(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

elle,

I also have the same question, whether to bring breastpump to hospital, but my friend says no nid coz won't have that much to pump yet. However i've heard of that if due to some reason unable to latch on.. maybe jaundice or prematured, then i wonder if we should start pumping then, coz if no pump and no latch on.. later the supply will shut down or not?

If need to pack in hospital bag then i'll need to sterlise already, any mummy any idea?

also may i ask if you guys sterlise the parts after every use?

Woow.. you guys need to go to a master to name the baby?

My baby's Chinese name will be according to some book that my hubby's oldest uncle has. Haha.. I don't really care much..

Last time my name is also from my grandfather. My parents just need to choose one.

I dunno whether this time my hubby & I can still choose name or they just give 1 boy name 1 girl name.

lilbluey

yeah..he is ex...will go back to him again for our 2nd CHILD!

Empress

Yes,is very expensive but im sure there are cheaper ones around.

We actually gave him few characters that we thought was nice however,he mentioned,there are alot of things to consider and its better to start from scratch!Cos this name going to be with them the whole life and will be good for them!

Not only he will tell us why the name is good,it incld many other things as well[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So ended up,the few characters given was scrapped away!LOL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

To me,if you have the intention to let the master chose,let him decide!Cos he will come out with 5 sets of names and you can mix and match![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elle,

Don't need to bring breast pump!I dunno about US,but here..in case if you can't latch the baby on for some reasons,hospital does provide if you desperately needed to express your milk out!

Keep your Hospital bag light...You don't really need the pump during the 1st 2 days in hospital[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Empress

yes,the parts gotta be wash and sterilized everytime b4/after use!because the milk that goes through are fresh milk and we try to keep it as freash as possible and store in the fridge immediately if not using it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin, m'y tummy still look very big now. Can tahan like menstrual cramps but erm i Think fr 7,8 cm onwards very hard to tahan and when pushing, thé pain shld be worst. Plus stiches leh dunno pain or not. Speaking fr 1er Time mummy Pov who wanted to try au natural la.

groovy,

If can afford and good for the child..why not?

Don't wanna anyhow name the baby and at the end kena like laughing stock when they grow up!

Otw better not have the chinese name cos it supposed to meant something behind their name,every strokes of the characters!If you can read chinese and good in it ok la,for those not comfortable ,the Master is the best next choice to consult![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me too don't like to play play with name!Cos the child gonna carry it for life![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh i see i see thx princess for the info..

apple, do they practice massage there? maybe not call Malay massage, but something of the same sort that help to tuck back the tummy? How's the stitches today? still painful? hope you feeling better now.

Princess d

thanks for the advise...

Knowing that I m going for c section makes me so excited n yet sad cos going to miss the bb movements only minus the pain everywhere!!!

I hope u can bf successfully now with the wound n pain... Hopefully LC can teach me the football hold method...

This also means I can't use the origins wrap until many weeks later n no massage yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wow, didn't know this is the market rate nowadays for choosing date and names!

Princess d,

Just now forgot to ask gynae about the mucus plug thing. Anyway he asked whether got bleeding, whether baby still active etc. If anything unusual then gotta go back see him. Otherwise appt will be 2 weeks later. Hubby was very noisy while gynae did the scan. Don't know what he was jabbering about? On closer look, I THINK it is Jadelyn's hand covering her ear! Haha!!

Btw, do I need to get night dresses since there's a wound at tummy? My pyjamas all 2 pieces set wonder is it painful to bend down to wear my pants after toilet etc...

empress

u r welcome[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jadefeet

hey,don't be too upset la....massage can be done 2 weeks later mah..not that bad still!If you tell yourself "I can BF" sure can wan!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tell your LC that you want to TBF,they will take turns to come in and help you[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Most importantly,have a good rest adn not to be over stressful[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thought C sect Gynae does binding for youusing their binder?

My Gf oso c sect,came out tummy all nicely wrap up wor[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't worry k..everything will be A OK!

apple,

How's your girl girl today? More alert? The tummy won't go away so fast. 'cos uterus stretched a lot over 9 mths so will need a few weeks to get smaller! My mum told me binding helps and breastfeeding also!! So keep on nursing your princess! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jadefeet,

I'm feeling your excitement. Hee!! The pain killers should help with the pain management bah. Need to rest 4-6 weeks after a c-sect then can use binder and do massage, which I also feel bit wasted 'cos do straight after birth is most effective.

Starry

hahhahahaha.......must the daddy too noisy la!hahhahahha...she so cute ah!I think you gonna have cutie mutie pie!Chubby!!!!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jadefeet

Yeah,think you better go get those gown type,easier...No need to bend down!But it is not as bad i guess..i saw my friend sitting up the next day after c sect..hahha..but gotta be help to toilet.tats all[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple, like wat princess d said, maybe can ask the hospital/hospital for a abdominal binder? Get the ones meant for abdominal surgery, not sure if the hospital there will stock the same brand as Singapore's.

Jadefeet, think u can still wear a binder even if urs is C-section. Just get the medical kind like Dale....and ask gynae to help u wear?? I crossing my fingers to see if my gynae will help me wear mine (and not give me the funny look).

BP in hospital. I'm asking my SO to bring the BP to the hospital after I deliver (no need to be in the overnite bag, anyway cannot fit into it), but it's so that the lactation consultants can teach me how to use BP. I have no idea how to use the BP, went on youtube recently to see.

I poop alot these few days. stomach feeling cramping, then went toilet to try. I have poo poo 4 times today. Is it sign of pre-labour? And with little output. sorry with the poo poo. Anybody having this problem? then got feeling that baby trying to tunnel through the cervical...

Whim, they keep pressing m'y uterus, pain pain pain leh. Yar l'or. Nobody told or mention before that my tummy Will still be very very big.

Yup, i did wear m'y binder but very losely n they were surprise when they saw m'y binder wondering wat was it.

re : choosing chinese name

we sort of have to follow the family tradition of using the middle name. But we also have an idea of what we want to name our child. So when we went to see the fengshui master, we did asked if the family's middle character is suitable for our boy and if so, whether we can use the name we chose. Thankfully he say ok and also gave us some other options. can't rem how much we paid though I don't recall it being as expensive as 500. But it came with fortune telling services as well for the baby as well as abit for us and our family members. Will probably go back to him this round if my hubby can find the card.

Apple, they're surprised by the binder?? I tot it would be fairly common in the hospital.

Ask them why are they pressing ur uterus. Get ur SO to tell them not to anyhow poke poke u... u're not a medical toy for them. Why are they doing all these things...

U feel better down there?

Thanks Elle.

Jac, i Dun Think is muscus plug? More of discharge during last stage of preg?

may mummies advise what to do or apply to clear BB heat rashes??? My BB newborn has develop heat rashes around her neck area.. Thanks

apple,

ya, europe shd be very advance in medical... shd wear binder to fitting/must feel a little pressure, yet not too tight for the first few days.. dun wear too loosely also

Whim where can I buy the Dale brand binder? How much is it? Or I can request free one from hospital?

Princess Diamond, m'y last ve Check was last mth. Aft that nô ve Check liao n

tomato,

ur gynae clinic may carry this brand or other brands which ur gyane deem as suitable, so check with ur gynae if u may purchase directly or choose to charge into the hospital bill.

the hospital dont give free binder, in fact they charge for everything including tissue box.. heehee

apple

Oops..izit?sorry then i got the info wrong...but then not many Gynae does VE at last trimester unless detect some complications......so not sure whether those in other country is common??

Btw,how are you doing?how's your bb???everything good?WHen will you be home?

Binder,

Yes...must purchase or rather when you request for one surely they have..is jsut that it will appear in your hospital bill!hahhaha

cherry,yea man..the charged everything!Even the sanitary napkin they provide...seems like free when they put on but they charged hhahhaahahhahahah!!!

Last night was talking about discharge....hmmm

today DON"T HAVE LE??????-_-"

apple, the poking is to help the uterus shrink and also to help with dislodging any possible blood clots (aid in the discharging of the lochia). It will definitely hurt... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cherry

Did you try applying any oilment?For what i remember,i was told never to put any powder or talc!

Just make sure the area is clean and dry...i applied mama's earth bottom cream..apparently i used that for craddle cap and diaper rash too!Is an organic antiseptic products for bb![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is the rash bad?

apple

Yes,they press is to rid those lochia....is common......think we discuss this before....

i got it last time too!Yea,it hurts esp when there'e no HAPPIDURAL FOR THAT!!!LOL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]U DAMN CUTE LA[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good afternoon girls,

just got back from my follow-up appointment with pediatrician. bub is fine, no more jaundice. for that, my pocket burned $65.. aiyoh..

Elle,

for first timers, you can be 1cm dilated for up to a few weeks. unless you walk a lot or ML a lot.

starry,

hmm usually mucus plug is tinged with a bit of blood. at least that's how it was for me. maybe that's just the normal discharge. if you been walking a lot, there will be more discharge and that's normal. eh hopefully your baby will turn by 37 weeks then no need c-sect!

claudia,

of course after your tummy is stretched for 9 months, you will get lose skin when baby is out. and you will be full of wind. i burped and farted like nobody's business after giving birth and i put on the abdominal binder a few hours after birth. else i will look like i'm 5 months pregnant.

empress7,

no need to bring breast pump to hospital. they always have hospital-grade pumps for use or rental. it's much more comfortable than the type we bought by retail. btw, i didn't sterilize my pumps. just wash it with hot water and bottle cleanser. you don't really need to pump too, unless you kiasu wanna store milk for emergency use. i only pumped when bub was admitted due to high jaundice. i used the hospital's Medela pump. they gave me a new glass bottle at each session. the funnel, they simply washed it. i only produce 2oz of milk when bub was 7 days at that time but by feedback, the nurses said it's enough.

jadefeet,

even if you have difficulty putting on your attire, you're required to get the nurses' help. that's what they're there for. especially if it's a c-sect procedure. they'll attend to you readily. don't think you can stand up to walk to the toilet after the procedure for the first 24 hours anyway.

apple,

after delivery, the midwife and gynae keep pressing on my uterus too. everytime they do that i could feel the blood flows out. it's quite painful too but it helps to make your lochia clear faster and hence provide the opportunity for the uterus to shrink faster.

cherry,

usually for rashes, i asked PD for cream, else i just leave it as it is if it's not that serious. i'll just make sure that baby is not wrapped too hot. now he's starting to perspire if i swaddle him for too long. depending on the weather.

hiya mummies,

jac,

they say mucous plug reddish in colour. hope your bb turn turn soon! with my elephant feet from bad water retention, i'm 70 kg liao, i've stopped weighing myself..

apple,

tell them your binder is a corset =D

dont worry about the tummy, after birth suppose to look like 6 month preggie, it will shrink in 4-8 weeks!

re: old wives tale

feet must swell up and return to normal 3 times to signal LABOUR! just heard 2 people telling me this today.

Elle, so fast dilate already, gd for u! My gynae wont do ve till 37 weeks.

Jac, hopefully yr baby turns b4 37 weeks hor! If not can try using torchlight n shine down thre! Hehe talking abt it, i was complaining abt menstrual cramps, still having it now. My hubby siow go take torchlight n shine my v area and asked baby to come down n follow light!'muahaha he cant wait to c baby! Then he asked me if baby got move. I said dun haf n hubby said maybe need to use better lighting like stadium lights! ;/

princess,

ya, talk about e sanitary napkins..they replaced n change u like free for ur usuage!!! LOL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i didnt apply ointment yet, i just discover this morning..the rashis mild.. can i get ready stock for mama earth bottom cream online ??

no more tummy pain already, i alry off pain killer since a few days ago.. now having a yokohama spare tire even sneak out to supermarket last nite n the auntie thought i was just expecting.. hahaha..but i already book for a massage session soon.

apple,

my tummy shrinked to original size since a few days ago. so that's like a week. i put on my binder in a lying down position so it could bind as tight as possible. did it since day 1 and was in it for 24 hours. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the binder helps to keep your posture proper too. how's your breastfeeding?

Tinggy apparently freq bowel movements is one of e signs labour is near. Im pooping 3-4 x a day too bt these days i lost appetite.

Gsm, feet must swell n shrink back at least 3x ah? Alamak i never take note. But every morning will swell so big by evening smaller slightly

melissa,

glad to hear bb is fine.. at least money spend is worth for a peaceful mind.

ya la, this girly like to swaddle n now is an night owl, damn active n alert at night while i turn groggy... that's y now has got mild rash at neck area.. how many times u bath bb ??

Aloha, everyone! I'm back frm gynae's visit.

Bb is abt 3kgs at 38wks, gynae says might come out earlier than EDD wor. Heehee.. Head is further dwn liao, so by 39wk might seen her popping. Getting excited but still mentally not prepared. Heehee...

Lilbluely, what happen? Why u need to go back to Dr Lim tdy? The clinic is damn crowded tdy wor..

Binder, can i ask even for natural birth also can use binder immediately after birth?

hi mummies!! I'm back from the gynae visit!!

My darling decided to shock us inclu the gynae today... We were expecting his weight to be abt 2.2kg but he had a sudden growth spurt from 1.9kg to 2.46kg in 2 weeks... I'm only at 34wks & 2 days!! All my weight gain within these 2 weeks went to him. I'm at 51kg now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gynae asks isit I eat mooncakes and I said yes... She say no more mooncakes and desserts Liao... Otherwise I might end up having to do c-sect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] gynae says when I walked into her room today, she also shocked why my tummy so big... Haha

She did swap test for me and did ultrascan.. My bb has chubby cheeks!! Also, bb is 1/3 engaged, gynae says just a little bit more, bb will be fully engaged Liao... So she gave me my admission letter today and said I should pop before 15 Oct.. She ask me to be mentally prepared cos might be early Oct instead... Looking at my situation, Bb can't wait till my EDD.. In my admission letter, she wrote "small mummy, big baby" wahahahahhahahaa!!

Actually my bb is averaged sized but too bad I'm too petite so bb is too cramped Liao... Like so poor thing... No wonder these 2 days, his movement so huge [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] gynae says it's misleading when people say baby shld have lesser movements.. By right should be normal or more movements.. If lessen movements, den it might be a cause for concern

anyway gynae says to see her in 10 days' time.... Now now.. This is getting exciting and im nervous Liao.. Lol

Jac

My gynae showed me a photo of how a classic mucus plug looks like... It's stained with blood and sticky sticky type so urs shld not be mucus plug bah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope your baby turns downward soon!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

teoong,

natural birth of cos must put binder immediately. else your tummy will be loose and empty how to expel the wind?

cherry,

you can too! put it on now! 24 hours regime pronto!! me bathe baby 2x a day sometimes once only ler if weather is raining..

shin,

think we have the same built liao thats why my gynae prefer to induce me at 37-38 weeks. except this time baby prefer to come out on his own.

Shin,

I also very worried that baby will be too big then end up got to c sect. My last checkup at 33weeks 6 days, baby estimated 2.36kg. Then the last checkup at 34weeks6days, gynae nvr measure the weight. I so scared dunno hw the weight nw.

So far, my gynae nvr say anything whether too small or too big leh.

Melissa

My doctor didn't mention anything abt induction.. From her words, it's like she's very confident baby will decide to come out on his own.. Hahaha I duno leh..

Anw I never get any binder at all leh... Really necessary?? Hahaha

Xin2

Don't worry.. Ur gynae will advise what's best for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cos right from the start she started seeing me, she already keep saying I'm very small sized.. Cos I very short and really small.. Wahahha... Even some P5/P6 pupils can be bigger sized and taller than me!! Hahaha so for me I actually thought my baby gonna be only 2.8kg when delivered cos 2 wks ago he was 1.9kg... But now....... I'm not sure!! So gynae's advice is not to eat sweet things or baby grow too big Liao... I'm sure if some mummies can deliver naturally with 3.5kg newborns, we don't have to worry so much woh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you!!!

Melissa, thanks for your infos. okay then i will stdby the things now.. heehee.. actually I have packed all the things liao, but till now hvnt even put in the car yet. Me really taking my sweet time. heehee..

Jacq, hope that your bb will turn before 37wks.

jac,

nice scan! Hope jadelyn will turn soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shin:

u really petite!!

I was alr 51kg in early 2nd trimester liao! LOL!!

Melissa,

if put binder imm aft birth, then went they come & poke the tummy tt time, take out again??

U put urself or gynae wrap for u de?

I'm quite apprehensive to ask my gynae abt it.

He looks v no nonsense type. Hahaha.

Re: 2 piece pyjamas

can I ask for natural birth with stitches down south,

if wear 2 piece PJ, the PJ shorts or pants wun cut into the wound mah??

ivy

I also packed my things Liao except nursery room not done.. But now think need to get it done soon Liao... Hehe

Momo

Haha that's why some people think I'm like some teenager get pregnant or what lor! So paiseh.. Haha.. But my pre pregnancy weight is abt 41kg so I did put on weight woh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] last time always get mistaken as sec sch or jc kid... Duno whether to angry or happy... Hahaha

Re: pyjamas

I tot usually those 2 pcs ones, the pants quite loose? Anyway u will be wearing ur panties with the maternity pads, so don't think the pyjamas will cut into your wound down there bah... Don't buy those too tight ones?? Or it will be "protected" by ur pads Liao? I'm just making a guess.. Lol

hello Melissa

How ur confinement ? Should be pro now with no 3!!

Cherry

I'm not sure if can get ready stock online but Ic u have someone going ten, can get it from suntec! They are in the mid of the children department !in between toy r us n some maternity boutiques! They have the whole ranged there!

Yea, I bathed jade 2x a day too n kept get neck area dry!

Teoong!

Advised to use your binder immediately la..if your are comfortable..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Melissa lost all het tummy fats now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

Wah!!! Good good ! Wat mooncake u eat?? Haaa I dare not buy le.. So far I only had one pathetic slice of duriN mooncake ! Ever since I

Ve been dreaming about it! Such a tortured! Imagined giving birth during the mid autumn festival!!! Haa can deco the hospital rooms n feast on mooncake there! Wahaaaaaaa

Princess Diamond, yar I got thé gridle.

Empress, took pain killer so thé stiches pain much better liao. Hopefully nô more pain soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

momotan

Yea, those 2pc pj us kinda loose n plus with pads! It don't touches there la.. Hee... Is ok wan![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]