(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Snoopy: hehe snoopy i think its best to maintain a cordial rship like ur rship w ur MIL now. im doing that too. cos when i tried to be nice n treat my MIL like my own mum, my BIL/SIL gets jealous n caused us a lot of problems. So now i jus maintain the hello-smile-how r u rship. :p

Weight:

Wah snoopy whole pregnancy u only put on 2.3kg?? I'm almost close to 10kg now and feels like a huge whale! Getting more n more difficult to walk and sleep.

Apple:

Hope u r better now and will be discharged soon!

Princess:

hahaha ur gal playing peekaboo with u!

Leg Cramps:

During the 1st n 2nd trimester, I had leg cramps while drifting in n out of sleeping. I realized I get the cramps because i tend to stretch my body and legs. So after that whenever I have the habit of stretching, i try to stop it whenever i realize im going to stretch to prevent the cramps. Now if get cramps quite bad, cant reach my leg with the big tummy. i dont like my hubby to touch / massage my legs when i hv the cramps.

Re: EDD

Although EDD stays there, baby can still come out early. Up to 3 weeks before EDD is common.

Re: Induce

Please dun induce for the sake of convenience. Induce brings about risks too coz you are “forcing” baby to come out when he/she is not ready to come out. It can fail & result in complications. If they induce fail (I think they can only make 2-3 attempts) = emergency c-sec (yes its emergency c-sec and not wait for normal delivery) = you pay normal delivery fees + c-sec fees = more than that extra 1K.

There are circumstances where gynae would advice induce such as baby too big, water level dropping, etc. But if its just to avoid $1k or choose nice date, I dun think its worth the risk.

morning all...

dunno why couldn't fall asleep easily last night despite feeling tired... so now I'm even more tired... *yawnz*

fifi,

I read the instructions and they say that only the nipple is supposed to be in the shaft, not parts of the areola cos the areola will be rubbed and cause cracking and bleeding.

Emmie

i also the same le sometimes...obviously dog tired but lie down to sleep jsut cannot sleep...and after all the tossing and turning make it even worse...haiz...think its our tummy lor...and then hor third trimester le..body preparing us to wake up wee hours cuz of feeding...just have to bear with it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

etelle, that is so sad... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] as it is, i will automatically wake up at 5plus everyday, way before the alarm goes off... So much for not looking like a panda before the baby comes.

Emmie

u working? if so it be tough for you hor...for me i am a sahm. I have to wake up at 730am daily to prepare my #1 for sch though...but after that cn still lax abit ....yeah hb was asking me how come u look so tired...i said u try not sleeping the whole night and then see tired or not...LOL

Ytd night had severe leg cramps despite me doing the flexing exercise prior to bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Started from the left leg then later right, so I had cramps in both legs at the same time, hb had a hard time trying to 'save' me bleah -_-""

Then tis morning, my boy woke up at 6am ++ and his first words was "iphone...iphone..." bleah ;p~~~~

Princess Dia,

Yr No 2 has gd weight growth! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and yr DD is so cute!! Their innocent speech aw.....:D

Morning Mummies & Ian!

Snoopy, your MIL is really drama-Mama la. Gosh! Luckily she is in MY and you are in SG, good distance away frm her.

Apple, how you are now? How come admitted to hospital? Hope you are feeling much better!

Princess, Jade is so cute lor! Can say mei mei noghty..

good morning everyone!

snoopy,

your MIL quite scary. is she that emo? or good in acting? and u only put on 2.3 kg? what's your weight/bmi to begin with? gynae say ok?

Lilbluey,

hope u dont get severe cramps again, poor thing...

princessd,

you will have a cheeky bb! =)

apple,

must take care hor, do update us your situation.

I also can't sleep again last night after I wake up at 3. Hix.. When I finally can sleep again, hubby's alarm clock went up at 5.30, so definitely can't sleep... Then I drink milk, and can sleep like another 1 hour until 7.15, becoz I need to prepare myself to go to office. Now I'm dead tired & sleepy. Some more later got meeting at 2. Huhu.. Hopefully I can stand not sleeping at the meeting :S..

Morning mummies and Ian

lilbluey

me too..I had cramp on my left leg last nite. It's already happened twice for this week..just have to bare with it.

My boy is also my alarm clock he usually wakes up around 6plus.. If I am dead tired dun wanna ake up still lying down he will shook my face or push my shoulder just to make me sit up..it's ok for weekdays cos i would need to prepare to go for work, but can't tahan when weedends also did that to mummy!

Princess d

wow your bb has a very good weight..wonder how heavy is my bb now, looking forward to seeing her on Monday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me too..am real huge carrying real low low low and pointed down..feeling so damn tired especially when running after my boy!

Morning mummies & daddy...

MIA recently as suddenly many things happen at home...My grandfather pass away suddenly and my step-son now suspected to have asthma, have to let him inhale the asthma thingy every 4 hourly..hardly get any sleep at all...

Glad to know everyone is doing well...

My gal is 1.8kg at 32wk1d, seems like abit small compared to the rest of the babies here.. beginning to get worried... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Snoopy,

Managed to read thru yr ordeal with yr MIL, -_-"" like what you say best to maintain a cordial r'ship and keep a distance from each other,

Apple

Are u feeling any better? hope u can be discharged soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Take Care!

Gsm, Irishcoffee,

I oso hope so..*sighs* seems like it's becoming more frequent the "attacks" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Grace,

Size does not matter, most imptly baby is healthy and growing well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

etelle, no, I'm a SAHM. But I dare not take naps cos it affects my sleep at night...chicken and egg issue! :p I have to wake up by 6.45am cos got to prep my boy for his sch bus at 7.15am.

grace, no need to worry abt the weight. Their weight gain accelerates in the last couple of weeks.

grace

my baby is 1.9kg at 31+ weeks, gynae said good size le...cuz throughout the last trimester their weight will double le..all in the last trimester...dun worrie okie...

emmie

yeah really a chicken and egg issue hor...hang in there hor...

I have home made red rice wine (Hong Zhao Jiu) for cooking confinement food. The next batch will be ready at the end of Sept. Please PM me if you are keen to get some as there are limited amount per batch.

grace,

hope you are coping well.. don't worry, these weights are merely estimates. as long as the EDD maintains at the same date and baby is putting on weight, you are fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilbluey,

i had cramps last night also. not sure if it was due to the air con blowing at me and i didn't use a blanket. but it woke me up and i immediately flex my muscles so it got better.

irish,

we have to meet up again before it gets too uncomfortable for you to walk around!

Emmie, LilBluey, Etelle,

Thanks... bb is active though she is small.. =p

Jac,

So far still okie, juz dat have dun get enuff slp everyday.. Feel very restless when at work.. Oh ya, have to arrange another meet up soon, i have already missed the few seesions organised, think die die muz make it for the next one..

Morn mummies,

Talking about baby's weight. I also worried that my boy is too small. But at the same time also dont want him to be too big. Scared cannot natural birth. Dont want to end up having to c-sect. So far gynae nvr say anything so i assume the weight is okay. He just say it is average.

Will only be seeing baby again in 2 weeks time. By then will be going 33weeks liao. Wonder how heavy baby will be by then.

Anyone going for the detailed growth scan? I'm going for it during my next appt.

grace,

we will definitely have another outing. think 1st or 2nd week of september bah. 'cos after that mummies will start popping already. heh heh!

xin,

my gynae nv mention anything about the detailed growth scan. is it compulsory?

ladies, can i just check ah, the no of days we're in hospital, we'll get hospital leave rite? thereafter the maternity leave starts?

bb weight,

as long as bb is growing n having consistent weight gain, size should not matter as per scan is based on estimation only. (+ or - 200 grams)

leg cramps,

I didnt experience cramps, but having water retention, now both ankle n feet look like pig trotters!!!

apple,

pls take care n rest well.

jac,

outing!!! i liked!!

jacqueline

i also gng for my growth scan next week le...to measure the growth of baby bah...erm think its' part of the routine bah...

xin2

i am gng for mine next week. I be 33+ weeks next week...same same...

Etelle,

Hehe.. Cant wait to have the detailed scan to see baby again. Everytime go see gynae, the scan is quite fast. Hopefully detailed scan can see more. Muz tell us how urs go.

Jac,

U may want to check with ur gynae? Think sld be muz do the scan? How abt other mummies?

You bot the fitflop from cottagekiddy? How isit so far? I thinking of getting the Electra-Pewter

Wonder how long it takes to be delivered to me.

Then the size hor, urs is just nice or slightly bigger than the feet?

xin2

my gynae hor sometimes chop chop sometimes longer abit de...haha but hor maybe this is my no. 3 so not as excited as i was when i had no. 1 but still happy to see how baby has formed though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

think baby is lying on my bladder...kept having the urge to pee but not much comes out... not much of an issue when I'm home but when I'm out, got to keep looking for toilet! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starry, i just did my growth scan last week at 32W+ Gynae didn't give any scan pics though...probably cos baby was using his arms to cover his face.

Marissa:

Maternity leave starts on the day you deliver. So if you deliver, lets say 10 Oct 11.59pm, your day 1 of ML is 10 Oct. Can be earlier but no later. Its MOM's law.

Good Afternoon Mummies!

Grace, sorry to hear about the demise of your grandfather. I hope you are ok....dun stress yourself too much over your step son as well... regarding your gal's weight, i dun think u need to worry too much, gal tend to be more petite. During last month, bb will grow faster as well....

Marissa, it would be considered as start of maternity leave. If you want to take hospitalization leave, you can take it before you pop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

marrisa,

yes, jus like what the mummies says, it should be maternity leave once baby pop. If you should take leave before baby pop, it is consider as anpaid leave or advance maternity leave (which is the 16 weeks entittlement)[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hihi mummies and Ian

It's a sleepy afternoon for me again.

Grace, your baby is 1.8kg at 32weeks? It's ok la.. My baby is 1.85kg at 33weeks. I asked gynae whether she is too small, gynae said no no it is normal size. So no need to worry.

Anyone getting the overnight sofy pads? I saw Giant having offer selling at $1.90 for the 41cm one. I just got 3packs before the offer. Thk I will get more, since 1 pack only got 4 inside. How long will the heavy discharge lasts? Trying to estimate how many packs I need to get.

babydes,

from my own opinion, heavy flow last up to 7-10 days then follow by light flow which can last to 3 weeks... But if you r doing consistent breast feeding/expressing, blood flow will stop eventually. and the cycle will also be shorter [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Cherry. Thk I will just get a few more packs. Anyway can use for heavy menses next time also.

Talking abt leave.. thk i shd ask my boss whether I can clear some leave after my ML. This year we will lugi the childcare leave. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

BTW in case some of u girls' company also like mine require u to ask your gynae to sign some forms to certify your maternity leave. Please rem to do soon. My HR required me to submit before I got on ML.

Babydes:

Wont lugi childcare leave! I went to check with the authorities. They ask me take 1st 8 weeks of ML, followed by 6 days CCL then continue with 8 weeks of ML! And there should be no pro-ration based on birthdate of child.

As long as your 1st 8 weeks dont flow to 2011, it should be fine.

Initially my HR dont allow and insist that CCL is pro-rated. But cos I got the email from CPF board confirming there should be no pro-ration and my HR oso ask me call MOM to confirm... they said the same thing. So bo pian my HR nv insist cannot liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin,

i'm seeing gynae later this weekend. will check with him. i bought the fitflop electra from cottage kiddy. just nice she has my size so right after i paid, i could get courier to collect it le. no waiting time. the size i actually tried at paragon's ocean paradise to make sure it's the right fit first. i find the sandals very good! really cushioned all over and feel very comfortable walking in them. better than my birkies. but the toe grip area may feel sore for a while. i rubbed that part with candle wax (princess d's tip!) to "season" it and it gave me no problems after that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emmie,

what do they check for during the growth scan? i'll be 31 weeks this weekend, and if wanna schedule growth scan earliest should be 32 weeks also..

babydes,

me! i will get the extra extra thick sofy pads. and not to forget, disposable undies!! get those cotton ones from john little or any other departmental stores.

babydes, why this yr will lugi childcare leave? Btw national rally got say any perks or not hUh? Or not yet rally.

lilacwhite> Really??? My company got a policy that the maternity leave need to be taken in 1 whole stretch leh.. Hm.. I'm gonna ask HR for that :p.

Babydes: Go email MCYS 1st. Get the email confirmation from them. If your HR says no, show them what MCYS says. That's what i did. :p

On the MCYS site, they have this CPF board email regarding CCL de. Good luck!

Groovy: If your company got this policy hor i dunno if still can anot? But maybe u write to MCYS your situation and see what they advise before u speak to ur HR.

Thanks Liliac White, Ivy, Lilbluey, Cherry.

Jac, gsm, nothing much, I got inherited diabetes so I got to better manage my sugar n food intake just like some of the mummies or mum to be here. .

apple,

can understand the hungry feeling. endure bah! last lap le. very soon you will hold your precious darling in your arms and everything will be worth it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Groovy, actually in the ML claim form, there is the declaration portion by employee and employer which states whether the ML is taken over a continuous 16 weeks block or 8 weeks first and balance 8 weeks over a flexible period.

I think in your case, if the company have such policy whereby maternity leave must be taken in full 16 weeks block, there's nothing much you can do about it.... for this year, most likely you will lugi the CCL entitlement.

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/NR/rdonlyres/FD95A102-06E2-465E-8419-2840E5F3CD0A/0/GML1V20081.pdf