(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Eliss: Wah... bring the slow cooker ah.. I don't think I will do that. Lazy mummy for me. Haha!! I think Korea also eat porridge one right? Maybe I just try my luck there or else can just let Kayden eat bread, drink milk or take cereal. Actually kayden eat almost anything off our table. But I will still bring my baby utensils and food jar there in case hotel can cook porridge for us.

mrslong,

i used photobook my and it was delivered the next day they finish printing.

very fast right?

vernie,

oh dear. hope they iron out the issue.

i just purchased the voucher on Sunday.

am quite satisfied with the softcover i received. will upgrade to imagewrap but keep the same size 8" x 11".

hope they don't insist me to do the Large size. else the resolution of my pictures can't really make it.

ello mummies,

yesterday went to reg my gal at Ai Tong.. :) And result will be known by this weekend... Hope she got a place there... :)

Nowadays galen slp around 1 to 2am... >_<|||>_<|||& in the afternn i did not play over board with him... don understand y his slping behaviour is like tat... make me so headache.... Any mummy facing the same problem with me..??

Hershey: Ai Tong is my hubby's former primary school. He was saying he would like Kayden to study there in future.

Do you all sleep very late too? Maybe that could be the reason why Galen starts to sleep so late.

Ann

u can bring some medication ... i will bring with me panadol and smecta... smecta is for diarrhea...

korea u shd be able to buy ingredients for making porridge... just remember that their rice is short grain. diapers bring some... rest just buy...

i envy you, ann. i am trying to put my girl in aitong in 2015. have to Parent Volunteer next year. my hubby is pei hwa pesb old boy but sch is so far...

peanut

jts my #1 was 13 mths when i brought her to perth. it's not ambitious at all. perth is v kid friendly and you can find baby food and necessities everywhere! since i am bringing both of them, am going to bring them to perth zoo this time. rest is really just f & e... i went to swan valley the last time and went to the choco factory. quite fun... day trip

if you need itinerary, my friend forwarded 1 to me. i can share w you.

can share how to educate bb from throwing things? i dont know why my bb keeps throwing things for the past few weeks...

Chelz: I think its a phase all bbs go through throwing things. I also give up scolding my boy on this liao so we let him be, as long as he doesn't throw at the TV or at pple.

Ann : me too, i am old gal too.. :) :) :)

am quite dilemmn at 1st, as rosyth is just behind me.. distance & timing all saved... but than i am old gal from ai tong.. higher chances to get in to the school.. so ya..

Luckily, i reg her in ai tong.. look at the rate in take for both rosyth & ai tong school is so hot hot hot...

Nope, usually my gal slp at 10pm, i will try to coax galen to slp to.. the most latest is 11pm.. but than, dono y nowaday he slp so late.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hai... dono how le.. used to train him to slp at 10pm tgt with his sister.. but now... no comment...

ica, xiaoyun: The photobook customer support resolved the issue already! I gave them my voucher numbers and they fixed it. Just submitted my order for a Medium Landscape Imagewrap. Looking forward to receiving my book. =)

re: teeth

my little one has 6 but 2 seems to be coming out now.

re: throwing

she loves to throw everything! i think its a phase all our little ones are going thru [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: vaccinations

does anyone know what is our little one's next vacc on their vacc list? comin up in 2 mths

korea

we flew there with #1 last time and the night flight was gd bec then can sleep all the way there. some parts on the flight it was a little turbulent so #1 woke up a few times but we managed to resume sleeping within 5-10 mins. hope my 2 cents worth helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning!

Vernie: good to know that it's been sorted out! you'll love the book, i'm sure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xiaoyun: remember you asked about using the voucher to make softcovers instead? yes, it can be done but then you'll be making multiples of the same book type i.e. replicate 1 softcover a few times to use up the value of the voucher. this option is good if you making the same book to give to out to family, friends, etc.

Chelz - BB throwing things, beating ppl i think all part of growing up... but I still cant stand it so most of the times I will tell her a hard "NO"...

Chelz: My boy also luvs to throw things! If he walks round his cot, will try to empty everything in there. I have tried telling him a stern 'NO' and also tap hard on his hands but he just smiles and laughs back at me coz he cannot register that I am scolding him - buay tahan! So now I encourange him to give mummy the items instead of throwing.

JP,

good luck to u!

PV-both my PVs failed. veri sianzz. And im registering next yr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

MMR jab: must we delay the jab? is it due to the autism issue? PD scheduled my gal for hers at 15 months. She said it is a compulsory vaccine. I asked her is MMR jab related to autism she said no. she told me it is a myth many years ago & there is scientific prove there is no link. so she told me not to worry and go ahead.

SK: My boy's PD also said the autism issue is a myth many years ago and asked me not to worry too. However, her personal practice is to give the jab only after 17/18 mths rather than at 15 mths as per the usual immunisation schedule. So, I will wait till after 18 mths plus my boy just took his 1st pneumococcal jab yesterday, 2nd jab will be 2 mths later at 14/15 mths old.

SK: yes, it's compulsory but some of us just prefer to delay the jab.

I think I'll let my boy go for the jab when he's abt 2 y/o. Though it's not clinically proven, but it's still better to be safe than sorry. And I believe there is "no smoke without fire" :p

Anyhow, I asked my PD before if the jab is taken after 1y/o, anytime is ok right, need not be strictly at 1y/o or so, he said ya, can.

About the MMR, I think I will ask my PD next Mon when K is due for his booster jab for pneumococcal. I have this gut feeling she will say go ahead when bb is 15mths.

Anyone been to Singkids at Vivo city yet? Is it suitable for 1 year old kids?

RE: PV

Some schools have so much PV that there's waiting list. And even as PV, also not guaranteed will hv a slot of your child one.

For those schools with Hokkien Huay Guan affiliation (i.e. Ai Tong, Nan Hua, etc), best is join the Hokkien Huay Guan if u're a Hokkien, to increae your chance.

Haiz...now kids are stressed, parents also stressed. Where in the world other than S'pore, does a parent need to do PV in order for kids to be enrolled in a primary school one de....

JP: Wah.. do parent volunteer work ah? Damn sian right?? But for the future of our children, no choice lo. But for me, if I quite lazy.. i don think i will do that.

Chelz: Kayden also like to throw things but normally just to get attention from us. Think it's their way of seeking attention. I just ignore him when he throw his pacifier or pillow out of the cot. I will just lie there and continue to rot in bed. Haha!!

tek_koh: Thanks for your reply.. hope my baby is as good as yours. My bb next vaccine is when he is 15mths. Think it's the 3rd dose of pneumococcal vaccine. Don't know when is MMR.

kepsis: I like my gynae, Dr Fong Yang.. think he is good and personal. His clinic at Paragon. He can go Mt A or Thomson Medical to deliver. But if want cheap and good, can go to Dr Lawrence at Sun Plaza. He is cheap and good but he is abit cold.. I don't like the coldness. Haha!!

Vivi: Never know PV can be rejected. But joining Hokkien Huay Guan need 2 members from there to support you lei beside being a Hokkien.

vivi: I heard pple say not only join but much volunteer actively for the clan activities. Got some mummies just join and thought like that can le.

Oops, just read further....distance is for balloting.

Within 1km - 1st priority for ballot

Between 1km- 2km - 2nd priority for ballot

My HB and I are aiming for Catholic High for my boy...if we're moving to Bishan area or using my IL's address (statutory declaration). Looks like it'd be Phase 2B.

If 2nd one is girl, can aim for St. Nicholas, Phase 2B hehee.

But then, by the time our BBs are 7y/o...maybe rules also change liao.

today topic is school for our little one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone planing sending bb to Nanyang or Tao Nan?

Peanut

thanks for the link.

wow.. so fast talk abt P1 reg le.. how many pri schs can we ballot at one time? if i stay near a sch, and me & my hus are from the same pri sch, which one has more chance? of cos i wld prefer the one near me though.

peanut

we bought rice and we cooked for her at our apartment. she hates jar food but my #2 likes it...

i can send you the itinerary.

re: PV

you need to check with the schools what are their requirments for PV.

i cite an example. i know ai tong do not admit parents for PV if you do not have a skill. i.e. they need a need in a particular area and just happen you have the skill, they want you.

then i heard that for sch like st nick's at amk ave 1, u must be catholic and you must stay within 1km to be eligible for phase 2b. no needf to pv

for rosyth, the sch is so hot you can forget abt pv. the criteria includes living within 1km of the sch, priority, ur skill and many more.

you only good chance is to get in thru phase 1 and phase 2a... all of phase 2b is ballot and it is a chance only.

but i oso share this too... does not mean u get into a gd sch it does gd for ur kids... you kid must also be able to study...

my niece is now 9. she is probably the last few in her class exam standing... she is with radin mas. my sil got her in in phase 2c. she is struggling w her studies

a word of caution... all these good schs... their focus is bilingual. our kids better be ready with both english and chinese otherwise they suffer big time.

chelx

nanyang and tao nan ... i know the phase 2a is already hotly contested... if you ask me phase 2b or 2c... wah... stressed parents...

Mrspung:

hb ex Tao nan. As for nanyang, residential address registered within 1km. so don't know which one is higher chance. daddy ex student or stay within 1km