(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Ann, guys are simply woodblock.. don so angry le... i believe ur hubby wanna to have time with u & bb.. just tat alway the company thingy comes in in the wrong timing nia... don angry le.. chill chill..

plus at least u still can travel around.. for me, my hubby phobia areoplane.. worse of all, i cant travel with bb and family coz of him.. hai~~

One more thing in BKK - there are so many supermarkets/departmental stores in BKK,, you dun even have to bring a lot diapers along! Just bring one day worth and the rest can buy from BKK!!

haha Jp : come come get a beco.... its soo pretty :p

Ann: I understand how you feel . Most of our hubbies here are quite occupied with work too. Sometimes, its not easy for them to reject company's plan. My Poor hubby got his leave canceled by his boss too and I am very angry at first but then...really difficult for him too.

I agree that Thailand is not a place for small babies as well. Maybe you can try to bring bb K back this weekend eventhough your hubby is not around ( Provided you can handle him alone) I know your ILs do not like it but talk to them again.To me, its is probably easier to talk to your ILs and bring bb K back with you this weekend and go for your holiday next weekend. Remember that you are already planning so many things for the trip and wanted to give hubby a surprise. Sometimes when u are angry with him, just think about all the nice things that he has done for you .. the little details that he remembered. I am sure he understand that thailand is not ideal for bb but he just want to bring you for the trip. I am sure he will feel bad if you had to cancel the trip cos of the company' s arrangement.

Eliis -

Keila only on 3 milk feeds a day? Maybe u can try feeding her one more time in the afternoon?

I myself am trying to figure my bb's schedule -

Usually, he will wake up @ 7am-ish and take his morning nap 2.5hrs later. These few days, he is fighting sleep (cry big big time) and will only sleep 4hrs after he wakes up. So milk and food wise, I find it very difficult to squeeze in hie intakes... Anyone knows how much milk and solids intake bb should be getting now?

Rough schedule I am trying now -

8.30am Milk (180ml)

11.30am Solids

12.00pm Nap (Don't like to feed him then sleep actually... cuz dont' want to use food as sleep prop but bo bian cuz he refuse to sleep earlier)

2pm Milk (180ml)

2.30pm Nap

6pm Solids + Milk (180ml)

8.30-9pm Milk (180ml) then sleep

** As you can see, the evening time, his food schedule super packed! Not good I feel... Anyone can suggest a better schedule?

Ann -

Maybe when your husband is away and since its over the weekend and you dun have to work, can you move back to your mum's place and bring Kayden along? Or will your mum be willing to sleep over @ your place and you take your baby home to sleep? That way your PIL will have no reason to object?

On your husbandn's end... It's a work trip so I suppose abit bo bian for him... and it sounds like he is really tryin hard to make the best out of the situation and make you happy at the same time?..

Jaclyn

receieved the bling! thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

claudia - according to my MIL (Keila caregiver) she will be either napping/not drinking if its shorter than 4 hours in btw... do BB girls really feed that little compared to boys?!

My girl can nvr do a 6pm solid+milk then 9pm milk again!

haha eliss i dun think so.. ( girls drinking lesser than boys. Maybe you want to reduce the puree and increase milk intake. 5 oz of puree is 150ml? its quite alot?

Thanks girls for trying to be encouraging.

I know he is trying hard to make it work but then it is just so hard for me to compromise with him.

I have think of following him for his business trip but he don't like to extend his trip so that we can go sight seeing together. So if I follow him on business trip, it will only be me alone lo. What's the point?

Everytime I have to compromise with him, think of ways to go holiday with him and spend couple time, maybe I get sick of it le ba cause most of the time, my plan will be thrash by him and his company.

Eliss: I find BKK traffic very bad and air is quite dusty too. I have been to their hospital before.. std really not there. Maybe they have improved alot since it has been 3yrs i last travelled there. But still i cannot assume that it has improved alot now. With baby, like you say, i can only go restaurants and big shopping centres which is not my purpose of visiting BKK.

Geri: Like you say, I had make so much arrangement to give him an unforgettable trip in BKK, cancelling it of cos makes me pretty upset. But I just dun like being away from my baby for so long lo.

Claudia: I can handle Kayden but my in law scared I cannot handle. My mum even worse.. she agreed with my in law that they should handle bb when hubby not ard.

Ann - If you really confident of handling Kayden alone...then heck care others... tell them you will take care of him this weekend... no other suggestions needed from them!

Geri, you have the Bjorn Synergy also right? How does it compare to Beco?

Eliss, wow you've travelled quite a bit with your bb. We're thinking of going to Hong Kong. But now that bb is eating porridge & fruit purée, dunno how we'll be able to prepare in the hotel.

Ann, sometimes guys can be a bit dense. I also think it's a good idea to follow your hubby on his business trip. Shanghai is fun!

good one Eliss !! I like that..

Hershey: now I still using bjorn.. but getting the beco soon. come come hershey...get beco :> think your gal will love beco cos its so pretty like her

babycoco: nope i am using bjorn air.. i have never tried the beco but have heard wonderful things about it. haha hopefully my gal like it lo. I have to get another cos bjorn is really straining my back and shoulders

Babycoco - those days Keila in Phuket i just feed her purely milk even thought she already start a little solid.

Now if I were to bring her, i would probably buy a few more jar puree and maybe instant BB cereal?!

Ya Keila travels a lot already (my mum lamented before Keila has more immigration stamps than her, haha) But when it comes to interaction with other BBs, think she still haven got much practise :p

A bit funny that old parents do not believe mummies can handle their babies alone!! I think I even dare to let my hubby to take care keila alone... though H wast too sure about it... haha

Eliss: I can insist on my way but sometime I scared it will hurt the relationship. Relationship is such a delicate matter to handle and I am not very good with it.

babycoco: Yes, I would love to follow hubby on his business trip.. in fact, i offered many times but keep being shot down by hubby saying I will only be alone most of the time and he will not extend his business trip so that we can take it as a holiday. Not nice to do such thing to company, etc etc.. that is why i never get to go business trips with him.

geri, i wonder will bb G stays longer in the carrier?? hahah~ coz he is freely and more space in his capella.. hai~~ heart itchy lehz...

junie - My car is old old model! only got seatbelt in front so Keila will be strapped in the front seat.... HB just started new job... cant take leave for now...

Ann - R/s is delicate...but i find that a mummy need not ask for permission from others to take care of own baby...

Swim date @ NSRCC.

Date: 25 March 2011 (Fri)

Time: 4pm

Venue: National Serviceman Resort Country Club

(near Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal)

Any mummies keen to join in the swim date, pls include your name in the list?

1. mrslong

2. Jasline

3. Noknok

4. eliss

5. Julie

Ann, actually why ur inlaws dun let u take care of K alone during the weekends? Now so big alr, shouldn't be a problem mah. My hubby always work during the weekends so I m always home alone taking care of S myself during the weekends.

Ann: I totally understand how you feel. I also don’t like it when my hubby travels and the trip crosses weekends – make us lose our precious family time. Some companies can be very ridiculous, last min can ask ppl to fly here and there, extend trip, etc, as if ppl don’t have family at home. My hubby was scheduled to be in Shanghai for 2 weeks, then last min, they wanted him in Sydney. So they change his trip to 1 week Sydney, 1 week Shanghai. I was happy coz this means he will be back for the weekend. Then last min while he was in Sydney they want him to extend another week in Sydney and postpone Shanghai to another week. I was fuming mad, 3 weeks away from the family!! So he “fought” to come back from Sydney for the weekend but got to forgo business class for the second trip to Sydney. Tiring on him but he is happy to see bb over the weekend and I am happy too. He is halfway through the 2nd Sydney trip now and next week still have Shanghai to go but at least he will be around this weekend. Don’t be angry with your hubby, I am sure he is trying to do his best for you & Kayden.

Yeah, like what Eliss said, if you can handle Kayden alone, then bring him home. When Ian was younger, I couldn’t handle him alone so I gotta ask nanny to take care of him during weekends when hubby is away. Really missed him like crazy. These days I can handle him alone, so I no longer ask for the nanny’s help on weekends when hubby travels. But still wishing that hubby will travel less coz he is missing out so much...

Ann - dun cancel trip.. jus go ahead.. you'll miss K but it'll boost your relationship with your hubby..

On the contrary.. Right after Leola birth, I'm the one giving permission to who can take care of her. I nv leave her with my pil alone for more then 3 hrs cos I dun think they can handle her.

But different if it's my parents.. haha.. double standard.

ann

i had gone thru what u went thru... but i agree w noknok, u shd not cancel the trip. 1 thing i learnt these 3 years of marriage, children makes a already fragile husband/wife relationship... now is the time to make it stronger. u hv support and u shd work on ur marriage b4 u even think of #2... bb k will understand. kids will still run to their parents. u hv alot of time to parent bb k...

so sad.. My bb had been sick since 17 feb.. 1st the fever then fever subside then 23 feb came the cough and flu and till now he still haven recover fr it.. had seen 3x PD but still not well...

yvonne

did u chart ur bb's fevre? no more fever i assume? lungs clear according to PD at the last visit? no wheezing and all?

if it is so, ur bb maybe recovering, just takes time...

btw, when u say he is not well u mean he is just hvg cough and runny nose i suppose?

irene - u making the mummies here itchy about BECO. haahaa u making me tempted to buy another haiz....who is making a bulk purchase?

geri - u getting one too? tot u say wait simon dont carry?

hershey - i love my beco to bits - my fourth generation...

JP

no more fever.. lung clear according to PD at the 2nd visit... 3rd visit PD say he look fine + active.. but he is not so sure what is the reason why he didnt recover... change my medicine now and ask me to see if he recover within 5 days..

he alway cough very badly in the midnight btw 1-4am with his face all red and crying ...so I alway have to carry him up to comfort him and put him back to sleep..

I have a Manduca and it feels so comfy. I like it that it can be carried backpack style and sideways as well. Most importantly the weight distribution is good. I have tried the baby bjorn and back nearly broke. Friends who have both ergo and Manduca preferred the latter thus I decided to get that.

I went to Square 2 Baby Slings and Carrier to try before purchasing from Amazon. The guy staff was really very friendly and knowledgeable. Also feel bad not buying from them.

i will consider if got spree for Beco.. it will also be my 3rd carrier.. one mummy selling me her brand new ergo for $90. non-organic one. dunno if i shd buy from her or get a pretty beco.

Mommies, for beco... perhaps 1 person can organize and buy it direct frm USA. Just a warning that theres also pirated ones in the market. I think like carriers, better to play safe bcos we're carrying our little ones in it!!

Just remember that if it is too cheap to be true... then better not risk iT!

btw u all are oso temping me to get one leh. I saw the beco website.. the ginger looks SO GORGEOUS~! omgssss... i will be shot dead by my hubby i think! Already own 3 carriers this will be my 4th !!!

Me too!! The talk about Beco ginger is making me drool! I went to the website to see - so tempting. But I have an Ergo organic carrier already and I hardly use it coz bb usually sit in stroller. By one year plus, they know how to walk, still need carrier or not? Beco definitely looks less bulky compared to Ergo.

all the beco talks making me wanna buy. How long can a beco last?

I have been using bjorn all the while.. quite happy with it cuz ez to use but now bb is 9kg+, very taxing....

Vernie -

was it you that have a PT cleaner cleaning bishan/toa payoh area? My colleague looking for one.. good? can intro?

Yvonne -

Do you wanna consider going to another PD for a 2nd opinion?

Ann -

I agree with the mummies - Actually I would rather strain my r/ship with PIL than with hubby! And for your own mental well being, I think you should show that you are the mummy and you have the right to decide. O/wise this might continue to haunt you all the way thru ur kid's life... and 2nd one.. and 3rd one.. etc. Setting boundaries is very impt.

Eliss -

Hmm... mine can leh. Just eat.. the most don't finish the milk. Maybe you can try feeding milk together with solids? Like as a drink? Any extra MLs will help i guess? Or if your baby is has a prefernce for solids, maybe try feeding her abit of milk then feed solids?

vernie, it's tempting but i think no need to spend on another carrier since your baby is ok in the stroller - save it for your baby's education fund instead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i have a bjorn synergy which we hardly use, in the store room - a real white elephant. when going out these days, we don't even think of taking the carrier with us. thinking of selling it. sigh...

besides NEO Garden, any other good sffordable caterers to recommend?

BTW, any mummies celebrating their BB's BD on Sat? I have a good caterer to recommend. Cuz they dun do catering on Sundays, I won't be able to use them.

I know this has been asked umpteenth times, but anyone has the link for color codes, text display (e.g. blinking, etc) for posting comments in SMH?

Claudia: Yeah, it was me. I think she is good enough for my standards - i come home to a clean house & nicely pressed clothes every Friday. Let me ask her whether she is still available coz i know everyday she has different homes to clean - mine every Friday.

ica: Haha..no lar...i won't buy though tempting. Beco ginger is very feminine, hubby cannot use. Actually I should count my blessings that my bb is very "guai" when it comes to sitting in strollers & car seats coz maybe we train him from about 2 / 3 mths old. We will tell him upfront, go gai-gai must sit in car seat/stroller, otherwise, next time no more gai-gai. Of course he doesnt know what we are talking about, but so far so good. =)

jellypurin - i have a beco already..haahaa mine is the very old one, 4th Generation.

I just itchy backside. I also have a Patupum.

Sold my BBjorn air and pusik pouch already...

i use it so often, cos my number 1 i used it till she is 18mths.

vernie, good good. ahahaha! me, too, need to wake myself up - needs vs wants

mrs long, like this:

\ blue{text}

\ green{text}

\ yellow{text}

\ orange{text}

\ cyan{text}

\ purple{text}

note: after the slash, there must not be a space before the curly bracket. blinking text, me still figuring it out - anyone? hehe

if you want more info, go to the "how to improve SMH section", search for "formatting"