i feel so drained now.

Zuen / xin2 : my gynea mentioned dat usually for Asians..bb don get engaged until we r in labour coz our pelvic is smaller..I also feel bb hiccup when I lie in right side le.. I'm experiencing alot of BHC nw..very uncomfy..keep feeling breathless..is tis a sign??

Mummies..which fm u feed ur bb ah?? Tot shld get a tin to standby..

shirlz: for ur consideration la...

we didnt buy FM b4 bb was delivered. during hospital stay, i told the nurse i wan FM feed at nite n i specify the brand. i wanna take this chance let bb try out the FM brand n see if he is suitable. upon discharge i chk w the nurse if bb is ok w the FM? nurse say ok so when i got discharge i ask my hubby to go grab a tin.

FM aint cheap so jus in case buy liao if not suitable then wasted. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

liliac White, my girl got experience 2 days no poo before. Was told to use mineral water to make fm cos the water here not engh mineral water. Then she ok aft that. I type n slept at thé ss Time.

Lilac white...

My boy din poo for a day and I'm so worried. I checked with my frens & they all said if on fm, 2-3days no poo is still ok.. More than that then got to bring to doc. My boy poo last nite and was like mustard! I'm so glad & relieved after his big poo!!!

Shin...

Not sure you talking abt nose dirt? I'm using pigeon nose cleaner to suck out nose dirt. If bb got mucus in nose, this thing works! It comes with a tube for you to suck while another part got to place at nostril. My bb nose dirt is damn big pc!!! I'll then use the wet cotton bud to take it out when the dirt is suck out from deep inside.

Morn mummies,

I'm still here waiting. Haiz.. Yet another night n no signs.

Zuen:

I can understand the insomnia part. I also find it so difficult to sleep. Mind kept thinkng n also I kept trying to feel if got any pain or wat. But so far just nothing lor.

Really hope to give birth soon but baby seems to take his own sweet time. I hv a feeling gynae will tell me the same thing again later.