(2010/09) September 2010 MTB

I'd like your advises...I've been giving my boy Isomil 2 in replacement of his usual FM ever since the diarrhea episode 2 wks ago. I'm not sure if I shud continue to let him be on soy milk permanently or move him back to cow's milk. So far he's good on soy milk...no more diarrhea (of cos!) and seems lesser phelgms and spit up. But I'm just concerned abt nutritional value of soy milk compared to cow's milk. And also, growing up, will I encourage him to dislike cow's milk as a result?

And if to move him back to cow's milk, which brand will be better, cos I don't think I want him back on Friso.

BBL > wah ... sure angry. but to keep things peaceful, just ask ur hubby ask ur mil don do that in future?

jin ong > din read about the diarrhea episode but if u want to, u can slowly scoop back the usual FM. start with 1 scoop of FM and other scoops isomil then increase slowly.

not sure about the nutritional value of soy milk so can't comment on that.

is the diarrhea cos of allergy to cow's milk? ever thought of going for prick test? my son has eczema, i have an appointment to try find out the cause of the eczema. can go to child specialist at any of the hospitals.

Sorry to interrupt. I have a tin of Nanpro2 in exchange with similac2. Collection at Farrer Park Mrt. Pm me if interested. Thanks

hi diamantz,

I suspect oni lor...brought him to the doc, but she din attribute purely to cow's milk though. Cos my boy since birth drink Friso liao, and never diarrhea until like dat before. So it's suspected a combi of teething, intro to new food, virus (i oso kenna stomach flu the same period!) and possibly the milk. And she recommended me to try Isomil. Her son drank Isomil until 2 yrs old too.

After giving my boy Isomil for 2 wks + liao, I felt dat he din hv so much phlegms too oso. Hee...maybe it's xin li zuo yong.

So now, I'm in dilemma lah. Dunno to switch back to cow's milk or stay wif Isomil lor. :p My oni concern is the nutrients of the 2 types of milk. Of cos I'd check with my doc about it again, but thought perhaps the mummies in here will hv some knowledge in this area that I can get quicker information from. ;)

Windy: FYI, the kiasu and kiasi me brought J'don to PD and checked . Apparently no issues with inner part of the ear. The external part is a little flaky though. So he thinks it's just sensitive skin and he gave some cream to apply.

So I asked him about scratching of head or ear or other places due to teething he said no leh. There's no such thing.

Yvone,

I read that online saying sometimes the pain travel to the gum n ear that's why they will scratch. Anyway I also went to see doc again n he say alexis's eardrums a bit 'full' so better take antibiotics. Haiz... She just recover fr croup now gotto start new medicine again...

Date: 22 Apr 2011 (Fri)

Time: 2 to 5 pm?

Venue: Clueless place/ central / suggestions?

Pls drop your name:

1) Clueless

2) Pinkyluv

3) Karen (either Fri or Sat is fine for me)

4) Yoshite

5) Kristelle (both dates are fine)

6) Chewy

7) Mango

8) Weiting

9) Rita

10)Angela (both days are fine)

Date: 23 Apr 2011 (sat)

note: its a 10 mis walk from border wheelock to my humble place.

Pls drop your name:

1) Clueless

2) phyphy

3) mummyliang

4) Rae Tan

5) Tigerlily

6) Kristelle

7) Yoshie

8) leila

9) mango

10) Angela

11) Karen

12) Bbdreamz (most likely gg, with hubby n bb)

How long can frozen ebm be kept for? Thanks..

Also, just to let you know there is a good sale for cotton on kids and baby.. =)

mummyliang,

the max is 3mths. but i only kept it for 2mths~ btw, i send u an email regarding the mums and babes membership, did u receive? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SugarOng,

U mean those specially for ebm de? keke, i'm not sure of those le. but for those keep at the normal fridge freezer is 3mths this is wat i know from SGH nurse. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SugarOng/Weiting/MummyLiang,

Deep Freezer - I use those for storing ice-cream. Can keep up to 6mths.

Normal Fridge/Freezer.

Fridge - 48hrs. Freezer - 3mths

Kristelle,

Nice meeting you on Monday. Looking forward to seeing ur family on 24th april yew tee baby show

Any other mummy want to join us??

Yvonne,

My boy also keep scratching his head and ear until got scratches. Maybe i should bring him to pd for review too.

Windy

HOpe alexis get well soon. poor girl taking medicine again. What do you mean by alexis's eardrums being full?

Mummyliang,

Where is the sale you mentioned in ur earlier posting?

SugarOng,

Yup, agree with the rest of the mummies. Deep freezer - never open frequently kind then can keep 6mths.

BBL,

Take deep breaths and cool down. Maybe ur MIL is not a sensitive person by nature. I heard from my confinement lady that Malaysian MIL still very the 重男轻女. So to her it may be natural to exclude DIL since is not her own. At least she is far away from you. Can try to get ur hubby to be alert and ask for ur share next time such ur MIL want to prepare things, just so as to improve DIL and MIL relations?

Clueless,

I am so forgetful...i ask hubby about attending your outing on Good Fri, he give me a duh face. Then he remind me are going overseas that week and returning in wee hours on fri morning. Not sure if i can be energetic enuff to go for ur gathering if it is fri. Maybe able to go on sat instead.

Can you share what brand of blender do you use to blend your baby's food? I used to have one, but it broke, it was a small, electric one that's v handy to use. Can't recall if it was Braun or Tefal. Tks tks.

BBL

I also have MIL woes. She decided she didn't want to share room with the maid so we told her to clear out the store room, then we convert it into bedroom for maid. First day of clearing, she only threw out my things! Imagine after long day at work, come home to see my things thrown on the floor.

Hey mummies... I have a dumex mamil gold stage 2 for exchange with enfapro A+ stage 2... 400 grams... Or to sell at $25... Self collect at buangkok Mrt station... Please SMS Valerie 93388073

Mummies - thanks! i guess it's 3 months then..

Pomme - wanted to join the baby show but timing is not right.. anw, enjoy yourselves. The sale was at anchorpoint (in front of ikea alexandra road)

Aishite - i think a lot of mummies use the philip avent. i use beaba baby cook, which i find too small, really!

weiting - will check my email.. =)

btw - anybody knows what is the difference between the parklon playmat sold in kiddypalace and action city? why the price difference? thanks!

mummyliang,

Its the quality, measurement and the thickness. u gt see the actual product before? once u see it than u can see the different.

Mummies who have pureed peas before, do you buy fresh peas or frozen peas to puree? Also, anyone knows where I can get organic peaches and bananas? I can't seem to find them at Four Seasons. TIA!

Thanks mummies, on e storage of ebm. If deep freezer jus open once a day considered frequent anot? Haa

On apple purée, izit cannot freeze since will oxidize?

mummies i need help!

my bb dun like to eat solid how? he dun like rice powder but sometimes give face still will eat...potato spit out, sweet potato spit out, avocado spit out n cry...he is getting from bad to worse now how?

kristelle,

try it slowly. maybe just one two teaspoon a day. just let him have taste the texture. my gal also takes her about a week of daily trying then start to get the catch of taking solid. but until now , she also dun really like solid. depends on wat i feed her. if she finds it nice, she will finish it. if not, she will totally reject it. just keep on trying but dun force him.

SugarOng - I soak the cut apples in lightly-salted water first before steaming and blending. It'll still turn a bit brown when frozen but still smell and taste ok. =)

Kristelle: what have u tried? tot kai bing is already on solids when i saw him at northpt? My PD asked me to start with frisocrem as the first food cos very close to milk..bb took a few mouthfuls initially now with patience, can finish 2 tbsp of frisocrem..BTW i still owe u $! U want to sms me your bank acc? transfer $23 to u..

deliberated a long time before deciding to get a plain blender,,cheap one from Morris...make me angry and i blend chilli for my tiger cub:p...the avent and bebea look gd and v practical but ex...also i steam in sperate steamer then blend..potato, sweet potato, pumpkin..i use the pigeon homemaker set..sieve the food through for that it is easier to wash the sieve then blender!

Weaning food: tried avocado apple carrot pumpkin potato sweet potato pea..pea i use frozen...bb only can swallow the pumkin and avocado..scream the IFC down when feed carrot and apple..haiz...

going slow on her..only on 1 solid feed a day..will try to up to 2 meals..don't know what else to give..red round leaf spinach? stem and leaves? or just leaves...

elle: I let him try for 2 mths le...still one and two teaspoon leh...duno how...somemore last time occasionally still can eat finish...now will always left over :C

Angela: i thought suppose to feed them after they drink milk?

Aries mum: Yup...he have been taking but no improvement...i feed him rice powder, potato, sweet potato and avocado...only rice powder still oki...but nowadays cannot finish oso...but he still like his biscuits...

Kristelle - usually babies are the most hungry in the morning. I think you can feed half of his usual milk feed first in the morning to take the edge off his hunger. Then try the solids. Then offer the remaining milk feed. This has been working well for Nicole but I give her solids in the afternoon not morning..

Kristelle - For me, I don't give milk when I give solids. Coz milk will make the baby full, then he/she won't want to eat the solids anymore. Maybe you can try just giving full solids and like what mummyliang says, try in the morning? I find my gal most cooperative in the morning.

Hi mommies, there are a few of us meeting at Botanic Gardens on 30 April. Please join us if you can.

Alternatively you can use my meetup group to organise activities for other dates/ venue etc. I set up a meetup group so it's easy to use the tools there to organise meetups for moms & other babes. go to http://www.meetup.com/Baby-Cafe-Moms-Support-Group/ or www.babycafe.com.sg for more details.

For 30 April, we're doing a picnic and photo session. everything is BYO (bring your own) so it's free to attend.

Btw I also have a can of dumex 6 months followon milk powder to give away if any of you is interested. We only used two scoops coz my baby is fussy and didn't like dumex, so we went back to similac.

Kristelle > for baby ryan, he's also fussy and only like bland food. Try mixing the items you want to introduce to him by mixing some breastmilk/ formula milk and baby rice. But the portion of rice should be more than say potato if you're giving him that.

helo! been mia cos no internet at my new plc..i know me super mountain turtle.

hehe.

APRIL 11 GATHERING

venue: Letty are u ok w using ur place? m not done unpacking!!! waiting for built -in cabinets! heee

craft: i make homemade , child safe play dough for our bbs to mess about with. will u ladies be okie w tt?

story , rhymes & songs time: will be doing these around theme of balls, bubbles and all things round. est 15-20 min. bbs dun hv tt muchattn span

Bubbles, Balls: someone bringing right? who ah? bringing parachute too?

Angela: i got my organic frozen peas fr four seasons, parkway and great world city.

By the way, peas mix w pumpkin q yummy, my

Bb loves it.

Pears super gd to counter constipation.

Kristelle, same as you, I give brown rice powder, potato, sweet potato, etc. My bb will sometime reject too or can't finish. Babies are also like adults, can suddenly dislike a particular food that they use to take all along. Is normal. But you may have to retry and see is it your bb reject the food becos of texture, the way is presented rather than taste. For e.g.my bb reject potato puree, but if I cook porridge and put in potato, she is ok.

I cook 2 tablespoons of rice powder with about 100ml water, then add 3 scoops of FM. While feeding the rice, I give 60ml of milk to act as water. My bb's milk intake is low, so no choice still giving milk in this feed. If not, I will have replaced with water

Angela, for peas, buy the frozen peas as the canned peas contains higher sodium. also, the frozen pea are better in flavour, colour and nutirition. do note that peas is high in fibre. so if eat too much will poo alot.

Jaslene > just sms you.

Jaclyn > Sure. Will reerve Mamil Gold 2 and Similac 2 for you. I got 3xMamil and 1xSimilac. How many you want? hehe sms me ya for confirmation 97907481

Pomme> haha its ok. Its not confirm yet whether Fri/Sat as Jo haven't revert as she can't make it on Sat. Once confirm, will let you gals know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

East gathering @ Tampines

April 11, Monday

Venue: SarahMay's Home

Time: 3pm - 5pm

1. Letty (Baby Scott & Helper)

2. Phyphy

3. Naf

4. Chris

5. Windy

6. dawned (Baby & Helper)

7. Kris

8. Pinkyluv

9. Sarahmay ( bb + tot) of cos :p

10. Pat (bb joan + tot)

I can provide bubbles and colour balls (those kind in ball pit type is it correct?)

Date: 22 Apr 2011 (Fri)

Pls drop your name:

1) Clueless

2) Pinkyluv

3) Karen (either Fri or Sat is fine for me)

4) Yoshite

5) Kristelle (both dates are fine)

6) Chewy

7) Mango

8) Weiting

9) Rita

10)Angela (both days are fine)

11) Pat

Pls drop your name:

1) Clueless

2) phyphy

3) mummyliang

4) Rae Tan

5) Tigerlily

6) Kristelle

7) Yoshie

8) leila

9) mango

10) Angela

11) Karen

Kristelle > Try Apple.. usually baby likes it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] besides, try giving the SOLID before the milk. Becos if u give milk already, then ur bb is quite full or not hungry anymore, bb won't be interested in the solid. For crystin, if i feed her solid, i need at least 1 hour later then can feed her milk. If straight away, no way she would take it. But mine is a small eater/drinker since birth. :p

Ebelle/zann - Thanks! Ooo, lots of poo is good. My gal has been having constipation eversince she started on solids. Gave her pears and apples everyday but still poo once every 3 days, and the poo is hard one.

Angela > try Papaya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] .... for your apple and pear .. try putting more water when you steam so its more diluted. Hope this helps

clueless - actually my apples and pears are quite diluted. wondering whether it's becoz of the baby rice/cereal that's too heaty for her. ya i heard papaya and bananas are good. going to let her try papaya soon. have been putting it on hold coz there's too much of catorene stuff in her diet lately.

Would love to join:

Pls drop your name:

1) Clueless

2) phyphy

3) mummyliang

4) Rae Tan

5) Tigerlily

6) Kristelle

7) Yoshie

8) leila

9) mango

10) Angela

11) Karen

13) Jynnsan (maid, 2 kids)