(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

I tot if we add veg and meat into porridge, should be quite nutritious? My pd said to start porridge with meat and veg when my boy was 6 mths.

rachel,

i agree that she drank a lot although she take porridge. sometimes i still got to coax her to finish her milk depending on her mood.

mvh,

ya lor... she sleep longer at night.. only day time, she prefer to play than nap but when she can't take it, she will be cranky... my mum had to force her to nap longer especially at noon. only night time we will be free from her.. haha...

bakaholic,

add meat will be nutritious.. more protein... veg is more to fibre and vitamin. dun forget about fish... very nutritious. my mum also add ikan bilis to the porridge so that he can absorb calcium too. my girl started all when she was 5 month...

I google online and found the recommended calcium amount for 6mth- 1 yr to be 270mg. So, can calculate the amount of calcium in fm taken per day.

Mine took enough so i didn't add ikan billis. We add meat stock to the porridge with pureed veg. And i give my boy 1 meal of cereal everyday. i haven't start fish yet.

porridge :

i think depends on wat ingredients u added into the porridge, it will be equally nutritional.. protein, calcium, fibre, carbo, fats and iron , all can be added. the babies last time grew up with porridge, also as healthy and fit..

MVH,

that time when i gave him full FM, he poo 3 times a day..then when i switch back to BM with 1 FM feed, constipate.. strange.. now i switch him back to full BM since yesterday, poo is back to pasty..confused..

porridge:

i guess porridge can be just as nutritious with the right proportion of ingredients. The challenge is how we can make it as nutritious as cereal/milk. As we can't give them a lot of ingredients yet due to risk of allergy, I think it is easier to just give the cereal with all the calculated amount of nutrients needed for their development. Somemore they are also quite small eater, and my boy starts to display his preference now. When he doesn't like the food, he will pretend he didn't see the spoon or give you the "I want to vomit already".

My dad bought pork bones to make meat stock to cook porridge. I haven't add in real meat yet cos i have yet to buy a decent blender.

White lady,

I didn't let my boy hold his bottle cos he likes to play with it and the milk will be all over him.

White

My boy can hold bottle since 5-6 mths.. I cook the meat together with the porridge to provide nutrients and flavour, scare he still cannot eat minced pork, so don't dare to Puree

Morning,

I read somewhere saying that our Bb shld drink at least 600ml of milk a day.

Whitelady, my sis tot me to buy pork muscle cos its easier to blend. I tried last sun and it works. I cook the meat in porridge then take out to blend/puree and put in back to the porridge. Both my boy and hubby love the porridge. My boy seems to don like fish. He always eat a little fish porridge and stop liao but for pork, he enjoy very much.

I study food and nutrients in sec sch so I will make sure my porridge will have 1 meat and 1 vege (one dish meal). But not sure how ifc cook their porridge leh. Don think they add vege. I'm thinking of cooking my own and bring to ifc every morning but very tiring leh.

Jas, teacher huang say they will add carrot, potato and blend with porridge.. and say Javion love it so much

at times will be pumpkin with brocoli.. everyday will be 2 vege de..

no fish of course.

It will of course benefit your boy if you cook ur own! but what time u need to wake up? Then the fish u put inside the thermal pot and bring to them ah?? Will be long hours liao? Nutrients still there?

Rachel, your pd asked u to feed bb more cereal since he don't like milk. Did he recommend any other food to supplement? Eg cheese yoghurt?

I tried mamil on my gal ytd for 1 feed. She drank 140ml compared to less than 100ml for Nan Pro. So I think switching brand helps. But I don't understand why she suddenly don't like NAN. She was drinking 150ml when I first started her on it. I am already running out of brands of milk powder for her to try.

cheese, my sis say nutrients show be still there. Jus that a bit lesser. I also don know what time I mus wake up. Nvr dare to plan. Very tiring. Shld be continue to ask ifc to provide. But I did tell them no maccroni and mee sua. If that day is this 2 food, then my boy will hav brown rice cereal.

Teacher huang told me they cook fish or meat porridge leh. So they do add vege as well.

cheese,

better check with them how many times they feed carrots and pumpkins..both high in Vit A, will cause the skin to go yellow, especially carrots. twice a week is ok, not everyday.

my mum's neighbour, everyday put carrots for the baby porridge, baby's skin turns yellow after 2wks..

re: meat

my mum say don't give meat yet, can use meat for cooking soup stock but don't give them eat yet, scared their digestive sys cannot take it...

jas,

don't think so young they'll give maccroni and mee sua right, usu for toddlers and above leh...

my boy some sought of skip cereal... initially when I feed cereal for a day, he don't like and finish few spoons only then turn his face away so start him on porridge and he loves it...

ya sunflower. teacher did mention they will alternate the food de.. carrot with someting. then next day brocoli with something.. so far still ok..

Ok jas I will talk to teacher if i happen to see them. I tink evelyn going holiday soon, heard from her is cruise! hee..

eeyore, my ifc served maccroni and mee sua to all infants. They will blend the maccroni. Mee sua jus serve as it is. I don wan my boy to eat mee sua cos it contain salt. Somemore he got gastric flu after he had his 1st mee sua in ifc. So I got phobia of mee sua now.

First time I give a bit of meat to my boy and no meat the next day to see hows his poo. If poo ok, then I continue. I started him on fish 2 weeks ago then pork last weekend. I only start when he 7mths old.

If the vege we cook too long , all the vitamin gone ? Cos I always slow cook in cooker for 2 to 3 hrs !! Haha ... So how shall I do ? Boil the vege in water till boil then take out ? Then when porridge cook till cook then mix both together ? N meat also right ? Can't cook too long ?

white lady, I will steam the vege separately the blend and add to porridge. For meat I will put in to cook together cos usually ppl say the longer we cook the meat it taste nicer rite.

Steam is better then boil cos when boil, more nutrient lost into the water.

white lady,

I usually steam and pureed my veg in bulk and store them in baby cubes. I just need to cook the porridge and throw the pureed veg in when ready to eat.

white,

i usually throw in the veg 1 hour after the slow cooker cooks the grains. actually, the nutrients will still go to the porridge lar..so still ok.. sometimes i lazy, i steam the vege together with the fish..then chop finely the vege and mix with the porridge to feed .. steaming is slightly better than boiling when it comes to nutrient loss..

Cheese, I m not sure if I recognize the wrong person.. Did u together wif ur boy n hubby go to visit someone who juz give birth? Saw someone like u twice le in my block.. But quite a distance so din call..

sweetkyra

my PD says cereal has all the nutrients so no need to supplement anything. But if baby constipate, can give him apple/prune juice. He also told me not to give him too much carrot or those orangey food cos carotene will make the baby orangey.

I still give him carrot, pumpkin, avocado, apple puree just to let him try out different food. He doesn't like spinach and broccoli, so dont know what kind of green veg to give him now. I just bought baby corn, will give him today.

PD also told me that avocado is very good for him, as it has high fat content. He said no need to add milk powder into the cereal. If I want to, then make sure i give him enough water.

Sunflower.. Bm + solids the poop is mashy.. But I dunno abt mixing fm..

Porridge:

My gal doesn't like to eat porridge n keep fussing when I feed.. Sometimes also give me a vomit expression..

So I blend it nowadays n she takes it! Thou she takes very small quantity maybe abt 50ml but at least she is eating it. I blend in e fish n chicken (haven't intro pork yet) n she got munch munch a bit.. She got 2 teeth on bottom n 2 erupting on top... Feel happy that she is eating finally..

Rachel, I give my gal broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus before.. She hates cauliflower.. Broccoli produces alot of gas n makes her a bit uncomfortable so I only give in e afternoon..

I wanna give spinach but scare of the nitrates thingy.. Somemore dunno how to choose spinach, got so many types in e supermarket n washing is tedious rite?

mvh,

ya, i noe BM + Solid is mashy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my personal view la, dont blend porridge, alot air introduce.. even for papaya puree when i blend, so much air...

spinach : i just choose those round leaves..im not sure if sharp ones can use..but i heard red ones dont give..when u choose, make sure no white spots at the back of the leaves.

eeyore,

i let my boy eats macaroni before.. initially only blend till small pcs but still v chunky, he ate a few mouth spoonful and coughed so i blend again with the white sauce and he finished all.

rachel,

for green veg, you can try peas, asparagus.. or you can also try parsnip, beetroot, zucchini, swede, butternut squash..

mvh,

you rmb the spinach i used? buy that.. super easy to wash and steam.. just pour away the water after steaming and blend.. add in new water if too dry..

Bakaholic , u steam all and puree n cube them ... When porridge ready , how u add the puree thing ? Cs the puree is frozen right ?

And any Bb still no teeth ? Mine coming 8 months Liao still no teeth leh !!! Haha

white lady, mine oso no teeth..

is it bcos drinkin BM so not enough calcium for them??

and now i add ikan bili powder to her porridge, hopefully can build more calcium..

I don't think no teeth mean not enough calcium leh ... Haha ... Cos my totally FM since birth !! Haha ... Think they r slow lor ... My big one have teeth since 4 months then this girl so slow

And I want to check , do u all feed Ur baby anyfood outside ? Cos when go out , my parent will keep asking me feed cakes all these then mil go pizza , ask me feed garlic bread !! Kao ... And my dad will secretly feed her adult biscuit !!! So sian lor

Jasmine , ya lor ... I also stop them ... My mum even want to feed her ice cream !!! ReAlly sian lor .... Think they will also sercretly feed when I m out ....

So u all plan , wait till 1 year old then eat out side food ?

White lady,

I usually will take out the cube and let it thaw in the fridge. Or i will microwave to thaw and then throw into the ready porridge.

Mine no teeth too.

No outside food for them till further notice. I very strict with that. And my parents are ok with it. Not sure about the grandaunts but i always have my boy within my sight just in case they secretly feed him as i have seen them feeding my other nieces and nephews.

Btw, i tot corn is harder to digest so can only intro after 1yr old?

mine also no teeth..

think im the notti one..give outside food hahah..but vvvv little lar..now i try not to give, will bring baby biscuit whenever i go..so if my boy fuss when we eat, i can give.

i also very notti. i also still give my girl eat outside food. i even purposely order fish so that she can eat with us. but still we bring our own puree or biscuits when go out.

haha...okok...i dunno lo..tot no teeth = not enough calcium..

er..i oso v strict..no outside food..and will told my in law off if they try to feed my bb wit any food not approved by me / bought by me..

sunflower,

ya lor. always the 2 of us. as long as it's not salty, spicy or oily, i will give a little bit. i see a mummy give durian lor... lolx..

is there alternative for blending?? usu I blend by using fork or spoon leh, thought of cooking this sat...

mine 8 mo also no teeth yet

Cheekrene

Ya as long as not those u mention [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes, I'm giving durian when the season begins !

Can u all share with me what are the policy plans that you bought for your darlings & from which coy?

Basically Im looking into a life insurance with protection & savings & hospitalisation plan which allows us to claim 100% of the bill.

Sunflower, jasmine I juz went to cold storage n bought organic spinach..only got one type. luckily not alot of soil at e roots. I saw ntuc ones got super lotsa soil.. Dunno round or sharp.. Can't really tell.. Usually I throw in e veg together to cook in food jar.. So for spinach more troublesome orh.. Need to cook separate..

Outside/adult food..

I saw my mil give my gal eat minced pork coated with egg at 6+ months.. She cooks one.. Quite salty coz brown color.. I told her off that she can't eat salty food n somemore egg! After that she din dare to give her, at least not within my sight..

I will try to cook porridge even when bb is 1 yr old.. Wanna them eat healthily.. My elder gal also eat porridge for a long time, now either mil or me will still cook porridge for her dinner ard 2-3 times per week..

Teeth..

Dun worry.. My elder gal has her 1st tooth at 11months.. Read that can up to 12m n it is genetic.. If either u or hubby is late teether, bb might be one..

cheekrene, sunfl@wer,

not just 2 lor, i also give my boy try adult food.. hahah..i usually will give the bland side..

i also want to let him try durians too.. hehehe..

Sunflower, I realized blend intro lotsa air bubbles.. But no choice leh my gal dun like the unblend porridge.. Maybe coz not mashy enuff.. I try using fork n spoon.. Too slow n she get disinterested fast.. Slow then the porridge cold easily..

mvh, spinach tat is suitable for bb is those spinach stalk cannot b peel off one..

u noe some spinach stalk, can peel off the skin one..

ohh..i dunno whether i m a late teether..lolz..

now is durian season le..

i oso tempted to feed my bb durian..

cos i was eating last sat...yummy...

so can feed ?? will it b too heaty? or "poison" in chinese saying?

durian are "poison" ..machiam seafood...got "poison"