(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

my friend asked me to eat one good meal before gng for delivery haha..bathe eat then go...at least long labour also wun feel hungry wahahaha!

Shin, even my massage lady says nowadays she rarely see mommies popping close or after edd. she said because most of us still go to work even when stomach big already, chances are a lot of walking can induce labour.

Etelle, agreed! My friend did that for her 2nd child and she get her hubby to drive-thru MacDonalds during the night and buy a burger to eat while on the way there! haha.. very clever of her.

Another tell me that drink Chicken essences and eat a hard boiled egg before going to hospital.

re: baby popping early

i thought first kid usually late. 2 of my friends were a week late. some 2/3 days late. my friends all had their first later than EDD. Little do i know the mummies here pop quite early.

re: waterbag

i read that if you are standing, the water will just trickle down as bb head acts as a plug. only experience gush when say lying down.

pearlyn,

your grab your hubby's arm really funny! yes i think he prob thought you gonna deliver!! wuahahahaa... the first time my calf cramp, the muscle ached for days...

Shin / Marrissa. Recently, most of my friends are popping on wk39 leh. All 1st time mummies wor.. Hmm.. Prob different pple bah. I hoped mine also pop on wk 39 earliest, so that bb got more time to develop all her organs.

etelle

Haha eat one good meal somemore! So funny!! Let's say it's early in the morning or like in the wee hours.. Where got appetite to eat?? Hahah.. But what if really vv hungry during labour and cannot eat.. Wahhh must starve but still need energy to push bb out!!!

Marissa

I think times has changed.. Haha new trend Liao.. Cos all working mothers mah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw yah I was saying what does the massage lady do for us during post natal massage??

i meant EMMIE! haha! see lah, butt cheek cramp till type wrong name. :p

teoong,

same, only one side. mine always on the left. good thing only one side. if both sides really can cry!!

re: meal before delivery

my gyane warned me over and over not to eat before delivery leh. he said it's a stupid thing to do, because you nv know if you need to have emergency c-section or not and it's no laughing matter going into operating theatre with full stomach, can lead to a lot of complications. a bit scared when i heard him say that... but he assured that if really hungry, hospital will provide light snacks. so for me, die-die no food before admission. the most some snacks. but if water bag burst right after a meal then bo bian lah..

teoong

Mac sounds good!! Haha

U know my MIL ask me to suck a piece of ginseng when in labour.. Say can deliver easier... My hb and I just look at each other.. Hahaha don't dare comment [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

can la drive through fast food...haha my first 2 i never eat anything or drink anything le...i scared wait poo out...the first one got give me enaema to poo out everything. Shiok...clean clea...2nd one cuz enter that time 4cm dilated le so gynae instructed nurses dun need to give enaema...but thankfully also no poo incident...this time round i intend to whack a burger le..hahaha!!

jacqueline

really a......yeah lor if emergency c section then die le...true true...okie then i better abandon my thought of eating....

teoong

haha ur friend share my sentiments but after seeing what jacqueline type maybe really shd not eat hor...

etelle,

there are also friends who had perfectly normal pregnancies who told me to eat a full meal before going into hospital so that have energy to push. but after hearing my gynae's warning, i think best not. just in case lah.. will have chicken essence before going in and then play by ear while waiting to push. if got chance then drink a bit of milo with cream crackers. at least will digest faster than a full meal.

don't get me wrong, not saying totally don't eat and starve yourself then later got gastric pains. eat simple, easily-digested SNACKS or just drink glucose for energy. bottom line from my gynae is: don't stuff yourself! some women may experience side-effects from epidural which can include vomiting. so if eat till full also very nasty if have to vomit.

meal before delivery - i was similarly told not to eat food before delivery. If feel hungry/thirsty to let midwife know.

My colleague give birth in TMC, they dun allow her anything to eat / drink even when she told them tht she is really hungry wor.. she said she kept repeating herself to every nurse / midwives that she is very hungry but all ignore her. End up, she went from trying natural to taking epdi then finally C-sec. Poor thing.

heeeheee.. I think so long eat some light food shld be alrite bah cos we won't know how long the labour will be like. I will ask my gynae this Sat when i see him

teoong, that really scares me out. I cannot tahan hunger lei - once i hungry i feel weak all over - how to push?

Is it possible to bring some food like bread, biscult or cake my bag? but do they allow access to bag in labour room? if not, no point putting them into my bag lei.

Metta, I think her's is exception case bah. Heehee.. or she suay lor. My frd give birth in TMC in Apr, and her gynae instruct the nurse to give her Milo to drink wor. Prob different gynae lor.. I think so long got Milo to drink hor, shld be able to tahan.

hello ladies

In the clinic waiting for HB before we see doc.

Re nails

Don't think painted nails are allowed! Because the nail bed have to be bare tts all I remember ! Having my nails nicely trim n buff is definitely allowed!

Tts y wanna do gel but French manicure ! Haaa but just now midwife just scolded me... Mai hiao la.., lol[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen

We suspected tt the bb wad too big for me then n scratches the uterus wall as she make her way out!

I didn't realized my bed was bloody red cis I only felt tingling sensation ( epi wearing off)! Till my MIL asked ... Are you ok??? Then I freaked out... Slowly after that I felt my tummy was ripping apart!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

The nurses assured me tt it was epi writing off but it's not lor! The midwife tt wad in the delivery room came n said she already called my doc to come bk! He came, checked n asked to prepared OT!

Bb now at week32 weighing 2kg+ ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Growing well n according to EDD 10.10.10[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]!!

Hmmm... But I put on 1.3 kg in 2weeks n tts not good[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Haaa...

ian,

i read the article and really shaking my head throughout. what a stupid man! i'm sure he put in a lot of effort to build up the multi-million dollar empire. now lost so much still wanna cry baby and hire lawyer to sue casino. a bit lame right?

princess d,

the weight gain is okay lah. not really a lot. and your baby has a very good weight now! 2kg ++. wah .. can imagine full-term. heh heh! think she will be heavier than jade at birth?

Ian> I read the article.. What a waste! Should have given the money to me instead of to the casino..

Hehehe..

Last time I study probability & statistics and realized that we could never win in the casino :p. The casino has more chances to win against us.

That's why I never gamble. haha..

Diveera:

Yah. KK will provide the clothes for you. Change to your own only when discharge. But I really like their gown. Comfy and convenient.

Metta:

No food and drinks once you go into delivery room. This is quite standard across all hospitals. Its not recommended as it will make you puke/pass motion/etc. Interfere with delivery. They will only give ice cubes to wet your lips.

jac, ian,

moral of the story: don't gamble in front of girlfriend! hah!

hmmm, the uterus, womb, placenta stories are scary. i think i will faint if i see a bright red pool of blood.

Starry,Marissa

Yea..actually i expected it!LOL..If its full term i will faint!!!WAHAHHAAH......

And i also think she might be heavier than Jade too!hahhahaha...

But Doc told me there's nothing to worried cos my EDD stays at the actual date which is good and that means bb is growing according to the date[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sigh..the problem is 10.10.10 is a SUN and a hot date lor![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dunno whether should i opt to induce early???Still thinking...if opt to induce 01.10.10 also same case..hahhahha....

My weight gained...tsk tsk tsk...hahhaahha..speechless![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess d,

if gynae not worried then good lor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and yah, 10.10.10 is very good date le. many weddings on that day also.

re: induce early

can we really opt to do this? would gyane allow? i'm just thinking if really can, why not. 'cos at least everything is expected and no need to worry about maternity leave, water breaking in office, caught unawares etc etc. any comments on this?

princess, you mean that your gynae allows you to opt to induce earlier? i thought most do not encourage unless bb is real big or 'yang-shui' not enough?

Gsm, wah! Your gynae charges 1k more!

i don't think my gynae does that cos I remember the pricing list that his clinic give doesn't state this, only that is wana C-sec at specific timing then got extra charges

teeong,

yar, got specific timing and happen to fall on sunday so my friend paid extra $1k. not sure if it is becos choose time to csec or due to sunday... but if choose time c sec on weekday still got extra charge?

gsm,

i haven't ask my gynae about his fees leh. $1K more is very scary! if really baby decides to come out on sunday then lugi liao. otherwise hold and hold till midnight (monday morning) then call gynae. haha!

Jac, the ones i hear dat will offer induce labor are the ones whose babies are big. But no harm asking yr gynae. i was thinking the same thing too.. easier bah got scheduled date. Im sure some gynaes dun mind since its easier for them too but baby must be at least 37 weeks

jac,

i pray and hope bibi no choose sunday wor... i'll ask gynae on friday when i see her. but dunno y she always avoid the $$$ topic. tsk tsk tsk!

wa another thing to clarify with gynae - any extra charge if give birth on Sun. better start to keep a list of qns...

marrissa,

i think also better for gynaes since it will be scheduled. but i guess induced labour is also more expensive bah.. 'cos need to admit into hospital earlier and don't know when labour will actually start. heard that it can be a matter of hours to days.

gsm

i dunno about the charges..never ask him..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

teoong

He didnt allowed nor disagree..because i have not seriously sat down and talk to him about my EDD!But if i have a valid reason to be induce i don't think he will say no unless bb is b4 37weeks which is impossible ..heeeheee[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I wanted to go through the real stuffs like water bag burst and so on la..crazy rite?

hahhahah

cos last time,my BP n protein level high at week39..so induced but oso ..Jade refused to come out!She was already at 3.5kg then but my gynae didnt said anything about her weight!

My gf delivered her son naturally at full term weighing 4.1kg!No complications....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

NOt all induced cases are due to big baby!

Some with exceptional case like high BP,or Protein or otw....

Starry

Yes....

I was thinking about that too for really long ever since i know about my EDD!

Nice date la but ah..doesn't fav me at all le..hehhehe

really scared there's no room for me and im SO NOT READY TO SHARE ROOM!!!!huhuhuhuhuhu....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

THat's what induce baby came right into my mind ..if can chose why not right????still thinking......[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I was already on e hospital bed when my water bag burst.

My water gushed out n not leak leh. Right after tat, I get intense contractions, like every few mins lor. Luckily my labour was only 6 hrs. I rem amidst contractions, I felt so helpless, duno how long e pain will go on.

zuen

think my idea to go through all the real labour is crazy ehh.lol

anyway,doc tried several times to showed us the bb's face..we saw only one side n the other covered by her arms!grrrr......

the another time,saw only her hands on her face!!!

Her hands forever swiping her face!!grrr...

princess d,

you have one shy baby girl there lah. next time will sure stick close close to you and very manja one. heh heh!! aiyoh.. making me excited about "meeting" my baby this weekend! gyane said he will do a scan for us. the last time i saw her face at around week 25 or 26, she looked so chubby. dunno now chubbier or not? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess d,

#2 v gd weight leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies n daddies,

Hard to predict what labour pain we will be having leh. just let it happen naturally lor. I induce my gal at 39weeks, cervix 2cm open n I have high blood pressure the day b4 I induce but when I reach TMC on the day for induce, my blood pressure normal again but since already in tmc so just induce lor. I never eat anything in that morning only drink Milo but the nurse still clear my stomach b4 going into the delivery rm.

starry,

hahah...hope her sister Jade can settle her!!hahahha,she told my doc this afternoon when we were in the room...

Dr LIm..Mei mei notty!!

Doc asked y?

she said..mei mei dance in mommy's tummy!!Notty!!

hahhaha..so cute.....

Tiffy

Yea,sure good weight!Hb shake head liao..said another fei mui in the making!wahahhahhahah

Actually

When doc induced me the last round,i was not allowed to eat at all!

THe whole day i complained hungry.A midwife came in with half cup of milo and said..sip! SIp only!Dun drink!Not supposed to eat or drink!I was like dying of hunger and shivering!!

Imagined..i did not eat anything since the dinner on the night before!!grrrrr.bb only arrived at 5.55pm!!!grrrrr

allo, on eating before labour. I check in to hospital on Monday to better manage my sugar but was given very small portion of food. Was constantly on hunger pangs n pains n got to sleep it away. It is really physically n emotionally drainning for me. So most likely I will try to eat just engh before going to hospital.

princess d,

jade is cute! at this age, every moment and everything they say is very precious. 'cos too funny! and so chatty some more. and they are only 2 yrs old once, so gotta treasure every moment with them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: hunger during labour

i hate having hunger pangs! it's very torturous for me le... if want me to "fast" and not eat or drink for even 12 hours, i think really can die. at least pain can have epidural. but nothing for hunger except FOOD!

am still in the hospital now. This is wat I feel these three days, like POWs waiting to die like thatso hungry got to sleep the pangs n pains away.

Hi Mummies & Ian,

Have been soooooo busy getting ready stuff for DD's birthday in September & getting ready for baby's arrival.

1st things 1st.....still owe you all my MIL's antics for my Malaysia wedding dinner.

As we couldn't go for our honeymoon as hubby can't fly due to his heart condition. Initially MIL asked us to bring forward the Malaysian dinner. Thank God we declined as I was afraid that it would be too tiring for hubby. Hubby was back in the hospital for a week due to a viral fever 3 days after the Singapore dinner. So after he was discharged, made sure that he rested before we went back to Malaysia for the dinner.

Kluang wedding dinner - the plan was to go there on a Friday afternoon, have the dinner on Saturday night & come back to Singapore on Sunday afternoon. My parents, & sister would go with us for the dinner. I got hubby to get his parents to book 2 rooms. One for hubby & I, & one for my family to share. As this would be my family's 1st time to Kluang, I thought it would be better for hubby & I to stay in the same hotel as them. Unfortunately, the hitch in my plan was, my sister (who is a piano teacher) had an evening lesson which she was unable to reschedule & could only go to Kluang on Saturday morning. My parents decided to take the Saturday morning train with her so that she wouldn't take the train alone. Hence, I would drive in with hubby with all the luggage & my family would travel light.

I asked hubby to get his parents to cancel one hotel room. This is where the trouble started. Hubby came back & told me that his parents had canceled both hotel rooms, and that we could spend Friday night at PIL's place. I explained to hubby that as we are traveling with all the luggage, I didn't want to leave it all in the car, which meant that I would have to move all the luggage myself. This is because both hubby & FIL has a heart condition, & it wouldn't be nice for me to ask MIL to help me with the luggage. Hence, if we stayed one night at PIL's place, I would have to move all the luggage into the house, & then move it back into the car on Saturday to move to the hotel, which would be quite a hassle too. Hence, hubby called back to ask his parents to rebook one of the canceled rooms & told me that PIL said that MIL was upset that we were not spending Friday night at PIL's place. I told hubby that we always stay at PIL's place when we are in Kluang & only for this time, we would stay in a hotel, so I really don't see what's the problem. When hubby called back to ask FIL to rebook the room again, FIL told him that MIL was very upset & was crying!! When hubby told me that I was very pissed!! As I felt that MIL was emotionally blackmailing us into complying with what she wanted. Hubby asked me to speak with FIL myself over the phone. I told hubby that if I spoke with FIL, things may become unpleasant....better for him to speak with them. When hubby spoke with FIL again, FIL claimed that there was no rooms available on Friday night. I told hubby.....it is Kluang, I don't believe that place is so hot that the hotel rooms would be all fully booked....especially when the room was just canceled one day ago. Gave hubby an ultimatum....if the room was not settled, I would not be going to Kluang for the dinner. After that I left it to hubby to settle with his parents. And in the end, the room was available again. How about that?? Hence, with all these things settled, we went to Kluang & had the dinner there too.

So I guess, MIL & I just keep to a cordial relationship, but there's no real love between us....lol

I went for gynae visit today too. Gynae says baby is on track for week 31. I've put on 0.3 kgs in 2 weeks. Gynae comment that my weight gain is poor.....but I guess since baby is on track....he didn't express any obvious concern about my poor weight gain. My total weight gain for this pregnancy so far is 2.3kgs.

Jac,

In preparation rm, nurse will insert the infleet fr our backside then tell me to hold till cannot hold any longer then go to the toilet to pass out everything inside our stomach. Even never eat breakfast still have motion to pass out leh. Cos I did told the nurse I never eat breakfast but she said still have to clear our bowel cos last dinner we still eat mah. But really lor, got thing to clear until I think v empty inside liao. Aft clearing our bowel, will tell us to wash up our whole body n change to delivery gown.

Princess d,

Kekekeke another fei mui at hm soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

snoopy

Fwahh..... Super duper drama! Your MIL really drSma eh? Emotionally blackmailing you! Sounds bad ! Crying !!! Gosh ... Aren't you Just glad that she is in far away land????

Tiffy

Yah man ! My HB shook his head ! Gynae laughed ler! Anyway blame himself la...he fat wAt!!!! Haaaaa

snoopy

haha we finally get to hear about ur part 2.. wah seh.. you know.. it reminds me of taiwanese dramas or hk dramas... hehee.. but luckily it had happened so long ago lah!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jac

after hearing what you said.. which is true! i better remember not to eat before i admit to the hospital.. hehee.. at least got milo not so bad.. or i confirm cannot tahan the hunger pangs.. i will break out in cold sweat and will shiver! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Princess D

Jade is so cute! the way she speaks is like an little adult.. hehee.. and good to know that your baby is doing fine! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can't wait to see mine but still got 2wks+ to go before my next visit...

snoopy,

What a dramatic MIL you have! Use tears some more. Scary!

Tiffy,

So they emptied the stomach from below yah? I thought they make you vomit or pump your stomach! Didn't know they would do this. Thought the most don't let you eat or drink and that's it..

I just opened up my Medela freestyle. Happy with what I see inside! The whole thing with the pump is really very light. But I worry about the breast shields. Think really gotta buy S-size to stand by. The M-sized ones are really too large for my nipples! Makes me wonder how come nipples can grow so large lor... Hmm. Or am I abnormal? Hope can pump and BF successfully.