(2010/09) September 2010 MTB

Got sudden chills and runny nose in the middle of the night and pop in 2 Panadol Flu Max. Anyone knows if the expressed milk is safe for baby consumption?

Just now bought bb to see specialist at kkh, she has ear infection, next week review again and might need to go for minor ops, becos she too young will need to be admitted. Please pray for baby Charlotte.

My heart pain for my little girl. I can't believe why this is happening to her. Where is God when I need him most.

pinkyluv - i bringing my freestyle to work.. now i'm thinking how to sterilise?? means i need to bring a bottle of cleanser n put in office then after tt use hot water to scald?? how huh??

SarahMay

Since v long nv use PETPET cos my #2 is comin 4 lor. İ nv try Fitti b4, mayb İ shd try.

Actually I dont believe in online relationship. Initiaty juz tot, online guys cant be trust. lol.. Turn out tis relationship have a happy ending. :p

Pinkyluv

Do let me know when u gg to Turkey. Probably u will go İstanbul ba. tink more happening there than the capital Ankara.

Did u add me in FB. Mommies who added me, İ am abit confused, dunno who is who. BabyT is Vaierie right?

Paı seh..

sab - oh dear... wat happen to her??

jessica - hmm... so supply really has to do with slimming down??

jac - yup that's me... ur girl is gorgeous...

BabyT

yO, Thanks!İ oso cant stop lookin at her. whahah.. Yr princess oso very cure! Look like u right? The mouth v cute wor.

FB

Velerie aka BabyT

Leona aka Cool

İrene aka Starluster

Karen is karen

Alison aka ?

Paıseh paı seh...

Pinkyluv

my email: [email protected]

Hi Jessica,

I dont know how you cope with three babies. I am already stressing with just one. Wondering if i would be able to survive after confinement lady is gone

starluster: NO NO NO!!!! can only take regular panadol not the fancy extra kind! sorry..but u have to throw out the milk. if just reg panadol, still can BF. cos the flu max etc contains extra ingredients not sure what. but i know dr sim told me only regular panadol. are u having flu? poor thing. u can still BF u know...pass antibodies to ur bb.

jessica: i m just curious. what are the ingredients in formula milk that are beneficial to bb? can share?

pinkyluv: if i were working...i wld def buy two pumps. v troublesome to lug every where leh. hehe. even now i want to stay home...thinking abt whether to get the medela dual pump or not.

Jessica - cannot snack?? Piang I hungry like dunno eat this morning lor... Before sleeping, after pumping I will drink milo with Danish cookies... But now my weight stagnant, though size reduced...

BabyT

q easy. use sterilizing pills in office..soak and the thing is ok .Mothercare has the best price..i bought 56 tablets for $8 in 2008..still have the pack as not expired yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my wt has been stagnant at 59.5 to 60 kg since week 2..haiz

Rae

40ml in average every hr..left got no blocked ducts but can't even yield 10ml every hr..i pump every 3 hrs , so now is like 120ml in total if i rest a lot and drinks a lot . Week 6 was last sunday

Jessica

i totally agree that the more the milk ss , the faster the wt loss

mine is slow cos my milk ss is jialat, but i am still hungry :p

BabyT

q easy. use sterilizing pills in office..soak and the thing is ok .Mothercare has the best price..i bought 56 tablets for $8 in 2008..still have the pack as not expired yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my wt has been stagnant at 59.5 to 60 kg since week 2..haiz

Rae

40ml in average every hr..left got no blocked ducts but can't even yield 10ml every hr..i pump every 3 hrs , so now is like 120ml in total if i rest a lot and drinks a lot . Week 6 was last sunday

Jessica

i totally agree that the more the milk ss , the faster the wt loss

mine is slow cos my milk ss is jialat, but i am still hungry :p

pinkyluv - oh ya hor... sterilizing pills... but how does it work?? i haven't weighed myself for 2 weeks... dun wanna see my stagnant weight... should be staggering between 56-58kg... i wanna go down to 50!!!

slimming

My worst nightmare... Since i gained abt 30kg from my #1, so hard to lose, slowly lose le then no. 2 came. then lose abı le, now # 3 came.. used to be ın 50+ now 70+...

babyt

just let the pill dissolve in water and place the parts of pump inside =)

slimming

no time to go slimming centre et..now trying to up my milk ss so tat i can lose wt =p

jac

u r born in which year? here i noe 3 mothers of 3 kids ..Cool, Mango & Jessica

Mango, Jessica and myself are all 79thers and Cool looks like a 79ther too =)

Pinkyluv,

I really peifu all u mothers wif 3 kids lor. Super Women!!

BTW, I met Mango last Sat @ Marina Square. Her Mikaela looks very adorable.

I agree wif u on trying to lose weight by increasing MS. I've lost all 12kg gained during this preg thru BF. I only eat 3 meals a day since I delivered cos I din feel hungry at all after every latch/pump. Lost 1kg past wk after my CL left last Tue.

Anyone knows why one side of the breast produces more milk than the other? My right side is poorer.. Anyway to balance it out?

Hi Jessica,

When you breastfeeding baby #1, were you on total breastfeeding or partial? actually 2.5 months is already quite an achievement. I dont know if i would last one month.

And 3oz is already alot, i would be very happie if i can produce that. I am only producing 20 ml right now..

I decided that I would pump and only latch twice a day once in the morning and once in the evening. Reason being baby is a slow suckler and always fall asleep. Mummies out there, let me know what you think of this plan. Today I feel less stressed after thinking about this strategy. Now I need to concentrate on bonding with my baby and being more hands on cos the past few days, i am merely spending time fretting about breastmilk...very bad

i feel weird to see him drinking f. milk and I am not part of the process ( since i dont latch on right now in the afternoon).. hopefully my milk supply would go up and i dont have to rely on formula

Sab,

Will pray for you and your bb. Remember that God is ur girl's healer and he has already send forth his angels to u. All the ill health symptoms shall fade away in his name.

Diapers

Tried mamypoko, fitti 360, nepia, sealer and pampers. Mamypoko and pampers cutting is more squarish, so can contain poo better and suitable for big hips bb. Sealer and fitti 360 cutting is slimmer and longer, so not for big hips bb cos easily leak. Fitti's extra absorbent strip is in the front, seems like more suitable for boys (urine aim at the front portion). Both nepia and pampers got urine indicator.

BabyT and Mag,

I also eat 3 meals like Mag and don't snack at all cos i really don't feed hungry. Now wonder my weight loss slow down, cos i pump less, so less production= less weight loss. Think i got to up my pumping liao.

Mag,

YOu are very good lor. 12 kg all lose liao. I still have 2 kg more to go and now keep flucuating there.

Sterilising pump parts

Can use medela sterilising wet wipes. I got a big box standby for office use. Thinking that using hot water to scald also can since most of my colleagues are doing that.

Tigerlily

Nice meeting u today. Thanks for helping me to clear my frozen ebm and thanks for the gifts too. I just ran out of space today and if you din come my milk got to throw leh.

Rae,

My left side is also more than my right side. I try latching more on the right to up the supply but improvement not much. Now my neh nehs even more unevenly sized than before. Think can't do much cos unevenly supply got to do with amt of milk production cells and milk ducts.

sab: hang in there! God is faithful. Don't look at your circumstances (though I know it's hard) but just cling on to HIs promises. praying for little charlotte and you!

rae: that's a good plan! really...let your body take time to produce more milk when u pump. also if u are more relaxed , it will help. it's exactly what i did for the first 3-4wks of bb's life. in fact i bottlefed most of the time... and had to supplement. and when my supply kicked in , i stopped the formula milk. and then only when i was confident of my milk supply, i decided to work on relatching my bb. was an uphill task...but all worth it.

MS

haiz...how ah? my MS like dropped. all cos the past week, i went out and didn't pump. then past 2-3 nites i don't wake to pump either. argh.

so if i take fenugreek again, and start pumping every 2 hrs, shd help? i just worried tt i pump and then no milk to latch him on.

Rae

Am also low milk supply. I told myslf no matter what dont give up BF, even its v low. Now bb Zeynep is abt 6 weeks, my every pump only produce abt 60ml. Actually İ only pump for less than 5 to 10 mins. Cos no milk coming after tat. İ am very impatience one. So İ only now pump 3 times in day and latchin on day twice and at night twice. Other thsn tat, bb drinkin FM abt 90ml every 2 to 3 hours.

Jessica

İ also try in this way. Sometimes work, sometimes dont. Cos bb hands alway moving nonstop.. Last night pacificer keep dropping. İ dunno need to get up fro my bed to put it bk how many times. İt was like i din even slp at all. N today start coughing.. Juz woke up from an hour nap. And nap İ earn by lying sideway for bb to latch n suckle to slp, cos her pacificer keep dropping out n cry....

Motherhood

Am lucky cos #1, my mum help me took care of him since İ go bk work after M.leave. So İ only bring him home every fri after work and send Issac bk sun nite. When he reach 3yrs old, İ brig him bk to stay n put him at childcare. Then İ got preggy w #2, quite tired too, need to attend to # 1 n housework n work outside. Then after givin birth to # 2. put two of them bk to my mum place. # 1 go short hours sch since then. Now #3, İ move two blocks waay from my mum house few mths ago. So boys came bk to stay but still gg ah ma house slp over most of the time. Domestic helper to do housetasks and İ look after #3 myslf.

But if gg bk work soon in dec after 4mths (actually my bosses keep askin me go bk early), will miss my bb. My mum will help with the domestic help with the two boys and bb.

End of luo suo story

mommies, anyone using NUK teats? Do u face the same that the colour fade after a few use? and sometimes they stick together? is it the way i steriliser wrongly? i am using pigeon sterliier though...

Hi Rae

Reading your post reminds me of myself during the confinement period. Like u, my milk ss was abt 10-20ml with each pump. I could not latch my bb too. I was upset and depressed.

I seeked the help of LC at TMC.They taught me to latch and forbidded me to bottle feed..I went "huh". My bb screams my hse down when she is hungry. Think she will turn blue and cried herself hoarse if I were to cupfeed or syringe feed her. I struggled for a while before deciding not to d/c bottle feed. I could not bear to torture bb any further.

Things did not improve..milk ss was low..bb refused to latch after a while, knowing that this cow is "almost empty" and was a waste of energy and effort to suckle..we fought at each feed till bb cried the moment I carried her and I thought I saw fear in her eyes..Nearly went crazy over this feeding issue and many times felt like jumping down my flat..knew i was slipping into postnatal depression..reading the posts in this forum did not help as everyone seems ok with latching and milk ss..So why am I the only one??? I hated myself and the bb at that time...

Lucky for me, I have a very supportive hubby, CL and friends. Friends shared with me that they too have problems latching and it does not make me less a mother if I could not latch..it is better to give some BM than none at all..As my CL reminded me, confinement is supposedly a happy event, the birth of a child..my bb is healthy and normal and she will not be the only nor last one to be bottle feed or on FM solely..AS my friend put it, we were brought up on FM too..

the final straw came when I went to poly for her jaundice check..I was unable to ans the doc abt bb condition..cos i was obssessed with feeds... I though over this..decided to pump whatever i can for bb...I believe my bb will be happy with a sane mother who bottle feeds her with BM/FM than one who is insane..

My ss is still very low 30-60ml with each pump at 6 wks..will try fenugreek and drink lots of fluids as suggested...but drop in milk ss is inevitable..my CL had left and it can be difficult to take care of bb and pump for a long time or frequently..

Yr confinement is ending soon I believe..take this chance to learn abt bb care from yr CL else will be tough when she is gone unless you have extra help...told my hubby i want to go back to work after taking care of bb for 2 days with CL...Conserve your energy and rest well..zz is a luxury once yr CL leaves...

ERGO baby carrier:

SarahMay/yvonne/tigerlily/phyphy:

Thank you for your comments. Love your detailed review of the carrier SarahMay..love the pic with the gentleman carrying bb in front and haversack at the back..cos this is what I intend to do...

Vaccination

BB took her first 6 in 1 jab today..the doc asked u want to take pneumococcal vaccination too? and rotavirus? I went "huh"..anyway will take the jabs at 3 mths...let her try dose one of vaccination first..cost ant 490+ for the 3 jabs and dr consults..not sure if the cost include the next 2 consults..muz go check..now pray bb ok...

A long long while since I last post.. howz everyone? Some updates of my baby and myself. Since CL left, I'm looking after Denise by myself and my parents will drop by ocassionally. With the help of bjorn carrier, I managed to bring baby out for short trips in the afternoon by myself, if not it is so bored at home.

As she is quite clingy, dun like to sleep alone during the day, so a bit hard to do expressing. Can only manage 3 to 4 pumps a day. Really envy those mummies who has gd supply, mine can only meet her daily demand. Will give her FM at nite, so that she can sleep longer. So far, after her last feed at 12-ish, she will wake up ard 5-ish for her next feed.

Baby went for her 1st physical assessment today and she has gained 2kg since birth.. Wow! really surprised both hb and myself. Pd said her growth has caught up with her peers. Done her first dose of 6-in-1 jab today, hope she dun developed fever, otherwise I orh bak cak liao.

Sab,

take care and dun worry too much.. everything is gonna be alright.

Tigerlily,

Wow.. u are very kut lak on pumping. So ashamed of myself as compared to u.. :p

Jessica,

I oso have the same blue net bouncer in your pic but unlike Chesed, Denise dun like, rock her oso dun like..

clueless - I'm using Nuk teats, but the silicon one (transparent ones), so I suppose got no color chg issue. U using the latex (yellow) ones I suppose. Maybe u can switch to silicon ones. I'm also using pigeon steriliser.

Tigerlily - I'm keen on the pdf file for bb exercise. Will pm you my email. Thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

clueless: i'm using NUK latex. yes colour becomes whitish right? spoke to nuk , said best to change every 2 mths. colour change not issue.

aries mum: i bet u didn't read my posts about latching. i fought for a long time to get him latched. then u know cos of my 'obsession' with latching he ended up with severe jaundice. hospitalised on day 5. almost needed emergency blood transfusion. cried like mad. but it turned out to be blessing in disguise for my milk supply cos i pumped using the medela hospital pump. and u know it's only TODAY at wk 5 that he's jaundice has cleared. so i totally understand where u are coming from...so much better to have a sane/happy mum than drive ourselves nuts with feeding BM.

oh! glad u like the review abt ergo. so u going to get which design? this forum BP thread under agapebabies seem to have good deal. mine is the organic cotton one as it is supposed to be cooler.

diamantz: what do u mean try bfing after stopping?

jac: 5-10 mins got 60ml is good leh. what is pump interval.

shinchan: hi hi!!! wow. u are v capable! i rber my first bb...even w dad w me all day i felt bored like crazy!

bb: silicon ones - are they hard for bb to get used to? i chose latex cos my friend told me softer.

WEIGHT

haiz. after last week i lost all my preg weight (and more)...i put on again! yikes.

Ergo carrier.. Feel like getting one since i have vouchers from kiddy palace.. My boy now likes to be carried straight with his chin on my shoulder so that he can see d beautiful world. He will cry when he is carried lying down.. N his neck is v strong now, he can support his head and turn left turn right n turn left to kpo his surroundings without me supporting him.. My arms n back are breaking.. Which model do u all recommend ?

Jus wanna rant abit over here. D idiotic mil threw my scrub thats meant for washing my panties away when i was doing confinement at my mums place. Come hm n realise i dont have d scrub and i yelled at my hub! Its very pek chek when these pple come n kpo my stuffs and throw away my things without my permission. N when my hub asked her where is it, she can say so LOUDLY that d scrub is dirty n full of germs. Ya right, my things all sibei dirty, wash my panties is dirty, wash her cb panties not dirty.

Anyway not wash her stuffs, y she worry? Dont understand y she wanna come keep coming into my room n huan lo my stuffs. Somemore she can hang her super clean panties with ny boy's towel on d same bamboo. Freak. I got hub to ask her to remove tt thing off. Freakkkkk!!!!

Sarahmay: i read ur post, v detailed.. Makes me wanna grab an ergo right now.. By any chance u knw if kiddy palace is selling? I saw babybjorn but dont rem seeing ergo..

Anyway, what makes u buy ergo rather than babybjorn? Sk which means to say, we cant put baby back facing us in an ergo right?

SarahMay,

Dr Ang say i got Eczema. Buut he nv agree that it is due to pregnancy.. Now its better already. HE gave me Elomet Cream and Fucicort.

Anyone using the old model of the Medela PIS pump with one phase only? Cause i'm using it now and for #1. Not sure should i get a new pump with 2 phase technology, as it say will have more milk in less time. IS it really good?

A big thank you to everyone for all your encouragement n support. You are all correct to say that little is better than nothing.. so i should spend less time worrying and more time bonding with baby..

Would try my best and hope things will get better soon..

aries mum > there's new range called 'performance' for ergo... supposedly good for our climate. i got it at same price as organic range.

sarahmay > a mummy was saying that she stopped bf-ing, but wanted to start again cos everyone here was so enthusiastic...so i'm curious to know how it went.

relatching bb

relatched bb after 1.5 weeks of full expressing..bb din reject my nn but she suckle for a while, pull away fr my nn, and frantically search for it almost immediately again..and this cycle repeats itself thruout the course of bfeeding...but not long after, she cry for milk again...supplement with abt ebm.. wonder if she is drinking well/enuf via direct bfeeding..cos after latch, i pump out, ms abt same as during when i on full pumping....anyone with same issues?

pd

when will be a good time to change pd? read tat most babies already taking 2nd dose of hep b and doing the 5/6 in 1 vacinnation...todae my bb jus had 1st hep b (din take at birth cos this pd wanna babies to take at her clinic rather than hosp..but before that can be done, bb got juandice and thrush so need to wait for tat to clear then take)...wanna chane pd but not too sure howit will affect the timing of her future jabs...also, pd says stil got mild juandice.....mummies whose bb are cleared of juandice, wats the definition of cleared juandice? totally cleared or the level is below a certain amt???

diapers

tried sealer n i dun really likt it cos it leaks! but glad expo bb fair coming so can stock up on diapers...

sterilising pump parts in ofc

i totally forget abt existence of sterilising pills! so bot an extra set of the parts so tat haf 2 clean sets to bring to ofc...decided to pump twice in ofc nia

Sab: please take care.. baby will be find since doc mentioned its minor op.. my jayden jus went for hernia surgery when he was 1mth 1 day old too.. i totally understand how you feel now. take good care and rest well.. bb need mummy to be strong to take care of her. hugs** don be like me fall sick and had fever when accompanying jayden in kkh and even got mastitis.. now my SS is super pathetic.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yup using latex NUK teats..

Jessica & sarahmay > I just got them less than 3 week (and one et less than 2 weeks) and the colour startingto turn "whitish" specially the corners.. and was thinking was it the steam too strong causing it. since it it normal.. a relief. Btw robinson having 20% of on NUK products. Avent is 15% if i am not wrong.

I have avent botols (teat 1 and teat 3 size). NUK botol. Medela botol and one Bfreeplu botol and my bb has been picky ever since in introduce NUK haha She can even differenciate between NUK latex vs Siicon and spit out the silicon teat.. gosh.. aren't they smart!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kri> what type of eczema you having? I am having a huge outbreak since pregnancy and worst after i gave birth. Attack on my whole face, neck, chest and back and a bit on my tummy. my gynae say it is hormone. and my pimples are super 'angry" type ..are they medicine safe for bf? my PD prescribe me one and when i read the leaflet it say not to bf while puting that medicine. so for the sake of bf, i didn't put the medicine .. sigh...

Rae > agree.. i too had went through what u did but i was too tired and didn't push it to the max. As my then CL was verty discouraging and i was super tired and "dirty" and didn't enjoy the process at all... but still can remember the "sensation" feeling when she latch and i had sore nipples hahaha as time goes by i think the latch would be better. My bb can only latch well on my left breast and not on my right.. so everyone is special so don't feel too hard on urself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just keep on trying.. but one thing i find is if u really have enough sleeep and fluid, it does help but having said, it is tough to find that "enough sleep". to me, a 4 hour straight sleep is a luxury! haha

Clueless, My whole body is itchy. It get worst when its warm. If i scratch, the area turn red and hv pop ups. So i was told to use shower grl for dry and sensitive skin. You might want to ask ur PD if its safe for BF. During pregnancy, the med i was given was also not proven safe for pregnancy as writen on the leftlet, but derma say its fine. So what i did was to apply thin layer rather then to suffer.

Contraceptives for Breastfeeding Mummies:

1) Contraceptive injection - Depo - Provera

$60 @ Gynae, $8.50 @ polyclinic

2) Copper IUD

Around $400 @ Gynae, $60 @ Polyclinic

3) Condoms

I've used the Depo-Provera while breastfeeding my #1.. am contemplating Copper IUD this time round. anyone tried this?

Hi Clueless, i had eczema as well. in addition, during pregnancy, i developed pupp. I bathed using cetaphil as well as dermaveen. Found that it helps. In addition, I put an ice pack on my leg which was itchy.. found that it kind of calm the itch as well.. i visited dr ang at mt alvernia.. and applied the creams that he gave me.