(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Junie: Taiwan

June to Oct is their typhoon seasons. as in "tai feng".

And presently is like hot weather in SGP.

Best time is around march/april actually...

If adults going only, Nov/Dec would be cooling but not much clothings to buy as mostly would be winter wears.

Hi mummies... is there any way to try to deter our bb from biting? My boy luvs to bend towards me/hb's arms and legs and will just open mouth to lick or bite - very tiring to have to keep pushing him away gently. Have tried hitting his hands lightly and telling him 'Cannot bite' or 'That is painful' but he heck care and will just smile back! *sigh*

bdmummy: Sometime Kayden does that, I will be stern and say No. He will look at me with a stun look. Sometime I will pretend to cry and shout pain... then he will stop.

xbeanniex: if u feel that u dun really use a carrier u can sell it? Or who knows, when u have #2, bb C will be old enough to sit still in stroller & u need the carrier for the younger bb.

Mrslong: I just went Taiwan last year & last month. both times i went in april. I agree to go during April (around 2nd week) because the weather will be very cooling (like genting!) towards end of apr, it will become very hot le.. but april may have slight drizzle at times.

Ann: I also do that. But at times I used my fingers to shoot her cheeks. As saying NO doesnt work at all...

SK: I am stuck lor... HB wants to try #2 hahaha!

He says target same month or probably same date with #1... I was ROFL...

Beannie: wahaha! Steady la.. we wanna have another bb too, but I am not sure if i am ready. so i assume if i have a dilemma it always mean i am not ready..

if wait until next Apr then go Taiwan, too long wait liao, Hehe. Cuz next Jul, when my boy turns 2, then we may go France. Maybe Jul/Aug this yr, go HK again for summer sale.

Talking abt sale, am heading to the Expo for the Robinson's cardmember sale. See got worthy baby stuff to buy or not.

Loong time never chat here ...

Mummies i'm confirmed having the 4th BB.. Sag was tooo small but the blood test confirmed ..

Maybe due on January, but since i got history of empty sag before gynae says wait till end of May than check again for double confirmation.

No mood for anything.. This pregnancy is totaly different from the 3 boys .. This one I crave for sour stuffs, more headaches and sometimes have backaches... Even the sag is sooo tiny, i can feel all the symptoms.. So imagine if it is growing bigger, i think i will be totally on Bed..

Pity Arif, he is sooo sticky now and he always wants me to carry him, he is very playful, can walk to the kitchen and Boo me, can crawl every where...

HELLO... mummies, did i miss any thing... Argh.... been buz editing, pasting, cutting.. my kids invitation card, and banners.... >_<||| Damn shag... finger swollen... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] But i feel so satisfy... :)

CT: Congratulation!!! Must be working hard ah.. Hehe!! Do take care. When will be my turn?? Haha!!

MVH: I think somewhere near to Pioneer mrt. Exact location I am not sure.

Babycoco: My boy uses Huggies Ultra - they are cheaper at the fair compared to supermarket's normal price plus they will throw in freebies like wipes, etc. Of course, when supermarkets have promo, then the price at supermarkets will be comparable to the price at the fair...yeah, so either wait for supermarket promo or get at the fair...

i need to rant.. keeping in my heart for so long! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i have been staying with my parents for the past 2 weeks as hubby not around, but I cannot stand the way they are handling my girl.

I took so much time to train my girl to sleep by 9pm, to skip night feeds; end up all is gone to waste.

Since the day I moved in, my girl has been sleeping at 10pm onwards.

I reached home at 11pm last night and my girl was still awake. My mum told me she woke up from her nap at 8pm-10pm. I dunno why, when I am taking care of her alone there isn’t such problem.

In the middle of the night, say 2-3am, sometimes my girl might cry or whimper, all we need to do is pat her and she will fall back to sleep. But when it happens at my mum’s, she will come rushing into the room with a bottle of milk. I told her don’t have to make milk because she doesn’t need to drink & I don’t want it to be a habit, she scolded me for starving my gal.

Sometimes, I wish to have personal time to shop, I will take leave from work, because my mum is always unhappy when I ask her to look after on weekends. She will say she is tired from looking after her on mon-fri & sat she wants to rest. Ok, I understand. Yet when she knows I am on leave on a weekday, she will ask me to take care of my gal myself. She will say I am selfish to pass baby to her when I am “enjoying” outside. But at the most only once a mth. My mum has weekends without baby to go out, but I have to bring my gal everywhere I go on weekend, thus i cant get a lot of things done that’s why I chose to take a weekday off from work. If I go out after work, she will accuse me of “going out everyday”, “never show concern for my girl”. To be frank I rush home after work everyday, only meet up with friends for a 2 hour dinner max twice a month, and that is call “everyday”?

My dad always bring my gal out everyday, the moment he reaches home from work, he will carry her downstairs immediately. Sometimes he will bring her out 2-3 times between time he reaches home at 5pm plus till late evening like 8pm. As a result, my girl is a bit “hong xim” & will start to make noise or get restless if she stays at home whole day. Instead of putting the fault on my dad, my mum says it is all my fault because I always bring her out to crowded places on weekends. My dad is the one spoiling her, he even spent $2 to let her sit on those 20cent car rides for 10 times! I know he dotes on her and enjoys it when my girl is super sticky to him, but I don’t want her to be a pampered and spoilt child next time. He said she is too young to know and to throw tantrum, but discipline starts from young. Moreover when I say a stern NO to my gal, she will understand and not dare to proceed and will start to cry. So I believe she can differentiate what is right and wrong.

Sorry for the long post… I just feel so helpless, seems like everything I do is wrong! i know maybe I shouldn’t stay with my parents anymore if my hubby not around, but I thought it would be better cos more convenient. My parents can look after her while I bathe and prepare for work, and don’t have to fetch her to and fro, and my dad can drive me to work daily.

xbeanniex: Yup, Kayden is also one of those June babies. Haha!! Time flies. Last year this time round, I am still waiting to give birth and counting his movements everyday. Haha!!

Vernie: Does your Huggies Ultra give out a bad smell when Ian peed? Kayden one does lei.. dunno whether it is the diaper or his pee. I find Huggies wipes not good.. easily tear one.

Vernie:

If i'm not wrong, Huggies Ultra selling at the fair seem to be the small pack.

Eg: L size pack

NTUC Selling $20.95 for 54 pcs (39cents per pc).

Cold Storage $17.55 for 34 pcs (52cents per pc).

Baby Fair $14.00 for 34 pcs (41cents per pc). Maybe u want to check first. I used to buy frm fair also, cos the price compare the supermarket is cheap, but after taking close look, realise NTUC is selling the 54pcs instead of 34pcs. (noramlly I don buy ultra. :p)

Sweetkiss: Babies of such age know how to throw tantrum. Whenever my boy doesn't get what he wan, he will kick his legs and make the "eh eh eh" sound insisting that he should get it. If you take him away from the thing he wanted, he will throw his head back and cry. These are signs of throwing tantrum. For me, I dun care.. if he cry, I just throw him on the floor and let him cry but he always crawl back to me for hugs in the end. Haha!! Only his grandpa will give in to him.

$2 on those car rides is too much lo. I dun even put money in. Just let Kayden sit in and let him shake the machine himself. He enjoy doing that.

Kids learn fast and I think babies learn faster. So we must really really be careful with how we talk and what we do with them. I also always scold my hubby when he keep cursing and swearing in front of Kayden.

Ann: yeah ! time flies ! grown up bb now...

SK: tough on you, understands you feelings, that what happens staying with my ILs thats why I decides to turn nasty as in "dont touch my bb"

at times i do that to my mum too...

What happens to you happens to my own mum too...

I dont have time myself at all too... taking a day leave on weekdays to rest also like a fault in my mum's view. So I really bear with all rubbish and now I bring my gal to all my outings with my frds and surprisingly, my frds all take turns to help me carry and play with BB C ! and I have some space n time to have my meals and chit chat with my Frds.

Thou' abit "pai seh" at times BB C made my frds spend some money to get her plushy toys she hold on and didnt want let go.

Closer frds will know how to divert BB C's attention but still got her a piece of bread or cake to eat... some closer frds even got ice cream to share with BB C (BB C had her own spoon)

SK, relax and enjoy time with BB K ... yours frds will understands ur needs to attend to K.

Ann: I totally agree with u and yes, Kayleigh also behaves the same way. She will throw herself backwards and cry if you snatch her things. Once it happened too suddenly and she banged her head on the chair I was sitting on. Unfortunately, my parents do not view things the same way as me. everything I tell them, they will disagree with me on the basis that I am also raised by them and I was well-behaved as a kid.

Sweetkiss: Ya.. sometime parents dun see the same way as us. Like when kayden throw his tantrums, he lean backwards and cry, I just let him lie down on the floor and continue crying. When my FIL sees that, he will fly to his side and comfort. him. FIL just can't seems to reject anything that Kayden wanted. Even FIL's spec, he also let Kayden play untill it bend. Hai...

Ann: Only when the diaper is very full, then got smell...otherwise OK lei...Ian has been using Huggies Ultra since birth. I was telling hubby he used so much diapers that we already redeemed the Huggies Hugtown items twice! Haha! And yes, Huggies wipes is lousy. I usually buy Pigeon ones, only use Huggies when given free. =)

Jasmine: Hmmm...got different pack sizes for Huggies Ultra? The ones I bought at fair same pack size as those I saw in supermarket lei..i got them at $13 per pack (M & L size) during last fair. I know Huggies Dry Comfort (red packet) got big packs and they are cheaper than Huggies Ultra (purple packet). Let me go supermarket and see the size again...

sk: BB C didnt want to slp last night till 1130pm.

I left her on my bed to play herself. then i heard "Bang" she hit the wall on her head herself.

my mum came running in ask me "how did she fall"

(BB C was smiling at her lor)

I kena nag at "all you know is slp! you know bb hit on her head can cause brain damage!"

I turn the other side, hold BB C "BB ah, you head got hole not? Don't have faster slp lar, else mummy kena from your crazy po po again for not looking after you."

within minutes, C falls a slp on my tummy, and I dont even know... am just too tired reaching from from night class...

my bed is fall proof so I didnt bother C... as i know after 1hr no one responds to her she cfm will slp...

SK:

I can understand how u feel.

That is y to prevent any conflict, i send my kids to infant care. so anyday when i don like working, I will just bring my kid to IFC, then after that I will go enjoy myself or cleaning the house, then when it time, just go and fetch them.

Just like xbeanniex, I still meet up my friend, some even ask me to bring along my ger cos they want to play with her. so as long as ur friend is ok, but this happen when i had my ger only, :p

Kid nowsday r very clever,if u do something to her veryday, and it become a routine, onc ethe time is reach n u did not do it, then thy will throw tantrum.

This happen to my neighbour, they r from china, so the grandfather will bring their grandson go downstair every day w/o fail, so when the grandfather went back to china, the kid will actually stand at the door crying, wanted to go out. so when my dad want to bring my ger go downstair, I will eventually stop him from doing, then my mum can tell me, awhile only, it ok. Then I replied her back, if u complaint the kid next door, then y must we create another one when we know the problem. Then she kept quiet. Then finally one time, when my dad want to go out, and my ger want to follow, when he told her no, u stay at hm, there she stand at the door crying. From then onward, he stopping bringing my ger.

Vernie: Ya.. those time was when the diaper is full. So when diaper is full, it does give out a foul smell. How do you redeem the things? But Kayden only uses Huggies Ultra at night when he sleeps.. during daytime, he uses Petpet diapers at my in-law place and Goon pullup pants when at home. So I don't think it is easy for me to accumulate enough stamps to redeem anything.

SK : Just to share on my son's constipation. Brought him to see another PD for 2nd opinion on wed nite & was give a few tubes of liquid medicine to insert into his anus for 4 consecutive days + feed papaya for a wk. PD says his stomach is quite congested with hard stools.

1st day he cried when I'm doing it, but after inserting...within secs you see hard stools dropping out and it's really is a lot (a abt 1 wk output i guess). I can imagine how uncomfy he is during the past few weeks. We tot that will be all so I told my hubby maybe only need to insert for 2 days instead of 4.

Tdy is the 2nd insert and still, we see hard stools but slightly softer/lesser than the 1st day. PD say must really clear all the hard stools then can have soft stools, so we decided to try again tmr. Better to clear all than to reoccur again, will keep you posted next wk. Meanwhile, I've already started him on new FM - Mamil Gold Stage 2 in case he is really not suitable for Enfapro.

I am wondering did I miss out anything for kayden's bday party prep.

Confirmed

1) Cake

2) Decoration

3) Venue

Pending

1) Photographer

2) Buffet

3) Guest List

Ann:

there is promotion ongoing, there is this pink stamp on the pack, so just collect and it change diaper or toys.

Now new promo, 30 stamps to change scooter or music table. (can't remember)

Vernie:

my son use huggies since infant, so I have already change station 2,3 & 4. of cos with a little help from my friend too. (my ger is using huggies pull up pant, but now i think i need longer time cos my ger now is toilet train. :p)

Next target, station 4 for the new promo. :p

Ann: This is the link to the Huggies Hugtown promo: http://www.huggies.com.sg/hug-town.aspx. I went to Le Train at The Verge 3rd Floor (new building that replaces Tekka Mall) to redeem the items. The promo is quite long - one year and now extended for another year, sure can accumulate enough stamps...

I redeemed Station 2 gifts during the previous season - got the Leapfrog caterpilar and some diapers & wipes (better than the current Station 2). Recently redeemed the 2-in-1 scooter under Station 4. Hee!

Ann: I have Sean Lau birthday party photography voucher - $200. They gave me the voucher after I did the classic baby shoot with them. I think their normal price is $348 for 2 hour service. Include 8R with frame, dvd, etc. If you want I can give you the voucher coz I won't be using it.

Ann: !!!!!! SAMEEEE!!!!!!! My dad also let Kayleigh play with his specs until spoil!!!!!! I simply don’t understand why. I wear specs myself and Kayleigh never ever touches or attempted to pull my specs off my face. Why? Because I teach her not to, because I will scold her if she does. So isn’t it clear that he is spoiling her?

Xbeanniex: by hook or by crook, I stick to the routine of lights off at 830pm. Kay can choose to roam around or play with the toys I leave on the bed. By 9pm, she will be asleep or else I will ignore her even if she touches me or smiles at me. eventually, she knows no one will entertain her & she will sleep lor. But my mum say I am very cruel to force her to sleep like that & ask me to bring her out to play until she tired.

“play until tired”.. how to sleep well? Morning time, bb still sleeping, they both take turns to go & in out of the room to touch her, adjust her etc. she is a light sleeper and sometimes they wake her up. So I told them not to touch her when she is sleeping so she can sleep longer. Their response is “she sleep enough already lah, not enough also never mind, so afternoon will nap.”

I think ur mum’s character similar to my mum. Put my gal in carrier, she said bb looks very xin ku. baby sleep close to me, she says baby cant breathe.

Baby knock her head, she said baby not as active as before and seems like something wrong with her.

Fact is, my mum actually let my girl fall off her bed TWICE, once hitting her upper lip on the sarong metal bar, causing a bump and bruise & she lied to me saying bb lost her grip and fell when crawling. It was only recently she accidentally reveal out that Kay fell off her bed.

sometimes, when there is long holiday & kay under my care, the first thing she says when she sees her is that Kay lost weight. Trying to hint that I didn’t feed her well. Esp during my BFing days, always, forever, finding fault with my BM. U shd know la. As far as I know, she has nv been encouraging.

Vernie: Thanks for the offer on the voucher but it is still expensive. My hubby had shortlisted 3 PGs le and now waiting for them to reply on availability. Each of them is $50 per hour. So cheaper. I can print my own 8R and frame it myself. Hehe!!

Wah.. need so many stamps then can exchange ah. I must collect very long then can change lo. 1 pack of Huggies diapers, my boy need at least a month to finish cause he only using them at night. Then I must collect more than a yr to get those stamps lei.

Jasmine: my parents are very stubborn. They don’t see it, they don’t think it will happen. Whatever I say, they will shrug it off like I am too paranoid, I think too much and it wont happen one because she is still small. I wanted to put her in IFC but u know aunties in a market? Auntie A says her grandson fell sick in IFC, fell and had a bruises, & when it spreads to Auntie Z, it will become “all IFC causes bb to fall sick and have bruises”. So my mum will conclude that all IFCs are not good. They look at bad examples and exaggerate it. When u state good examples, they will tell u “oh, because that baby different mah, she is stronger”

Tigger mum: ur boy did not poo for how long? For my bb, she poo once every 2 days. The first poo that comes out will always be the hard one, then followed by soft stools. I tried to give papaya but she rejects! Its like she can smell it, put porridge she eats. Change to papaya haven’t go inside her mouth she push away le. I found a way to cook her porridge by adding pears and chicken and she managed to eat up the pears. Currently she still poos once every 2 days, but not so much hard stools like before. I am monitoring if her condition improves. Thanks for sharing!

SK:

My mum and mil also have that kind of worry when I gg to place my ger in IFC. After a couple of month, It turn out well.

true, at the beginning, my ger did fall sick, but after few mth, it did build up her immune system.

So whenever I told ppl they gg IFC at age of 2mth, they will stare at me. say how come i can so relax, not scared of this n that.

so i will tell them, who can guarntee that bb stay hm won't fall sick, won't fell down.

To me, I felt that hm can be more danger than cc, at least at CC they got to follow MCYS rules on safety.

Ann: No worries. The PG at $50 per hour is cheap!

Anyone interested in the Sean Lau birthday photography voucher, just let me know. I post to you. =)

SK : Before constipation my son poos everyday, kaya stools. When constipation for the last 1.5 mths, he poos once every 1-2 days & they're pretty hard.

Seems like yur gal is improving with fruits intake, so just monitor ;o)

sweetkiss:

now, i fully agree with the phrase "grandparents are parents' worst enemies" I was also having a hard time with my own parents (they take care of E in the day). I really wish at times I could place her in IFC. Worse still, my elder sis, who's unmarried, texted me recentlt not to allow her to cry so much as she's losing her voice. Dun be too harsh on her as she's still so young.. blah blah. She got one whole long lecture from me. I said it's now that disciplining takes place, or she's never getting it.

But i see no point in "fighting" with my parents and straining our relationship. They will not change, or maybe only in front of me won't do certain things, but when i'm at work, I'm pretty sure all hell breaks lose again. I just make it a point to be firm to my daughter that whatever I don;t agree with, it's still a no. She may throw tantrum when i scold her, but she still wont get things her way.

vernie: I got one PG who offer at $25 per hour. I was shocked by his price. Hubby seen his work and say he could do better. Haha!!

Shopping: Yeah, hubby bringing me to woodlands side where the makan factories are to shop. Can't wait to go buy the cheap and nice food there. Hehe!!

BB J is going for his first PS 2molo.

Im so nervous!!! The clothes I prepare isnt that exciting/colourful.. But I just hope the photo turn out NICE....

SweetKiss: Yes, sometimes grandparents can be overbearing! But their intention is good. I'm blessed to have an understanding mum who hears me, sometimes I also follow her suggestions if they make sense. As for my dad, he drives me crazy by letting bb watch Okto, he claims it is good to quiet her down with TV!! Give and take...sometimes maybe you can share with them what your friends are doing...I'm sure they will understand. They want their grandchildren to grow up well too.

For constipation, I find pureed prunes is really good. I fed her a jar of organic prunes yesterday and she pooed ALOT this morning.

I want to ask mummies who have bought new HDB flats. When you get the keys to your new flat, do you need to sign papers for the loan? Is it too late to withdraw the application at that time? I'm having problems with hubby and I'm still pondering over whether to go ahead with getting the HDB flat. His attitude is still hostile at times and I cannot forsee moving into the same place with him, if his attitude remains unchanged.

hi dear all mummies!!heellllloooo....

No time to log on... juz a quick one to say hi hi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fazzy...we are in the same boat! My mum and elder sis been giving me a harrdddd time tho I know their intentions are good! Always tell me dun do these.. dun do that..rem this and rem that and whenever my bb throws up... they start to point finger at me! Not liike I am not stressed enough! I am battling all alone leh.. hubby not in town most times and I ve got no helper! I also quarrelled with them over bb many times... you know they ve been feeding my bb with Ribena and eat snacks like meal! How can!?!? Ribena a lot of sugar!!!! I was sooo mad! And my baby already eating so many medicine and they keep wanting me to feed this med and that med.. even came my house to check if the medicine did get lesser by the days or remained the same! Hello... I am the mother and I only want the BEST for my gal! I told them that nobody should doubt that! When I was away for a break with my hubby.... my mum didnt feed baby milk coz she is worried that baby vomited! ?!?! Baby only drank 4-5 oz milk a day with twice porridge! by time I came back she was reduced to skin and bones and I couldnt really recognise her! Iwanted to burst into tears! Then I only said one thing... how come baby face so sunken and her ribs protruding..so skinny? wow... my mum angry until she left within minutes and she didnt even care that I m suffering from jet lag and more than 24h flight! I was all alone and struggled to babysit baby that day and the next few days! and without saying.. my sis texted/emailed/whatsapp me longgggg msg to scold me and said I am not appreciative of my mum's help! Sighz... I am merely stating the fact that bb lost so much weight what. And I think its totally ridiculous that they dun feed baby juz coz they are worried that she throws up! and when I was away.. they never give med as per instructed! Now I look back.. Ireally shouldnt ve taken a break coz all my hard work and effort all went down the drain. I painstaking wake up at night to dreamfeed hoping to sneak in 1-2oz milk also better than nothing... go away for a while.. baby so skinny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]