(2010/09) September 2010 MTB

Candy Jos:

I just re-read what I wrote and think I made it sound abit too serious. Sorry. Pomme's explanation is more detailed and accurate than mine. Anyway, maybe just talk to your gynae to get him/her to explain everything to you. Take care ok. Dun worry too much for now.

tinkerstars, good for you congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my lil one did not open legs for dr yesterday. gotta wait next appt liao..

btw is detailed scan compulsory for all? it is always done at TMC or own gynae can do it?

tinkerstars - 3 lines = boy.. ydae i went to see gynae again, and he says 2 lines = 90% girl... my detailed scan is 29Apr... when's urs?? by then i'll be 21w3d...

u see the my videoclip, the 3 lines are all folded inwards... black, white, black..

doc says no sign of scotum and protruding 'line' so most likely not a boy...

my detailed scan is May 10. Need to do in the morning cos got to fast for 8 hours.

rachoho, detailed scan seems to be compulsory. My doc has own machine at clinic, so i guess it's like assumed by nurse that i will do it there. so i am like, left with no choice.

though i am considering doing outside cos will get more detailed ultrascan photos. my gynae never give a lot one.

tinkerstars, do you know the price for the detailed scan? so far my gynae never mention anything abt detailed scan also... wah still need to fast before doing scan? thanks for the pointers at least i know what to expect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congratulations Tinkerstars,

Can start preparing all the pink stuff now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Do detailed scan need to fast?? They never inform me about it. So only can drink water? Luckily mine is super early in the morning. If not i will be super hungry.

Thanks pommelow for sharing with me

Congrats Tinkerstars, hope i will have 3 lines too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Badfifi,

Did Dr Chen given you fish oil. I was given fish oil @ $40 bucks during my last visit.

Candy Jos,

Take care

bb dreamz > i saw another rocker at $149 also fisherprice... can rock itself and can use till toddler. i think more worth it leh, fyi. just sharing cos i'm prob getting that. ;p

tinkerstars - hmm... then my gynae remember wrongly isit... he keeps saying 2 lines is girl leh... hmm... confused....

pommelow - ur with KKH TPS right?? when's ur detailed scan?? they also never ask me to fast... but my detailed scan is 4pm... so late...

diamantz - i saw that rocker and we're getting that too... u can try baby kingdom.. i think they selling $119... can't remember...

tinkerstars,

congrats on seeing ur bb's gender!!!

How come ur doc asked u to fast? I din have to fast for my detailed scan last week.

rachoho,

I took my detailed scan at TMC and it is ard $120+.

BabyT,

The sonographer oso showed me the 3 lines of my girl leh.

shinchan - huh... hmm... ok... erm... aiyo... 2 lines or 3 lines = girl... my detailed scan in 2 weeks... shall see the big reveal... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BabyT,

My detailed scan is on 22 apr 8am. First customer, hope the sonographer is in good mood and awake by then. It will be done some where else on 2nd floor of KKH. Seeing doctor at 8.30am. Hopefully bb cooperate and i can see doctor on time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i just went and take a look at my next appt card... it states GCT test. I guess i'm fasting for that test.

on top of the detailed scan ba... you may call the clinic and confirm before your appt date to be extra sure.

shinchan - for detailed scan, what does TMC provide u? just show u the hands and legs of bb? or will provide u scan ultrasound pics?

pommelow - ooh... so nice... got early appointment... mine so late... damn sian... my next gynae appointment is 5 weeks from now... erm.. ask u ar.. ur gynae got give u other vitamins ma?? mine only gave me iron pills leh... no fish oil or calcium despite telling him that i'm lactose intolerant... but i told him i drinking soya bean milk everyday...

tinkerstars,

TMC gave me a report to bring back to my gynae. In it has the findings (such as measurements, etc) of the scan. Then oso have ard 6 (cannot rem exactly) ultrasound scan pics in the report too. But the ultrasound pics dun tell me much cos they really zoom in, so become abstract art lor.

no detailed pics of the hands to show fingers and legs to show toes... or show nose/kidney/heart?

i actually asked Dr yesterday if he can show me the hands and legs of bb when he scan me... he told me will do it next visit at 20 week detailed scan... so i wonder if it's really SHOW me the fingers and toes.

haha.. it's really 1 month after month of anxiety. every visit got different things to look forward to

babyT,

My detail scan is oso on 29 Apr 3pm @TMC. I hope to see the gender too so I can start buying baby's stuff. Most of my purchases are in white color now.

thanks babyt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] actually hoping to receive it as a gift. heee.

when do babies start using walkers and what do you look for when buying one? my mum tells me it must be sturdy cos the baby will jump up and down when sitted (hehe, thats me)

tinkerstars,

will show u the various parts like head, hands, legs, bladder, nose, etc on the screen. I think my ultrasound pics have oso but i dunno how to see. Think one of the pic oso show the gender. But i think it is definitely clearer on the screen than printed out. One thing to note is that ur bb has to be cooperative lor. Like mine, she is sleeping face down in a kneeling position (weird position), so took a bit off effort to measure her nasal bone, so cant really see her nose that clearly on screen lor.

BabyT,

My gynae gave me only obimin multivits and fish oil. No iron pills. I have check contents of Obimin against the book "what to expect when you are expecting" recommendations on supplements. It all fits including calcium (250mg) except for iron. You can try and ask your gynae to give you fish oil or you can buy from outside pharmacy. Do note that the DHA and EHA(not sure if i spell it correctly) is different for pregnant women.

Shinchan,

So did your gynae scan the bb for you after you show her the DS report? So you got any ultrasound scan pics from that appt?

pomme,

My gynae said no need to scan again cos alrdy scan at TMC. Other than the usual urine, weight and bp checks, he jus went thru the report with me and check my family and my medical history, that's all.

jynnsan> yes, i got DHA. the brand is ProLacta i think... my husband did the payment so i don't know how much it was. i'm very fail, i forgot when i'm supposed to start taking it so i just agar agar start :p

shinchan> really? hmm...i did the family medical history etc on my 1st visit liao, so i wonder what i'll end up doing for my appt after the scan...

morning ladies..

had bad flu last nite and decided to pop a flu med subscribe by doc for a good slp. end up the drowsiness lasted 12 hrs and i only woke up at 10am this morn! super late for work have to sms my boss for a half day leave [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but i feel v good n energetic now as my nose is clear!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw i got a question about Obimin, just wan to confirm if its ok if we start now? If yes i will go outside pharmacy to buy.. as i don tink my gynae package got include this...

Babies walking depends, some start to walk @ 9-10 mths, some start later. Actually baby walker is not encourage but we still got one for my baby :p. I found that pusher is not very steady as there is no brake and when the baby push, it will move very fast, if baby can't catch up the pace, will fall.

jynnsan: noted with thanks.. because last preg they only give me obimin really late into preg.. seeing that some ladies are taking it now i wanna start early too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

diamantz> abt walkers, just another point of view. my husband and i both agreed that we would not be getting our baby a walker. there has been a huge debate about the pros and cons of a walker. after weighing the things said and research done, we decided that we were more convinced by the cons side. i guess, partly because walking is a huge challenge for me, it is easier to to see things from the learning baby's perspective. one of the most impt arguments for me is that walkers do not help develop balance and co-ordination. it's a personal choice and you should definitely decide for yourself what you prefer lah. as a baby, i had a very strange development "route". i started talking quite early on, then walking and finally crawling :p

jynnsan> so you take obimin together with the multivits from Dr Chen? Or you don't take from her? How much is Obimin? I'm also wondering if I should switch to that cos it's quite gd.

badfifi: there is always alternative to Walker.. Exersaucer! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] safer as baby wont be moving ard the house.. i got both walker and exersaucer thou :p when i need to do household chores he goes into the exersaucer. when ther is others at home to watch him i will put him in the walker. for walker i feel that a "heavy" or sturdy walker is very impt.. i use to have 2 walkers, 1 at my mum hse and the other at in law hse. in law place they bought those cheap ones and is sooo light that my son seems flying when he try to "run" in the walker.. GOSH

Hi there, I'm from the May 2009 thread. I have 2 extra Mamil Mama 900g selling for $22 each.

Interested pls sms: 90086345 (self collect at west coast)

walkers: if you dont intend to get a walker.. must be prepared to spend extra effort on yr baby. For me, walker provides me with convenience; as i can place my girl in the walker while i do my own things without worrying that much abt her. We will only use the walker when the kid is able to sit, so maybe you can hold on to buying a walker for now. That is from my pt of view la..

adelynn> yah, i was thinking of exersaucer. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i want baby to get exercise! :D when i was a baby, i had a walker. my aunts and uncles tell me i would deliberately move my chubby little legs very fast so it looked like i was flying around in my walker :p (quite funny cos i was so chubby, i was like this little ball, then the ball trying to fly :D)

adelynn - i intend to buy the exersaucer too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if i get walker/ runner for my girl... i think my 2 four legged girls will be busy "siam-ing" her.. mwahahaha... i saw this pink exersaucer at KKH The First Few Years ydae... so sweet and soooo cute... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jokris> agreed. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the walker gives the baby an extra sense of independence too and baby can follow mother around, so mum can get chores done. i'm pretty much SAHM lah since i cant go out to work so i don't mind the exra attention bit

badfifi: yea yea v cute de but the flying ard is kind of danger la because baby doesnt know how to "brake" in time will bang into walls or stuff.. haa tts y i prefer exersaucer when i am busy :p i bought a 2nd hand exersaucer S$30 from a SAHM last time passed on to my sis and antoher relative and its back at my place now.. keeping for #2!

BabyT: hahaha ya i tink i know what u say exersaucers have so many designs and soooo tempting!!

am in week 17 now.. start to feel my baby's movement almost daily [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] any mummies started to have the bubble feeling in tummy yet?

adelynn> yup! then when i started trying to walk on my own, dunno if it's cos my head is too heavy or something, but i would fall backwards (imagine a tree falling). other babies just sit or fall back on their bums, but i was like a tree every time! so silly! :D

JoKris,

I m oso wk 17 now - started feeling baby's movement sometime last week. Most of the time is at night when I am trying to rest. When I am active e.g. working in office, baby is silent. Is your like this too?

tiger lily - my girl is more active at night too... or whenever i'm lying down... when i'm at work, hardly any feeling... i hope when she comes out, she's asleep at night.. so i can sleep.. mwahaha....

Tiger Lily: i felt the movement last week, but not that often, this week can feel the movements frequently. But diff babies got diff timings. When i am working, i can also feel the movements.

Yaa.. my baby not so active like all of yrs.. only as and when he/she will jerk abit..

last nite i took flu med this morn wake up tummy abit flat.. got worried and shake shake.. and baby moved. felt relieved..

Badfifi,

Nope, i am taking GNC prenatal vitamins + fish oil from Dr Chen, maybe my next round will get the multivit from her.