(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

scooby2010,

sorry, unable to offer any advice re. ur gynae or SGH. do u mean u did not take any supplements since preggie until now? not even folic acid during the 1st trimester?? cos my understanding is that folic acid is quite critical during the 1st trimester. did u take the oscar's? i supposed ur 20wks scan is coming pretty soon ya. if everything is fine during the detailed scanning, then u shd have nothing to worry abt. all the best & keep us posted again k.

mvh,

oh dear, sorry to hear that ur girl fell fr the bed. was there any swelling etc? personally, i feel that any trauma to the head shd always not be taken lightly lah. i hope she is fine.

ducklingeshop,

hope u & ur family have a nice trip! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes, 2nd trimester is always best to travel. we went for a short cruise just before CNY too. helps to keep the travel bug in you, in bay until the bb is born lor. lol.

whitelady,

urine infection is pretty common, dun worry too much abt it. my fren had UTI thruout her pregnancy but its fine as long as her condition is being monitored by her gynae. hope ur urine test result is fine though. good luck!

suika, everyone say can eat better than cannot eat. But I'm eating too much liao. Not sure how to slim down after delivery. My hubby ever told me that he don like fat lady.

Seems like during preggie, we will either eat a lot or can't eat. Anyone's appetite still the same as before preggie??

jascmy,

ur size still ok lah...juz make sure u dun get any fatter then ur hb can liao...that's y i always feeds my ang round round so he cannot 'hiam' me fat :p

Hi mummies, can i know wats most of ur ratio in blood test? mine was 1:900+ at my age of 22yrs old.

jascmy> sadly to say my appetite not the same as before. always hungry but cannot eat much.

Sorry to interrupt. Have an almost BN CAPELLA Cony Premium S230 (2009) for sale. Used only once (less than a month old) as baby prefers the quinny buzz. Bought for $399. Letting go at $320.

Description :

Reversible handle

Adjustable handle

Adjustable back rest

Seat angle – 180 ̊

One-hand folding system

2 sided additional seat cushion

Extension foot rest

Ventilation system

Full canopy

Big shopping basket

Swivel wheels

Safety bumper bar

5 point harness safety belt

2nd safety lock

Convenient brake

Suitable for babies from birth

Weight: 6.9kg

Please email [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3710828.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3710829.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3710830.jpg]

xpinkxuanx,

u talking abt the biochemistry test alone right (taken together with ultrasound scan during 12 wks)??

mine is 1:2000+, think maybe the blood test did not have much to do with age (unlike background risk)?

cos i was alr 33 when i took this test in jan'10.

my fren, also 33 at the time of test, her result is 1:8000+

i think the individual risk is not that critical. what matters most is ur final adjusted risk ya.

jascmy

coz mi a big eater n i like to munch alot so my ang cannot tahan will starts eating w mi but i wun go fat so fast s compared to him so his tummy is so much bigger....s if like gonna deliver anytime soon....hahaha

Angel : Oh dear. My elder one was 1:1500. now lower, become 1:900.

in the dilema to test amnio or not.

Both me and hubby can't accept abnormal baby.

anyway, nvm. told hubby to take the risk. if really turn out to be abnormal, will think on what to do.

xpink,

wad ur gynea says this time? to take the test? i think u can take another type of blood test rite? rather then go straight for amnio test mah

xpinkxuanx,

oh, u mean u din go for the full oscar's huh? how many wks are u now?? are u due for the 20wks scan soon?

cos my understanding is that the detailed scan will also have markers for anormalies. maybe u want to wait till then?

cos if ur detailed scan is perfectly fine, then u & ur hb shd have no cause for concerns.

the blood test results alone is not a gd indicator of DS. have u spoken with ur gynae, what did he/she advise?

hi mtbs,

hw are u all feeling? Few days nebe come in, alot to read up here.. lolx.. Im waiting for my hubby blood test, hope he don hv thalassemia.. cos i hv thalassemia [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] very worry now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My collg told me avoid raw food, crab, sotongs, bananas, watermelons, less orange,eat more kiwi (but don eat with apple), drink more milk (powder type). My mum gave me eat those sunflower seeds, say its gd for bb..

till now i still vomit, 18 wks le.. envy those mummies that nebe vomit thru out their pregcy.

Oh ya, my fren told me stroller don need buy so early cos when bb is born, won use stroller early. Frm then, u determine by the size of your bb and buy accordingly.

How about baby cot? Im wondering do we need to buy that 1st? what are the tings needed when baby is borned?

suika : my gynae want me to take amnio test.

Angel : i din do any oscar or detail scan. only triple test. and the result turn out 1:900.

my gynae keep on suggest me to take amnio test only.

Hi angel ,

did you do the triple test ? i only done the oscar scan when 1 was 12weeks + and blood test for the blood count one... did you do you triple test as your gynae same with me ?

xpinkxuanx,

oic. i read that triple test has only 70% accuracy for DS.

taking care of a DS bb is a hugh responsibility for both parents.

if this is sth u & ur hb are not prepared to take on or accept, i think u shd go for the amnio test (if u arent planning to take the 20wks scan either).

if u wait till after bb is born then decide what to do with bb, then this wont be fair to the bb.

regardless of ur decision, its always best to discuss with ur hb & see how both of u really feel abt this.

we do not want to make decisions that we may regret later. take care!

jasmine,

no, i din do the triple test.

oscar's & triple tests basially serve the same purpose - test for DS. just that oscars has a 90% accuracy for DS as compared to 70% for triple tests.

if ur oscar's results are fine, then it shd be okie. just wait till the 20wks scan to cfm that all is well with bb & then after that, just wait to give birth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xpink,

or mayb due to ur previous tests u always under the higher risk section so ur gynea rather u go straight for amnio test instead?

Thanks Suika, MVH, SunFlower! At least I don't feel I'm the odd one out... hehe~

MVH,

ur girl vomit ar? think u better bring her to see doc since she knock her head...

ducklingeshop,

I'm trying to plan a short getaway too... planning to go for resort stay. where u staying in Bintan?

Angel : oic! Alamak. my gynae, everything oso nv say one. i din even know triple test only 70% accuracy.

keep on ask me do amnio test which cost $900! -_-

thanks. will think properly, cos my gynae say can only do abortion by 20weeks, after that must give birth liao. cannot abort. hmm...

suika : hmm ya. i did amnio test for both my kids. but the ratio was 1:1500 and both my kids turn out normal. so i thinking this time don wan do amnio test, but now the ratio was 1:900. sigh

xpinkxuanx,

i think at this point, dun think abt abortion & all that.

keep a positive mindset, rem 1:900 means that ur bb has a 899 chances of NOT being a DS bb!

xpink, think u should go for Oscar scan with another gynea or do same test with another gynea to get a 2nd opinion instead of amnio test which is ex and risky.

Hi angel....

i am abit blur....i dun know why i did not do blood test at thomson... before i went for oscar test , Dr arian done blood test for me regard the blood count things.... but i never do the blood test at thomson.....sorry ... did dr adrian do the blood test for you ?

in my report , just saw background risk , utlrasound risk and adjusted risk .... which ultrasound risk = adjusted risk

i'm also very stress leh.. very look fwd to see the detailed scan.. hope bb is doing well...

see my friend detailed scan liao, i very gan chiong.. very very look fwd mine..argh

winnie

i think shd b ok coz my colleague that time preg oso drank that for her cough....ur mil so good to u sia....that's a very expensive tonic u noe

xpink

think mayb u can try seek a 2nd opinion...go for the test again rather then to waste money on amnio test....painful u noe

jascmy,

think xpinkxuanx cannot do an oscar's now, i think she shd be more than 13wks6days liao.

jasmine,

yes, woody did do a blood test for me at his clinic (before my oscar's) but my understanding is the test he did is not related to the oscar's at all.

i think the blood test was to test for hepA/B etc (if i'm not mistaken).

i did a separate blood test at TMC itself.

perhaps u r still young that's why woody did not put u up for the full oscar's & just sent u for the NT scan only.

for me i old liao, so no choice but to go for full oscar's.

if ur adjusted risk is fine (low-risk), then u need not have to worry.

winnie,

can ..my mum also told me to drink. she say we should drink once or twice during 4-5mth so that baby is stronger..after that then proceed to bird nest..

Thanks ducklingeshop, suika, Angel, starz for your concern.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ducklingeshop,

my gal fell down from the bed when she is younger. that time she din vomit still not so bad. but this time she vomited twice within 30mins after the fall. A bit worried that she might have slight concussion.

suika,

i called my mil. she said so far my gal is okay.. just hope and see for another 6-7 hrs to pass the 24hrs mark..

i have not log in for a very long time.

so i'm a bit lost now.

xpinkxuanx,

sorry to ask, is 1:900 consider high risk?

my oscar results is 1:500plus, but my gynae told me that this is consider ok.

he did not advise me to go for amnio test.

btw, i'm 30 now and this is my 19th week.

do i have to worry?

winnie, can drink that.. in fact my mum cooked black chicken soup with cordycerps during 2nd trimester when i have #1. 3rd trimester our body too heaty le, so cant drink much of these tonic soup..

xpink,

good to seek for another opinion. but i think too late to go for oscar test if yr bb is already more than 14 weeks old.

u all did blood test for Oscar?

NT scan reviews 80% accuracy, with Blood test, it becomes 90%..although its only 10% more, but it can change your results totally.

initially i only did NT scan, result was 1:700++

after that , gynae suggest i do blood test to combine the results ,and my results become 1:5000++

its a huge difference.

jasmine,

woody oso sends mi for NTscan

mvh,

so long she's behaving normal, active n eating well like usual n no vomiting then she shd b fine

winnie, your mil so good to you. I'm also looking forward to mine leh but still have one mth to go. Urs only next week, so good!

winnie,

I think it is okay. Cuz my mum encourages me to drink cordycep chicken essence...

anyone drinking bird's nest? my mum encourages me to drink as well so bb got nice and white skin.. last time i drink i cough whole nite... wanna try but scare will keep on coughing again...

starz, can drink bird's nest. I also got drink when my mum cooks. but same as u.. after drinking, my throat very itchy.. wanna cough.. maybe too sweet?

Dreamz,

Yah, it's not like we're into our 3rd trimester already so out of energy... I have to salute to those mummy including you, still manage to go to work....

Leo-baby,

Thanks. I read up their website it was really cool, just that the uncertainty of dunno who I will be getting is a little intimidating... Cos if the CL they sent is really no good...I will also be too paiseh to send her back....haha.

angel, i am not young actually ... gg to 36 years old this year ... considered as "high risk", i was very worried when i was waiting for Oscar scan result.... lucikly result is 1:1300 ...i tot the blood test was for DS one... until i got my report back and dun understand why i did not the blood test for ds ....

Hi suika,

did you do the blood test for DS risk ?

jasmine> i think urs was the NT scan rather than the Oscar scan. For me I only went for NT scan and later on my next gynae appt, dr adrian took blood test to test for hep A/B all those. Our report also have the various risks, just that it does not combine with the blood test results to calculate adjusted risk.

My mil letting me drink everytime a go back to my in-laws place birdnest with dunno wat type of ginseng plus something else, i think might be cordycerps.

scent> every morning i am tempted not to go work. luckily my work sit down most of the time but still very tired. take cab until pocket gg 1 big hole. Anyway i looking forward to my aqua fitness class and hopefully can help me build up some strength.

my NT scan result was 1:78.

I was crying during the scan.

but i could see the nasal bridge during the scan.

with the blood test, its 1:500+.

and gynae and TMC actually says this is ok.

now i'm a bit worried.

next week i'm going for my detailed scan at TMC.

will it be too late then?

angel,

ur oscar's results of 1:500+ shd not be compared with xpinkxuanx's triple test of 1:900+, think the benchmarks for both tests are different.

for the oscar's, my report got states that unless ur adjusted risk fall below 1:300 then that is considered high-risk.

i think this is also why ur gynae & TMC did not prompt u to go for further tests.

u dun worry too much since ur detailed scan is next wk (mine is next mon, when urs??), just wait & see if the 20wks scan works out fine.

all the best & keep us in the loop k.

jasmine,

oic. then i find it strange how come woody never send u for the full oscar's.

in fact, i read that women 35 & abv shd all go for full oscar's unless the outcome will not affect their decision to have the bb at all.

anyway, my ultrasound risk is also just 1:1000+ only so i think u dun have to worry too much.

will u be going for ur 20wks scan?

thanks mummies for ur reply.

I'm now 17weeks already so i think i can't do oscar is it?

But i paid my gynae package liao, dunno if i should seek 2nd opinion. My husband say maybe the gynae wanna earn amnio test $$, keep asking me to do.

Angel (the_gift) : My gynae say its consider high risk 1:900 for my age 22yrs old. As normally, at my age the ratio should be more than double. I din do any NT or oscar. Only triple test and the result came out like this.

At first, i was thinking no need to worry so much if the ratio is same as my first 2 kids 1:1500. But din expect it would go higher that much.

So i'm kinda worried.

Suika: she always like to cook this type of tonic. haaha...

so i shall drink it tonight..maybe a few slip then the rest pass it to my hubby..