(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

ytd at my prenatal class i was so traumatized by the childbirth videos. i really admire women who can endure the pain because by hearing birth stories from my friends, i am already scared... so the video i watched really affected me quite a bit.

i did think of going thru c-sec too but because giving birth is a once in a lifetime exp, i want a natural birth if possible so i can witness my baby coming out.

Baby_yen

juz leave it to ur gynae to decide ba... u still does not know if ur bb in head down or breech position.

if breech position then confirm go for c-section...

if u worry bcos of bb too heavy seek for gynae's advice and maybe he/she might recommend u to induce if bb already in head down position..

jellypurin,

Yup, thats what i intend to do. Take 4 mths 1 shot. So only gg back in Nov.

sweetkiss,

Actually you can witness your bb coming out by doing epi c-sec too. You would be conscious and will know whats happening throughout just that you cant feel it only.

baby_yen

then go for it! i am sure this experience of natural birth is far more rewarding then c-sect!

sweetkiss

yes, am sure you can get thru this experience.

Giving Birth: I also keep watching such shows on cable tv.. was scared when I see the pain the women went thru.. when some says on a scale of 1 to 10.. the pain is 30 or hundreds time.. i wanted to faint too. But then I would never fail to cry when the BB came out.. It is a very touching moment for me now lo. I think if I really can go natural, when my BB came out, I sure cry big time one.. so emo. Haha!!

Baby_yen

how abt u keep track of ur bb weight and decide on natural or c-section...

try to control on ur diet and see how heavy is bb at week 37/38 and if u dilate ... then u consider again natural or c-section...

sun tan: but c-sec will take longer to recover, so i will not consider unless it is necessary. a am just scared!

jellypurin: i hope so!

ann: ya lor, i watch those documentary, i see the mummies cry i also feel very touched want to cry. if my own baby i confirm will cry also. haha

hello mummies...had been very busy these few days, so many posts to catch up...

for mummies doing pre-natal yoga, do you know up till which week we can do yoga? do we have to stop by any certain week?

vernie: In my class, the mummies are doing pre natal yoga up to the day they give birth.

Even my gynae also say no prob in exercising till the day you give birth.

actually, i dun mind C-sect, just that take longer time to recover but at least, down there won't be overstretched, hehee.

And lesser chances of getting incontinence.

Each has it's pros & cons I guess.

hihi Working MTBs,

It's going to be end of working day soon.

So looking forward to weekends but tomo gotta do the glucose test. kinda scared for the results.

Well, 1/2 hr more and off work for me.. Have a good weekend ahead.. =)

May: Haha.. you knock off at the same time as me. 6pm. Hubby will be working OT tonight so have to go home on my own cos i dun wanna wait for him. By the time he reached my office, it would be 7.30pm liao. I think I would be about home by then. Hehe!!

Wah Ann, your office is so near your home?

Ok me gg off le. Attending my antenatal class at Mt A at 630pm. Byee..have a nice weekend.

sun_tan: No lei.. not very near la.. I live in Sembawang.. my office in Kallang lei.. but with circle line, going home is definitely faster now. In the past need about 1 and half hour to go home. Now 1 hr like that can reach home le.

Just went Robinsons mommies! They have started their sale already...brands like Pigeon and Avent have like 20% discount. Bought my sterilizer and milk bottle warmer and other misc items. Quite worth the buy...but realize BHG also having similar discounts... anyway, now is a really good time to get any remaining products. But I guess most mommies here are already quite well prepared le..still can stock up some items though..

vernie : You can do pre-natal yoga till u wanna pop bb. But i have problems doing many poses once I entered 3rd trimester :p I have missed my yoga lesson for 2 weeks liao...

Hi MTBs

Remember someone mention the address for toyogo warehouse but i forgot where i jotted it. Anyone know?

Also i live around clementi (near west coast [plaza). Anyone know where got pre-natal massage? I'm in pain now... very uncomfy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i think taka should also be having their 10% card sale these next couple of weeks. usually on top of existing discounts. wonder if pigeon & avent will also have 20% there. quite worth it if can get extra 10%.

Good morning ladies.

Last night went to watch Ip Man 2 instead of Robin Hood cause the movie tickets for Robin Hood was fast selling. Ip Man 2 really not bad. This morning got to wake up early to send my girls for their grooming session then now doing housework. Taking a short break. Hehe!!

AtomicKitten: Me too lei. Last week and this week, I also no go yoga but still got go swimming la. Next week must go liao. Cannot be too lag. Haha!!

Hi all Mummies,

I am from Dec09 MTB Forum. I have the following items for sale!

1. BNIB Little Giant Milk bags (made in korea)

1 for $18, 2 for $16 each, 4 for $14 each

2. Preloved My best friend Breast Pillow

Lightly used for only 4months

condition: 8/10

Price: $49

3. Pigeon disposable Breast Pads

30pcs $5

4. Brand new Thomson Baby diaper sling black bag $10

5. BNIB Carters 6-9mths 5pcs rompers for boy $20

10% discount off all prices if you buy all!!

Free 1 preloved 125ml Avent bottle and 1 cooler bag! Free Preloved assorted newborn baby boy clothes!!

Self Collect near Parkway Parade or Raffles Place or Bt Batok or via postage!

PM for more details/ questions!!

ceres: I am also thinking whether I need one more set of drawers or not cos I scared CL no place to put their clothes.

Vernie: I think it is very common for us to be unable to do certain positions now cos of BB's position in your womb. Sometime felt like something blocking the way. haha!!

Ann: Huh! still have to buy for the CL one ar? Wah.. it's really like maid. Haha... agency won't tell us what is needed to prepare?

ceres: ya lo. I am thinking if i dun give a space for CL to keep her clothing then where is she going to keep all her clothing. Agency never tell me what to prepare lei.

Now on my way to antenatal class. So tired. Felt like not going and sleep in bed. But on the other hand, told myself cannot be lazy. So drag myself off the bed. I felt like dozing off le.

All mommies,

This is my 2nd pregnancy, i just gave birth April 09, it was natural...do not be afraid of the labour pain, worst of fall, we can still ask for epidural which happened to me..then u wont feel anything...and when you see your baby...the joy is there, for me there was no after-effect pain, I can start walking the next day liao and after 3 days everything is like normal...so I am those pro-natural, and it will ease you during bf-ing, coz I heard C-sect will be a bit painful on the tummy part after the surgery, and when u have to carry the baby for bf-ing may not be that comfortable.

For breastpump, it's useful if you have plenty of breastmilk, if you never pump after your baby latch on (to clear the remainder of BM left on breast) you might have lumps on the breast and lead to engorgement...some even lead to mastitis

DO you all have same systoms like me?

Legs Cramp with stand too long or walk too long?

Sleepy most of time.

Feel very tired

I'm due around 22 - 25 July as 2 gyneas had given me the dates.

Mid June i will asked gynae to check the baby weight if above 3.5kg i will opt for induced labour and i hope to deliver by 07 July 2010 by the time BB will 38 weeks ..

Ann: i haven't went there.. today busy buying drawers & baby cot etc @ baby kingdom & hyperstore. Spend $1000+ in 1 day. >.<

I bought a toyogo drawer (5 drawer, big one) cost $70 with a free gift small drawer.

ceres,

Think i bought the same drawer as you, cos its also the 5 level drawer + a free small drawer :p

I dont think we need to buy cupboard for the CL bah...she can erm..keep her clothes in her luggage/bag?

sun_tan & ceres: i think we all bought the same one. Haha!!

Just now i was playing with my camera phone & use it to take picture of my huge tummy. Totally regret doing that. When i saw the photo i wanna cry big time. The stretchmark are spreading & looks so red and ugly. Will it ever go away? Will my tummy always look so ugly? Sob sob!!

Ceres,

My case yes I need to pump to clear the breast orelse got lots of lumps around my breast, then when it hardened it actually slow down the flow of the milk coz of mastitis I guess, got blocked ducts, til I asked my massage lady to massage my breast to clear out the lumps...but super duper painful lor....so she suggested me to check with breastpump if there is any more milk left..after following her suggestion it gets better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Guess it depends whether you have extra supply or not, u can feel if the breast is empty liao or not lor...that's y at the end my boy seldom drink EBM, always latch on, coz latch on the most effective way to clear the block ducts...so trauma that I have blocked ducts again

ann

dun feel sad... ur strechmarks will fade away although it will nv disappear... after bb delivered, will take some time to fade fm red to silver... it will be a reminder for u n ur bb what sacrifices u made for him

baby_yen: Your bb is pretty big at 32 weeks hor :p

Ann : Dun be sad coz most mothers will have some stretch marks one. Even if we dun get it now, it may come later after delivery. Other than genetics, it is useful to bear in mind that gaining/losing too much weight too soon can also results in stretch marks. So I have told my hubby to remind me not to be obsessively abt losing weight/inches too soon n too fast coz I'm afraid that the look n feel of loose & wrinkly skin over our flabby tummy after delivery will be too upseting.

As for CL,I also ve no place for her to put her clothes leh. I only bought a small closet for my maid coz she will be here longer. I am thinking of letting the CL put her clothes in her luggage since she will be here for only 28 days. However, I will be putting her up in my guest room which has a queen size bed while my maid will be sleeping on the mattress in the baby room. While the CL is here,I will push the baby cot to her room so that my maid can sleep in peace.

btw ladies, yesterday there was a discussion of cooking with rice wine n DOM. Can I check with your again if we can consume food cooked with rice wine n DOM if we are breast-feeding? If it involves cooking for a longer period of time, how long will that be? How do we know when it is cook long enough for the alcohol to evaporate? Is it must use slow cooker n brew for 4 hours kind? Sorry I'm really quite lost here. Also does anyone know if DOM has expiry date? I ve a bottle which has been kept for many years.. dunno safe to use for cooking or not.

Ginger : Someone mentioned that mothers who ve gone thru C-section shouldnt consume ginger eh? For how long huh? Anyone knows why cannot eat ginger? I wonder if my CL knows abt all these or not. Those horrible stories abt CL that was shared by some MTB few days back really scare me. I wonder what basic knowledge I can equipped myself with so as not to be fooled by CL...

morn mommies

re: rice wine

in general, when alcohol is used in cooking, the heat from the stove will dissipate the alcohol content, hence, if you are breastfeeding, you can take food cooked with DOM or red/white rice wine. having said that, it does not warrant adding too much wine into your cooking. the idea is for taste and reap the benfits of the nutrition of the wine.

re: ginger

ginger is another food item that needs to be taken at moderation during confinement. actually, for how much to add into ur soups and food, try seraching for recipes online. it will give u and idea.

i think if bb has jandice, best to cut down ginger

jts:

i had my pre-natal massage yesterday n my masseur encouraged me to start adding kelp aka seaweed in my soups. she said that it will start activate the milk glands and start producing milk.

was happy to see that i was already producing some milk when she was massaging my breast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

she also said if i had water retention, can take water melon to reduce the swelling. yet to try but if you want to have a go at some of these natural remedy, pls do!

Good morning ladies.

Jellypurin & AtomicKitten: Hai... what to do. Upset also no use liao. I was asking hubby why can I bear the BB and he get the stretchmark. Then I told BB that see.. mummy got stretchmark becos of u. Cannot wear bikini liao. Next time u better be more filial to me.

Red rice wine: I asked the lady who had posted in our thread to sell the rice wine. She say if I am not sharing food with hubby (confirm he won't eat confinement food), I only need to get 2-3 bottles then enough le. So I just ordered 3 bottles instead of 5 bottles.

Slow Cooker: Last time I was asking should we have a slow cooker to brew tonic at home when CL is here? I not sure to buy one or not lei.

Breast milk: I don't have milk flowing like some mummies do. I only see whitish thing on my nipple and also some white powdery thing around my aerolas when I bath.

Baby movement: Last night I was trying very hard to sleep but BB was moving and shifting around actively. Then hubby put his hand there to feel and he stop moving. When hubby took away his hand, he immediately start again. So I quickly took my hubby's hand and put on my tummy and he stop again. I told hubby to put his hand there till I sleep. And really BB never move at all. This morning I told hubby BB dun like daddy's hand.. hubby say dun anything teach my son.. it's becos my son feel the secured due to my hand so he also fell asleep very fast. Haha!!