(2010/09) September 2010 MTB

morning mummies......i need help/advise....left breast feeling lumpy near armpit since before starting 430am pump...pumped n massage for 1 hr, still same....now touch n its pain...bb jus latched on for abt 30 min...seems to relieve a bit but lumpiness still there...now pumping n massaging but doubt it will disappear...neber experience this before (last time if lumpy, massage n pump will be ok)...what shd i do? call ML ma? issit blocked ducts? so scared fever will come [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sab, hope u find a nanny soon..

windy, wah, u stopping work for a yr ah....i peifu u...as much as i love my gal, dun tink i able to do this...

sugarong

not sure ur lump is it the same as mine.

I had one lump and pumping plus massage doesnt seem to clear it (no fever, not much pain also) then i went to Sis kang she also tried massage but relieve a bit only and she recommend me to see a breast doc and she extracted pus frm the lump.

bubbleling, mine is lumpy area (when finger run thru, can feel some unevenness)...when i touch, quite pain - dunno izit bruised fr my attempt to masage/compress it...need to make appt to see sis kang? where to find breast doc? so urs is an infection since got pus? now ok liao?

Sab

Nanny I think is under cc.

Now my ss is much more than Bb is taking , that y my friend suggest to stop pumping as by now the ss should be stable.

Lazy me miss one pump session , the next day engorge liao.

for mine is one big lump very obvious.

if its bruised i believe u can see it on the surface shldnt cause lumpy feeling.

try pumping and latching again if it still doesnt goes off then better to get help frm LC to see wat kind of lump it is.

my breast doc is at Mt a as well recommended by sis kang. mine i suppose its an infection after extraction the lump disappear but the doc did say the lump MIGHT come back again.

hmmm ever since my extraction i feel my right nips so sore during pumping, duno wat is wrong also

hi bubbleling, i din deliver at mt a, can go to sis kang? can i haf her no pls? the bruise i meant dunno is the pain fr the internal bruise resulting fr my vigorous massage...

phyphy, my ss oso more than bb intake...i still pump both sides every abt 3-5 hrly...so now my freezer jammed with milk....

any one dun mind my frozen ebm, pls lemmi noe....all oct batch...

Weiting,

I dun think I can make it today to the gathering at your plc as I have not fully recover. Hope you gals enjoy yourselves!!! Have fun.

sugarong

no pblm..she got clients frm TMC as well..she also did housecall for babyt

for me i went parentcraft so i was charge $64 as i deliver there.

if u intend to ask her to ur hse then she charges $150 for non Mt A mummies.

u can call sis kang @9839-9477

phyphy maybe u can try this: just pump a bit to relief the engorgement each time u feel uncomfortable. I understand that the brain needs a few days to re-adjust to the ss. If u pump until empty then the brain will still think u need that same amt (or even more) of milk so will still produce the same (or more!) which does not help in ur case. If u dun pump at all, how to tahan the engorgement? U pump a bit each time then slowly reduce to alternate then when ss readjust, can dun pump at all. The trick is to always leave milk in ur breast to tell ur brain no need to produce so much. When ur breast is empty the milk production is faster thats why in order for people like us to increase ss, we should pump more often, to always keep the breast empty and hence increase rate of production.

Hopefully this works. but it might not be instant some works after 3 days some need 1 week to react.

Batgirl, yah lo so sian to be sick *boo hoo* think the rest must be enjoying themselves at weiting house now .. take more pictures and post on FB!

phyphy:

how long did you say that it's ok for breastfed babies to not poop ah? lucas not been pooping since his major bomb that stained his romper last fri at the buffet gathering - today is the 5th day already... sigh... not sure if it's becos he's affected by my flu... he's 80% on bm and 20% fm... was worried he'll catch my flu and now more worried that he's not been popping...

Hi all, sorry for diverging, but I have a couple of extra brand new Sophie the Giraffe teething toy lying around at home courtesy of friends, wondering anybody here interested in them? I don't think my kid will need more than 1 so the extras are just collecting dust.

Available for sale COD, much cheaper than the bulk purchase price. Pls PM or email [email protected] if interested tq!

Lotus[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4692574.jpg]

huslibb

based on experience, understand babies on 80% BM & 20% FM will not poop everyday. my PD did mention tht it is ok for them to stay up to a week. My SIL previously stays in Denmark her dr told her the same thing and is not to worry and she is on full BM.

To all mummies falling/sick - not sure if you are a believer of Manuka honey. I find this very healing especially when i'm getting sore throat. i will take 3x a day with a spoonful (just raw fm the bottle). When you are having cold, drink it with lemon.

On massaging breast

My massage lady advise me to clear or massage my breast often to clear any block ducts. She said best is to massage during shower with the hot water. I find that when you bath with shower gel cleanched both your fist and massage towards your aerola. It's easier and faster to clear block ducts and you dont have to use much strength [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. I find this v. helpful

ebelle

For my case, I don't have much choice as I'm either opt for nanny or infant care. Both our mum had passed away and no other ppl can help to take care and we don't trust maid. Fortunately, we manage to find a good nanny and she is staying just above my block and we trust her with my son and now daughter (going to leave her to nanny on Dec)

You may want to let your MIL to take care and once your baby turn 18mths you can leave to infant care? You can hire a helper just to help out your MIL.

Jessica: Yap. I asked for a 3 weeks break during the hols to settle bb in infant care. They said policy so cannot break hols but ok to go no pay so I took 1 mth earlier and gain the hols[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]( Going on 3/4 load next year so that can have 1 free day to stay with bb.

I am now considering Cherie Hearts, though I heard some negative reviews previously, I think it depends on the branch rt? The one near my place looks ok, better than Little Skool House which had tons of foreign talents.

I have actually booked Rosy hearts at bukit timah, near work but pp advised me to get one near home instead. Any advise ladies???

Sab: I oso din want a maid without anyone to supervise that's why thinking of infant care. If u want better go and book first cos waiting list for many centres.Some registration r free or just about $150, then u can scout for nanny at the same time.Nanny unless recommanded by someone,I won't take the risk. Will going to agency for nanny help? Was told some have MCYS pple coming to check.??

Hushlilbb: Agree. My hub helps alot when he comes home but I feel bad cos he wakes up at night as well then goes to work and he does the wkend loads so that I can rest abit but I don't think his health can tahan for long. Where r u going to place bb when u go back to work?

OP and CCpet: What r the symptoms for RSV? My Bb just came down with runny nose and slight cough, is this the onslaught of RSV? Should I send her for the swap test?

Ebelle

Yes agree in nanny unless reckon by someone we know. I made a grave mistake and had a bad experience. I will not want that to repeat it again. The problem is hard to find a good nanny through people who know.

Ebelle, i would also advice you place bb closer to home cos if u r on mc / take leave to run errands, it'll be easier for you to fetch bb to and fro.

brownrice,

i didn't know it's ok for bb on bms not to poo daily.so i suppose that won't be considered constipated right?

ebelle,

It's like any other cough/cold. May get pleghmy. Suggest you google for RSV n read up on ALL the signs/symptoms. Swab test is ordered by PD n not suggested by parents. Any gd PD will know wud to do.

Hope your bb get well soon!

It's a pity that i can't join Xmas due to last min got event to attend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Shinchan/Leobaby:

Please be informed of the above

RE: Engorgement,

I also kenna on Day 3 in the hospital. I also have weird lumps forming under my armpits (which is gone now). After latching, then pump also cannot reduce the swelling. Nurse advise not to pump too much as the brain will ask the breast to increase SS which is going to worsen the engorgement. She taught me to hand express to relieve some pressure but as the engorgement did not go away, she applied cold compress for me - basically take a tub of water with ice cubes, wet towel with the cold water and place on the breast. It was an instant relief, at that point my boobs were throbbing and running a "fever". This method WILL reduce milk supply. I applied cold compress 3 times that day and within a day, all the engorgement is gone. the next day my boobs felt soft again, but then the milk supply also reduced. But if you gals having so much excesses, reduce a bit shd be ok ba.

PhyPhy,

My bb also drink one side only. But i don pump after every feed. Usually after 2 feed then i pump. During no1 time, i nv pump at all for 3 mths, so got nv engorge before. This time i pump cus No1 is drinking what i pump and bb drink from breast.

Nigella, yea some babies don poo daily. But make sure they have wet diapers and drinking.

Previously my son didn't poo for 5 days. He was on 80% & 20% Fm. I brought him to PD and said is fine as long as your baby behave norm. But she said if I am not comfortable still she can help to induce but tht was my last resort. So I waited and he finally poo on the 7th day.

hi mummies, i found on spree page, a mummy with a brown and dotted daisy brown balboa sling to let go. i would like to get the dotted daisy brown and if anyone here would like to get the brown, we can get each one at $40. is anyone interested? PM me pls. thanks

BB Poo

How come so many baby don't poo. My baby poo everyday. In fact, she poo a few times a day. Some times alot, some times very little - I change her diaper until I go mad liao. Diaper oso finish very fast lor. She is turning 2mths in a weeks time. Her milk intake drop from 700+ml to ard 500ml. Wonder wether she is alrite. I check the recommended calculation on milk intake 150ml x weight. At 5kg, she should be drinking - 750ml. But she is not drinking so much leh. How? Anyone got solution?

BrownRice,

Thanks for the link. Now more assuring that my bb is fine. Now only concern about her milk intake. Afraid if she continue to drink so little she will not grow well.

Brownrice,

thanks for the link, very informative. That seems why my bb's poop was once greenish, guess she took too much hindmilk instead of foremilk.

Hushlibb - If bb on BM (plus a bit FM), ok not to poo for 1 week. My bb also got that problem and I brought her to PD and that was the advice.

If tomoro he still dun poo, u can try to insert a moistened cotton bud into his poo poo area to see if got poo. (Tat's wat the PD did and we paid $80 for that!) That may also help to stimulate bb to poo. Can also feed gripe water n a bit of water a few times a day to aid. So long as stool is not hard it's ok. If stool hard, got to bring to PD.

Sab- Think u shld try to source for infant care soon and see if bb can adjust there. No doubt infant care may not be the best place for bb,but it's better than maid. If this doesn't work, u can quit your job later, no need to do it now. I've a colleague who put her bb @ infant care at 3 mths and he's been doing fine. The only problem is u or hubby or someone must be able to fetch bb fr infant care on time daily.

Mommies on Xmas Gathering> can I request the group picture taking (if there is) between 12-1pm instead? As i already started working, so would need to rush back office by 2pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Pleaseeeeeeeeeee

my bb on FM. poop also green. but doc say is normal. somemore is green turn yellow -_-" something about the shit passing through the big intestine too quickly.

For consti/ pooping :-

can use wet cotton ball also. drip water at the anus there. i use it to make sure he clears his bowels fully.

can try 'ngg ngg' with him, as well as to rub his tummy, around the belly button, in a clockwise direction.

can also press the area 3 fingers below his belly button- supposed to have shit if it's hard. press-stroke downwards to help him poo.

Nigella & Tigerlily,

most welcome. No worries, all babies behave differently and there is no SOP for them to follow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if u knw what I mean.

gosh iddn't log in for few days and so many things happening..

Orchard Hotel High Tea Buffet on Tuesday 9 Nov 2010 3pm to 5pm

>>let me know if you are short of a person and i join since there is 12 ppl already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiger Lily

My princess oso have her milk intake drop.. now 2 mths le, think abt 5kg ba, used to take more than her needed intake 150ml x 1kg, now shd be 750ml, she is taking 600g, sometimes 700g. But she sleep more. Think be cos of the spring cot i juz bought ba.

Kris/ sugar/ Jaclyn

During confinement time I will pump after every feed and now bk hm , I only pump before I sleep at night n the morning(2 times a day).

Me too during T1 time , I don pump n no problem . Now just miss one pump session = fever n body ache .

I think I will just pump the other side which Bb didn't drink.

Tigerlily

For my own experience , my 2 kids will poo more than 1 time a day is when they drink more than wat they need n also T1 got the bad habit of poo a little at time

Just now T1 had his 2nd helping , immediately after he finish , he poo

Woohoo... Germaine won 3rd prize in the sweetest moments most photogenic baby contest!!! Any other sept mummies won?? Check ur email!!!

hi ladies..

I was reading with interest some of the postings on nanny/ infant care. i have signed my boy up for infant care near my future home - but the waiting list is super long - the first confirmed place for the infant care that I am comfy with is in June. So in the meantime, I am fretting over alternatives when I get back to work in January...

I do not think my maid can handle the baby - not that i think she is malicious or mean, but that she is really forgetful and does not know how to take care of babies. Trying to source for a day time nanny - I heard the rates are around S$1.3k to S$2k!!! Is this the market rate?

For my case, my mum and MIL will not take care of the baby as they are not in Singapore. I enjoy my work and need to work - so no choice in being a SAHM. Besides, I really do not think I am able to stay home and be a good mother at the same time - I will prob drive my boys up the wall!!

Sab - maybe you can consider going to some agency to get a day time nanny? I am planning on calling some in the next couple of weeks to try my luck.. my friend just got the agencies names for me. If you need the names, please PM me.

Weiting

thanks for hosting us =) ur house is v studio like [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4693974.jpg]

and i did some matchmaking there for kyra =p

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4694054.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4694055.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4694056.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4694057.jpg]

cannot resist a love triangle ;)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4694058.jpg]

and the only 2 babes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4694059.jpg]

Anyone else?

Tea @Compasspoint on Thu 4 Nov 3pm

VENUE: JACK'S PLACE

1. OP

2. Pat

3. Phyphy

4. Mama G (currently not feeling well so may/may not come)

5. BabyT

6. Lizzie

7. Elle

8. Shirlyn

9. tigerlily n helper

10. Krishojw n helper (Maybe)

clueless

do join us..dun worry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so cya at Novena at 2pm next tuesday ? =)

OP

hehe, actually i dun mind changing to 16 Nov so that we can all meet again

if Orchard Hi Tea change to Tuesday 16 Nov ok with those who have signed up ? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinkyluv,

Hahaha! I think Ur matchmaking quite successful. Who's the bb boy in the 4th pic looking at Kyra? Think both got affinity for each other. How abt the bb boy in 1st pic? See him kooning (so kewt the Kooning pattern!), think he not interested in Kyra. :D