(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

MVH,

I'm not staying with her, but she comes to my place almost everyday to "see/take care" of her grandson. When she not happy with us, she will "vow" that she wont "as well as her husband" will not step into our house. Then next day, she just self-invite herself lor. Why she not happy with us? Becos she accidentally left my son on the sofa and thinking he wont roll off, then it happens and her son did not talk to her, she got sensitive and told everyone we blame her and she not coming here anymore. When we brought the bb to see PD, she told others we wont let her pay for the medical bills becos we blame her. How can I ask her for money right? Anyway, she abit mental, very emotional.

She is also the one who went into the ifc and approach the director there cry mother cry father when she found out we are sending the bb at that ifc.

No matter how many thousand times I told her not to buy toys with small parts that pose as a choking hazard, she will still choose those she thinks that will "entertain" my son. Bought a cheapo plastic spinner with laser lights, those plastic that can split or break easily when drop on the floor kind, cost 80cents, I'm afraid the plastic will cut my son's mouth as he puts everything into his mouth. Laser lights bad for eyesight, but she just turn it on for my son to "enjoy" for hours every day. I really feel like throwing it away. Turn on TV to watch drama also made my son sit next to her to watch. When left my house, never once she turned off the TV. Told her bb have to be on playmat or cot if left alone so many times, before and after my bb fell from the sofa. Till now, she still insists bb loves my bed and wants to leave him there.

Too bad the ifc didnt work out, if it does, she wont even get to see him. She volunteers to pick him out of ifc to wait for us to come back from work, told me not to bother my family, she very free, on the other hand, complain to her other son she very tired. Looking at what I wrote here, I think I am EXTREMELY unhappy with her, she's stressing me out with all her unwanted "HELP".

Best part is, my own mother only came to my house twice since my bb is born. She is here almost everyday, and she can get jealous that my mum is here. How I know she jealous? Cos she complain to my husband that my mum is coming to my place. Why I told her my mum is coming? Cos she asked, she is the most KPO human i ever met and I have to tolerate her interrogation everyday. Now she realise she can't get much from me, she call my maid to ask!

Rachel

Yes , vpost is exp unless u order in bulk.. That's why most pple will join spree so that they can share the shipping cost with others ..If u can't post on the thread, just PM the spree organiser. They will reply via email.

Mvh

It's doable.. I did that with my son and mum too..my son also got separation anxiety in the begining. So everyttime i bring him to my mum place, let him familar with the place, his slping yao lan, and my mum. When i get back to wrk, the separation anxiety gets stronger. He cries whole day.. Cant slp too.. When i pick him up in the evening, he kept smiling and was so happy..it took my boy nearly a mth to get used to such routine..Actually my mum rejected me many times not to take care my bb.. Also tell me she needs to cook and do hse wrk.. Until last min I don't have a choice, ask her to take care for a few weeks and see how, if she still can't cope, will quit my job. So I literally 'dump' my boy to her.. Haha bad daughter. But Now she has her own planning how to manage cooking and other stuffs. And my son is priority to her now.. So if she can't cope, she rather not cook on that day.

So I believed everything will wrk out when time comes

Rachel

Ur mil has a strange school of thoughts.. Why she kept placing ur boy on ur bed whereby now his development shld be focusing on the ground level since they are starting to sit and crawl. Hmm anyway ur hb can tell her not come that often? But she really can jealous ..Twice only also can't tahan ur mum come. If u let ur mum take care, I think she would faint.. Have u think about letting ur mum take care? Feel more ease..

MVH,

my ger also keep flipping when changing diaper so I use something to distract her. Usu I will place another piece of diaper or the pack of wet wipes on her tummy and she will play with that diaper while I quickly change her.

Hope it helps.

Sunflower,

I same as u leh... initially my mum reject me too, then I told her if she really doesn't want to take care then I put him in IFC, but that time got high HFMD so I told her to "dong" until 2011 and see how, if really cannot then I'll quit my job to take care... finally they (hb and my mum) say it's such a pity to quit a job that I've for so many years... so until now... haha, if there's a will there's a way.

Jascmys,

the thermos jar is the foogo one? Cannot use to cook porridge cos not thermal cooker. It's just for keeping it warm only.

bakaholic, its Funtainer Vacuum Insulated Food Storage Container Jar. I jus bought one from BP. Still waiting for it to be deliver to me.

sweetkyra, I did. No choice leh, its my boy's feeding time when we outside esp in the evening. I can see ppl laughing at my boy and say he very cute loh. He also eat till very messy.

eeyore,

haha ya .. there is always a way, its just how they managed things.. my mum also says the same thing! she says dont quit job , else sayang haha, so she also dong till now keke

jascmy,

if im not wrong, only Tiger vacuum flask has the capability to 'cook' .. becos there is a round hollow thing at the bottom of the flash. that thing can 'cook' porridge..other brands can only keep warm.

mvh,

its better to bottle feed now. initially i got lots of worries on how my mum will handle. just like sunflower and eeyore, nearly gave up. but after 1 or 2 months, she got used to the routine. now, you know la, babies are active and my mum really enjoyed my girl accompanying her.

anyone knows where to get helium at a reasonable price? i wana buy mylar balloons ..but not sure where to get helium gas tank.

Thanks sunflower. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maybe I go buy tiger later. I'm super stress now. I wan go shopping to release stress. Chiam, my new way of releasing stress. Last time I used to eat, now is shopping.

sunflower: u never buy direct form carter website? u also buy from the spree?

Jascmy: u got pic to show wat u buy? seems interesting leh..

winnie,

i dont order in bulk..only a few pieces each time..so its cheaper to share cost with others, thats why i order from spree.

jascmy

same like me... retail theraphy .. i will feel happier when i see my loots. lolz. but it's a bad to our pocket..

winnie

Ok will text u when i free to come over.. if only a few pieces , go via spree better.. i always physcho my colleague to buy so we all join order direct. now tink they aiming gap.. i am trying to resist my self to see..

btw jascmy

dont buy thermos brand.. it's not good... wont keep warm.. Tiger still better choice.. or u see BP have anot.. some of them sell flask.. the japanese brand if not wrong, quite good also.. and much cheaper than departmental store.

alibaba,

thermos brand no good? I used their flask ok leh..

then i went to buy the foogo jar cos the amazon review quite good.

bakaholic

i duno leh. i find it not as good.. and cant keep as long as tiger. hehe.. i got a foogo food jar.. to keep porridge. and they are colorful.. nice.

Rachel, now I remember yr complaints abt yr mil.. How come e IFC doesn't work? Sorry if I have missed yr post on this.. So u got yrself a maid to take care of yr bb? Then maid n bb at home? Mm.. Putting on e sofa is more dangerous than bed I think.. Coz sofa got limited space.. Somemore like wat sunflower said, our bb should be on the ground level more often le.. Dun care abt yr mil la.. Actually sunflower's idea is quite good leh.. Let yr mum take care.. Hehe..

alibaba, yup, shld be buying tiger food jar. Or maybe a mini thermo pot. Or is there something that can keep warm and also cook porridge when we are traveling overseas??

We shld be bring my boy for holiday next mth. Don know what food to give leh.

jascmy,

how much you paid for it? I bought mine from isetan at $35.

Their tiger thermal food jar at 0.9L was selling at $39 using their sale. Was so tempted to buy cos vey cheap but then 0.9L too big for us to bring out.

Sunflower, how abt bottle trained? Yr boy is bottle trained fr young? Besides yr mum, anyone else helping yr mum to take care of bb? My dad also working, so I scare she might have problem having lunch.. Somemore her place dun have coffeeshop, must walk very far to marketplace then got food.. So dunno how to settle her lunch..

Got to buy alot of things to put at my mum's place.. Headache sia..

jasmcy,

I heard have to boil the porridge till bubbling before going into the tiger food jar then can get those mushy texture. If no boil, then it's like teochew porrige.

Xuan, I did that too but not successful.. Coz my gal likes to be on tummy now. She will grab the thing I throw to her, bite n turn to be on tummy.. Change diaper I have to turn back her 3-4 times... Siong..

Cheekrene, my mum loves to take care of my kids but she will go e soft way n spoil my kids.. I scare this..

Btw talking abt spoiling kids, my pil n mum likes to use food (sweets, preservative fruits, biscuit, tidbits, drinks etc) to make my elder gal stop crying when she got into fights wif my niece or when she doesn't get wat she wants...

Now my elder gal somewhat got this habit to get alot of junk food.. Each day after school, request to eat choco biscuits, drink ice Milo, raisins, fruits etc.. N if I refuse to give especially dinner time, she will cry n cry.. I dunno how to handle her sia.. My mum keeps telling me to give her eat n shut her crying but this has become a habit.. Cry => got food to eat.. How to discipline her?

MVh,

my boy is bottled trained since young [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

only my mum takes care of my boy, my dad is working too..i put 1 set of everything my boy needs at my mum's place..for toys, some of them i have to carry to and fro everyday..haha..

this is the hollow thing that my fren told me.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5258750.jpg]

Bakaholic, that's a great deal u got for the tiger food jar!!! I got mine last sun at taka wif no discount.. $65 for 0.7l... So ex!!!

bakaholic, I pay $16.88 for the thermos food jar. Wow, you got a gd deal for tiger leh.

Ya, mus be boiling. I'm currently using thermo pot to cook porridge. Same way as using tiger. But now I wan buy a small one to bring when we are outside.

Rachel, the porridge u feed her is Bellamy brand? Is friso comfort milk? I tot is cereal, u feed the friso comfort by bottle? I gave my gal brown rice powder most of the time, but I think she is sick of it, now got to and source other food for her. I tot of cooking porridge for her, but seems like not very nutritious .

Winnie, mine is 0.7l.. Also teochew porridge.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i thought I might have put too much water le.. Think need to trial n error more..

Sunflower, oic.. Later I go check out mine.. Thanks for e pix

bakaholic,

i also think its very cheap! still have or not?

acutally i like slow cooker..throw everything in, dont need to bother, 2 hours come back super mashy. just that travelling will be hard.

mvh,

my mum, my dad and my bro already pamper my girl to the max. my girl know the time when my dad is going down to buy newspaper, she know the time when my bro is back from work. for my mum, she cant bear to make her hungry at the middle of the night. if my mum wake up and my girl still not asking for milk, she feed her. faint la... it's like becoming a routine for me to wake up on weekend night to feed her if i ignore her... and i already got used to it. that is why i said my girl is "xiao pan tu"

My boy too. Sometimes can give him a toy to suck on and he can stay still for a short while. if not, have to restrain with alot of force. And he will start to grumble and cry when he can't move. Faint...

I never buy the tiger jar lah.. my hubby said got slow cooker and foogo jar, why still need to buy? And it's very big to bring out loh.

sunflower,

the offer only last fri, member's sale.

Jasmine,

Can try millet, barley, quinoa for your gal.

blackeyepea

porridge can be nutritional if u dump lots of stuffs.. my mum puts in potato, pumpkin, spinach/brocoli, pork, and steam fish. everything into 1 porridge, very delicious. at times, she added ikan bilis stock or dried scallops which are salty..but only sometimes lar as i told her not to put often.. porridge itself contains carbo and fats which are wat they need alot now.

so it depends how u see it...if u still scare not nutritional, then give 1 serving, either lunch or dinner, then top up with a fruit puree..the other serving give cereal.. in between can still give healthy snacks like biscuits..

bakaholic, where to buy millet, barley and quinoa? How to cook ah? Sorry, me still very blur on solids.

sunflower, your mum use so many food? I just bought the small 0.7L slow cooker, dont know can throw in so many ingredients inside. Your mum cook the potato, pumpkin, etc till nua nua?