(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

does your bb drinks water? have been trying to feed my bb water for abt a week and she's still rejecting. Used sippy cup but without any success..

how to help bb drink water?

Mommies i need to rant..

My sis n mom kept asking if ive fed sofea solids for e past few wks we visited em. Today i knew y. They wanted to feed sofea biscuits.

I used to eat those as a kid but they r Not baby biscuits. Its small n round like 5 cents coins n sweet n creamy when iy melts in yr mouth. My sis was v insistent n managed to feed sofea a couple of crumbs. I like blur2 sat there watching her feed sofea coz i was speechless! Here i am going thru ingredients list of cereals n baby biscuits making sure theres no sugr n salt etc, she happy2 jus shove food inside my baby's mouth! Bt After dat i managed to stop her.

Then my mom came ard n wanna pop half of e biscuit into sofeas mouth. I was v firm n said no. What if sofea choke on it?? Now they kept repeating.. Wah sofea like her biscuits but her mommy is now trying to put her on A diet! Wth sia?? If i wasnt ard n left sofea there. Im sure they'll jus continue feeding her . im sure theres salt n sugar n artificial flavors n egg in e ingredient list. I din say anything abt babys digestive system unable to breakdown complex food n susceptable to allergies etc. Dun want to gif a big speech. They alredy think im so rigid n v uptight when it comes to bringing up my child. Then again its my child!!

princess

hehehe.. i am temp sahm unless my hb suddenly becomes damn rich then i can be tai tai. lol... should be going back to work lah.. but at least when aedan is old enough to go childcare lor...

Jaime

yup.. mine does and now he drinks quite a bit daily cos im giving him fm and cereals. dun wan him to be dehydrated or too heaty... maybe u try to feed with spoon or syringe? slowly introduce and keep trying.... for me , my boy takes to water easily... since he was born we start giving him water bit by bit...

marrissa

i thik u need to make ur stand that no means no! like my granny says to give HONEY to aedan...i almost fainted!!!!!!! i told them NO NO NO! NO HONEY! unless u want my child to fall sick. then my mum comment "ayha... ur era the doctors not always right. last time we always eat also no problem. not all kids will get affected by honey lah"

Immediately i shoot back i said...."yah not ALL kids.. what IF aedan is affected then how? you gonna regret? yes, what doc says i need not follow blindly but WHY take the risk and then later if anyting bad happens then regret. touchwood...i say i rather be kiasu than lose my child... so NO means NO."

i think when it comes to such ting... really cannot scared that they angry or what... cos its our child we are protecting leh.... somemore they give biscuits and baby might choke lor!

shin

Tickle tickle!! Lol

Me too! Last night I got stomach cramp sia! Hb thought I sot sot!!!!!

We had a great night didn't we??

I just got bk from doc!! This Jade!!!!!!! Im gonna punish her with no food tmrw!!

At 6 pm complained tummy pain.. Went toilet bomb n play... 30mins later tummy pain ... Roll n curled up n cry (lasted 3mins) ....... Then 30mins later..... Again rolled n curled then cry!!!

Haiz... I was panicking afraid that it might be apencitis or wat la.... Carry her n went to the nearest clinic...

Clinic full!!!!!! Waited 2hrs carrying tat fAtty bom bom!

2hours nvr c her cry or wail or in pain !!! She laughed at the nurse, showed them her princess tattoo n more... Chat with 1grandma!!!!

I was curious!!how come no pain n she behaves like normal!!!!

Went into the clinic, the doctor was such a great guy n detailed!!weighed her 16kg n then check tummy!! Press here n there n press press presssed!!! No feeling n that girl still looking at her own tattoos k&n her hand! So I fed up la

Jade! R u in pain????

Dic said... She will b screaming by ten when I pressed her tummy!! But she seems 100% with me tho!!!

But maybe slight win n too much food!!!!!!!!!!! Too much food!!!!!

No meeds given n asked me to monitor tar fat girl!! Wah piang!!!! Told hb .. He laughed till pengz n said I too kancheonh !!! How not too when u see her rolling on the floor!!!

Too much food!! She is going to have No Food tmrw!!! Lol

Marissa,

Tell them v firmly to stop feeding such nonsense to bb at such young age n if they continue to do that, they will not see bb till she is ready to eat those biscuit ie maybe when she turns 1yr old!!

The child is YOURS so you have all the right to determine wat the bb eat. I even scolded my aunt for feeding candy floss when my #1 was 8-9mths old. That is how strict I am when it comes to the child diet.

So now, even my MIL need to ask me if she can give food or even fruits to my kids cos sometimes they just recover fr flu n stuff. Be firm cos if they can do it once, they will keep doing it m if they can do to ur #1, they can always do it to #2 n so on.

Princess Dia,

Wat a eventful day ...

Next time try apply ru yi oil to see if she feels better . My #1 does that sometimes so I apply the oil to warm his stomach n it helps.

princess

yah... great and fun night! lol

oh man! too much food? but is she ok now? no pain anymore? u know.. ur description like that reminds me of the picture of her with a banana and milo. hahahahahahhaa.... i thnk she ate too much so the tummy cannot take it? dunno whether to laugh or not leh.... hehehhee

seabreeze

yah agree with u! no choice we just have to to be firm cos its our child lor... if dont watch their diet.. later jia lat lah!!!!!

sea breeze

I did massage her with ruyi oil! Thinking if there's wind!!

6 pm started the pain n I monitor till 8 pm decided to bring her to the clinic !!!

Arrgghhhh!!!!! Haaaahaaaa

Shib

Yes!!! Her last scream n cry ... She had cheese in her mouth! Cos when she cry I saw 1whole slice is inside!! Tat girl eats non stop u know!!!

When I got bk , she run to her dad n look n said, papa doc said I dun need to eat meds!! My hb just broke into laughter!!!

Arrgghhhhhhh!!!!!

Then she went to her bed n said mommy , don't b angry with me okay??? I kept quiet ....

Then she said I love u mommy.... I kelt quiet!

Then she turn n said! Mommy, u have not say, I love u darling??? Arrrrggghhhhhh!!!!!!!! JADE!!!!!!!

Gonna keep all her Milo !! Lol I just bought a bunch of bananas!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello mummies pop in to say hi b4 turning in...

O mighty princessd :p hehehe.. Read abt jade stomach upset. The way u described so funny... But hope she is doing good now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin, then ask ur hubby to invest more toto or 4d once strike big , u can be full time stay home mum :D

So anything interesting tonite? :p

princess

awwwww u know what... jade is really sucha sweetie. u cant help but love her cos its like u cant get angry with her!!!!! hehehehehehe

bblibran

hahaha i also wish leh!!!! IF only got such things but no lor... i need to be realistic. wahahahhahah.....

i tink so far nothing interesting tonight!!!! LOL... cannot everyday got interesting thing woh.... need to rest... hahahaha

shin, bblibran

Thanks... Doc said she is 100%. Fine!!! Arrhhhhh

I rushed out of house n forget to put on her sandals!! Now I ve got two retarded hands! Cramp n numb!! Brrr... Lol

No action tonight, I'm turning in too! V shack!!

Princess d,

Sherry nowaday keep saying stomach pain. Then next moment she take her ru yi oil n tell us to apply. Aft apply on her tummy she said ok already. Like Jade n Sherry can b gd actress. She can even act fall down just to catch our attention

Shin: Ya I also bought the enfapro fr luvbabies le. but hor that day i go compare the enfapro n enfalac DHA content... seems like enfapro, the DHA is higher if i remember correctly. Enfalac can drink until 12 mths le... so dunno if i should let him continue that or move to enfapro after he turned 6 mths.

Jaime: Yup i give water to my baby n he loves it. In fact, he is more excited abt drinking water than milk! -.-" in his 3rd mth onwards, i started giving like about 20ml a day cos i worry he will grow up not liking water. LOL... And I gave it to him in those small milk bottles. Just started him on cup with teat cos got it as a free gift. maybe for a start u can use those with teat than sippy type? Cos not all babies know how to use sippy n that might be a reason y ur baby doesnt like to drink water.

Princess D: Aiyo your jade is tooo cute la. Did she ransack your whole kitchen prior to the tummyache episode? Heh

lilac

i think i might switch after he abt 7 months or so.... cos i rmb Irish was telling me more or less similar and enfapro cheaper! plus they will get supplements from solids... hahahaha.... so save money!!! unless enfalac really so much better than enfapro then i will give until 12 months... but if enfapro has higher DHA... its better mah... right?

shin, scarly i see wrongly n confuse u!!!! HHAHAHAHAHAHAA! after giving birth, not only my brain is gone... even eye sight also failing? lol

mummies, anyone smell any haze? this morning i woke up, i smelled it. but by noon, its gone. i just went out to the living room, i smelled it again. dunno is it the indo forest fire again

Shin, yup yup... Shd ignore hubby... Hehhee...

Ann, err not nice to knock on neighbors door after midnight... Going to take mighty princess's advice to do milk bath. :p

Cherry, hubby says just nice courts sales! Keeping fingers crossed can find one that can fit into the space.

FIL says he will repair our fridge...I think safer to buy a new one...

Wah so happening these few days?

Im still half asleep coz woke up only to hear loud eh eh eh.. dunno whats wrong with him?? Can u imagine i need to place my palm on his butt then he will sleep?? Now substituting it with pillow. Haha.

Sorry if missed any posts. Read wo glasses now.

Zuen/shin

Cant throw clothes now hahhaa. Hubby is almost sick today. Huhu. Too busy these few days!

Shin

Agree with u.. !!

anyway just wanna share my big family.. im 5 yrs apart from my big bro n 7 years apart from youngee bro. I think my parents r taking it slow. Wahaha.

Good thing we still can "play" together even though agew apart.

Big bro n i like to play video games together. Big bro n younger bro love to make me angry. Younger bro n i love to play school.

Princess d

Super funny!! I cn imagine how cute she is when she said 'u havent siad i love u'! Hahaha

Reminds me of my cousin's son..

My cousin is one kind la. She will use mineral water to bathe baby. Then very protective to the son. Warm a bit also cannot bathe. The son is a mighty prince at home.

One day he complained a lot that his skin very itchy.

Took him to doctor as they r worried chicken pox or what.. as he has red spots n all.

The doc only said "errr... need to bathe more..... "

LOL

Because she n her mom will not let the son to bathe if he has cough etc. Cant dont bathe for few days while sweat a lot during the day!!! Hahaha. Till now it is one great joke in my family..

Lilac

Eberything is falling apart! No wonder women age faster than men! Hahaha

Marrissa

Be strong!!! I can imagine if im in ur shoes i might follow n negotiate.. but my inner feeling will struggle n say no!!

Why they wanna feed sofea with that?

Can u buy another biscuits that is suitable for her then ask them to feed that to her? At least u satisfy their urges to feed with biscuits.....

Emmie..

Have a fun milk bath then! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Spa at home!

Princess,

Easier to get warmth by snuggling next to another warm body lah. Hohoho.

Marissa,

My bb's relative wanted to feed Isaac butter cream cake at 3 mths. Heng, he still gong gong then. They give us that little bit wun die look. I told hb that they have to help rush Isaac to a&e if he develops an allergic reaction. Dd tried all sorts of rubbish too when she visited pil when she was young. Haiz.

Ann,

Dun worry. U hb loads of time to mk baby. Stil fertile now. I close factory liao.

Groovy:

The iron deficiency thing is if you feed BM only with no solids after 6 weeks. There are some people who have the misconception that when WHO advice to breastfeed for as long as possible, it means total breastfeed with no other solids. What you can do is get cereal that is iron fortified.

Re: Milk Powder Stages

Basically stage 1 has the most nutrients because baby needs the most of everything. However, this does not mean always stick to stage 1. The percentage of each nutrient changes with each stage because at each stage, babies need different things. It is something like stage 1, a certain nutrient is higher, then stage 2, a different nutrient is higher, etc.

Theory is like in 1st trimester of our pregnancy, we need folic acid but too much folic acid in the 2nd half of pregnancy is dangerous for baby. For milk powder, its not say dangerous but just perhaps not ideal if overly prolong and dun change.

My advice is change when you feel baby is comfortable to change (you need to mix for a while also). E.g. At 6 mths, consider adding 1 spoon of stage 2 to stage 1 milk feed. Slowly increase to 1 feed of stage 2. Then slowly replace totally. Reason why you need to change slowly is coz changing of milk may cause diarhoea for some babies.

nycmum:

Baby may be crying for comfort and not hunger. And for newborns, the need to suck is very high. Even if they are not hungry, they are able to finish almost whatever milk you give them in a bottle.

xin2:

For #1, my period came back when my daughter was 9-10 mths old. Even after that was 2 mths once. I was total breastfeed (latch+pump) all the way. For #2, menses not back yet. I have heard of people who din get their menses for more than 1-2 years.

Marissa:

What I do when my MIL/Mum wants to feed my kids funny stuff is tell them firmly no. I also explained to them once that allergies comes in 2 kids. One is the immediate reaction kind. The other has no immediate reaction but comes out in the form of other symptoms in the long run - e.g. asthma, etc. So we will not take such risks. And as I have shared before, all parents are very well aware that if they dun follow my instructions for my children, I revoke visiting priviledges. I have done this before when I banned all visitors after they all disrupted my #1 from sleep.

Shin, my sister also wanted to feed sofea honey as a newborn! She even brought a jar of honey to my hse, say feed baby a lil bit.. apparently its some kind of custom, let baby taste a bit of sweet, a bit of salty etc crap. Back then i didnt know abt the germ thingy in honey but i didnt feed sofea the honey of course.

Thanks SEabreeze, ya i need to b firm. I know em well, if the baby likes it they will keep feeding baby everytime we visit em.

Ann, i dunno wat baby biscuit is good.. got any to recommend? I bought the heinz teething one but sofea just gnaw on it then she spit out the soft bits. My fren told me farley heinz rusk biscuit is nice but saw got a lot of sugar in the ingredient.. dats y nice.

Zuen, buttercream cake ah? lol.

Fifi, thanks. I plan to do the same.. not visit em shd they continue to feed her. 1st time mommy, i like a bit blur2. and ppl oso take advantage of the fact dat maybe being a 1st time mommy sure dunno anything one. BUt with all these i hope i'll be a more confident mommy when #2 comes along.

Fifi:

Ok. So guess it's normal that my period not back yet. Hehe. Good leh. Hate having periods.

Wa. Ban all visitors? Think I won't be able to do that. Sure kena scolded from hb. Tat time complain abt MIL coming over everyday already quarrel lor.

But I agree totally that it's our child we hv to protect them. Got to be firm about certain things. Think my MIL now knows that I very particular so she also dare not ask or say too much. But I'll just fill her in on what is happening lor.

For my parents they are ok with whatever decisions we make they will advice but at the end of the day it's up to me n hb. Just like they kept saying muz start solids now cos too late to start at 6mths. But I insist n tell them no hurry n recommended is after 6 mths. They just listen lor.

Btw, wats ur nick in FB? I very blur leh. Dunno who is who cos name n nick in forum different.

good morning mommies n Ian

Wah nit much happening last night huh? Lol

Tiffy

Jade indeed had a tummy ache so I can't take it as she is feigning it at that point cos I ve nvr seen her cur king ip n cried so badly ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cos appendicitis pain starts at the navel are first n then can travel Dan to the right side! It was frightening but that girl got me there!!!=.=

Lilac

She didn't but hb n her shared a big packet of char sew rice at 5pm w/o me knowing cos I was in da toilet!!

She had 2pancakes milo n hash brown for her bfast at 11am so I tot I can skip her lunch but tat girl just Wang to eat!!

Tummy pain still ask for food!! Y like dat??lol

Ann, shin

Yah, I was actually quite upset n trying to calm dwn!! This girl... Arrrghhhhh!! Lol

Cannot get angry with her...

Zuen

Yah I thought so too but I was too quick whn I brought her out!! Mistake!! No sandals= hands cramped!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I ve got a very upset girl this morning!

She is having a slice of bread n warm water for her bfast!!!

Still whinning n begging everyone at home now for cheese, Milo, pancakes, hash brown!

Wahaaaaahaaa!! Wat a joke!!!!

Marrissa:

Yup. Think u just got to be firm n say NO. Cos if anything happens to baby, mummy suffer leh. They only see see n play play a while nia. Then think it's fun lor. But not easy to take care lor.

I'm also first time mummy so I ask ard a lot. N of cos the forum helps. Muz be kiasu a bit lor. Search the web n read up lor.

Are u on my FB? Don't think I've seen sofea photos. Can add me? [email protected]

marrissa

Eh, quite teruk eh! Why they like dat???

Biscuits????? I dun even give all this to them till like around 10mths or so .... Tell them firmly!

Or not touch the kid!!!

My mil used to tell me to feed jade porridge n bread (soak with water) at night to make her full!! Bread!!!! What are thru thinking ???

princess_d lol! A lil bit of wind n too much food!! kena carry 16kg for 2 hrs sure angry one. Hope jade will b gd on banana diet today.. Hehe

Ann

Bathe with mineral water?????! Hnmmm ?? Wat good they got from that man???! *roll eyes*

Lilac

The haze indeed is back!! Yesterday was quay bad ESP in the noon around 2pm! The weather lately is madness!!!

Princessd:

Jade is just too cute to get angry with her la.

Really amazed at how much she can eat.

Still hope to be able to be friends n see nice pics of jade n Meghan.

Morning mummies.

Droppin in before start my day

Wahaha forum now become like routine for me :p

Princess

Hahaha jade is too cutee!!

Lots of ppl like her!

Meghan is cute too!!

Maybe u should consider creating a fan page for them on fb? *wink*

Marrissa

I hv one of happy puffs/melts..

I think van give now? Hvnt try on niko yet though. Not sure whether too sweet or not..

xin2:

When I do it, it applies to both sides. So hubs cannot complain that much. For both parents and in-laws, I guess they realise that I am serious when I say that they should not interfere in how I run my household, how I raise my kids. My rules are final and only my husband can overule me (he has to convince me though). Parents are welcome to visit and play with kids but how they are cared for, how they are raised, etc, its my rules that count. My MIL kena from my husband before when she interfere in how I discipline my #1. My mum also kena from me. So they all scared.

I dun think I am on your facebook. My facebook is [email protected]. You all can add me if you wish but I don't post much pics lah.. :p

Fifi:

Haha. U also call Felicia? Alamak. So many Felicia here now.

I've added u.

Yup. Think muz apply to both sides then fair. I'll also wan everything done my way cos I'm ultimately the main caregiver lor. If disrupt my rules then I'll get real angry.

Hi Fifi, I've added you in facebook.. My name is Ixxxxe Cxxxxxa.

Thanks for your info about the iron-deficiency anemia.

I've tried to feed Josie 1 tbs of Nestle cerelac and she's able to eat it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I can't find healthy time cereal in Admiralty [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

All the supermarket didn't carry the brand, strangely, including NTUC.. My hubby tried to find in Clementi also can't find it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So in the end I bought Nestle brown rice cereal. I saw sukrose in the ingredients which means sugar is inside. huhu..

Btw, is 1 tbs of cereal per day too little? She's still drinking milk as usual.

hI mommies ..

Wah so happening! (unab;e catch up on forum) worse yest cant find our thread, mayb my pc down [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nycmum

Thanku for digging up topic on si sen br rice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] , i sometimes would haf overlooked some topic (oops ) and ask the same again.

Dressaholic

Thanku for the thumbrule !! i will rem heehe

Tiffy, Seabreeze and Xin2

So sorry did my hubb add u all ? s what Xin2 said sometimes nick and real name diff haha but i rem he mentioned added 3 yest

Princess D

Lots of happening on your cuttie Jade,

if only i can take a peep of her.. hope my Nichel grows to love food too !!

Princess D

Lots of happening on your cuttie Jade,

if only i can take a peep of her.. hope my Nichel grows to love food too !!

Princess d

I haven test. Busy busy over weekends. Went to do hair n now attending wedding

fel

no prob [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the thread move so fast that I miss some topics too. Sometimes hv to dig up archive...

Saw your hubby FB page. You look great!

hi all..

Fifi,

I've added u too. I'm Jacqueline.

Nycmum,

When u gonna test??? :p Excited for u!

Princess d,

Jade's so cheeky!! Really knows how to seek mommy's attention.

I'm super duper ubber tired today.. Had this dog event at east coast and I gotta be there to man a booth with one of our partners. Wah piang.. That fella don't do work one!!! Stand one corner relax only and only helped to clear the stuff at the end of the day. Really mad! Going complain to his boss big time. I'm pregnant, hot, hungry, thirsty AND cranky because of MS yet gotta do everything! Grrr...

Becos of the event I had to leave jadelyn at home with her daddy. No choice... My mum went m'sia to 扫墓. Luckily both of them survived. And can you believe it, my hubby FINALLY changed her soiled diaper for once! Wahahha!! I think I shld 'disappear' more often and force him to learn to look after his little princess. :D

groovy,

1 tablespoon is fine for now, especially if got sugar inside. Don't give too much in case she gets hyperactive. Just monitor her. If she's fine on 1 tablespoon then slowly increase a bit every few days bah. Personally I still feel giving non sugar added cereals is better. But if cant find then too bad. Try JP's NTUC if u have time to go there? Or order Organix ones from agape babies. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jac

Hope u feeling better now[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

Good can give ur man more hands on! That day I went out with my friends and my hubby keep telling me "I hope it's not poo poo day".. And the little fella poo!!!!!! Hahahahah that was the first time he changed his soiled diaper too!

Bblibran

I was browsing thru fb and saw ur bday also oct 17???? Same as my hubby and mum. Hahahhaha!!!

Princess D: Jade can really eat! Kakaka hope she is good today.

I havent catch up on news so not sure if there's any report on the haze? The sky looks weird earlier at ard 7ish pm. It was so orangy! I've nv seen the sky like that b4.

Starry; Cheers to your husband for taking care of Jadelyn alone! So far my hubby has nv bathed or changed my boy's diaper all by himself. Im not sure if I shld worry if one day he has to do it. Not worried for him but for my boy. He can be quite rough at times with my boy lol

Jac

Yap leave jadelyn to him more often so that he can take over when ur #2 arrives. And to let him know tt he also need to play a part. Was telling princess n dressaholic tt day that my hb got 'scolded' by me when he said - 我帮你照顾孩子

Cos my reply was 你不是在帮我,因为孩子也是你的!