(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

eliss, me too, always get stressed out when i don't feel bb during her "active" times. she's usually very active around 11. when i haven't felt her move at 11:30, i tapped my belly till she kicked. bb too active, we worry, bb not active we also worry, sigh.

julie, my ogtt result was ok, it's the blood sugar that i failed. i'm monitoring 2x/week, 2hours after meal. did your gynae ask you to see dietician?

basically cannot take any sweet stuff, if eat bread, must switch to wholemeal or brown bread. can only take 100gr of carbo (rice, noodle) for lunch & dinner, etc. my blood sugar level is back to normal after following this diet.

Eliss : good thing that u went ahead n check on bb. Your gynae sounds very thorough n careful leh! the last time i had a scare.. i merely went to GP who uses a doppler to hear bb's heartbeat and I procrastinated for a few days b4 doing so! Now to think abt it.. really should delay!

As for cloth diapers.. i bought the prefold from bumwear. Think i bought 2 dozen..cant rem. Read that it's highly recommended by those who tried. Now i wonder if my CL know how to use prefolds or not. I intend to wash them n get ready by end of may or beginning of june

babycoco : 100g of rice is how much? One small bowl? everyday can eat how many servings of carbo huh? I'm supposed to do the glucose test but i think my gynae forgot abt it leh coz she missed my last appt as she was stucked in europe then. I rem but I didnt remind her coz i dun want to do the test leh

Eliss,

Great to hear that ur BB is ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy News!!

Yeah!! Just got informed that meeting is cancelled!! Yippee!! Now having my delicious hor fun plus coke! (Know I shouldn't drink coke but... so hot today!)

Little one is moving about alot now, think must be due to the delicious food I'm partaking now haha

phy & lasery >> Actually the 1st antenatal class session I attended, the trainer did mentioned we can drink coke, coffee, tea, etc with caffeine.

But limit it to once a day or a week type. It's all abt moderation [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone of you getting anything special for your mums this mother's day?

i feel a bit more excited about mother's day this year(first time mum). i'm scouring online gift shop to give my mum a surprise.

any ideas?

hi mrslong, i was checking out for MUA and i got a quote of $120 for makeup + hairdo. I decided not to do my hair. anyone has a better quote?

atomickitten, the guideline is 2 slices of bread (only wholemeal) for b'fast, 1 slice of bread for tea time, 100gr (about 2/3 rice bowl) of carbo for lunch, 1 slice of bread for tea time, 100gr of carbo for dinner. that's the max carbo we can take per day. of course, it's even better if we change the tea time bread to fruits.

it's actually quite a good diet, i lost 500gr in 2 weeks.

Yvonne >> Tks. Actually I've checked with a MUA who did my friends & my makeup at one of our friend's wedding last yr.

I like her makeup but her price is steep cuz she's also the MUA for a PG studio.

Lasery2k & Mrs Long,

Hee, I still drink coke now and then but the only one thing I find it hard to kick is the daily morning coffee... So I'm still drinking daily... except during 1st trimester when I threw up quite badly whenever I drink coffee..

Just that today I had coffee and then coke... too much caffine..

Sweetkiss & Mrs Long

same MUA... i see.. price increase liao but I like her makeup ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sorry cant help much...

BB Movement - you know why HB and I panicked... cuz when we went for prenatal class, the nurse told us if there were <10 counts of BB movement within mother's waking hours, should go to hospital asap. i think our BB is a quiet one, she has never cross the 10x mark at all... :p What prompted me to go for an earlier check up is these few days I felt less than 5 counts in a day, that really got me worried!

On second note, Gynae scanned and said my water bag is abundant, perhaps its because of my big water bag that when BB moves, i cant feel it...

Kepsis - Thanks for your concern. I was actually busy with work these few days. i still logged on, just did not post messages...

NB diapers - I bought one pack of Goon NB diapers (58s at $23.50) and two packs (24s at 12.50) of Huggies NB from the BB expo last Sat. Decided to let BB use GOON for the night. The texture really soft even compared to Huggies.

F8 PS - erm, i think I will skip MUA leh, just self-do a nude make up

No worries, thanks Yvonne.

For me if it's <$150, still ok.

Sweetkiss >> Am asking my sis to check with her friend who does freelance MUA, what are her charges, etc. My sis said she does good makeup but she's not very good @ hairdo.

Eliss >> I also tot of doing my own makeup but then scare not "pro" enough & wait end up looking as if I dun hv any makeup on (aka pale)...cuz work makeup and studio makeup different.

Yvonne: No prob abt it~ I like her makeup too!

Eliss: My gynae only told me to monitor kicks 3 times a day. Morn, afternoon, evening & before bedtime. As long as there is, then there is no problem. My baby is also quite gentle. She kicks but seldom gives hard kicks. Glad that everything is fine for u now.

mrslong: Okie! thanks!

BTW.. I wanna ask.. if there is a need to induce labour and gynae were to burst waterbag for us, can request for epi first before bursting? I read that checking of cervix & bursting of waterbag is very painful coz gynae will put his fingers deeeep inside! o.m.g

sweetkiss

bursting waterbag not pain. contractions that follows the bursting is painful. also, the procedure is epi first then burst next. btw, my gynae helped save moola by bursting w her fingers... the prick they use cos $ if used.

Talking abt BB's movement, BB's movement seems to be even more harder & wider these few days...can be quite uncomfy.

Wonder if he's turning or kicking.

Hospital Bag

I just started to pack a bit by a bit.. so far...

1. Front Button PJ x2 (jus in case i got milk stain)

2. Breast Pad x 6 pairs

3. 5 long pads (hospital will provide more)

Comments: i will normally use my own pads to stick on my undies then i will put the hospital's pad (no sticker) on top of my own pad so each time i jus change the maternity pad and my own pad will change every now and then..

4. Disposable Undies x 5

5. Nursing Bra x 2

6. Baby Swaddle x 1

Comments: hospital will normally swaddle the bb with them own. i brought mine to swaddle bb home.

7. Newborn clothes + pants x 1

Comments: To wear home

8. Nursing Covers x 1

Comments: Just in case i got visitors while im bf-ing, i can also train myself to use the nursing covers

Documents (so far)

1. Marriage Cert

2. NRIC photocopied front and back (hubby and mine)

Comments: for baby bonus scheme and birth cert

3. Bank statement

Comments: for baby bonus scheme (verification of bank account for crediting of bb bonus $$)

4. Clinic's Bills

Comments: for medisave claims

Some stuff to be packed later

1. Laptop + Charger

2. Iphone and Ipod Charger

3. Wireless Broadband gadget

4. Camera

5. Snacks to munch for hubby and me

6. Set of my own clothes to wear home

7. Admission Letter

Sometimes I can't help but worry...if BB's movement is too big, issit cuz he's in distress or wat? I'll get very paranoid lor.

No movement, also worry. Big movements also worry.

Jellypurin: thanks for ur info!

Serene: thanks for sharing. for me i think i will bring one more thing.. Makeup! I can do without it but must have eyebrow pencil & eyeliner lor.. hehe.

Sweetkiss -- i was thinking about it.. then i recall how i was soaked in a pool of fluid after my water bag burst and i had to lie on the bed and wait for something to happen... and.. how i perspire when i was pushing.. and lastly... how the nurses wipe/clean me.. then.. i start to think.. if i shud make up... lol..

on the other side, i will think of how the pictures will look like with a pale face carrying a newborn.. hahaha...

hiya mommies! on mc today so just logged in now to see how everyone's doing. this thread is always moving so fast. haha

got back yesterday from KL with lots of baby stuff. just washed 1 load - i think i have another 2-3 loads to go. after washing, i was like *gasp!* so many and so tiny! i can only imagine that after baby is out, everywhere i turn, there'll be baby clothes hanging to dry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Julie i also failed by OGTT. mine was 9.2 at the 2 hr interval. normal is 7.4, gynae said not too bad but put me on a diabetic/no sugar diet. instead of 3 main meals, break it down to 6 meals. for the 3 main meals, instead of eating 100%, just eat 2/3 eash meal with the 1/3 for mid morning/tea/supper. can have fruit after lunch and dinner but not watermelon. papaya also not advisable coz it's sweet. gynae said solid fruit better than those with high water content. and i'll have to have my blood sugar measured at every check-up from now on. at least i don't have to monitor daily on my own

so your gynae didn't advise you what to do? that's weird. cos if we dun take care, may get diabetes in old age

Atomickitten were you advised to do the GTT? if yes, better do it, for peace of mind that all's clear. not good for both us and babies if we've gestational diabetes and not know it

Girls, do u feel hungry easily now that u are in 3rd trimester?

I do lei.. or should i say i get acid reflux more frequently and need to eat more frequently too. So now I eat smaller portions but alot more times. So scary at my own appetite at times.

My gynae referred me to the diabetic nurse and dietician, instead of giving advice herself. But I don't really want to go - I think the additional consultation will be expensive. Anyway, from all your advice, I have a better idea of what to watch out for now, in terms of diet and I'll be checking my own blood sugar levels. My meals are already pretty small. And I already eat whole-meal bread and brown rice for my meals. I guess I just have to break my meals down further and avoid sweet stuff.

Ann, I always feel like I'm hungry, but when I eat, I get full very easily. Sometimes just 2-3 spoonful of rice and I'm already full. But 30mins later, will feel hungry again.

Julie, I paid $75 for consultation. But if you're already eating brown rice, wholemeal bread, then you're doing ok, just avoid sweet stuff. I drink my tea without sugar now.

Serene,

Wah, the labour pain process which you posted seems scary..as for hair wise, some mommies advice me not to cut short my hair cos at least when its long, I can still tie or bun it up without any problem. Actually for short hair, can try wearing hair band to keep those hair out of the face.

Phy,

Wah, my gynae is strictly off rebonding, I did ask him twice (on 2 diff occasion), hoping that he will give me the go-ahead :p now my new grown hair is a wavy bunch and its so messy! Arghh! Btw, whats a bond singlet?

Ling,

Ya, ppl will always comment on the size of my tummy. Got ppl commented my tummy small then also got ppl commented my tummy big..so I was like whatever..

Jellypurin,

For cloth diaper, whats cover and insert? I tot it only consist of the cloth diaper and the liner only?

Serene: No, the makeup is meant for putting on after u give birth & upon discharge.. haha.. dun wan my friends to visit me and see me with small eyes and no eyebrow. LOl

Ann: Me.. i am hungry all the time! i'll get hungry within 2 hrs after my meals. i have a big bowl of rice every dinner and before bedtime i will drink a huge cup of HL Milk with cereal. :D

sun_tan -- not scary.. really.. after the whole thing, i was like.. wah.. mother nature is great man.. haha... can de la.. stay positive... dun worry too much..

and ya.. the hair part.. after my lesson learnt, i will normally advice pple to keep their hair so can bun up.. it helps greatly...

Sweetkiss -- lol.. i was thinking about the photos that hubby will take at the delivery ward with me carrying bb! that "look" is... WAHAHA... machiam i jus woke up with a baby in my hands... then later he will post it up on FB feeling all proud and me feeling all malu with the messy hair, pale face and shag too.. with a cute precious.. lol..

Julie oh ya. Apart from no sugar, gynae also said to avoid fried food. If you want I can email you the diet list my gynae gave me, if you don't mind my writing-made some notes on the list

hair length better don't cut. now my hair length neither long nor short and it's quite irritating now that the weather's getting hotter. I'll let it grow then trim it in June

sun tan aiya never mind what ppl say. Just ignore them

today I went to GP, i told him I'm 29wks and he misheard 39wks so I corrected him. He commented that my tummy was big and asked whether I'm carrying twins. Sigh... Not the 1st time le, so got used to it. But I think my tummy really big- even bigger than my colleague's who is 1 mth ahead of me

Cloth Diapers: omg go so many types? I thought its just the traditional cloth type. Lucky i not yet buy. Omg got so much to learn!!!

MUA for F8 personal shot: i talked to allison the other time when i booked, she was saying we can just do light make up on our own which is what she would prefer coz they do more artistic shots so prefer to be natural.

Frequent hunger: I am always hungry in my 2nd trimester and i eat a lot, but realised in the 3rd trimester i hardly feel hungry, even when i do, after have about half my meal i will feel full already. i thought its coz bb now bigger and my stomach no space so i hardly feel hungry... any of you have the same symptom?

Cloth diapers: Read the website already, but still very confused, think must go see for my self then understand... more homework to do already.. haha... good night mummies...

kepsis - u r right.. cause of the cramp up of our organs and of coz.. stomach.. our food intake is lesser and we feel full easily..

we might also feel breathless cause our the "space constrain" to our lungs.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning ladies!

Hope everyone had a good rest last night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yesterday afternoon my hubby decided to date me since my meeting was cancelled so off we went, to watch Iron man 2. Throughout the movie, little one was active inside, think due to the loud sounds.

sun_tan (sun_tan),

Bonds is an Australian brand. Not sold here in singapore (in the past, CK tangs carried their woman's underwear). I bought the singlets, ripped tee type, for my #1 and must say that the material is really good and cooling in this hot weather of singapore. My sister is now over there for holiday so I asked her to get some Cute BB tees and singlets for my 2 boys [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can check out the website www.bonds.com.au

morn mommies

phy

i love bonds! i wish i could order some of the white singlets and tie-dye it for my kids... so nice... the materials are really good if it is made in aussie.