(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

re: natural vs c-sect

if u can, opt for natural birth. there are so many benefits. one impt thing to note abt natural birth is that when bb goes thru the birth canal, there is a "coating" of antibodies that is beneficial to the infant.

i agree w rmummy that it does take longer to recover fm c-sect

morning ladies,

suntan >> wow, your p'man mgr very bad leh. Your appraisal is from when to when? I mean u only got pregnant the last part of last yr leh. How can say such stuff? It's obviously an excuse.

jellypurin,

Another qn. Lets say i pump about 20ml after latching. And subsequently after another hr i try to pump again and its 40ml this time. So when i bottle feed the EBM, can i combine the 2 bottles so that its enough for 1 feed even though they are pump out at different timing?

mrslong,

Ya man..thats why i felt so unfair and short changed. Apprasial is from Jul - June, but our peak period is from Nov to Jun.. so effectively our appraising period should be from nov-jun

natural vs c-sect:

yes i agree as well, my cousin that went for csect kept telling me to go for natural if possible. She kept saying her wound area very painful after delivery and it makes it hard for her to breast feed or even sit properly. So if you can go for natural... go for it with epi if you're afraid of the pain.

sun_tan

i will not mix milk from 2 pump sessions together. just my personal preference, y? bcos one bottle of ur milk will be an hour "late"... so u may want to wait for at least 2hrs to pump ur next but if u cant tahan and must pumo bcos u feel engorge, bring extra bottles/milk bags. when u get home, u can pour the different ebms together to feed but dun do it immediately after you pump... that just my opinion lah.

just wanna know - after every pump of BF, do we need to sterilise the pump? if yes, then what can be done when at work? TIA

hm.. if my baby only feeds on 1 breast but did not empty it, do i need to pump out remaining to empty the breast? and do i need to pump the other breast as well?

jellypurin,

So meaning that when i pump i should store it separately, but when i gg to feed bb the EBM, i can mix them together right.

sweetkiss,

I think we need to pump out the balance and the other breast too so that it would be balance. If not 1 breast would be empty and the other breast would still be full and might lead to engorgement

sweetkiss

yes, u will need to empty both ur breast to produce more milk.

ica

u do need to sterilise ur breast shields after use for hygiene purpose.

there is medela quick clean bags that u can use if your parts are microwaveable... medela also produces quick clean wipes or u can buy ur own microwaveable sterilizer... cheapest method... is get a lock & lock box, put detergent into the box w hot water and soak. this is another method [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, if we empty both breasts, then milk supply will come in again... then if we only latch on, the fridge will be full of expressed BM.. but on the other hand, i am scared i dun have enough supply, if cannot BF, i will be so sad.

sweetkiss

there is the supply = demand theory for bf. if ur bb latches on well u will hv milk. do remember even if u cannot produce enough milk, some is better than none. don't be too hard on urself should you be in this predicament...

btw, if u'r on ml or u r a sahm, u dunnid to express ur milk leh if u dun want... u just feed on demand to ur bb...i hv frens who bf their babies for a yr w/o the help of a pump. so, u technically do not need to use a pump until u go bk to wk or u want someone else to feed ur bb while u take a rest...

Snoring: I do remember Mrs Wong mentioning something abt snoring and not good for BB cos I think when we snore, it means blockage of our airway. I seriously can't remember exactly why.

Allevating our pillows do help but then i find my neck cannot tahan.

Aisha: Your hubby so bad to call u dinosaur. I also find that after preggy, I also snore quite loud too. Hope it is not a permanent kind of thing.

Sun_tan: Your mgr very bad lei. What kind of BS is tat?

sweetkiss: fridge full of expressed BM is a good problem that all of us hopefully can get! :D

Dont worry too much, we'll take it as it comes.. thats why this forum is here ma. So we can ask ask ask, and compare notes with other mommies to see how we can improve our situation.

MOST impt is dont stress cos stress definitely reduces milk supply and we will be tearing our hair out!!

ica

i ust share w u all what i know and had done before. may not work for everyone but u will find a method suitable for yourself...

right now, can read online or go library borrow books to learn more about bfing.

hehe.. actually there is a debate on whether it is gd to feed on demand or going by schedule. I am reading Gina Ford's book and she strongly encourages going by schedule. I find that her explanations are quite logical..

by the way can eat pizza during confinement or not? my birthday falls during my confinement, was just telling hubby that since i cant go out, i will order food to celebrate. pizza sounds gd enough for me already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all, am quite new to this forum! My first post on this thread. Interesting read, thanks for sharing all your experiences. Add me on to your list [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My EDD is 4th July. Am at 32 weeks now. Put on 8kg so far. Baby's 1.7kg, head down but not engaged. Registered with TMC. My Gynae is Dr Lai Fon Min

Confinement: I think I will be stricter with myself cos my body already consider weak so I will put in more effort to take care during confinement period.

Red rice wine: Is 5 bottles too much? I ask my mum whether should I buy or not. She say buy lo. But I scared 5 bottles too much.

Sweetkiss: Thks. Will get 5 bottles then. Hopefully can finish. I would not know what to do if got left over. Dun really like to stock up on things. Hehe!!

Sweetkiss, ann, 5 bottles enough ah? my dad so excited, bought 12 bottles for me. Said he ordered another 12. Better tell him it's too many already, haha.

babycoco wow! your dad is really excited! can you imagine 24 bottles? almost 1 bottle a day

Ann 5 bottles are ok. my cousin had 7 bottles and my MIL was praising her to me

actually 5 bottles is alrite in my opinion..cos my mom did mention that when she cooked, she will pour in the rice wine in replacement of water...so meaning she won't use water at all and thus, the whole dish will be cooked in the wine. one time use i think can take up a third of the bottle liao...

but for those with CL cooking, not sure what is their style..maybe they will only add abit of the wine..

babycoco: wah.. 12 bottles ah? That is alot lei. Somemore ordered another 12 bottles? He think u drink it or bath in it is it? Haha!!!

ica: 7 bottles? Aiya.. only 2 bottles more nia.. what's there to praise? Your MIL very funny lo. But my mum ask me to buy only 2 bottles cos she say she has hard liquor at home. So wondering should I buy 2 bottles only nia.

supergal: wah.. dun use water to cook at all.. only use rice wine.. that is very extreme lei. Ya.. i think CL only add abit of wine when cooking.. dun tink they will use only rice wine to cook for us.

ann,

i guess cos my mom made the rice wine on her own..so perhaps she didn't make it until so "thick" you see..which is why she mention i will have to be prepared for the strong taste in the chicken dish that she is going to cook for me!

Ann ya lor. my MIL is the kind of person who thinks that during confinement must consume a lot of rice wine. she even wanted to come over to Spore to make for me! then i said i'd take DOM, so she dropped the idea. the way she said it like it's very easy to make. she makes it on and off and distribute to her sis and mom. but then in Msia it's illegal to brew alcohol without licence, so she hides it in her kitchen cabinet, just in case. hehe

rice wine: my mum said 10-12 bottles should be enuf.

But it all depends on the cook.

she used abt 10 bottles for my sis's confinment recently.

Ann,

I am in the field of audit.

I dun really like the taste of wine/alcohol, thus will just make do with the 3 bottles that my sis is gg to pass to me, cos previously during her confinement in Jan, she ordered 6, used 3 and gg to pass the rest to me.

sun_tan: me too same as u.. my boss already tell me my annual appraisal this july will be given either C/D & wasnt eligible for our annual promotion n increment. Accuse me of breeching security when i am on leave. And got the cheek to ask me for option.

Think my boss also want me to go liao. my superior was with me the whole time and he just sit down there 'seeing' show.

Was super angry when he comment that work performance drop when i am still wk OT and all my ppl nv complain lor. When i defend myself, he said i argumentative.

May,

For my case, i actually request for a transfer of department after i come back from my ML, ie i dun wanna do audit anymore and wanted to switch to a more relax job, but my performance manager told me that they think i am a valueable employee and they hope that they can keep me within the department bah bah bah just that in this appraising year, i am not stress test enough to prove my ability to cope at the next level. She said becos i was preggy, thus my portfolio is relative relax and thus i didnt "prove" my worth. So they would like me to stay for another yr in the same position and will test me in the coming year to see if i can cope with the promotion or not. I think this is crap loh...i worked hard even though i am preggy and i dun see how much more relax i am as compared to my peers, so why am i not being appraised fairly.

May,

I will definitely feedback on my thoughts to my performance manager. I will request for a transfer. If that cannot be done, then i will look for another job while on ML..hopefully can get a better one. Hubby says that they just wanna use me as a cheap labour, dun wanna promote me, but still give me the job scope... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Haiz…I think we mommies here are really quite pitiful sometimes!!! Govt wants us to have more children but how to have incentive to conceive more when we are being treated differently just because we are preggers!

For me, though my case wasn’t like some of you who still have to slog very hard during your pregnancy, but I felt I was not being opportunities to prove myself lor. Everyday I need to think of what I can do you know…some may think I am so fortunate to have such a job rite now…so relax and daily just sit down there and do nothing much but still get paid. I beg to differ…

True, it may be good that I don’t face a lot of stress now but at the end of the day, how am I going to justify for my performance come appraisal period?? I was not given opportunities to prove my capabilities and I hated it when everytime, my HOD will exclude me from emails, keeping only my supervisor in the loop…then when it reaches me, it’s only “FYI”. Then I will just read it and file..so clerical the work is!

I don’t know whether if they are using this tactic to force me to leave on my own accord…sigh…

Jus came back frm gynae...

at 31 weeks

baby weight: 1.6kg (average is about 1.5kg) gynae say its a healthy growth

my weight gain this mth - 1.5kg

my weight gain thruout the whole pregnancy - 4.7kg

overall ok.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

by the way, i checked with gynae.. in most cases, bb will only properly engage 10 days before delivery...

now my bb's head is downwards but also subjected to changes.. he say, not to worry, bb will engaged when shes ready...

anyone bought medela PIS? the one that is selling at $400+ in sprees... my friend is thinking of getting it.. but why issit so cheap? any diff?

serene

the PIS is so cheap bcos it is an US set. there is no local warranty, so if the set spoil, can bring to local medela distributor but service charge starts $100 instead of $50. it is half price.. many of us ordered fm spree for freestyle. PIS needs to buy adaptor for SG power port.

supergal,

actually i dont mind such job for the time being. At least not that stress.. seriously after my appraisal meeting last night, i totally got no mood to work today. Am in ORD mood alr...i mean if they dun appreciate my effort, then why should i work so hard for them..

serene,

Cos its US import and there is no warranty, thus the cheaper price. medela PIS is good but its a bit on the heavy side. So if next time she intends to pump when gg back to work, it might be a chorus to lag the pump ard. I am getting the medela freestyle which is like PIS, but its lighter. Also getting thru the spree but its slightly more ex than PIS.

Can update my status am having a baby girl.

I am 32 weeks now baby already 2.2kg dunno want to go for C-sect or natural... headache...

baby_yen

why c-sect? u hv medical condition or u r super petite? if not, i strongly recommend you to go natural. its not that scary. can always opt for epidural

sun_tan

can tell ur coy to go fly k**e... if pregnancy is a deciding factor to performance, i think that's a lot of BS... sorry, pls forgive me for my language... if that is the case, u take all 4mths of ML at one go and when u go back to wk, just take it easy.

baby_yen

then no choice... hiaz... this is the prob w SG... the gyns here are conservatives... alot of successful VBAC cases overseas... but can u VBAC - vaginal birth after c-section? ur gyn allows u to do that?